Intermittent fasting

• Thread starter Thread starter Rave Slave

Fantastic presentation by Loren Cordain, nicky. As he says at the end of the vid you're 85% there if you only shop in the outside ailes at the supermarkets - lean meats, good oils and fresh fruits and veggies . Apart from some ice cream every know and then I've completely cut out processed foods, vegetable oils, grains, pasta, rice. Obviously anything with HFCS and added salt is the real problem for western society.

The only things I eat that he wouldn't approve of is some wholegrain bread and low fat milk which is not going to be then end of the world.

Had dinner at 6 then didn't eat breakfast til 12 the other day..

Felt like this:

images

Had dinner at 6 then didn't eat breakfast til 12 the other day..

Felt like this:

images
welcome to my life

finished eating window at 11 last night - proceeded to lay in bed not sleeping from combination of fat burners and pepsi max until 5am grab an hour or two of sleep - play basketball for an hour and a half on the Perth 40c temps - go to work my retail job for three hours 2-5 standing on my feet and strutting round - finally break my fast at 5:30 after a 18.5 hour fast with a cheeky quad meat chicken teriyaki subway

feeling so good right now but was teetering on the edge at work

4 weeks into it today and its very easy now. I dont even have the slightest hunger pains until around 1.20 PM ready to break the fast at 2, and after my cut-off point of 8pm i have no hunger or the need for a pre-bed snack like i have all my life.

One thing after reading up on it all, i do not have any type of sugar free drink (like Pepsi max) because even though the calories are so little, it still stirs gut activity and the pancreas still kicks into action even though its in a small way. So i reckon if im going to do it, then black coffee, green tea and water are the ONLY things i consume whilst fasting.

I nave never once eaten before 2 or after 8, but on 4 occasions have had some beer up until midnight (This time of year/partys etc) I know strictly thats a cheat, but i just dont want to live like a monk for any reason. That said, i started Feb fast on Friday, so it will be interesting to see the gains on the 1st of March.

The dizziness of the first week was the worst part, but went early in the 2nd week, and the unexplained 2nd week weight gain dropped just as fast in the third week.

4 weeks in and eating almost the same amount i have dropped 3.8kg. Im more than happy with that. Even though the weight loss isnt massive, i feel 6-8 kg`s lighter. This is the best part. I feel so light and loose.

All my morning cardio times are back to normal after a drop in the first 2 weeks, and a morning 90 minute spin session last week was only 1.8% down on my last one on Xmas eve. That i was stoked with, as it was 8.30 in the morning after just 1 cup of black sugar free coffee and my energy levels were right up there.

So far, this way of lifestyle eating is definitely a 10/10

Thanks to everyone on this thread as its been a gold mine of info and links:thumbsu:

4 weeks in and eating almost the same amount i have dropped 3.8kg. Im more than happy with that. Even though the weight loss isnt massive, i feel 6-8 kg`s lighter. This is the best part. I feel so light and loose.
It's a good feeling, right?

Glad to hear it is working out for you.

Hey evo and Bazzar

Just wondering from your experiences on being on IF have you increased strength with powerlifts such as bench press? Obviousily you have lost weight so maybe dropped a bit in bench or how do they relate to each other?

I must admit i never eat much for breakfast i may have been fasting for so long i know i certainly did in year 12 and i still found i had tonnes of energy if not that was the most energy i had back then and i only ate when i got him which was 6 or later and left for school around 6 with just usually an up ad go.

I still probably IF now without knowing it. Im not a breakfast eater so usually dont eat much for breakfast if anything and we have tea probably a bit later than the general around 9 which is maybe why i dont feel like anything to eat till next day arvo and i also snack a bit after that.

The reason i ask is because im going in a state bench press comp in late March and i aim to win which will be a challenge because im just your general gym guy who goes 3-5 times a week (Will be 5-6 leading into comp with a slight taper before event) and your against state and world competing champs.

With this comp most would say eat eat and lift heavy which i will but i dont want to gain much weight or size because its all power to weight ratios which is why i might be a chance "strong for my size".

So i was just wondering if ive got this whole IF right from reading the thread (Read page 5 ownards).

So is it basically eat dinner 8-9 (Stop eating)
Sleep whenever you usually go to sleep wake at 8-10 whenever you wake usually.
Wait till that 16 hour mark then eat again
Then hit the gym with some food behind you and eat hard after that gym sesh for recovery with protein

Rinse and Repeat?

Hey evo and Bazzar

Just wondering from your experiences on being on IF have you increased strength with powerlifts such as bench press? Obviousily you have lost weight so maybe dropped a bit in bench or how do they relate to each other?
yeah I consistently increased my lifts in the all the the compound moves. Admitedly though the 6 months I was running IF hard I was still a lifter with 'intermediate' type of experience so probably hadn't been training long to reach genuine plateaus. I still haven't really hit plateaus.
Recently I'[ve gone back to having a reasonably large breakfast before I lift each day and if anything I think it is not helping me reach peak performance. I feel somewhat sluggish ( also the pre-wout supplement doesn't fire me up the way it used to on an empty stomach, hehe)

I must admit i never eat much for breakfast i may have been fasting for so long i know i certainly did in year 12 and i still found i had tonnes of energy if not that was the most energy i had back then and i only ate when i got him which was 6 or later and left for school around 6 with just usually an up ad go.

I still probably IF now without knowing it. Im not a breakfast eater so usually dont eat much for breakfast if anything and we have tea probably a bit later than the general around 9 which is maybe why i dont feel like anything to eat till next day arvo and i also snack a bit after that.
sounds like you would be well suited to a leangains type a approach. Breakfast has always been a bit of forced effort for me as well.

The reason i ask is because im going in a state bench press comp in late March and i aim to win which will be a challenge because im just your general gym guy who goes 3-5 times a week (Will be 5-6 leading into comp with a slight taper before event) and your against state and world competing champs.

With this comp most would say eat eat and lift heavy which i will but i dont want to gain much weight or size because its all power to weight ratios which is why i might be a chance "strong for my size".

So i was just wondering if ive got this whole IF right from reading the thread (Read page 5 ownards).

So is it basically eat dinner 8-9 (Stop eating)
Sleep whenever you usually go to sleep wake at 8-10 whenever you wake usually.
Wait till that 16 hour mark then eat again
Then hit the gym with some food behind you and eat hard after that gym sesh for recovery with protein

Rinse and Repeat?

yep, that sounds like a good plan. You want it to be fairly comfortable, particularly if you are gearing up for a competition.

Hey evo,

i have been meaning to ask you about your fruit and veg juices. I want to get into this so am after any tips; recipes; juicer etc..

Hey evo,

i have been meaning to ask you about your fruit and veg juices. I want to get into this so am after any tips; recipes; juicer etc..
go nicky! wait to u see how much extra energy u have :)

I just got one of the cheap Breville centrifgul juicers - they are about $90 at Big W. It's pretty good and time efficient for fruit and large vegetables but it is terrible for really squeezing the shit out of herbs and dryer root vegetables. For that you need an extruder type of juicer like this

http://www.discountjuicers.com/omega8004.html

Theyre pretty exy, I'm saving up for one now. Ideally u want both types.

I grow a lot of my own veggies so it would be great to be able to eat all the leaves etc as well. Believe it or not, for example, broccoli and beetroot leaves are much more nutrient dense than the actual vegetable. A lot of plants are like this apparently.

As far as recipes go, I usually just go to a local farmers orchard/outlet and buy what ever he has in special in bulk. So I might buy 15kg of apples and pears for $15, 5kg of carrots for $5 second quality tomatoes etc. I have a large chest freezer I converted into a fridge so can store fruit and veggies a few weeks.
I also juice what is seasonal and on special. Watermelon for example is 55c a kg at the moment at woolies, celery is like 1.15 bunch and so. I usually try and make it 50/50 fruit and veggies. I reckon the more u mix it up the better but put celery and carrots in nearly every juice I make.

Both these guys are excellent for juice recipes and know a lot about what vegetables do what, health wise. Liferegenerator craps on with a bit of spiritual woo from time to time but if you look through that he has a lot of good info. The other guy is great for comparing juicers and getting the best out of your garden etc.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=htFPKcxIdXE

also just watched this guy for the first time. It was actually a side link from the Loren Cordain vid you posted; Ithink u might like him. He uses a blender, I'm gonna try his style until I can afford a good extruder juicer

www.youtube.com/watch?v=cqHRxr4a2-o

Im only into general weights now days and mainly concentrate on pushing myself hard with cardio like bike, rowing and Boxing, those and the moderate weights i do all are nearly back to pre-fast.

The reason i ask is because im going in a state bench press comp in late March

Others would know more, but i would assume its to soon to be experimenting with something thats a bit radical if you are wanting to compete in 7-8 weeks.

Good luck with the comp though, keep us posted:thumbsu:

Have been 400 cals deficient on an IF diet and doing well in the weight loss stakes.
YUpgcPZ.png

Am still gaining strength too. Workout wise doing one day on one day off on a three day split and zero cardio.
Solid effort mate

Im at a 600-1100 calorie defecit depending how Im feeling, at the moment, i was on around a 1500-2000 defecit for a few months ages ago and rocketed down, trying to slow it down a little now Im getting closer to the goal physique so i dont lose muscle

Refeed today after big back and triceps session this morning. Gonna hit maintenance cals (3000) with approximately 50% of that made up of carbs (350g)

Hoping for a weight drop on Fridays weigh in thanks to dat dere water weight loss :)

Refeed today after big back and triceps session this morning. Gonna hit maintenance cals (3000) with approximately 50% of that made up of carbs (350g)

Hoping for a weight drop on Fridays weigh in thanks to dat dere water weight loss :)
Just a suggestion: maybe go a bit bigger on the protein and good fats. When you're trying to lose fat, protein is a lot more satiating and also generally consumes more calories to digest than carbs do.

Was only doing the 50% carbs as a refeed (should have made that more clear). Worked off the 4-6 g of carbs per kilo lean body mass from leangains

Ordinarily work on a 40/40/20 macro split, probably going to move that closer to a 40p/30c/30f split now. I actually find it a lot easier to hit my cals with a higher fat intake anyway :thumbsu:

Anybody on this take creatine? If so, when in relation to your fast and what do you mix it with?

Wouldn't really matter, if you take BCAA as part of a fasted training session you could take it then. Otherwise take it during your feed time with water, cordial or juice. Supplemented creatine stays in your body until you use it, it's not like a pre workout supp that must be taken on an empty stomach pre training.

Creatine is taken to the muscles via glycogen(I think). So it is possible that it wouldn't work so well if you took it in the fasted state.
It's probably not a big deal either way, but to be sure it is getting where u want it and not jusrt being lost in your urine it would probably be better to take it post refeed.