Is Nicknat about to explode?

• Thread starter Thread starter Chimera

As for the AA arguments, Cox has been good for longer peroids than Sandi. But one of Sandi's good seasons > Cox by a bit. very little doubt If it wasn't for Sandilands toe injury in 2011 he would be AA ruck. If he can replicate his 2010 form i'd expect him to win it again.

Round 8. We got smashed by the Eagles press. Sandilands got 45 hitouts to Natanui's 20, and Cox got a Brownlow vote after Priddis and Lynch. So NickNat was probably the 4th best tall that day. I doubt that Sandilands will ever be put in that situation (lone ruck all day) again.

Cox was lucky to get a vote, he wasn't very effective against Sandilands. Compared to Naitanui would have gone close to beating Sandilands one on one for hitout numbers, managed to give the midfielders some decent ball.

Sandilands playing alongside Clarke or Griffin will be interesting to watch.

I will watch the Final between Geelong and Eagles. Some posters say it was a breakout game, others that he had one good quarter. One thing is clear so far, he gets praise for everything he does, even when its not much.

You don't like it because people praise his ability? What peeves me is the constant understating of his ability.

He's not a footballer, he's an athlete. What a crock, if numbers are the issue then he's ahead of most football savvy ruckmen.

As for the AA arguments, Cox has been good for longer peroids than Sandi. But one of Sandi's good seasons > Cox by a bit. very little doubt If it wasn't for Sandilands toe injury in 2011 he would be AA ruck. If he can replicate his 2010 form i'd expect him to win it again.

Who knows given the selectors.

Westcoast had a hitout advantage of 18 per game, something Sandilands is simply incapable of producing alone.

Backup ruckmen equals less time on ground, resting in the forward line for long periods. A lot less disposals, hitouts and lower impact.

If Gary Ablett Jnr only played 10 games this year would he still not be the best midfielder in the competition?

He wouldn't be. You have to go by stats not by credits. GAJ wasn't the best midfielder this year anyway.

I think Nicknat is set to explode all over the competition.

From Subi, to the G, SCG to Tassie.

His finals performances were a true indicator as to how far he has come, it was a period where he went from the occcasional flashes of brilliance to game turner.

That's got to give him some confidence.

If he can bring his QF form most weeks I believe he'll be the number 2 ruck in the game, going past his mate Cox and slotting in behind the big 211.

Known Troll

Obvious troll post is obvious

I think Nicknat is set to explode all over the competition.

From Subi, to the G, SCG to Tassie.

His finals performances were a true indicator as to how far he has come, it was a period where he went from the occcasional flashes of brilliance to game turner.

That's got to give him some confidence.

If he can bring his QF form most weeks I believe he'll be the number 2 ruck in the game, going past his mate Cox and slotting in behind the big 211.

Yep, called in about two thirds through last year when he was still playing average. His confidence and belief in his own physical presence began to match those of everyone elses. He's good to go from here on.

Also, keen to see how Zac Clarke goes in comparison. I've always been calling him a poor man's Natanui, but he really began to improve at the same time.

Here's a link for comparisons of the two over their career. Surprisingly very similar actually.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=3143&tid2=19&pid2=3108&type=A&fid1=C&fid2=C

Very surprised there how similar they are in stats - especially given how the media/fans fap all over NN

Goes to show it's a player who gets media attention primarily, their ability is secondary

NN won't explode, he'll just keep improving and continue learning the game

I was reading through these stats and I saw lo and behold. That Matt Priddis and Chris Judd are very similar in stats. Given how much the media fap of Judd you would think there would be a bigger difference.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d1=109&tid2=19&pid2=1696&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

Only 1.5 year difference in age, yet more than double the games to Judd. As you know being an Eagle supporter that enjoyed the Judd media fap for many years, Judd kept Priddis out of the team on many occasions and does amazing things with the footy, whereas Priddis really only began using it well last year. Look at goal assists for example. Judd breaks lines like possibly no other in the competition, something that Natanui might also do consistently come 2012, albeit Clarke has shown an ability there, but despite the stats being quite similar, Natanui is obviously ahead of him at the end of 2011.

Cox missing 5 games in the second half of the year with a broken collarbone cost him the No. 1 ruck spot in 06 IIRC. Was Brownlow favourite early that year.

Not that it matters, it's the same AA award.

Agree, Not sure how winning an AA on the bench somehow makes it not valid? AA is AA, there are a number of occasions where a player who deserves the spot outright misses out completely.