Is there a good method of syncing radio and TV?

Sep 20, 2009
NSW
I used to love watching the Footy back in the day, with the radio broadcast.
I've tried a few times in the past, but the radio always seems to be in front of the TV now, especially moreso with Fox Footy.
Any ideas?

I used to love watching the Footy back in the day, with the radio broadcast.
I've tried a few times in the past, but the radio always seems to be in front of the TV now, especially moreso with Fox Footy.
Any ideas?

Apparently if you have digital radio the delay can be fixed by pausing the radio for three seconds and then pressing play. I have yet to try it out.

I love listening to the Crows supporters/callers here on 5AA go into meltdown when they lose but havent been able to since having Fox Footy. The delay makes it impossible.
Anyone else have info on what Atomic Blonde suggested?

I haven't tried this yet, but I plan to: run the radio signal through all hi-fi units as you own, to increase the delay.
VCRs, cassette decks -- whatever has AV ins and outs

I sometimes record the Triple M pre-game on my Panasonic dvd/tv recorder (obviously out of a radio into one of the AV inputs), and there's a noticeable delay through the unit.

I disconnect my speaker system/amp from the tv connect the iq box directly to the tv. Then connect my mac to the amp go on the afl website get Brayshaw and the boys call which is now running through the speakers then on the tv find channel 504 spend 10 seconds pausing the tv then bang call is now synced.

Perfecto - have been this for years during finals games, big Friday night or Saturday arvo matches also

From what Ive seen its usually the radio that is a few seconds ahead.
yeah nah, oops, I wasn't thinking. My excuse is that i was rushing like an idiot, getting ready to leave the house.

What I meant was: record the RADIO on a digital recorder, then start playing it back straight away, while it's still recording

Ever tried listening live through the AFL app when at the footy? I tried listening to MMM at the Essendon-Hawks games, and the app was legit almost 3 minutes behind, no matter how many times I tried to restart it.

Maybe when the AFL gets their shit together and releases a network we'll have the incredible luxury of choosing any audio stream to go with the video in sync.

I've got this figured out now...

The iPhone app is deplorable this year - as mentioned above, it's on such a delay this season it's completely unusable.

However, the AFL website stream seems to be the same delay of 15 or so seconds that it always had.

So:
- stream radio commentary from afl.com.au
- connect it to speaker system from computer to speaker system via bluetooth.
- pause foxtel for the 10-15 seconds til you can get it to sync.

Technically, you're no longer watching live - but it's a far better option if you're watching a Saturday channel 7 game. Before I figured this out, I was just watching the lesser Saturday night game so I didn't have to listen to 7s shit.

(this is really the only option I can think of for those who are interstate. if you're in Melbourne, the aforementioned digital radio method might work better... although I always thought the technology of digital radio was such that it was on a 5-10 second delay as well)

yeah nah, oops, I wasn't thinking. My excuse is that i was rushing like an idiot, getting ready to leave the house.

What I meant was: record the RADIO on a digital recorder, then start playing it back straight away, while it's still recording
Scrap this idea, at least on my Panasonic digital recorder, coz I can't get it to start playing any quicker than about 5 seconds after I start recording the radio

I do it each and every Friday night. AFL app on my iphone connected through home wifi, play it through a Bluetooth stereo which I have sitting near my TV. Watch footy on mute through foxtel and after about 10 seconds of pausing and syncing up it works like a treat!! Chanel 7 commentary was actually ruining watching the footy for me.

Is there a good method of syncing radio and TV?