Sammya87

Some more quality journalism from Mike Sheahan

"The future
IT is exciting, as it should be for the country's most popular sport with the immediate future guaranteed by a massive media rights deal for the next five years.
There will be no more expansion in the foreseeable future, with the possibility, perhaps probability, Tasmania finally might get a resident team.
As hard as North Melbourne fights for its survival as a Melbourne-based club, commercial realities loom larger by the year.
The Kangaroos will have a Tasmanian presence from next year. At the risk of an angry phone call today from my friend James Brayshaw, my guess is his club has a brighter long-term future in Hobart than Melbourne.
No matter how much money the AFL generates, the disparity between rich and poor becomes more exaggerated by the year.
The AFL will help Etihad-based clubs, including North, by buying the management rights to the venue in the next year or two, but North's problem is lack of support in the community rather than perceived indifference at the AFL board table."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/the-health-of-australian-football/story-e6frf9jf-1226223447470

Why are we the one to make way? He just had to highlight us, of all clubs, didn't he?
If managed well over the next 10 years, there is no reason why we couldn't overtake as many as 3-4 other Melbourne clubs. And it's not like Tasmania is a financial hub or a growing region. We've read that so many times before, and we're still here.

The one thing I never got with morons saying we need to relocate is the financial side.... Do people honestly think if we relocated to Tasmania we would have 60k members and be making million dollar profits?? Correct me if I am wrong but didn't the majority if interstate sides run at a loss this year?

Some more quality journalism from Mike Sheahan
[/URL]

Right up there with his early season Caro like spruik of how Melbourne was flying on and off field and North were not.

Mike's prediction of the future should probably include some actual facts like the Hawks having a contract until 2016.

Look it's just puffery. I wouldn't stress over it. Next he'll be writing his memoirs like Henry Kissinger or Bill Clinton.

He's just showing us all how important he has become by writing essays on footy. As big as the game itself, almost.

"My friend James Brayshaw" - just throws it in there to show how impartial he is.:rolleyes:

[Except when he's writing about the Dees]

Originally Posted by Shagga is all Class Right up there with his early season Caro like spruik of how Melbourne was flying on and off field and North were not.

Yeah that was classic, surely he's not biased?

Since I've finished work for the day and got the ATAR score I desired, does anyone want to tag along to the offices of the HUN where I will be 'escorting' Sheehan to his car? And when I mean, 'escorting', I mean putting him in a rolled up carpet and throwing him down the stairs of the fire escape.

Class. A. Moron.

He's just taking swings because he no longer needs to worry about the consequences.

It's a sad state of affairs when the leading football journalist of the last 20 years gets jumped on by supporters for voicing his opinion on certain issues. I for one quite enj........

Sorry, could keep typing with a straight keyboard.

This man is well and truly irrelevant.

I know he is retiring from the Herald but is he also retiring from fox sports too so I don't need to see his ugly head anymore and rubbish comments?

Maybe he wants to have a go with Jeff Kennett, to see who can have the most "last words" (I think Kennett is up to at least three now) before they are both set adrift on ice floes.

Do not want. Good riddance.

I know he is retiring from the Herald but is he also retiring from fox sports too so I don't need to see his ugly head anymore and rubbish comments?

What about Roos?

Apparently a 20 year old guy coming off 2 broken legs should be running a couple of ultra marathons per game.

The one thing I never got with morons saying we need to relocate is the financial side.... Do people honestly think if we relocated to Tasmania we would have 60k members and be making million dollar profits?? Correct me if I am wrong but didn't the majority if interstate sides run at a loss this year?

Exactly. And yet Zondor (the guy who claimed Katy Perry would be a one-hit wonder), doesn't want to concede that if we played in the EDFL, we'd be unstoppable. And yet he thinks that since Genie in a Bottle, it's all been downhill for C Aguillera. What's he thinking? Yep. Not a hell of a lot. Sheahan and Zondor are the sort of turkeys that would back up their ghost drives if you ask me.

I agree, if north were to go to Hobart for good, what do the morons think that of all a sudden 60,000 will turn up to watch the Hobart Kangaroos?????? membership will go to 45,000 over night...not a chance in hell..
As stated by many here they would not support a move like this with membership or patronage...:confused::footy:

I normally like sheehan I must admit..
but from this article its so full of shit.

he brushes over melbourne and the bulldogs who have won nothing in forever
richmond and the saints get off with nothing because they have strong membership?!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
does not have the balls to admit that Vlad is just ****ing up the game plain and simple
the effing rules commity and constant rule interpretation changes...:confused::confused:

he freely admits the game is run by the corperates and that it will not change, you complete soft prick....what about the peoples game mike?????

i do enjoy watching the pies play yes, add the cats ofcourse but after that it is same same for the rest, alot of seriously boring games..
I would take any 90's football over todays thats for sure.

no more player individuality programed robots, towing the sponsers line..sad sad sad...:footy:

Haven't read the replies to this thread but here we go....

Dear Mike,

As long as there's a shit football club that calls its self the Melbourne Demons North's future is mighty fine. Mike you're a Melbourne fan and for that I reason I believe you're a complete ****en idiot!!

Exactly. And yet Zondor (the guy who claimed Katy Perry would be a one-hit wonder), doesn't want to concede that if we played in the EDFL, we'd be unstoppable. And yet he thinks that since Genie in a Bottle, it's all been downhill for C Aguillera. What's he thinking? Yep. Not a hell of a lot. Sheahan and Zondor are the sort of turkeys that would back up their ghost drives if you ask me.
Gobble, Gobble, Gobble. :stern look

Memo to football department.
Round 18 - do it.
The pansies only face us once next season.

No Mike is still on the journalist flog love boat, he just isn't the captain anymore.

Comments about us going to Tassie as relocate option were inevitable given the 2 games we are committed to down there. Similar comments will be made next year, don't think anything of it.

The mind boggles (or not) at what we would have copped on slow news days if that f'ing ridiculous 7-8 Home games in Tassie proposal had gone ahead.

****, I completely erased that shit from my memory. Have we really offered to play 8 games up there under JB and Euge? ;)