Is our future bright?

• Thread starter Thread starter Eastdog

Listening to Harford's show on SEN he had someone from champion data on who said we had the second most inexperienced list on average games played.
So folks there is going to be a bit more pain, but the future looks very bright after that

This is how I see the list so is there light or not ?

Mature players = Murphy Boyd Mino Morris Picken

A grade(guns)= Boyd Bonts Stringer Libba Mcrae

B grade = Wallis Dahl Crameri Wood JJ Hunter Darley

C grade = Grant Smith Roughead Stevens Campbell

Might make it = Roberts Honey Talia, Redpath, 2014 draftees

Won't make it = Hrovat Prudden Dickson Fuller Cordy Jong

So still nearly ten blokes on list IMO that are simply not up to it and never will be so still plenty work to be done but there is always light
lol, surely a joke. Putting these three who have already shown they're competent (played to a sufficient standard) at AFL level below the 2014 draftee's. Credibility with me lost, MD.

Won't make it = Hrovat Prudden Dickson Fuller Cordy

So still nearly ten blokes on list IMO that are simply not up to it and never will be so still plenty work to be done but there is always light
Wish you were a teacher when i went to school as you dish out A grade
with relative ease. Having seen all of the nine games played by Tom
Boyd he has potential at best.

lol, surely a joke. Putting these three who have already shown they're competent (played to a sufficient standard) at AFL level below the 2014 draftee's. Credibility with me lost, MD.

Competent in a poor team

If we were any good Dickson would never have played a game and I'd be surprised if he ever plays another senior game

And don't know what you been watching but Jong and Hrovat have proven zero at AFL level, unlike most I don't think playing well at VFL level equats to playing well at AFL level.

Wish you were a teacher when i went to school as you dish out A grade
with relative ease. Having seen all of the nine games played by Tom
Boyd he has potential at best.

And he played in a rubbish team and played second fiddle as he has never done before.

I think it's safe to assume a kid with his size and skill set will make it but I accept your reservation

I didn't say he wasn't? I just said I can't give him any credibility from here on in with his ability to rate our list if thats the evidence he's using.

What evidence other than your opinion do u have that they will make it in a good team??

Not in the sh!t team we have been but a good team??

Zero its speculation as is mine so don't give me any credibility it won't stop me sleeping :)

Competent in a poor team

If we were any good Dickson would never have played a game and I'd be surprised if he ever plays another senior game

And don't know what you been watching but Jong and Hrovat have proven zero at AFL level, unlike most I don't think playing well at VFL level equats to playing well at AFL level.
Hrovat has played some outstanding footy as an 18-19 year old mid. The composure and footy smarts he displays when in possession of the ball are elite and his disposal is clever/to a higher level than a lot of other mids in our team.
Jong has had an exponential learning curve in which he's improved astronomically, to the point where he's in the frame to play 15 games+ next season. His games in the seniors were fine, he was used as a tagger and did well considering the calibre of player he played on. Amazing that you've got Boyd in the A-graders list, as he has shown about the same level of competency as Jongy has at AFL level. You're basing that off 'potential' too, no doubt. Double standards?
Dickson was one of the only players we could count on to consistently kick goals in our team, and yet he's also no good?

Hrovat has played some outstanding footy as an 18-19 year old mid. The composure and footy smarts he displays when in possession of the ball are elite and his disposal is clever/to a higher level than a lot of other mids in our team.
Jong has had an exponential learning curve in which he's improved astronomically, to the point where he's in the frame to play 15 games+ next season. His games in the seniors were fine, he was used as a tagger and did well considering the calibre of player he played on. Amazing that you've got Boyd in the A-graders list, as he has shown about the same level of competency as Jongy has at AFL level. You're basing that off 'potential' too, no doubt. Double standards?
Dickson was one of the only players we could count on to consistently kick goals in our team, and yet he's also no good?

Hrovat had one good game and I've had the pleasure of watching the replays of this year lately and watch him miss target after target and get into positions he shouldn't be in. Elite??? What are you watching? He ain't even above average on what I see but maybe I don't see thru red white and blue glasses

Jong just isn't good enough and ever will be

And again Dickson only getting a game coz we are sh!t and his best mate was coach.

YOU can think what YOU want and I won't pick holes in it so just accept this is what I think and deal with it.

I didn't say he wasn't? I just said I can't give him any credibility from here on in with his ability to rate our list if thats the evidence he's using.

People would have told people they were made if they said john georgiatis wasnt going to make it after his first few games or adrian mcadam.
But if you want to put a line through Mattdougie opinion thats fine.
I happen to agree with him on Dickson and Jong and I dont think other will ever be in our best 18.

Ive told him this but for whats its worth.. I dont particarly think Hvorat has shown anything that means he is a cert to make it but I am not as down on him as mattdougie is.

But the person I compare him too is Matty Stokes - same size, pace, skill set.
Now I dont rate Stokes as an A or a B grader and I think in a poor side he would really struggle.
Thats the question I think Hvorat will face - he will need the Stringers and macraes and bontis around him makling him a decent player.

As for the future being bright I can see us being more competive and sitting somewhere between 6 and 10 in 2017/2018.
I personally cannot see our side as a grand finalist or top four side when I compare our list to some others around and above us.
Never say never but we really need to unearth 2 more quality talls and a griffen like midfielder before I see us being a flag threat

Hrovat had one good game and I've had the pleasure of watching the replays of this lately and watch him miss target after target and get into positions he shouldn't be in.

Jong just isn't good enough and ever will be

And again Dickson only getting a game coz we are sh!t and his best mate was coach.

YOU can think what YOU want and I won't pick holes in it so just accept this is what I think and deal with it.
Man oh man. You take the moral high ground when someone disagree's with your opinion, and use the 'I might be wrong, it's MY opinion' etc etc to protect yourself, but when you see something another poster has said and you don't agree with it, it's 'rubbish' and your post is full of 'FACTS'. Double standards, my man.

Hrovat has had multiple good games. I'd suggest you poor yourself a scotch, download his film and give it a watch without the blind fold on.
Already stated why Jong shouldn't be in your "Will never make it" bracket, but you didn't read it so oh well.
Dickson is again one of the only players in our team that can consistently kick goals. Can't really argue that fact at this point in time.

Man oh man. You take the moral high ground when someone disagree's with your opinion, and use the 'I might be wrong, it's MY opinion' etc etc to protect yourself, but when you see something another poster has said and you don't agree with it, it's 'rubbish' and your post is full of 'FACTS'. Double standards, my man.

Hrovat has had multiple good games. I'd suggest you poor yourself a scotch, download his film and give it a watch without the blind fold on.
Already stated why Jong shouldn't be in your "Will never make it" bracket, but you didn't read it so oh well.
Dickson is again one of the only players in our team that can consistently kick goals. Can't really argue that fact at this point in time.

Hahahha so your right and I'm wrong ??

Is that it? Ego much ?

Jam the moral high ground where the sun don't shine mate, I'm happy to admit I might be wrong on these calls (although I strongly doubt it) but I only do that coz its a chance has zero to do with morals

Protect myself from what?? People on here I will probably never meet? Lol yeah well done mate well done.

Won't make it = Hrovat Prudden Dickson Fuller Cordy Jong

Not a bad assessment. I would generally agree. You appear to have your 'Might make it' guys counted with your '10 blokes that are simply not up to it and never will be'. This type of logic is not allowed, but I get your general point.

I am still open on Hrovat, Cordy and Jong. I think that Hrovat can still improve and I liked the little bit of run and carry that he did. Cordy is expected to take ages and will be this or next year.

Jong, unexpectedly for me, improved so much last year and started to put a bag of tricks together. If he can just improve a little more he will be very serviceable.

Can't assess Prudden as have not seen him.

Dickson may be past it. Fuller?

Sorry professor
I felt bmac was in control of the levers and I could see exactly where we were headed
After talking to people who know him, I think he was a humorless hard arse who can be unforgiving

But I have no doubt about his knowledge and commitment

I now worry whether beveridge has the leadership skills. Anyone can acquiesce to player demands and stay popular - let's see whether he can implement a coherent vision
Do you think Beveridge is only concerned with staying popular and "giving in" to the players? :confused: What do you base that on?

Stop jumping at shadows and wait and see.

Listening to Harford's show on SEN he had someone from champion data on who said we had the second most inexperienced list on average games played.
So folks there is going to be a bit more pain, but the future looks very bright after that
Well gee, they must be right then :rolleyes:

Holy shit that was painful to read, anyway...

I reckon its very bright on field but just as bright off field. With talk around that the AFL might buy Etihad as soon as next year what would that actually mean for our stadium deal? Like how much better off would we be each week? With that happening, a few games at Ballarat where we should make a bit of coin, Edgewater opening up, Footscray and soon a womans team playing out of WO bringing in money, more TV exposure, other stuff like that Mens Health initiative (which made the club 1mil), Western region growth, VU sponsorship and maybe some other sponsorship opportunities as we get more attractive etc and most importantly, a genuine chance for on field success with a bunch of extremely marketable players, which would also bring a hell of a lot more members. Could the club really climb up the ranks a little bit and get on an even playing field? I reckon we have a huge opportunity here, just need to capitalise on it!

Yes. I think we have three really good shots at having a bonafide elite player in the middle in Libba (already perhaps?), Macrae and Bonts.

3 of the better young mids in the comp all in the one team.

Boyd and Stringer (if he's not a mid) have the potential be a really good duo.

Defence (and team defence, two way running, loose checking which is our bigger problem IMO) is an issue but I have faith it will be seen to.

FFS! The best we can do is put Goodes onto the rookie list?

Best we have to look forward to is our captain organizing a sing-along where we all hold hands and sing Kumbayah my Lord.

May as well brush up on the words!

We are well and truly stuffed.

Haha this ignore button made this thread a golden read. I recommend. Got to read some good stuff there from doggies and dale and not worry bout what they're responding to

And here in proves my point TempleKelvington that I made in another post.

"Defenders" are not interested in hearing any opinions other than those that paint the picture that we will win a flag in the next 5 years.
If people have those opinions they are howled down and ignored.
There have been some decent and balanced opinions in the thread.
Because you disagree with them no need to ignore them !

And here in proves my point TempleKelvington that I made in another post.

"Defenders" are not interested in hearing any opinions other than those that paint the picture that we will win a flag in the next 5 years.
If people have those opinions they are howled down and ignored.
There have been some decent and balanced opinions in the thread.
Because you disagree with them no need to ignore them !
No you just don't understand, Dale in this thread and me in the other thread, were not having a go at his opinion, just the way he goes about it with no reasoning behind his calls. And like we both said he is quite happy to call other peoples opinions rubbish and crap and whatever else he comes up with but when it comes to his it's all "hey it's wat I see wif my eyes, just my opinion that's that!!!!"

And that's before you get to the actual content of the post, it was one of the most unbalanced and ridiculous view of the list I've seen. Darleys already a B grader and ahead of Roughy and Clay? Boyd and Bonts are already A graders? The 2014 draftees in 'might make it' but Hrovat, Dickson and Jong absolutely will not. It just can't even be taken seriously and that's even if he could somehow explain the choices, which he can't or won't.

I'm still convinced he's a troll tbh, well I hope he is for his sake.

No you just don't understand, Dale in this thread and me in the other thread, were not having a go at his opinion, just the way he goes about it with no reasoning behind his calls. And like we both said he is quite happy to call other peoples opinions rubbish and crap and whatever else he comes up with but when it comes to his it's all "hey it's wat I see wif my eyes, just my opinion that's that!!!!"

I'm still convinced he's a troll tbh, well I hope he is for his sake.
Perhaps he is a slightly bitter former player?