B Hayden Glass Chick
HF Johnson McPharlin Stenglein
C Embley Kerr Peake
HF Hunter Pavlich Tarrant
F Farmer Lynch Wirrpanda

R Cox Judd Cousins

I J Carr, Bell, Mundy, Sandilands

tough...im sure ive missed players. Chucked Wirra in as a second pocket as the HB line is super strong and has Mundy to switch in. Also, Hunter, Pav and Tarrant are mobile enough for a HF line and to be honest, is orgasmic.

Just noticed I have 11 from each side too

Bestbird said:
I doubt Johnson has the pace or motor to play a role similar to Goodes (See Miller example)

Mundy might go to the midfield, but it i doubt it. Maybe the occasional pinch hitting role

You can talk up McPharlan all you like, but he IMO had an average season. Out of interest, where did he finish in Freo's F&B

Out of interest,

IMO

Johnson is pretty quick. It is his mindset that is the problem (he gives opponent too much latitude), and his spoiling technique isn't great. Pace is also less of an issue in the midfield than in the backline anyway.

And I agree McPharlin didn't have a great season but he had a very good 2nd half to the season in defence, and would be the best CHB out of our sides, with Glass at FB. I have no idea where he finished in Doig, can't imagine it was top 5... but our Doig also gives to more weight to players that don't miss games so that has to be taken into account.

I was more so arguing with the fact that you were basing the argument on stats.

edit just checked: McPharlin finished 10th

Ripper said:
Tarrant, Lynch, Farmer
Embley, Pavlich, Cousins
Crowley, Judd, Black
Hayden, Macpharlin, Mundy
Johnson, Glass, Hunter

Sandilands, Kerr, J Carr

Cox, Bell, Dodd, M.Carr
just a few things...Hunter is quite poor on the last line of defence and Cox has been AA the past 2 years - deserves to start

Kenny_01 said:

I was more so arguing with the fact that you were basing the argument on stats.

McPharlin is an interesting one

I didn't think he had a paticularly great season overall and after looking at his stats. It tends to confirm this seeing as he had 9 games with less than 10 possessions.

As i said previously.

I based my opinion on perception first

Bestbird said:
As i said previously.

I based my opinion on perception first

Fair enough but stats shouldn't be brought into it at all.

It is like me saying "I think Glass is over-rated and looking at the stats, they tend to confirm this"... it just doesn't sound right and the stats FB/FF pick up are whether or not the team goes through them when rebounding (for FBs) and whether or not they get enough opportunities and are 1 out with their opponents (for FFs).

Your perception is fair but stats confirm nothing.

Bestbird said:
Tarrant, Lynch, Farmer
Embley, Pavlich, Cousins
Braun, Judd, Black
Nicoski, Hunter, Mundy
Johnson, Glass, Wirrapanda

Cox, Kerr, J Carr

Sandilands, Bell, Selwood, Stenglien

Unlucky

Chick, McPharlin, Peake and Waters
buddy...McPharlap is EASILY in the best 22 regardless of this year. Would take him over Selwood on the interchange at the very least

B Wirrpanda Glass Mundy
HB Nicoski Hunter Waters
C J. Carr Stenglein Bell
HF Cousins Pavlich Tarrant
F Embley Lynch Farmer

R Cox Judd Kerr
I Johnson Sandilands Braun Black

Ripper said:
Has Stinger ever been asked to mind Riewoldt or Hentscell?

I rest my case.

Stinger has played on Riewoldt before and why would you put your best tagger on Hentschell?

I rest MY case.

B Wirra Glass Hayden
HB Mundy Mcpharlin Black
C Emberly Bell Peake
HF Tarrant Pavlich Cousins
FF Farmer Lynch Hunter

R Sandilands Judd Kerr

Bench Cox J.Carr Johnson Stenglien

Emg Hansen Solomon Chick

Reasons for Sandilands starting is the fact he dominated in 2nd half and towled up Cox and Lade in that run.
I cant believe alot of people havnt put Black in he is 1 of the best running HBFer going around and he has an awesome long left boot.
Hansen doesnt get a game as the team dosent need 3 CHF's.

Brumbies said:
B
Reasons for Sandilands starting is the fact he dominated in 2nd half and towled up Cox and Lade in that run.
yet Cox and Lade were AA. This shows Cox has been elite the past 2 years...Sandi is good but not at that level yet. What advantage Sandi has in the ruck, Cox more then equals it in work around the ground.

Sandi's developing that around the ground ability. Doesn't have the motor of Cox, but it's difficult for a 211cm man to be that athletic.

Mundy is a gun, and should probably be used somewhere other than the backline. Good to see Eagles supporters noticing his and Johnson's ability.

And a quick question to all West Coast fans - based on Paul Hasleby's form in his better years, would he get a spot in a Freagles side? Maybe not, since your midfield is impenetrably good, but I really felt our team missed him this year.

Hayden Glass Wirrapanda
Johnson Mcpharlin Hunter
Braun Kerr Crowley
Cousins Pav Tarrant
Murphy Lynch Farmer

Sandi Judd J Carr

Mundy Bell Cox Stenglein/Embley.

Emergencies
Peake, Nicoski, Black

The spine picks itself IMO.
It's the Half backs that provide the most debate.
The thought of Sandi knocking it to that midfield gives me goosebumps.

FB Mundy Glass Wirrapanda
HB Johnson McPharlin Stenglien
MID Peake Cousins J Carr
HF Embley Pavlich Hunter
FF Farmer Lynch Chick
R Sandilands Judd Kerr
INT Cox Bell Waters Crowley

EMG Black Murphy Braun

Cox/Sandilands are interchangeable

12 eagles and 10 dockers in the best 22.

Include the emergencies and it's 13 apiece.

Good idea for a thread. Very tough side to pick. Easy to miss some very good players out. Here's my effort anyway.

F: Embley, Lynch, Farmer
HF: Cousins, Pavlich, Tarrant
C: Black, J Carr, Stenglien
HB: Mundy, McPharlin, Hayden
B: Wirrpanda, Glass, Hunter

R: Cox, Judd, Kerr

I/C: Sandilands, Bell, Johnson, Nicoski

Tough one to do indeed.

B: Johnson Glass Wirrapanda
HB: Nicoski Mcpharlin Hunter
C: Braun J Carr Stenglien
HF: Cousins Pavlich Embley
F: Tarrant Lynch Farmer

R: Cox Judd Kerr

Probably a tad biased towards WC.

B: Wirrapanda Glass Johnson
HB: Mundy McPharlin Hunter
C: Embley J. Carr Stenglein
HF: Cousins Pavlich Tarrant
F: Farmer Lynch Murphy
R: Sandilands Judd Kerr
Int: Cox Bell Cook Chick

Emerg: Crowley Peake Selwood

Big Cox said:
One question to Freo fans.

Why are you not 2006 premiers. You seem to think your team is clearly better then ours. All of you have more Freo midfielders then Eagles in your team. Your forward line is better. Your ruckmen is better. Your backline is better.

If your this much better then us then surely you should be premiers :rolleyes:

Christ. I'll bite. Apologies to the sensible west coast posters who will read this.

Fact is we were better than you. We had you and your game plan on toast. If you hit us in finals it wouldn't even be academic. I know a few wise west coast fans are shifting uncomfrtably in their seat as they read this because it is on the money. Fact is we didn't get to play you because you couldn't beat Sydney at home, and as a result we hit the best side in the comp away at a ground we hadn't played before on a Saturday night Prelim, gave it a shake, and weren't good enough.

Adelaide fail to put you away in the first half of their prelim, despite your ineptitude (how good were you then, BTW?), panic as you get a run on, and ultimately lose, despite a desperate final five minutes of footy. If the Goodwin clearance was allowed as I believe it should have been, you would probably still be sucking your thumb in the corner. In the GF you get some disgraceful free kicks early, open up a lead, and barely fall over the line choking.

Yes it is in the book, and good on you, 2006 premiers, but it doesn't automatically follow that you are excused from your dutiful ignorance. You still have a lot of structural problems in that side, and I can point to probably ten game s you did or should have lost this year, including the QF, PF, and GF. Luckiest premiers ever, and I mean it when I say it.

You will need a lot of onfield improvement in 2007 to stay competitive with us. This talk around town about a footballing dynasty is so uninformed it must be coming from the 'all-knowing' eagles supporters.

Anyway, heres a side:

FB Mundy Glass Wirrapanda
HB Black McPharlin Johnson
MID J Carr Cousins Embley
HF Tarrant Pavlich Hunter
FF Farmer Lynch Crowley

R Cox Judd Kerr
INT Sandilands Bell Stenglien Whoever you like

and that'll be the end of the good natured discussion...
blocker, they did get close to beating us once, you remember the game after the most disruptive week in the clun's history!

blockerhall said:
In the GF you get some disgraceful free kicks early, open up a lead, and barely fall over the line choking.

Well that's bollox. All the Sydney and WC games are less than a kick, so I was expecting a close one. We were most likely flat at the end due to having to play an extra game. There was no way Sydney was going to give up either.

blockerhall said:
Yes it is in the book, and good on you, 2006 premiers, but it doesn't automatically follow that you are excused from your dutiful ignorance. You still have a lot of structural problems in that side, and I can point to probably ten game s you did or should have lost this year, including the QF, PF, and GF. Luckiest premiers ever, and I mean it when I say it.

I think our structure is fine. We finished minor premiers and won the 3 finals we played. I can't see how that made us lucky?

blockerhall said:
You will need a lot of onfield improvement in 2007 to stay competitive with us.

Now that's arrogance. :)

Wirrapanda:
Fast, great ball skills
Hates body contact, Soft un-accountable front runner. A bit like Des Headland

Billy Hunt said:
Wirrapanda:
Fast, great ball skills
Hates body contact, Soft un-accountable front runner. A bit like Des Headland

Nothing like Headland. You obviously have no idea.

He's been cleaned up in the past and has gotten up and gotten on with it.

ekzistenz said:
Nothing like Headland. You obviously have no idea.

He's been cleaned up in the past and has gotten up and gotten on with it.

He must of hid under a rock when we took on Geelong in Round 10 :o

Underdog said:
buddy...McPharlap is EASILY in the best 22 regardless of this year. Would take him over Selwood on the interchange at the very least

IMO, The maximum number of talls these days would be 8, with 7 the norm in a team of 22. Note that WCE used 6 in the GF

So which of

Sandi
Cox
Taz
Lynch
Pavlich
Hunter
Johnson
Glass

Should make way.

As i just can't see how you can justify 9 talls the way the modern game is played with high rotations of the bench

No idea why I'm going anywhere near this...but, Blocker seriously......

Every year teams beat the eventual premiers throughout the year. It doesn't make them premiers by proxy. Fremantle had a good second half of the year, yes beat the Eagles twice (once by the same margin we won the GF that you claim was lucky) but the REALITY is that no amount of could haves, would haves make a difference. You didn't play us late in the finals not only because we didn't beat Sydney the first week, we still could have played you if you hadn't thrown the game away in Adelaide. You got Adelaide with several good players out, got in front and then blew it. We travelled over there with McLeod and Burton back, with them having had a week's rest, and beat them, end of story. Of course the game had it's ebbs and flows, Adelaide are a damn good side and are bound to get on top at stages throughout a game. We stayed in front (albeit just), you didn't.

You had a chance against Sydney (a ground that the club claimed suited them till you got beat - now it's just a venue you'd never been to) and once again couldn't get the job done. WCE met Sydney and again were in front at the final siren. If you'd beaten Adelaide you would have got us in the Prelim, if you'd beaten Sydney you would have got us in the GF, you did neither.

I don't think any Eagles supporter thinks the side is perfect...there are some deficencies, otherwise we wouldn't have lost to you (twice), lost to Sydney in the QF or been run so close in the GF (other than the fact that Sydney, Adelaide and Freo are all damn good sides).

Eagles deficencies.....midfield don't exactly do a lot to help the defence (the fact they are so good going the other way probably a good excuse for this but it does leave us exposed), we back the game plan and individual players to do the job which can lead to run ons against us, Worsfold seems to be sticking by Staker who will doubtless lose us games in the future, there are probably 10 - 15 small forwards in the league that would walk into our forward pocket (sorry Army) and Farmer is one of them, Wirrpanda can be exposed if opposition teams attack via his opponent (done beautifully by Malthouse with Davis) and Judd is yet to reach the level where he is picking up 35 posessions and kicking 4 goals EVERY week rather than just on special occassions (OK I threw that in for fun).

For what it's worth, Freagles side... based on going with general structure obviously as no specific opponent to match up on, here's mine for everyone to criticise.

B; Mundy Glass Wirrpanda
HB; Black McPharlin Hunter
C; Peake Bell Stenglein
HF; Cousins Pavlich Tarrant
F; Embley Lynch Farmer
R; Cox Judd Kerr
Int; Sandilands Haselby J.Carr Chick

So some explanations......

First thing, it's come out 11 / 11...so I'd like to think I've been objective.

Where is Ashley Hansen? As important as he is to the Eagles structure (and he is a damn good player), the group of players we are choosing from has one of the top two CHFs in the league. Position taken and it's the only position he plays.

Stenglein on a wing....coming into the square to pick up whoever he is tagging when the ball is bounced. J.Carr to take that spot in the starting 18 depending on who is to be picked up. If it's a taller player such as Goodes, definately Stenglein.

Peake in the 18? There are better players I've left out, but he offers something different.

No Nicoski? To me it came down to him and Black. The side is already tall and again they are both running HBF with penetrating kicks.

Chick.....if the game got close I know one W.A based player I'd want in on the team.

No Dodd? Simply ran out of spots for that type of player and it was 2 out of Mundy, Hunter and Dodd. I already feel crook leaving out Parker to be honest, but Mundy was terrific this year and no way Hunter is not in this side.

Cousins on a HFF the same way the WCE use him and allows Bell to go in and under with Kerr and Judd to break the centre.

Selwood was an option for wing, but went with the more offensive Peake.

Braun unlucky but he's 5th or 6th in the rotation at WCE and add Bell and Haselby to the mix, no room.

Wanted to find room for Crowley but Chick probably got that spot.