Impartial Commentary

Would love just one Friday night with Bruce and Dennis in the box, and one boundary rider. Even just to see whether they've truly lost it before Dennis gets put out to pasture.

Ling just contradicts himself constantly, and Duck manages to bring up Alex Rance every time he opens his mouth - regardless of the game.
Alex Rance probably has a huge toilet in his house

NRL, EPL, NBA All have impartial commentary and just call the game as it is whilst we have to put up with completely biased commentary from our so called experts...

The NBA is full of biased home team commentary. In fact, it's probably the worst league for it. Depending on who you watch, you get it a bit in the EPL, too.

Sometimes the attempts at humour can be a bit grating, but I'd still prefer what we get in the AFL over some sort of "so and so kicks it to so and so, who then passes to so and so" type of dull monotony. I mean, that might work for radio, but if we're watching tele and can see that already, what would be the point of it? It's only natural for humans to express their feelings and want to add some colour to the vision.

NBA has some shockingly biased local commentators. Most of the national ones are OK though.

AFL commentary in general is just shit. Blokeyness, lame cliches, verbal diarrhea, open barracking...it's all pretty awful.
The local nba commentators are meant to be biased in the nba it's like press red for Ed every week.

Agree with you about the afl commentator especially channel 7. Friday night football it's the worst of the round

Life is too short to worry about commentators, but .... I find it really boring when they follow a 'script'. When they develop their 'angle' before the game and stick to it no matter what.

Every game has swings and roundabouts and the commentary should reflect that.

NRL unbiased? Have you ever watched a game? Lol.

Not for quite some time. Has it changed nowadays? My memory was more with Fatty, Sterling and Rabbs just calling as it was without the bias and barracking constantly. They would get excited and praise a big tackle / shoulder charge (before they became illegal) or an attacking play (e.g. line break) or try, however would not constantly be saying how wonderful the team was that was behind on the score card whilst barely mentioning the team in front.

The commentary for the Port Collingwood game was an embarrassment to the AFL.

And next week Port supporters will have to listen to Pooshooters crow dribble again.

The only way to do it is have the following:
- one commentator with a bias to team 1
- one commentator with a bias to team 2
- one or more genuine neutrals to round out the team

I try not to let the commentators worry me. I lose my shit enough with the umpiring when it is inconsistent. I did groan when they put Roo on the Adelaide v GWS game last week. He wasn't too bad, but that really is just shit scheduling by the broadcaster. If Roo wants to commentate, he goes to non-Row games.

just watch North games, we are the **** blockers to commentators. No matter what we do they can only muster up a semi when calling us. There is not one decent commentator on CH7. I like Matthews for special comments and Blight used to be good on ch10.

I try not to let the commentators worry me. I lose my shit enough with the umpiring when it is inconsistent. I did groan when they put Roo on the Adelaide v GWS game last week. He wasn't too bad, but that really is just shit scheduling by the broadcaster. If Roo wants to commentate, he goes to non-Row games.

Actually, Roo was pretty good on the Sydney vs Adelaide game earlier in the year.

My problem is with the lack of real insight they give you as to what is going on. There is a *lot* of room for them to add value because they are at the ground and can see so much more about what's going on with match-ups and positional play than you can on the TV. Every so often you'll get it eg. someone will chip in with "[So-and-so]'s gone to [Star player] - that's a run-with role, he's following him everywhere" - but not often enough and more insight.

Actually, Roo was pretty good on the Sydney vs Adelaide game earlier in the year.

My problem is with the lack of real insight they give you as to what is going on. There is a *lot* of room for them to add value because they are at the ground and can see so much more about what's going on with match-ups and positional play than you can on the TV. Every so often you'll get it eg. someone will chip in with "[So-and-so]'s gone to [Star player] - that's a run-with role, he's following him everywhere" - but not often enough and more insight.
Agree. Some of the boundary riders are not bad at this. Actually rate Moody and Hall in their input on what is happening around the ground. Just not used nearly enough either.

I watch a lot of footy and there is definitely bias when commentating frees. They pump up every minor missed free for their favoured team and often claim incorrect free for the team they are against even though it appears that it was a free. Reckon you'd have a 10-40 free kick count if you actually paid frees on what they said.

Same with goal referals, fresh in my mind was from last nights monsoon game when a ball was touched when it was behind the post yet the commentators claimed correct decision when the video ref said touched.

Just commentate the play and leave your petty jealousies at the door.

Brereton is a flog, he'll probably get GWS again this week and he'll wet himself about how great this "young" side is when in fact they'll be more experienced than the Swans. I also don't need to hear how tall Patrick Cripps is for a midfielder, we know!

Ex players should just be special comments people because generally they are shite commentators on the general play. The in house boys club stuff is purile and not entertaining - please note this Channel 7!

3AW's call of the Cats v Giants match yesterday was one of the best calls I have heard. Totally impartial and captured the vibe of the game perfectly. Callers were Nathan Brown and Bruce Eber fwiw.

OP clearly doesn't watch any of the sports he mentioned. Every single supporter base for every single sport complains about the impartiality of the commentators. It is just how sport works. Deal with it.

Ever seen a GSW game? NBA commentators love affair with Curry put Bruce's infatuation with Rioli to shame.

7 bring up cyril even if he isn't playing. an indigenous player does something magical ''that was cyril like'' a small forward chases down a defender or snaps a goal somehow related to cyril rioli

just watch North games, we are the **** blockers to commentators. No matter what we do they can only muster up a semi when calling us. There is not one decent commentator on CH7. I like Matthews for special comments and Blight used to be good on ch10.
Fair call. Seems to be a fair bit of 'little old North punching above their pay grade' in commentary of North games.
Even North-affiliated commentators (e.g. Mooney, Brayshaw, Schwass, Carey, King) don't tend to hype them up too much at all.

Impartial Commentary