Chimera

I think Nicknat is set to explode all over the competition.

From Subi, to the G, SCG to Tassie.

His finals performances were a true indicator as to how far he has come, it was a period where he went from the occcasional flashes of brilliance to game turner.

That's got to give him some confidence.

If he can bring his QF form most weeks I believe he'll be the number 2 ruck in the game, going past his mate Cox and slotting in behind the big 211.

He'll be better than Sandilands.

Next year might be his year; but I wouldn't be surprised if it took him another 1-2 before he passes Cox.

Certainly shows the signs and has the tools. Just has to get the consistency. I don't know how long that will take but at least even now, he can have scarily good moments.

18 months away imo. He has had interruptions to his preseasons the last two years and while i think he'll play a couple of games this year where he just dominates no matter what the opposition does come 2013 i think he'll do a kouta and just blow everyone away.

Everyone knows what he is capable of just a waiting game to see if he can put it all together consistently.

Once he starts improving his overhead marking he will be a force in the forward and not just the ruck. Had a shoulder injury that got cleaned up in the off season so it has stopped him from practising marking more but I'd say next year he will do his role better than anyone else in comp and be an asset for the Eagles.

Not another player about to "explode"!

Most big men take a minimum 5 years to hit their straps. Nick may be the exception.

He'll be better than Sandilands.

Next year might be his year; but I wouldn't be surprised if it took him another 1-2 before he passes Cox.

Nobody comes close to a fit Sandilands.

Naitanui I believe drew even with Cox in the latter half of 2011 and the finals series in particular, 2012 he will lead that ruck unit.

Cox is the best ruckman in the competition when fully fit, and his 5 All Australians prove that. Sandilands isn't that good. They were talking about a stat on the couch this year, that his hitouts are amongst the most ineffective in the league.

It will all be about consistency & nous, he already has the 2nd & 3rd efforts that other ruckmen can't match. Whilst he will have some blinders in 2012, 2013 would probably be more likely if he was to "explode".

Nobody comes close to a fit Sandilands.

Naitanui I believe drew even with Cox in the latter half of 2011 and the finals series in particular, 2012 he will lead that ruck unit.

Not currently; Naitaniu will be better IMO.

Going to be a changing of the ruck guard next year I reckon.

Mumford, Leuenberger and Goldstein will move into the elite category. Kreuzer and Naitanui will join them soon enough. Injury delayed Kreuzer's emergence by a season or so. Naitanui's trajectory is clearly tracking nicely upwards, just will take some more time.

Cox is a freak and has great footy left in him but lady time is sneaking up on him. Can't help but feel Sandilands is on the way down. Finding it hard to stay on the park and Griffin and Clarke will take the mantle.

Cox is the best ruckman in the competition when fully fit, and his 5 All Australians prove that. Sandilands isn't that good. They were talking about a stat on the couch this year, that his hitouts are amongst the most ineffective in the league.

Cox>Sandi when fully fit easily

Not currently; Naitaniu will be better IMO.

Dear Lord...

BF posters really have short memories, before his injury this year he was well on his way to a fourth consecutive AA spot, and he easily could have been a four time B&F winner in that time too, with only Mundy, Pavlich and injury denying him.

I know BF usually can't provide further analysis than "his only good coz his tall lawl" though so I shouldn't be surprised.

Naitanui is being rated purely on potential, not on what he's achieved so far. Cox has been a better player than Sandilands over the course of his career no doubt, but his last 5 years just doesn't stack up to Sandi's, he's become more a midfielder/loose man in defence in that time, a role he plays well certainly but as a pure ruckman Sandilands destroys the both of them.

Mumford, Leuenberger and Goldstein will move into the elite category. Kreuzer and Naitanui will join them soon enough. Injury delayed Kreuzer's emergence by a season or so. Naitanui's trajectory is clearly tracking nicely upwards, just will take some more time.

Cox is a freak and has great footy left in him but lady time is sneaking up on him. Can't help but feel Sandilands is on the way down. Finding it hard to stay on the park and Griffin and Clarke will take the mantle.

:confused:
You're suggesting he breaks down every second week or something, his toe injury this year was a completely freakish accident (and it took an overweight klutz to manage it as well), as was the Tambling eye-poke.

Since 2006, he's only had 2 seasons where he played under 20 games, 2011 and also in 2007. Last season was actually the lowest amount of games he's ever played in a season with 13.

If anything the emergence of Clarke and Griffin will allow us to rest Sandi more often, prolonging his career.

You're a better poster than this.

Sandilands has had one season in his last nine where he has managed less than 15 games a season, it just happened to be this year where he played 13 and was well on his way to yet another AA jumper.

Going by your logic in this case, Cox should have been written off at the end of 2009?

There is no greater force in the game than Sandilands at full flight, not even Buddy at his best.

Ask the Crows how dominant the man can be.

An absolute wrecking ball at ground level, clearance specialist and a commander in the air.

Simply the most influential player in the game at full fitness.

I could see it happening, as you said the finals performances were pretty special and he has that freakish ability to turn a game in the blink of an eye. Wouldn't surprise me to see him win a Brownlow in the near future. Goodes did it in the ruck and NicNat has similar traits.

Could be a big year for ruckman. Especially if Kreuzer, Sandilands, Jolly and Jamar bounce back from injury interrupted seasons. Jamar and Kreuzer should but I have slight doubts about the other two. Throw in Cox and the guys TBD mentioned and it's fairly formidable rucking department in the competition. I'll add Jacobs and McEvoy as well, both had good years last year. Also a fan of Maric so we'll see what happens and there is probably someone else I'm forgetting. So pending the fitness/form of a few, 2012 could be a big year for ruckman.

Dear Lord...

BF posters really have short memories, before his injury this year he was well on his way to a fourth consecutive AA spot, and he easily could have been a four time B&F winner in that time too, with only Mundy, Pavlich and injury denying him.

I know BF usually can't provide further analysis than "his only good coz his tall lawl" though so I shouldn't be surprised.

Naitanui is being rated purely on potential, not on what he's achieved so far. Cox has been a better player than Sandilands over the course of his career no doubt, but his last 5 years just doesn't stack up to Sandi's, he's become more a midfielder/loose man in defence in that time, a role he plays well certainly but as a pure ruckman Sandilands destroys the both of them.

You complain about people not giving Sandilands his due, then you come out with this. Did you even watch Naitanui in 2011?

That could be because most smart opposition midfielder shark his hit outs, you would get very cold waiting for your ruckman to palm one down your throat.

Natanui's got some really smart taps, and can do the freakish, but needs to work on reading the play a bit better. Seems to be everywhere but never get enough of the ball. He is such a dominant athlete that you'd want him to get a bit more of it to hurt opponents across games, not just in bursts

That could be because most smart opposition midfielder shark his hit outs, you would get very cold waiting for your ruckman to palm one down your throat.

Why are oppositions only smart against Fremantle. ;) In all seriousness half the problem is the blokes around him in 2011.

As for Naitanui, id love him to take the next step. If his shoulder comes good and doesn't flare up again i expect more improvement in his marking and general fitness. Naitanui has dominated a couple of games, mainly through his tap work. I guess the question is can he do it with work around the ground and up forward?