I hate Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter lioness

Originally posted by lioness22
Just returned from a lovely fortnight on the Sunshine Coast, and I have to say, I can't wait to go back...........

Friggin Melbourne. :mad:

Just felt like sharing. :)

I just returned 3 hours ago from 5 days on the Gold Coast and I'm glad I'm back. I love Melbourne and the fact Melbourne is 2.5 times the size of Brisbane means there must be something good about it!

A.) Dreamworld, Seaworld, Movieworld and Wet 'N Wld are great fun, but they are "once a year" things. They are not the kind of things you'd go to regualry if you lived there. They are "tourist" attractions not specifically for locals.

B.) The weather is too hot. Yes, hot weather is nice if you are on holiday, but if you lived there you wouldn't be on holiday. Sure you can hop in the beach or a pool but you can't live in a pool. You can't live in the ocean either. 99% of the time you have to contend with the heat, without dipping your body in water.

C.) No footy up there - not to anywhere near the same extent

D.) Humidity. Would you rather a 100% humidity 29 degree day, or a 10% humidity 29 degree day? Yep me too. Dryer is more comfortable.

E.) No footy.

F.) Did I mention the heat? Yep, but I'll mention it again. Everyone says they like hot weather, but the moment it gets hot everyone complains. Remember a few weeks ago here in Melbourne when everyone sooked (justifiably) about the 40 degree weather. Everytone thinks they like hot weather until it happens, and then they realise how much it sucks. Yes you can jump in a pool but you can't LIVE in a pool people!

g.)It rains too much up North. Melbourne is the driest capital city on the east coast.

h.) There are more major events in Melbourne.

By the way I had a great time on the Gold Coast. Can't wait to go back. But live there? You've got to be kidding. I'm not stupid!

SUNSHINE Coast, Dan. ;)

Oh and I love heat. :) I have problems in winter with my circulation, so I always suffer down here, and in my old age (:p) that is only going to get worse.

If any interesting major events happen down here, there are planes. :)

And I don't need a big city.

:)

Originally posted by Smokin
Went to the Sunshine coast for a week once - that was enuff.

I got bored - simply heck all to do there, except sit on the beach.
Gold Coast has a bit more action, $hithouse nightlife tho.

Qld is great for a holiday, rivals anywhere in the world IMO.

But, its a totally different story when you live there. Ive lived between the GC and Melb since 95 roughly. While I loved it at first, novelty soon wears off.

I have lived in Europe as well. What I have learned is that Melbournians dont really appreciate enough what an awesome city it is.

For example little things like the grid that is the CBD, with really wide streets. Go do business in Sydney, negotiate their mess, or paris, or Milan - and you realise how well planned Melbourne is for a city of its size. Up there with NYC in that regard.

Ive been to heaps of cities in this world, and IMO Melbourne is the closest to being perfect IMO - its weather is its only downfall.

Good post Somking, but I disagree about the weather being Melbourne's only downfall.

I think too many people fall into the trap of believing the weather is bad because we are the furthest south of any mainland capital city. "Hey, they are right down South so it must be freezing and wet all the time" they say.

I don't know how our rainfall compares to Adelaide and Perth, but we do get less than Brisbane and Sydney. Considerably less. The air is less humid, more comfortable. We get hot in Summer but it's a dry heat, and we don't get the often tropical (i.e wet) conditions that are present in coastal Queensland.

Do we have tp contend with Cyclones in Melbourne? No. Tornados, like Mid-west U.S.A? No. Earthquakes? No.

There is nothing wrong with the weather in Melbourne. Its a myth, I reckon.

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
You obviously don't know my family. ;)
Left Melbourne in 1991, still here.

We left in 1986, still here unfortunately. :(
Brisbane is a ****house city with good weather. Melbourne is 10x better than here, though the weather isnt great.

I'll be back in a few years though, I love it. I HATE Brisbane on the other hand.

Bastards. :(

I love Melbourne and find it's charm to irresistible. :)

I am stuck in a ****hole like Sydney where high density living is the key to survival.

Did I tell you all how much I hate Sydney?

I've just come back from overseas...having been to hong kong, bangkok and singapore, but I'm glad I'm back in melb! as mentioned previously, people don't realise how well planned this city is. go to bangkok, and it's constant gridlock and the pollution is stifling, not to mention the heat. hong kong's traffic is also mad; I don't know how you could ever drive there unless you've been living there for a long time. singapore is comparable to melb in terms of organisation and layout, but there's still the humidity (which I loathe) and the fact that I paid about $14 for a pint of beer in a "pub". EXCEPTIONAL food in s'pore and bangkok though :)

I've been to brisbane and gold coast; yeah it's nice to holiday there but I don't know about living there.

I like melb because it's got FOOTY, lots of sporting events like the F1, Aust Open and Melb Cup, excellent mid-priced restaurants, fantastic bars and pubs, big multicultural community, Brunswick St, a mix of hot and cold weather, and the best coffee in Aust IMO :)

one thing I do dislike about melb is the public transport ticketing system. singapore's ticketing system, and hong kong's too for that matter, absolutely craps all over melb's.

Originally posted by Dan26
Good post Somking, but I disagree about the weather being Melbourne's only downfall.

I think too many people fall into the trap of believing the weather is bad because we are the furthest south of any mainland capital city. "Hey, they are right down South so it must be freezing and wet all the time" they say.

I don't know how our rainfall compares to Adelaide and Perth, but we do get less than Brisbane and Sydney. Considerably less. The air is less humid, more comfortable. We get hot in Summer but it's a dry heat, and we don't get the often tropical (i.e wet) conditions that are present in coastal Queensland.

Do we have tp contend with Cyclones in Melbourne? No. Tornados, like Mid-west U.S.A? No. Earthquakes? No.

There is nothing wrong with the weather in Melbourne. Its a myth, I reckon.

I agree that Melbournes weather isnt as bad as people crap on about. I also prefer cooler weather than hot, humid annoying weather, especially when you have to work.

But what $hits me about Melbournes weather is that drizzle it gets. Ie Bris/GC wherever may get more "Rain" as in actual amounts of water, if someone was to time the amount of TIME it is raining in Qld, as opposed to Melbourne, then you would get a different picture.

When it rain on the GC, it fu(kin rains! normaly 3-4 hour downfall which floods the joint. By the next day, its back to 30 degrees and you wouldnt never know its been raining.

Whereas in Melbourne, you get half the water, but it takes 2 weeks of contstant bull$hit drizzle which farks plans just as badly as a friggen mini cyclone.

Originally posted by Somefella

I'll be back in a few years though, I love it. I HATE Brisbane on the other hand.

I feel your pain buddy.

As for the Sunshine Coast, why? There's nothing there. If you can live without excitement, culture, sport, major events, museums, multiculturalism, intellectual stimulation, then go for it. It's a nice place to spend a week, but unless you're planning on retiring soon, forget it.

Originally posted by sbagman

As for the Sunshine Coast, why? There's nothing there. If you can live without excitement, culture, sport, major events, museums, multiculturalism, intellectual stimulation, then go for it. It's a nice place to spend a week, but unless you're planning on retiring soon, forget it.

Well I liked it, I had enough to do, and I saw enough around to amuse me. :)

Originally posted by lioness22
Well I liked it, I had enough to do, and I saw enough around to amuse me. :)

I can find enough to amuse me for a day in DreamWorld, doesn't mean I want an apartment overlooking the Giant Drop.

Originally posted by Dan26

FYI you get more rain than Adelaide, less than Perth, but the differences across Melbourne are greater. The main problem with the weather in Melbourne compared to Perth (and Adelaide I guess as the climates in Perth and Adelaide are very similar) is that the rain is spread out as lots of drizzle all year round. In Perth the rain does seem to be mostly at night in winter. Ideal :), although I wouldn't mind seeing some rain now as it hasn't properly rained here since about October.

Can't really speak for Melbourne as a place to live. Sydney on the other hand sucks.

Melbourne the 2nd most livebale city in the WORLD didnt hear anything about any QLD cities.

Originally posted by sussudio
one thing I do dislike about melb is the public transport ticketing system. singapore's ticketing system, and hong kong's too for that matter, absolutely craps all over melb's.

Yes. And to make it ludicrous, the ticketing system in SG,HK and TW (also NY, London and the rest of the world soon), is based on Australian technology.

tige19. Correct and not the first time.

Originally posted by sussudio
Melbourne's wouldn't be too bad if:
* The machines worked. (I've put money into those things and not had tickets come out:mad: ).
* The trams sold all-day tickets. What's with that - how come trains and newsagents sell all day tickets and trams don't?

But I like the idea of having one ticket for everything. Beats the Sydney fiasco where you have to buy a separate ticket for buses, trains etc.

Originally posted by Smokin

But what $hits me about Melbournes weather is that drizzle it gets. Ie Bris/GC wherever may get more "Rain" as in actual amounts of water, if someone was to time the amount of TIME it is raining in Qld, as opposed to Melbourne, then you would get a different picture.

When it rain on the GC, it fu(kin rains! normaly 3-4 hour downfall which floods the joint. By the next day, its back to 30 degrees and you wouldnt never know its been raining.

Whereas in Melbourne, you get half the water, but it takes 2 weeks of contstant bull$hit drizzle which farks plans just as badly as a friggen mini cyclone.

You would have loved living in Melbourne over the past seven years, it hasn't rained at all.

Some people saw the weather MELBOURNE used to have as very depressing, because it seemed to rain for days at a time. If you ever actually got out in this rain, it was possible to function normally in it. It was more of a massage than an imposition. Not something you could say about tropical rain.

During the very hottest periods we would have 38-41 degrees for three days, then the wind would change from the north to the west, then to the south-west, and finally to the south. Then you could sleep, because it actually used to rain.

BRISBANE: Great place if you like cyclones, humidity and mosquitoes which require landing rights. What's the point of being near the beach if the temperature of the water corresponds exactly to the ambient temperature? Where's the cooling aspect in going from hot atmosphere to similarly hot water?

ADELAIDE: Hotter than Melbourne, probably because it's further north. Drier heat without the face-saving grace of a cooling wind, which Melbourne used to have, up until seven years ago.

PERTH: Only spent a winter here. They had the wettest winter in their history. Seemed fine to me. Had serious doubts about the people because they all seemed to live here because they were following the sun. A very dubious concept - displays a weakness of mind, IMO. For this reason, would include it in the Brisbane category of sun-chasers.

HOBART: Haven't spent much time here, but was encouraged by the fact that I had to buy a very thick coat to holiday there in the middle of January. My type of place.

SYDNEY: A ****hole. Humid as Brisbane with more pollution. The beaches are marginally more refreshing, but who'd put up with the hassle to get there? By the time you get home you are as hot as when you started. People also seem to feel the need to constantly party to forestall the necessity of actually thinking.

CANBERRA: Lived here for three years. Loved the weather REAL winters and magnificent Spring and Autumn. Also has the most interesting, intelligent and most ****ed people in the country. All the better for that.

One man's opinion.

Haven't been to Alice Springs or Darwin. Don't feel deprived.

Yeehees !!! Melbourne still rules and don't we all know it!!

Ain't no shame in braggin' in this case.

Sorry, I just felt such pride. ... :p

Originally posted by knuckles
Yes. And to make it ludicrous, the ticketing system in SG,HK and TW (also NY, London and the rest of the world soon), is based on Australian technology.

tige19. Correct and not the first time.

cheers mate ;)

Melbourne's a great place. I've got heaps of wonderful memories of the place, I've got family and friends there - and of course there's the footy.:D
No way would I bag Melbourne. But Sydney's home now, I've been up here for many years now and I've got no intention of moving away.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Been in Brisvegas nine and a half months now and the thing I miss most about Melbourne is the weather. It's just too darn "same" here.

I quite liked the 'same'ness, but I've never liked winter so that might explain it. :)

I love QLD i might save up for a holiday there. Normally i reckon holidays are a waste of money but when i went to QLD when i was about 10 it was the best holiday i ever had so i would imagine being over 18 now that i would see an even better side of it!