Society & Culture How much television do you watch per week?

TV is better than it's ever been.

22 years ago I watched West Coast win the 1992 GF in my lounge room. I was 8 and we had a 34cm Akai CRT TV. I think we taped the game using the VCR then bought the official version with no ads etc. when it came out a few weeks later for like $30.

Last night Liverpool played Manchester City in a crucial late season EPL match on the other side of the globe. It broadcast live into my loungeroom in glorious HD through my 60 inch LED panel and surround soud receiver. Not going to be home? I'll just iQ it. Goal scored when I'm out of the room? I'll just rewind while the game is still going. Take that, 1990s.

For every Game of Thrones there are several Real Housewives or Teen Moms, but to go with advances in sound and picture technology access to the best programming of the day has never been easier.

I used to laugh every time the 'watch the 3 mobile test series on your phone' ads came on. Yeah that's a cool novelty if you're out, but if I'm at home and want to watch the cricket I'll just watch the TV. TV's going nowhere.

Screens are going nowhere. The way the stuff is delivered to them will change dramatically.

TV networks are middlemen: the purchase content from producers and sell it to consumers. They're retailers. Except bricks and mortar retailers at least have the destination thing on their side.

TV networks are the ultimate useless middlemen: they add no value and no real economic benefit, such as large volumes of employment.

Their only power resides in their traditional customer base. As they die out, the politicians will no longer have the need to protect them artificially. Then it'll be over.

Some like Packer have seen this and got the **** out and into something else else. Some haven't.

I love the following song. The lyrics pop into my head at random points throughout the day.

The older I get, the more convinced I am that tv isn't just a waste of time.

It actually conditions the masses into a stupor of distracted moronism.

And it is intended to do that.

Only watch the footy on weekends, and even then that's 4 games, max. I do download shows to watch in my own time however...
As soon as I moved to Melbs I even turfed this. I can't put up with the prissiness of Bruce, the battling egos in the box, the deadshit blandness and hype-adoring of Basil and Rompingwins, it's just infuriating and dull. I really only watch tele when I'm having a few beers at someone's house. Aside from that, it's redundant.

I love the following song. The lyrics pop into my head at random points throughout the day.

The older I get, the more convinced I am that tv isn't just a waste of time.

It actually conditions the masses into a stupor of distracted moronism.

And it is intended to do that.

I agree, it's also working. It is insulting what they give us and what the community actually eats up – the brain dead ads, loud and colourful and insulting to reasonable intelligence, the My Kitchen Rules full of bogan women and spineless husbands talking about "the good people at Mitre 10," big Rupert and his singular perspective 'informing' everyone... honestly your hyperbole is sometimes frustrating and can seem paranoid. But recently I've been entertaining these conspiratorial notions. And I agree about this. It's insane the friendliness that engages and exists between these groups and the mutual benefits. TV is a real prick of a thing and people like the ABC or SBS are barely any better.

TV is fuc*ed up these days, worse than ever.

When I accidently flick it on to masterchef I feel confident as I think to myself "well it cant get any worse than this so surely it will be pulled by next week" - then f**k me there's another season of it.

Horrendous shit like the voice kids, masterchef, MKR, house rule, the block, you think you can dance, sunrise, today tonight - they are all media holocausts and indicate the beginning of the end of the human race as the dominant species ahead of apes.

So suffice to say I don't watch much tv anymore bar cricket and tennis and maybe ABC news or something on the history channel. Anything else forget about it. That includes footy, which has become an epsode of neighbours such is the w*nk that comes with it these days.

It isn't so much the quality of shows that I think makes TV unwatchable but rather the constant barrage of ads. My folks come home from work and watch TV for 4 or 5 hours in the evening and doing some crude maths that's about an hours worth of ads there. Not to mention the floggish ways some stations advertise by having a banner ad DURING THE ACTUAL PROGRAM.

Let's not forget 'reality' (lol) shows that don't even attempt to hide the fact that every millisecond of air time is bought and paid for by showcasing some new products and brands. It makes me ill.

Disagree. Production value in TV is better than ever and some of the quality is way ahead of anything 10 or 20 years ago. You were just looking at the wrong shows.

unfortunately the good shows like breaking bad, always sunny etc aren't smashed in your face like all the mindless shit as soon as you turn on it on - Im not cool enough/cant be bothered/got better things to do than to download and sit on my arse watching them unlike many others

Disagree. Production value in TV is better than ever and some of the quality is way ahead of anything 10 or 20 years ago. You were just looking at the wrong shows.
I reckon there's a big difference between like TV shows and "TV." Like there's great TV shows that are as profound as books and film but there's something braindead and crooked about actual television.

The problem is not the 'production values'.

Is it the ads or personalities like others have said? I do think there is a lot of quality around. The thing I find weird in Australia are the breakfast shows and sports commentators trying to be celebrities themselves.

Should I seek help if I regularly find myself day dreaming about the likes of Sam Armitage, Berrets, Luke Darcy, the entire panel of The Project, Shelley Craft and Scott Cam thrown into a volcano?

edit: and its this kind of crap that drives a man to homocide

cry.JPG

meanwhile in Syria:

refugees.JPG

As soon as I moved to Melbs I even turfed this. I can't put up with the prissiness of Bruce, the battling egos in the box, the deadshit blandness and hype-adoring of Basil and Rompingwins, it's just infuriating and dull. I really only watch tele when I'm having a few beers at someone's house. Aside from that, it's redundant.

I agree. Watching TV with a few mates and some beers makes it infinitely better.

I don't really know anyone that just watches normal tv. I hardly ever watch it. Like I can go weeks without it going on, don't have Netflix or Foxtel. Don't need it.

main stream FTA television- watch lions away games and the occasional episode of australian story, compass, four corners, Q&A, catalyst depending on guest list and/or story line.

other than that just rely on Netflix, used to have foxtel but got rid of it.