Speaking of the 2008 draft, how good was the mid-2nd round to mid-3rd round:

29 Beams
30 Hannebery
34 Shiels
39 Motlop
44 Sloane

Solid
sad thing is that our midfield would be a premiership threat if we got one of beams, hanners or sloane :(

Makes our rehab programs here look pretty average doesnt it?

There's so much we can take from US sports rehab and performance management, hope we start investing more heavily in it.
That is because it is a business in the US and the players are assets. A business run for profit always sweats its assets.

And because they have players across several sports on individual salaries that exceed our cap for a 44 man playing list

Punters in the NFL earn more than Naitanui - blokes who kick a torp about 5 or 6 times a game on a busy day in a 16 week season. Punters ffs

And because they have players across several sports on individual salaries that exceed our cap for a 44 man playing list

Punters in the NFL earn more than Naitanui - blokes who kick a torp about 5 or 6 times a game on a busy day in a 16 week season. Punters ffs
Fully agree on the size of the payments being massive but I spent a fair amount of time in the US and they do the same with College sports. It is business. Guess we need a sport that is international but I think our code is better than anything played internationally.

And what happens in 2 years time if Venables is a better player? You can't take such a short sighted view to drafting, particularly in the first round.
The proof will be in the pudding!! I hope that I have to eat my words, but even Nisbett admitted that not picking SPP with our first pick was an oversight - make of that what you will!! Apparently Adelaide were ready to pounce on Venables with their first pick had he still been available. I guess we just need to put this comparing on hold and readdress it in 2 years time to see who has turned out the better player. Time will tell I guess.

Hopefully any asymmetries in his joint kinematics/kinetics are ironed out as soon as possible.
Any PTs or physiologists know the theory about the cartwheels?? Proprioception?

Should I add it to my rehab? I've got Dan Venable's ankles...

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Hurn also being a SA hasn't done too bad injury wise - it must be those big legs:rolleyes:
Only played 6 games in 2008 when he missed games due to a broken leg and 12 games in 2013 after injuring his ankle

Played six games in his debut year (2006), 15 in 2010 and 18 in 2014

Every other year - 2007,09,11,12,15,16 - he's played every game. Other than his first year, 2009 is the only season he's played every game and not made finals. Every year he's missed games we haven't made finals.

Has played 209/247 games since 2006 so he's been relatively durable

Any PTs or physiologists know the theory about the cartwheels?? Proprioception?

Should I add it to my rehab? I've got Dan Venable's ankles...

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk
I reckon he just did it because he's a universe boss.

Surely it wasn't prescribed. Not everyone could cartwheel even if they were an elite athlete.

I reckon he just did it because he's a universe boss.

Surely it wasn't prescribed. Not everyone could cartwheel even if they were an elite athlete.

There was an earlier clip advertising the clinic that had an athlete doing a similar program and he cartwheeled. Considering the amount of $$ that goes into American Sport, why would they be doing something that looked "boss", but had no gain? There's just too much $$ for a bloke to land on his head and damage his cervical spine.

Here's someone spruiking the benefits, but I'm interested as to the why and what...?
https://www.gppfitness.com/exercise-articles/2012/7/23/why-cartwheels.html

I'm guessing it's multi-factor - it's strengthening the core and developing/refining the proprioceptive / neuromuscular feedback which gets nailed in most ligament injuries, which should reduce the chances of re-injury. But I'd love for someone who knows this stuff, to add there two bobs worth.

Plus it does look pretty boss, though he looked a little awkward jumping out of that tyre to lay the tackle.

Here's some interesting reading on balance...
http://vestibular.org/understanding-vestibular-disorder/human-balance-system

And what happens in 2 years time if Venables is a better player? You can't take such a short sighted view to drafting, particularly in the first round.
And maybe Venables turns out to be another Cavka.Spp was playing last year with Mutimer,Partington,Karpany,Snadden.It shows how bad the drafting is when he has overtaken all these players.With all the dud picks in the last couple of years it would have been good to go for a player who could play straight away especially in such a poor midfield.

Reported where?

Srs question
Can't remember for sure - may have been a quote from the West that somebody posted on Big Footy so can't give you the exact post as it was some days ago. But I'm not making this up - definately saw it and was surprised at the time when I read it as didn't think Nisbett would want that known. Just maybe it was Crumpetface and you know how his articles are always spot on:rolleyes:

It sounds like BS to me.

I'm no fan of Nisbett, but he's too experienced a football administrator to say something like that about a first round draft pick in his first year even if he believes it to be true.

He also rarely comments on football matters - by and large he leaves onfield stuff to the football department, well publicly at least

And maybe Venables turns out to be another Cavka.Spp was playing last year with Mutimer,Partington,Karpany,Snadden.It shows how bad the drafting is when he has overtaken all these players.With all the dud picks in the last couple of years it would have been good to go for a player who could play straight away especially in such a poor midfield.

Yep just like Daniel Rich and Rhys Palmer, instant impact means they are guaranteed to be stars for their entire career!

Only played 6 games in 2008 when he missed games due to a broken leg and 12 games in 2013 after injuring his ankle

Played six games in his debut year (2006), 15 in 2010 and 18 in 2014

Every other year - 2007,09,11,12,15,16 - he's played every game. Other than his first year, 2009 is the only season he's played every game and not made finals. Every year he's missed games we haven't made finals.

Has played 209/247 games since 2006 so he's been relatively durable
Strange - I can't remember him breaking his leg. The only player I can remember doing that is Cuz back in his early days I think?

And maybe Venables turns out to be another Cavka..
Cavka retired due to a degenerative foot condition that he wasn't going to get over. Not sure how that relates to Venables other than the fact that DV had a stress fracture injury when he was drafted that he is now over.

Spp was playing last year with Mutimer,Partington,Karpany,Snadden.It shows how bad the drafting is when he has overtaken all these players
SPP (pick 18) was the only one out of that group that was drafted in the first round. Partington (28), Mutimer (57), Karpany (31) and Snadden (rookie draft) all went considerably later so sorry but the argument that SPP overtaking them means our drafting is rubbish is nonsense.

With all the dud picks in the last couple of years it would have been good to go for a player who could play straight away especially in such a poor midfield.

Who in the past 2-3 drafts have turned out to be confirmed dud picks?

It would have been nice to get a player who was able to impact from round 1 of his debut season but I'd sacrifice the initial impact if that meant the player was better over the stretch of his career. It doesn't count for much yet but personally I expect Venables to be a very good midfielder and as unlikely as it may seem now, SPP looms as a potential trade option somewhere down the line (which wouldn't be the case with Venables).

I'm guessing it's multi-factor - it's strengthening the core and developing/refining the proprioceptive / neuromuscular feedback which gets nailed in most ligament injuries, which should reduce the chances of re-injury. But I'd love for someone who knows this stuff, to add there two bobs worth.

Basically used as a motor learning tool to improve vertical jump (push off phase) as an example as it is multi joint movement that should result in improved strength, power, sensorimotor control/coordination. The chaos circuit he is doing there is basically training his central nervous system to self organize movement efficiently under fatigue which hopefully will mean his fear of reinjury will reduce and there will be reduced overprotection of the affected knee joint. All of which should reduce chances of re-occurrence of an injury as you said.

It just seems weird that they would ask injured people to cartwheel if they had never done one before. You'd think there would be a huge risk of further injury if they were struggling to pull it off while they learned how to do one

Anywho