- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
- Banned
I moved to Melbourne in May 1998 and I have never looked back I love it better than anywhere

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.

Originally posted by lioness22
Just returned from a lovely fortnight on the Sunshine Coast, and I have to say, I can't wait to go back...........
Friggin Melbourne.
Just felt like sharing.![]()

I have problems in winter with my circulation, so I always suffer down here, and in my old age
p) that is only going to get worse. 

Originally posted by Smokin
Went to the Sunshine coast for a week once - that was enuff.
I got bored - simply heck all to do there, except sit on the beach.
Gold Coast has a bit more action, $hithouse nightlife tho.
Qld is great for a holiday, rivals anywhere in the world IMO.
But, its a totally different story when you live there. Ive lived between the GC and Melb since 95 roughly. While I loved it at first, novelty soon wears off.
I have lived in Europe as well. What I have learned is that Melbournians dont really appreciate enough what an awesome city it is.
For example little things like the grid that is the CBD, with really wide streets. Go do business in Sydney, negotiate their mess, or paris, or Milan - and you realise how well planned Melbourne is for a city of its size. Up there with NYC in that regard.
Ive been to heaps of cities in this world, and IMO Melbourne is the closest to being perfect IMO - its weather is its only downfall.
Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
You obviously don't know my family.
Left Melbourne in 1991, still here.

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank
Bastards.
I love Melbourne and find it's charm to irresistible.![]()

Originally posted by Dan26
Good post Somking, but I disagree about the weather being Melbourne's only downfall.
I think too many people fall into the trap of believing the weather is bad because we are the furthest south of any mainland capital city. "Hey, they are right down South so it must be freezing and wet all the time" they say.
I don't know how our rainfall compares to Adelaide and Perth, but we do get less than Brisbane and Sydney. Considerably less. The air is less humid, more comfortable. We get hot in Summer but it's a dry heat, and we don't get the often tropical (i.e wet) conditions that are present in coastal Queensland.
Do we have tp contend with Cyclones in Melbourne? No. Tornados, like Mid-west U.S.A? No. Earthquakes? No.
There is nothing wrong with the weather in Melbourne. Its a myth, I reckon.
Originally posted by Somefella
I'll be back in a few years though, I love it. I HATE Brisbane on the other hand.
Originally posted by sbagman
As for the Sunshine Coast, why? There's nothing there. If you can live without excitement, culture, sport, major events, museums, multiculturalism, intellectual stimulation, then go for it. It's a nice place to spend a week, but unless you're planning on retiring soon, forget it.

Originally posted by lioness22
Well I liked it, I had enough to do, and I saw enough around to amuse me.![]()
Originally posted by sbagman
I can find enough to amuse me for a day in DreamWorld, doesn't mean I want an apartment overlooking the Giant Drop.
Originally posted by Dan26
I don't know how our rainfall compares to Adelaide and Perth, but we do get less than Brisbane and Sydney. Considerably less. The air is less humid, more comfortable. We get hot in Summer but it's a dry heat, and we don't get the often tropical (i.e wet) conditions that are present in coastal Queensland.
, although I wouldn't mind seeing some rain now as it hasn't properly rained here since about October.Originally posted by sussudio
one thing I do dislike about melb is the public transport ticketing system. singapore's ticketing system, and hong kong's too for that matter, absolutely craps all over melb's.
Melbourne's wouldn't be too bad if:Originally posted by sussudio
one thing I do dislike about melb is the public transport ticketing system. singapore's ticketing system, and hong kong's too for that matter, absolutely craps all over melb's.
).Originally posted by Smokin
But what $hits me about Melbournes weather is that drizzle it gets. Ie Bris/GC wherever may get more "Rain" as in actual amounts of water, if someone was to time the amount of TIME it is raining in Qld, as opposed to Melbourne, then you would get a different picture.
When it rain on the GC, it fu(kin rains! normaly 3-4 hour downfall which floods the joint. By the next day, its back to 30 degrees and you wouldnt never know its been raining.
Whereas in Melbourne, you get half the water, but it takes 2 weeks of contstant bull$hit drizzle which farks plans just as badly as a friggen mini cyclone.
Originally posted by knuckles
Yes. And to make it ludicrous, the ticketing system in SG,HK and TW (also NY, London and the rest of the world soon), is based on Australian technology.
tige19. Correct and not the first time.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Been in Brisvegas nine and a half months now and the thing I miss most about Melbourne is the weather. It's just too darn "same" here.