Ill Only Keep My Membership Next Year If...

• Thread starter Thread starter Big Nasty

Big Nasty

Cats VFL
GFC give the coaching department a massive overhaul including Thompson, give the captaincy to Mooney and start to trade some of our **** players that might be worth something in the draft so that we can get some extra draft picks and delist the players that arent woth anything. When you think about the list we have it is so average.

mate by getting a membership you are telling the geelong football club this **** is acceptable.

True.

If Thompson is still there they can kiss my money goodbye.

I've been a member for 5 years, since I've had disposable income, and living interstate haven't actually used the membership once. When I go to the footy it is usually with family and friends so we buy reserved seats together.

If Cook and Costa come out and defend Thompson and no changes are made someone should seriously consider a petition and collect signatures. Judging from the boards 9 out of 10 passionate supporters are disillusioned by the club yet alone the clinger ons. We could quite easily lose 5k+ members in a hit, such is the disappointment of the season, which obviously would be a financial disaster.

Yep, no membership for me if Thompson is there. I've been a member for about 17-18 years now but I've had enough. If he is at the healm next season it shows that the club isn't fair dinkum about moving forward. He's had 7 years and now has a team with virtually NO INJURIES. DISGRACEFUL!!!

Big Nasty said:
mate by getting a membership you are telling the geelong football club this **** is acceptable.

Bullshyte it does.

You dont wanna buy a membership thats fine, but dont cast assumptions on everyone else. I certainly dont accept this kind of crap and basically wasting a whole season, but changing a club, changing a culture of a club is easier said than done. ;)

And cancelling your membership aint the answer. No members = no money = drop off of sponsors = debts = one day no club at all. Just look at that team, what were their name again? Fitz... something... ??

Shell said:
Bullshyte it does.

You dont wanna buy a membership thats fine, but dont cast assumptions on everyone else. I certainly dont accept this kind of crap and basically wasting a whole season, but changing a club, changing a culture of a club is easier said than done. ;)

And cancelling your membership aint the answer. No members = no money = drop off of sponsors = debts = one day no club at all. Just look at that team, what were their name again? Fitz... something... ??

Good onya Shell! Despite this year being exactly the sort of form that turned me off football for years, I'm still gonna be a member (now that I have the money and the interest) because I believe that we will be there one day, but more because: it's like a religion. When you grow up with it, and your family around you invests so much love into it, you just can't turn off it. Sure, you can turn off Footy all together, but you can't change who you barrack for.

I hope that the club gets hard-a*sed about things and makes the decisions necessary for us to get there in the near future. I reckon we've got the list, mostly.

EDIT: I'm still f*ckin p1ssed off though...

Big Nasty said:
GFC give the coaching department a massive overhaul including Thompson, give the captaincy to Mooney and start to trade some of our **** players that might be worth something in the draft so that we can get some extra draft picks and delist the players that arent woth anything. When you think about the list we have it is so average.
No way, he's still too undisciplined. Chappy for me.

I'm keeping mine. I'm not a bloody bandwagon hopper, and I'm loyal to the end.

eliiiiza said:
No way, he's still too undisciplined. Chappy for me.

I'm keeping mine. I'm not a bloody bandwagon hopper, and I'm loyal to the end.

Well said. I think Chappy too, not Mooney - he was a bit tentative today. Scared of getting reported again probably

yet another disapointing thread. it makes me sad to see all the negativity.
sure we have pretty much kissed our 06' season goodbye but to say your just going to give up on the club after one **** year, thats just not good enough. how do you people call yourselves supporters?
ive been a supporter for as long as i can remember through all the awesome times and the **** times but i would never ever give up on the team.ever.
im just as disapointed as the next gfc supporter but really whats the point of putting them down so constantly? how do you ever expect them to get up again if they dont have the full support of supporters they truely need?
i will be buying a membership every year for the rest of my life, simply because i love the team, i believe in the team and i know they will get there someday.
even the carlton supporters arn't this bad and they have been doing pure ****house for years now, but they deal.

SpRiGgZy said:
yet another disapointing thread. it makes me sad to see all the negativity.
sure we have pretty much kissed our 06' season goodbye but to say your just going to give up on the club after one **** year, thats just not good enough. how do you people call yourselves supporters?
ive been a supporter for as long as i can remember through all the awesome times and the **** times but i would never ever give up on the team.ever.
im just as disapointed as the next gfc supporter but really whats the point of putting them down so constantly? how do you ever expect them to get up again if they dont have the full support of supporters they truely need?
i will be buying a membership every year for the rest of my life, simply because i love the team, i believe in the team and i know they will get there someday.
even the carlton supporters arn't this bad and they have been doing pure ****house for years now, but they deal.

Hey man, im all for being positive (and realistic ;) ) and keeping on supporting the club (read my other post)..

But ya off the mark about the Carlton supporters. They have like 169 premierships to deal with as well... and some that they can remember in the not too distant past. ;)

SpRiGgZy said:

Yeah, me too. It's not an option - I have to do it.

Big Nasty said:

Not if I use my membership for things other than attending games?? Maybe I will use it to attend the AGM and have my say there in front of the comittee. If you just drop your membership then they have no understanding of why you have done it. At least if you are going to drop it write a proper letter out lining your concerns. By proper I mean one that they might take note of not just one full of abusive comments that they will disregard.

cats2rise said:
Acceptable? Far from it. Im just not going to be a bandwagoner.

I aint no bandwagoner mate, I have put so much of my time and emotion into them the last so many years I just dont think its worth throwing any more cash there way, especially if the board isnt gonna even gonna listen to what most of the supporters want.

Unwritten_Law said:
True.
If Cook and Costa come out and defend Thompson and no changes are made someone should seriously consider a petition and collect signatures. quote]

Thats what i have been wanting all along

Not giving the club my money if that sack of crap Thompson is still there. He had the audacity to say that we can finish off the season well and have momentum into next season which would be pleasing......****in arseh*le. REAL PLEASING! Get this bastard away from our club.

So how do we improve the list then?
You've got to be careful because for example Mackie & Steve Johnston have been good the past 2 weeks.
The most important kick in footy is the one that crosses the 50 metre line and that is where we are poor.
I reckon we're still mising Brent Moloney, he could kick it 60 metres accurately. He seems to have been injured with the Dees lately.
We seem to have a spare tall forward with Hawkings coming. We need a couple of midfielders who can deliver over distance and kick a 50 metre goal (like Riccardi, Couch, Hocking could). Ottens kicked 2 beautiful goals against Port Adelaide but since then has dropped off for some reason.
Also there are a lot of naturally quiet guys in this team, and among the coaches. I'd have no trouble with making Gazza captain, though maybe not just yet.

Big Nasty said:

You are a weak prick if you wont buy a membership just because we have a dud year.

Memberships keep the club alive so go on bugger off and sit on your hand and wallet and watch the Cats go the way of Fitzroy.

Remember if you dont like what you see VOTE Thats the whole idea about being a member.

Big Nasty said:
If Cook and Costa come out and defend Thompson and no changes are made someone should seriously consider a petition and collect signatures.
You pay you can change things

I hav'nt decided whether to renew my membership for next year.(probably will) What I do know is that with the crap that our club has served up this year the chances of getting anywhere near what we have now in members is about zero.
The reason I will probably renew mine is because I suffer from a disease called Geelongitis of which there is no known cure.
The symptons of this are hearts that are constantly broken and a constant feeling of being not as good as the other AFL clubs.
I think our coach, committee and players also suffer the same disease.
Maybe over the summer our club will finally get some balls and get rid of most of the crap that passes for players and will make owning a membership worthwhile.

One of the only good things to happen this season was the record membership. I hate watching the Cats lose, and missing the finals sucks, but money is the lifeblood of modern footy clubs and membership = money. Without it the club will start to slide again, off and on the field.
At leasy you mob in Victoria get to see the Cats most weeks, they only came to WA once this year. Membership gives you a much better chance of finals and grand final tickets and one day we're all going to want those.

Take a lesson from a couple of my mates. They were foundation members of the Dockers but got sick of Chris Connolly/losing/missing finals so this year in protest didn't renew. Guess who beat the Crows in Adelaide today for their 6th straight (record) win, are on 48 points and an outside chance of finishing top 4, but at the very least will play finals.

The pain is bad but it will certainly make victory that much sweeter when it finally comes.

Oh, and I've got that Geelongitis real bad, had it all my life!!!!

The club needs memberships, without them they will disappear.

Sure most are disheartened, but next year, there is always a next year if there is supporters/members.

It has been only 1 year since we made the finals.

I will be getting a 2007 membership, as soon as they become available.