Sacramento Kings
Is it over or are we still a chance of making the 8??????

If you aksed me this time last week my response would have been its over lets look forward to next year. A great win over Power still gives a chance. If you look at our next 5 games they are all winable

Essendon (H)
Collingwood (A)
Hawthorn (A)
Carlton (H)
West Coast (A)

If we can come away with 4 wins out this 5 game strech we are still a chance. At 6-6 and with good run home, we could still be a chance. We have a lot of players due back in the next couple of weeks. Having Goodwin, Hart and Biglands back will settle us a bit more and will provide us with bit more options on the field.

It looks like one of those years where 11 wins might get you in the 8.

What do you think are we still a chance??????

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Stupid bloody question.
chance??? it is still expected of them. just because youve quit dosent mean squat.

We're a chance. We beat a top side on the weekend. That was probably our best win, in terms of quality of opposition, since we beat Brisbane in 2002.

(And I don't really go for Port's injury excuse either. They've shown in the past year or so that they're a team who have enough depth to cover a few injuries.)

But can we put together more performances like that? I have my doubts. For some reason we always lift a notch for the local derbies. I hope we don't drop back to the level we played against Geelong.

The next four games are all winnable. I think we need to win them all. That would put us at 6 wins & 5 losses. We've already dropped two "winnable" games against the Kangas and Geelong.

Power, Bombers, Magpies, Hawks, Blues... probably the five teams I despise most. That'd be one sweet streak. :D

Of course we are Stiffy. You're always a chance while it is mathematically possible.

The question really is are we likely to make the 8.

If we play with the passion and effort that we did last night, then anything is possible, and we'd bolt it into the 8.

The reverse also holds, that if we revert to the lifeless half-hearted effort we showed in the 2nd half against Geelong, we'd be no show on earth of making it.

I reckon we'll have a better idea after we've played those 5 games. But if it's 12 wins to get in it'll be touch and go.

Mathematically possible and realistic chance are 2 different Cattle of fish. Mathematically we are still a chance to get the top spot but we alll know that's not going to happen.

Are we a realisitc chance none of this mathematical stuff. I say next 5 games will give us an indication if we are up to it or not. Anything less that 4 wins means we are dead in the water.

I stick to what I said at the beginning of the year - we must turn a mimimum 4-7 at the half-way mark to make the finals with our run home. Reckon the last couple of spots in the eight will be very close between a few sides.

Someone said on the main board that no-one has ever made the 8 from 2-5.

Will be pretty hard, Brisbane(away), St Kilda (away), Port and Freo (home) again in the last 7 games will probably be where it is won or lost. Assuming you will go 2-2 in those games and win the other 3 rematches (Rich, Geelong and North all home), you'll need to be 7-8 at rd 15 (also assuming 12 wins are needed to get in)

There are plenty of crap sides around to hand out wins though, otherwise I'd be worried about Port making it after the last few weeks.

Originally posted by DaveW

Power, Bombers, Magpies, Hawks, Blues... probably the five teams I despise most. That'd be one sweet streak. :D

Same re 5 teams despise the most and Collingwood without Buckley who always plays well against us.

Originally posted by Port01
Someone said on the main board that no-one has ever made the 8 from 2-5.
We were 2-5 in 2000 (0-5 in fact) and slotted into 8th position by round 14 with 7-7.

OK, so we dropped off again over the last eight rounds but its not like it can't be done.

If you aksed me this time last week my response would have been its over lets look forward to next year. A great win over Power still gives a chance. If you look at our next 5 games they are all winable

Essendon (H)
Collingwood (A)
Hawthorn (A)
Carlton (H)
West Coast (A)

If we can come away with 4 wins out this 5 game strech we are still a chance. At 6-6 and with good run home, we could still be a chance. We have a lot of players due back in the next couple of weeks. Having Goodwin, Hart and Biglands back will settle us a bit more and will provide us with bit more options on the field.

I would say we are still a silly chance of making the 8 especially the way other teams above/around us are up & down like a yo yo.

Would like to see us maintain the intensity & desperation for more than a game or 2 & if we can turn at least 5-6 then finals here we come.

One other pleasing part of sat nights win was the way we set up our forward lines & Ayresy not waiting all night to make changes that needed to be made.

The weekend win was the first time in a long time that the Crows had a real test of their abilities and courage and came out on top.

Is this form reversal a one off because it was a Showdown or is it a sign of things to come?

One can only hope that the taste of victory has made them hungry for more.

Essendon (H)
Collingwood (A)
Hawthorn (A)
Carlton (H)
West Coast (A)

our next five games will indicate our season, win 5 out of 5 and we will be 7 and 5 and a good run home.

There is no reason we shouldnt win at least 4 of the 5 games. And if have won 3 out of the first 4, the confidence should be high to take on a west coast side, where we have won before, more times that we have lost in the last 5 or so years

Stiffy, like you and many other I thought at 1-5 we were gone, but this was mainly because I believed we would be 1-6 after the showdown at which point the truth would have been undeniable.

I pretty much agree with Kane, if we turn 4-7 at worst we are some sort of chance. But we would want to turn 5-6 or better to be really in there.

I think we are in that cliched position that each week now is a mini final. A loss to any of Essendon, Wobbles, Hawks or Blues would make it pretty hard for us. All are very winnable for obvious reasons and we have already lost our share of what should have been winnable games.

Need to lift our percentage a bit as well. Realistically we are two games outside of the eight at the moment.

Essendon (H)
Collingwood (A)
Hawthorn (A)
Carlton (H)
West Coast (A)

Yes 2004 is not over by a long shot,players have too continue to play good footy be accountable and show some ticker, lots of games at home in the last 12 games no reason with a few away wins we cant finish 6-7th;)

Originally posted by sapaul
Same re 5 teams despise the most and Collingwood without Buckley who always plays well against us.

All I can say at this stage is if we are beating the pies in Rnd 9 keep your eye on the tv Marty and Joffa are going toe to toe;)

Joffa wearing a Crows guernsey and you pulling on a pies jumper :p

Nope Marty has something planned for my mate Joffa and with Eddie commentating it is bound to be on TV I may get kicked out for it but it will be worth it;)