I was there when....

• Thread starter Thread starter MaccaRoo

Not a great memory, especially going with a Saints supporting mate, but the 1997 Prelim against the Saints and about 10 minutes into the first quarter Nathan Burke and one other (can't rem who) gang tackled McKernan over the boundary line and smashed his shoulder.
We'd had a good season and this was so devastating.

Not a great memory, especially going with a Saints supporting mate, but the 1997 Prelim against the Saints and about 10 minutes into the first quarter Nathan Burke and one other (can't rem who) gang tackled McKernan over the boundary line and smashed his shoulder.

Never forgotten that - should have been reported. I reckon McKernan was never the same after that. One of the more disgusting things I have seen in football.

Agree. And the St Kilda supporters cheering in delight as McKernan was helped from the ground was even more disgusting.

speaking of sickly injuries, was at the 99 gf when justin murphy did his knee....listening to the crowd groan and grimace when it was replayed on the screen as he was stretchered off

going way back here guys,cant remember exact year but john "kanga" kennedy was coach,had been raining for about two weeks solid and we were playing carlton at princes park,naturally we had the white away shorts on and and before the bounce kanga gathered all 20 players in the quagmire centre square and made them all do forward rolls in the mud we looked like we had just finished the game before a ball was even kicked, PURE GOLD,by the way i believe kanga had a profound influence on our club in many intangible ways,and i really respect the man,and his crappy old gabardine overcoat,also his booming voice,you would swear he was using a megaphone from the boundary at training,but no,just his booming voice,bravo kanga

Fitzroy at Princes Park.

Duck's first game. Good thread about it on the Fitzroy board the moment.

I think every person who attended has posted on the thread, all 56 of us.

I was at that game too. I remember being pleased a kid called Carey had been picked, as he had shown a lot in the reserves. I think he only got a couple of kicks that day.

Seing as we are posting "I was there when",
I went to a reseves game at Moorabbin in about 1988? North vs the Saints. There wasn't a seniors math that day at the ground.
I think it was Carey's first reserves game and he kicked nine or 10 goals. I know David Ackerley and Liam Pickering were running around.
This is really obscure but can anyone confirm the date/year?

I was at that game too. I remember being pleased a kid called Carey had been picked, as he had shown a lot in the reserves. I think he only got a couple of kicks that day.

Seing as we are posting "I was there when",
I went to a reseves game at Moorabbin in about 1988? North vs the Saints. There wasn't a seniors math that day at the ground.
I think it was Carey's first reserves game and he kicked nine or 10 goals. I know David Ackerley and Liam Pickering were running around.
This is really obscure but can anyone confirm the date/year?

I reckon it was 1989. I was at the game at and saw part of the reserves and Carey kicked 8 from memory. I had kept an eye out for him since doing work experience with him the year before at the club.

The seniors game was a memorable to a point. We were ordinary in 89 and the saints were a reasonable side but i don't think pluggar was playing this day? Anyway the lasting memory was the last 15 seconds of the game and were were less than a goal behind and Arceri had the ball on the wing and we were going forward. I remember saying to my mate we are stuffed because he can only kick it 20 metres at most. Anyway the siren went and we lost. But i do remember having a real dip that day despite being outclassed.

Fitzroy at Princes Park.

Duck's first game. Good thread about it on the Fitzroy board the moment.

I think every person who attended has posted on the thread, all 56 of us.

I remember it well, sitting in the Carlton Social Club stand with my Fitzroy supporting dad and brothers, and his Fitzroy supporting brothers and their Fitzroy supporting sons. The Fitzroy v North games were nightmarish within our family and that day was one of those when my old man would've loved to leave early but couldn't, due to my North passions and determination to see every minute.

It was a landmark game for us as I refused to go in their car after that, instead driving myself, as I would to all other games (depending on the volume of booze consumption expected).

And to think that we whinge on when there's some sand on the Jihad undercover surface nowadays!!!!!!!

*I was there when Nathan Brown shattered his leg, worst thing i have ever seen.
*Aaron Edwards 2007 semi final mark v hawks!
*Winston running off the pine and tryin to tackle or bump hirdy and he bounced off him and wrecked his knee, pretty much ruined his career.
*When we lost to Fitzroy by 1 pt at P.P in the early 90s when he absolutely pissed down all day. I'm pretty sure Jeff Hogg kicked the winning goal.
*When we played in that awful orange rubbish!
*Adrian McAdams debut v tigers :)
*When Shaun Rehn was pinged for holding the ball...tackled by the one and only Evan Hewitt! well it wasn't even a tackle really haha... passed it onto ding dong who slotted it through from 30 to win the game!

Corey Jones banana at the SCG in Archer's 250th. That last quarter was sensational! Think that was the game when McKernan rucked his own ball from the square, sprinted away & goaled in about 15 seconds.

Darryn F****** Cresswell staging for a free kick against Winnie Abrahams in the goalsquare in the last 20 seconds of a game at the SCG. Early 2000s, maybe 03 or 04. That was the first game of footy I took my wife to. She would be a North supporter today if not for that snot nosed tossbag :mad:

1996 grand final, in standing room underneath the Great Southern stand.

Once of the most bizarre was seeing Longmire slide through the SCG mud on a filthy wet day. He slid 20m+ (not exaggerating!) right through the centre square.

Edit: Winnie's mark at Manuka! Best mark I have ever seen in person.

Archer's 250th was one for the ages. More than made up for the Cresswell free kick goal in that disgracefule "Boo-a-roo" promotion.

It was Shannon Motlop too, not Abraham - I think it was the last time Motlop played for us, if not one of the last. It saved Rocket Eade's fledgling coaching career at the Swans for another season too. I remember him running onto the field at full time like he'd won the flag

I was at that game too, our forward line was one of the most dangerous forward lines I have ever seen.

The look on Hawkins face was hysterical, he didn't know what hit him....right in front of the dogs faithful too:thumbsu:

I spoke to Hawk about that incident at a cricket match I was playing against him. He said he felt like the game was slipping and wanted to try and distract North. As it turned out all he did was fire us up even more......he said his respect for Rocky grew as he mouthed off a lot but put his head over the ball when he had to and gave as good as he got.

Steve McPherson tried to even up with Rocky for the rest of the day but just kept getting pinged for frees.

We arrived that day.

If you ever meet Macpherson he's a quality bloke and has done a lot for the young people in the western suburbs, and he could play and was hard at it but I always thought as a player he could be a bit of a w***er at times. He thought he was tougher than he was. If someone said something to him or decked one of his team mates he'd follow them around for the rest of the game trying to square up and add nothing to the team in the process. Jim Edmond was the same. Quality bloke off the field and could also play but every now and then he'd do something stupid out of the blue.

Jim Edmond was the same. Quality bloke off the field and could also play but every now and then he'd do something stupid out of the blue.

The most stupid thing he did was moving to The Bears. The guy should've retired a Footscray legend. I agree he was a loose cannon, just like McPherson too. Both could play!

Okay - have scanned the thread answers as follows -

Darryl Sutton only kicked more than 5 in a game for North on one occassion in 1980 at Moorabbin when he kicked 9. He did play a half at full forward against Carlton in Rd 18 1979 when he took a couple of hangers and kicked 3 in a half after starting at full back.

Did star when he kicked 5 from centre half forward in the 76 Prelim v Carlton - have the whole game on tape and boy he kicked about 4 of them with beautiful long torpedo punt kicks.

Mick Nolans goal was in the pouring rain in the second qtr of the first semi v Geelong in 1976 kicked to the Punt Rd end of the MCG.

Someone mentioned Barassi v Sheedy blewing in an Essendon match - incorrect as Sheedy never coached Essendon when Barassi coached us. I was at the game I think you were thinking of which was 1973 Rd 17 at Arden St which Essendon won by 2 pts 14.10 to 13.13 with a Graham Moss goal right at the end. This game effectively meant we missed the finals. Anyway Barassi and Des Tuddenham who was coaching Essendon had a huge verbal at qtr time which almost came to blows.

It was also not the 17 men game - this was in Rd 9 1976 vs Essendon at Arden St when we lost Ross Henshaw in the 3rd qtr - kicking against the wind we hung on to win 8.10.58 to 7.12.54. Remember being at the game and Cable, John Burns (no 11) and Mal Blight played well. Significantly the next week was the game Blight kicked the 75 mtr goal to beat Carlton at Princes Park after the siren.

The other game mentioned was 1973 Rd 13 at Arden St v Carlton - we won 16.19 to 16.11 and Sam Kekovich while only kicking one goal certainly threw hisweight around - I think he scared a few blokes that day and was instrumental in a break through win against the reigning premiers.

Hope that helps some of you.

I also remember Sam kicking 10.4 v Sth Melb at Arden St in Rd 12 1974.
Brent Crosswells goal first qtr of 1975 Grand Final.
Doug Wade kicking 7 in a qtr v Coll at Arden St Rd 21 1974.
And finally out of left field-

Alistair Clarksons first ever game Rd 15 1987 kicked 3 goals including the winner after the siren for a 16.16.112 to 15.20.110 win at the MCG.

Kanga Kennedy's quote after the game was priceless:

"I couldn't watch as he kicked it, but as soon as I heard the crowd roar I knew that he'd got it. It was a North Melbourne sort of a roar."

Kanga Kennedy's quote after the game was priceless:

"I couldn't watch as he kicked it, but as soon as I heard the crowd roar I knew that he'd got it. It was a North Melbourne sort of a roar."

Never forget that day.......it was the day my grandfather died, put a smile on the old mans face that win did.

It's one thing I'll always like about Al......that and his ability to walk off the ground alive in London.

Happened right in front of me and the pain on Corey's face said it all. The way the Saints fans carried on afterwards has left me with a lingering dislike ever since...always great to beat them because they cut up so rough.

My memories of 97 were doing okay and struggling. Carey did his shoulder the first game of the year, and we always seemed to be hanging on for grim death until THAT night when the nails were slammed shut with J (milton the monste) Heatley destroying us.

Also was the end of Danitilchenko's career which has been covered many times over on BF.

The good aspect of this era was that Pagan didn't hestitate to move duds on and find new players and on we went to back to back GF's.

Gaso

That at princes Park when we beat carlton and that mad bugger with the tattooed beard - a lovely bloke, Paddy maybe? - ran onto the group brandishing a home made wooden spoon.

Yes it was Paddy.. I played public service footy with him. Scrap matches on a Sunday where Telstra played Aust Post etc ... can't remember who he played for, but he was mad as a brush. Took on some ex-con toe to toe at Port Melbourne one day....

Anyway, I witnessed a guy piss out of the left leg of his king gee shorts in the dunnies at Vic Park when Cary & McAdam put on a clinic. It wasn't so much about what's on the ground, but what happens in the oooter. This guy had a North emblem tottooed onto his thigh as well... Never forget it... spooky moment for an uninitiated 17 year old...

I spoke to McKernan at a function in the xmas of 97 and he reckoned the preliminary final incident was a complete accident. He said they both got him at once, but they weren't deliberately trying to injure him. In fact he had nothing bad to say about the St Kilda guys at all.

I lost a lot of respect for him after that. :thumbsd:

I was just thinking about some of the amazing things I've seen at the footy and thought it would be good to see what others witnessed first hand.

Gee,where do I start?

Dwyer ugly torp in 1985 vs Blues in 1985 to win deep into time on

Horse kicking 12 vs Tigers in 1990, woke up on a car bonnet in Carlton the next morn next to Naughtons

Horse kicking 14 vs Dees with Perks in toe

Horse kicking 2 goals 8 vs Pies at Artic Park needing 4 for the ton.

Nth smashing Pies at Vic Park by83 points in 1993. Mckernan played reserves that day and took 20 marks.

Beating Hawks in 1994 for the first time in 10 years

Carey v's dogs at Western Oval in 1994 or 1993 sitting under the old coaches box. Duck kicked 6 and used Stanfield as a stepladder.

Scwass shirtfront on Bews at karidina park in the early 1990's, we won and Bews was in distress.

finals, all of them

Beating the saints 2009

etc

sticks

Happened right in front of me and the pain on Corey's face said it all. The way the Saints fans carried on afterwards has left me with a lingering dislike ever since...always great to beat them because they cut up so rough.

I actually couldn't understand the joy the Saints fan had over this incident. There are fans that may annoy you, but I couldn't believe this.
Says something about the club:thumbsd:

Round 20 1998, Friday night North vs Freo. Respectable crowd of 20k

Carey crucified Freo with 8 goals and the umpires crucified Carey, I think they just wanted to stop him from kicking 16.
At one point carey was penalized after taking a grab, he pointed to the replay clearly justifying his objection. Then the Nth crowd got into a "Bullshit" chant. It was electric and definately proved a point. On the TV replay you could hear this chant it was deafening.

One of my favourites against the most "unexciting" opposition.
A classic Friday night North show:thumbsu:

Brett Cook (ex-Fitzroy) was the other Sainter who fenced McKernan, the only thing he ever 'achieved' in his career - seemed to me Corey was never quite the same after that.

I was there - waiting for the 57 tram - when Wayne Schwass was involved in a minor collision at the roundabout on Racecourse Rd in 1988!