Health How often do you drink?

• Thread starter Thread starter ioppolo

How often?

I very much dislike the way when someone says they don't drink they always look like they want someone to congratulate for this.
If you’re referring to me , that’s why I added the part about not growing up with it or liking it to emphasise that it’s actually lucky rather than anything to be proud of .

I dislike the opposite- having pressure put on me as to why im NOT drinking or not drinking much- have had this happen in the past. Like gtfo and mind your own ******* business.
On the other hand - I would double /triple like this post if I could. Story of my teenage and young adult life . I’m not that young anymore and I also don’t socialise amongst strangers /acquaintances as often (and my friends are understanding of course) so it doesn’t happen as frequently , but it’s still a problem. I get sick of having to explain why I don’t want to drink . And often people don’t like the answer and react overly defensively or even with a level of mistrust - if that’s going to be their reaction , why ask in the first place ? :p

If you’re referring to me , that’s why I added the part about not growing up with it or liking it to emphasise that it’s actually lucky rather than anything to be proud of .
Absolutely not referring to you, sorry if you thought it was.

On the other hand - I would double /triple like this post if I could. Story of my teenage and young adult life . I’m not that young anymore and I also don’t socialise amongst strangers /acquaintances as often (and my friends are understanding of course) so it doesn’t happen as frequently , but it’s still a problem. I get sick of having to explain why I don’t want to drink . And often people don’t like the answer and react overly defensively or even with a level of mistrust - if that’s going to be their reaction , why ask in the first place ? :p

Yeah because drinking until you pass out (opening up the possibility of god knows what happening to you), and waking up in a pool of your vomit is SO much fun. And cool. Did you not know that MWPP?

I don't think I've ever pressured someone into drinking. Few times I've caught up with an old mate and when they rock up they say they can only have one – not a drinker or driving – and I don't mind that at all. I'd be pissed off if you left straight after but if you're happy to listen to my shit and you're still a laugh, good on you. People drink less and less these days, especially young people, I really do not see it happen that often. In fact I probably see more people going 'anyone else?' and being met with a 'nah, gotta head home.'

A classic example of this was when I was working over the summer and I mentioned in passing to someone how keen I was for a beer. Ten hour shift, hot, moving stock around downstairs with no ventilation. This guy was like 'oh where you going?' 'ahh, just at home I guess.'

The next morning I rock up and this 18-year old-ish girl asks me 'did you go out last night?' 'nah nah, had to front up, did you?' (I assumed she did and just wanted to tell me about it). 'Oh, well Lachlan said you were having beers after work last night' and I said yep that's true, I did indeed want a beer and I did have a couple, but at home. 'Oh with who? Few mates?' 'Nah, had a couple with my old man, I'unno.'

She couldn't believe someone would go home, walk to the fridge, and have three beers in a casual, homely setting without the express intent of going out or getting pissed. Irony being, every single weekend she was at some $200 festival in a new $600 outfit taking three pills. Yet I was the weirdo abuser?

My uncle made me drink some scotch when i was over at his place with a racking cough one time. They all pissed themselves over how much coke i had to put with it, before i could drink it. Awful stuff. Only way i can drink spirits is in a cocktail. (genuinely like the taste of wine and beer tho)

Still what is in cough syrup after all? Had a shocking head cold over winter. The over the counter stuff wasn't cutting it, had a few rum and cokes next morning all clear.

Pet hate of mine. Absolutely hate been goaded or baited like that. Can go the other way if I want a few drinks with lunch/before dinner on holidays.

If someone doesn't want to drink don't if someone wants a few go for it. Can't stand the level of policing that goes on.

I dislike the opposite- having pressure put on me as to why im NOT drinking or not drinking much- have had this happen in the past. Like gtfo and mind your own ******* business.
I caught up with Shell last week, you know what Vanessa? She wasn't drinking! Think she is pregnant?

Girls are the f*cken worse at this stuff.

I caught up with Shell last week, you know what Vanessa? She wasn't drinking! Think she is pregnant?

Girls are the f*cken worse at this stuff.

Yeah i couldnt give a shit if someone was pregnant or not. Would not even give that a second thought.

What can appeal to me about drinking has to do with how I find people.

I've always found it easy to chat to people and I've got no issue striking up chat with strangers, but my issue is being disappointed with them. Especially now. Lots of young people don't want anything to do with you if you lack relevance – you don't go here, you don't know them, not enough social media followers. At the same time the idea of being with people, in theory, actually excites me and I like the idea, but so often I go out and they're so self-centred, they don't want to talk about anything interesting or funny but just their casual jobs or uni while they masquerade their importance... people tell me about their nine hour stopover in Hanover as opposed to how they got locked out of their hostel and had to sleep on a table in some random town. Or their job as opposed to some interesting insight into it. I probably have low patience and because of that people shit me, disappoint me, or bore me to death. As a result I really have three close mates who are funny campaigners or have something different to say.

The idea of going out with a heap of people is so good but 15 minutes in I wish I was by myself. A new album or watching a classic ep of something possesses more layers than some campaigner talking banal nonsense.

Having a beer and a read or listening to a song, sometimes there's a line or a sound that makes you stare out the window or at the grass for 30 seconds to take it in. Being pissed ups your melancholia and introspection and I guess I've always been an emotional sorta dude and that overwhelming emotionality agrees with me and resonates hardddd with me. There can also be a sense of humanity, fulfilment when it comes to feeling low or melancholic too.

Generally three beers and that's the level. The issue is wanting more, your cheeks coming inward wanting more flavour, the idea of going down the bottle-o and choosing a label that reminds you of somewhere else... that comes into it. That's when your three becomes nine.

And then when you're with a good mate, well fmd who doesn't want the beers to flow? Footy on the screen, bowl of chips, observing the venue and people around you, pissing yourselves laughing. The idea of having nowhere else to go. Well no one is really saying no to that. It's dopamine brah.

But for the most part, when your favourite things are artistic things and they feel better with a beer, well it's the ultimate hedonism isn't it?

^ I can relate to all of that, especially the subtle but honest 'people are boring after fifteen minutes if I'm not drinking' thing, but to me, it ultimately reads as a justification for what you know is problem drinking -- problem in the sense that it is affecting your health (physical / mental / financial).

I used to do too much of that as well, both the drinking and the rationalization. I still want to, I love drinking. But what keeps me from going overboard, what keeps me sober for weeks on end, is that I now have hobbies which I genuinely enjoy, and which make me money. They keep my mind and body busy, and most importantly, they allow me to envision a happy future, which seems to dissipate the desire for instant gratification (i.e. inebriation).

Are you truly working towards a better/happier future? If not, alcohol will get you. I can tell just by reading your words.

^ I can relate to all of that, especially the subtle but honest 'people are boring after fifteen minutes if I'm not drinking' thing, but to me, it ultimately reads as a justification for what you know is problem drinking -- problem in the sense that it is affecting your health (physical / mental / financial).

I used to do too much of that as well, both the drinking and the rationalization. I still want to, I love drinking. But what keeps me from going overboard, what keeps me sober for weeks on end, is that I now have hobbies which I genuinely enjoy, and which make me money. They keep my mind and body busy, and most importantly, they allow me to envision a happy future, which seems to dissipate the desire for instant gratification (i.e. inebriation).

Are you truly working towards a better/happier future? If not, alcohol will get you. I can tell just by reading your words.
No. People are boring regardless of how pissed I am. They’re self centred, annoying, and boring. I actually drink less around other people because I’d rather load up with a Blur album and feel sad to that.

Thing is I don’t care that much about money. What’s it gonna be to me? Short of me being a millionaire it’s all the same.

Do you think you will always see things this way?

I used to see things that way. Now I wish I had gotten wise sooner.

This is an amazing time to be alive for truly creative people.

Hobby -> side hustle -> part-time business -> living in SEAsia or Eastern Europe like a king off two days work per week

Think it can't be done?

Tuesday night and most places were closed as a mate and I were pissing on. Also looks like BF is dead.

Sent from mTalk

edgie and his mates must have been annoying drinkers. The type who have one beer and start talking in another accent.

Going from accepting someone's decisions to being pissed off with the decisions they make with a completely different set of friends that mimics the same behaviours they were displaying in front of said non drinker?

Can understand being surprised by the turnaround, but annoyed? Like i said. Odd.

Going from accepting someone's decisions to being pissed off with the decisions they make with a completely different set of friends that mimics the same behaviours they were displaying in front of said non drinker?

Can understand being surprised by the turnaround, but annoyed? Like i said. Odd.

I just assume he felt too uncomfortable around strangers to tell them he's not a drinker so... Started drinking. Or he felt uncomfortable to drink around us, but still enough hang out with us?

It's weird. It was a complete 180. If you knew him you'd know how uninterested he was in alcohol until literally his first university function a week after moving then turning in to the life if the party, pictures of him passed out in dorms, etc. It was an overnight change of behaviour.

Sent from mTalk