Player Watch Jack Lukosius

I still don’t get how we lost a reigning dual All-Australian with years left on his contract for a player on a bloated contract Gold Coast didn’t want, a spud on a bloated contract who was incapable of top-flight football, and a decent but largely unproven mature age small forward.

How did we end up a first rounder short after all that?
All the decision making of a bottom club, absolutely no backbone with Houston even Essendon showed a bit of spine to keep Merrett.

Injuries happen - but multiple conditioning based injuries all in a row after a collision injury though? Comes out in the pre season and looks no bigger or stronger and plays like a timid school boy? Then another soft tissue injury?

Perhaps not enough evidence for a conviction in a court of law but **** me all things are pointing to someone not taking their football caper seriously enough.

Perhaps acceptable for a talented kid in their first or second year learning the professionalism ropes on minimum chips. Not at all acceptable for the main prize for giving up a dual back to back AA and in turn paying massive numbers over a long time.

My least favourite Port player ATM.

Chad did say a few weeks back that out he would've kept Marshall as KPF and sent Luko into defence. Still early days for the Marshall transition but so far it's hard to argue with.

I predict that this is what will end up happening anyway.

Nah let's get another Dixon-esque forward so we can go back to the dumping it on his head gameplan coz everyone loved that and it worked flipping well ayyyy blokes!!!

Agreed the injuries have been concerned but give the bloke a chance to be used to his strengths. If our coaches can use Georgie, Whitlock & Luko correctly that's a solid forward line.

Nah let's get another Dixon-esque forward so we can go back to the dumping it on his head gameplan coz everyone loved that and it worked flipping well ayyyy blokes!!!

Agreed the injuries have been concerned but give the bloke a chance to be used to his strengths. If our coaches can use Georgie, Whitlock & Luko correctly that's a solid forward line.
Mate I'd take old washed up carrot stick leg concrete hands Charlie Dixon over Jack Lukatrocious any day of the week and twice on Sundays

I get Dixon went a year or two too long and Hinkley ****ed his career but the revisionist shit on here that has made him out to be a terrible footballer forever is really too much at times.

You reckon Jack will be a 3x Port leading goal kicker, All Australian CHF and lead anything meaningful like say, the league in contested marks any time soon?

Carr has told people about his plans for Marshall to play defence for over 12 months. Don't think it has anything to do with Bergman moving to the midfield. Not sure where Marshall fits in the defensive puzzle, and it may just be a case of him being depth rather than having a best 23 role, but at least that clarity will come soon.

Just don't know how you play all of Ratugolea, Aliir, Ramm and Marshall in the same team. I actually think Marshall as the third tall defender with two of Ramm, Ratugolea, Aliir and BZT makes most sense.
What I meant is that last season, the only solution we had when a defender got injured, was to move Bergman back. In order to avoid that, he's training up Marshall to be that option - whilst still being an option up forward if needed.

I don't think the plan is to play Rat, Aliir, Ramm, Marshall and BZT - it will be 3. Ramm is still too raw to start in my opinion. Showing great signs, but I don't think we see him play too many games unless we get hit by injury.

Agree with you that Aliir, Rat and one of BZT and Marshall being the next one in (but will depend on how Marshall develops as a defender. Let's not forget Finlayson looked a million dollars for a few weeks in defence).
Ramm is the backup when 2 of the above get injured or perhaps for specific games/roles.

Considering how slowly slowly theyre going with marshall i wouldnt expect him to be in contention for afl for at least a month of sanfl.

Hes barely even playing a half of footy in a light kick around still.

Bzt has the body of a 75 year old.

So surely aliir, esava and ramm are probably the 3.

At least Dixon had physical presence, Lukosius has the presence of a nit.

Mate I'd take old washed up carrot stick leg concrete hands Charlie Dixon over Jack Lukatrocious any day of the week and twice on Sundays

I get Dixon went a year or two too long and Hinkley ****ed his career but the revisionist shit on here that has made him out to be a terrible footballer forever is really too much at times.

You reckon Jack will be a 3x Port leading goal kicker, All Australian CHF and lead anything meaningful like say, the league in contested marks any time soon?
I rated Dixon. My point was more that gameplan revolving around 1 big power forward was absolute poopoo'd on by this entire forum for countless years. We are obviously going in a different direction (which i am thankful to see changes) and if we just had a say Ollie Lord (bad example i know) as our primary target and the gameplan revolving around kicking it on his head, everyone would be blowing their lids.

I still don’t get how we lost a reigning dual All-Australian with years left on his contract for a player on a bloated contract Gold Coast didn’t want, a spud on a bloated contract who was incapable of top-flight football, and a decent but largely unproven mature age small forward.

How did we end up a first rounder short after all that?
images (5).webp

Id be getting him out of the forward 50, leading up the ground and playing as a link up player to use his elite field kicking to deliver inside 50 rather than being a target I50.

If we can use him in that role and get 5-6 I50s a game out of him (which would put in completion leading I50 territory) and 1.5-2 goals a game, that's a massive win for us and puts us in a very strong position this year.

What I meant is that last season, the only solution we had when a defender got injured, was to move Bergman back. In order to avoid that, he's training up Marshall to be that option - whilst still being an option up forward if needed.

I don't think the plan is to play Rat, Aliir, Ramm, Marshall and BZT - it will be 3. Ramm is still too raw to start in my opinion. Showing great signs, but I don't think we see him play too many games unless we get hit by injury.

Agree with you that Aliir, Rat and one of BZT and Marshall being the next one in (but will depend on how Marshall develops as a defender. Let's not forget Finlayson looked a million dollars for a few weeks in defence).
Ramm is the backup when 2 of the above get injured or perhaps for specific games/roles.

I agree with you regarding the make up of the defence.

But my point regarding Marshall was that Carr has been telling people for over 12 months that he's wanted Marshall to play in defence, going back to a time before they even considered to move Bergman into the midfield. Hence, I do not agree with the notion that Carr is moving Marshall to defence due to anything to do with Bergman.

The thing I hate is that we have 2 senior players and we don't know when they're going to be able to play or in what position. It's unsettling for the team and in particular the young guys. And you can possibly add Bergman into that unsettlement

I agree with you regarding the make up of the defence.

But my point regarding Marshall was that Carr has been telling people for over 12 months that he's wanted Marshall to play in defence, going back to a time before they even considered to move Bergman into the midfield. Hence, I do not agree with the notion that Carr is moving Marshall to defence due to anything to do with Bergman.
Yep they might think he’ll fall less on his head playing in defense.
I’ve never seen him as a defender sounds like if the guys we have up front and bring in will mean no place for Todd unless he moves down back.

Id be getting him out of the forward 50, leading up the ground and playing as a link up player to use his elite field kicking to deliver inside 50 rather than being a target I50.

If we can use him in that role and get 5-6 I50s a game out of him (which would put in completion leading I50 territory) and 1.5-2 goals a game, that's a massive win for us and puts us in a very strong position this year.
That's how Port should be using Lukosius. Roam around the field and use his foot skills to deliver the ball inside 50 and if in range, have the licence to go for goal. He will never be a crash and bash contested marking forward.