Votes: 0 0.0%
  • great

• a super star

Lachlan Hansen is far more composed and eloquent than Wayne Carey was when he started at North. Wayne was appalling.

He went ok, though.

What a remarkable thread.

I was impressed at the maturity of your response (a rare feature on Big Footy) until your last line which was plain childish.

I am just at uni now and I know people like him. "What's happening at the Kangaroos atm Lachlan?" "errr I dunno!! eh-u-heh!"

You really really don't need to be someone's best friend to know what they're like. There are many studies that show that by simply looking at someone's bedroom you can learn more about them than by spending 6 months getting to know them. The same thin-slicing applies to spending a few seconds hearing someone which you learn more about them than 6 months of talking to them.

These are facts, judging someone's response to multiple questions on TV in a 2 minute interview is a fair indication of what he is like. James Frawley was nervous, he was shaking a little, went a bit red, eyes a little watery, stumbled a bit. Hansen wasn't shaking at all he was just a... well for lack of a better word, a doofus.

Why is it a surprise an Aussie bogan is great at football? A lot of footballers are unintelligent you know.

Sorry Benny I wasn't going to put that last line in, however, the bogan in me just came out. On reflection, I don't know you, and as such asserting that you are also a bogan is a bit unfair (don't you think?).

You have asserted that because you now go to Uni you know people like him. Generally a Bogan is defined as a person who is, or is perceived to be, unsophisticated or of a lower class background. According to the stereotype, the speech and mannerisms of "bogans" indicate poor education and an uncultured upbringing. What are these people doing at Uni? How could they have possibly met the entrance requirements or afforded the fees if they are full paying students.

We all show different traits when we are nervous and it was pretty obvious to me watching the Footy Show that Lachlan was licking his lips quite a bit which is common for people who are nervous.

I thought he answered the question about playing his first game pretty well and only answered "err I dunno" when Sam was trying to get him to comment about the spat between Dean Laidley and Wayne Carey. I thought the response was appropriate given the sensitivity of the question and the reputation of the person who was asking it.

Perhaps in hindsight you could have said that Hansen was a bit ordinary on the Footy Show rather than branding him a Bogan? There's one player at Richmond who I respect tremendously and I see a lot of similarities between him and Hansen at the same age. This man was never born to be a leader but has been a tremendous player and grown as a person in his time at the Tigers. He is even much maligned by Tiger Supporters. His name is Matthew Richardson.

Would you have ever considered calling him a bogan?

When did I say bogans go to uni? Jumping the gun a bit there mate, was reffering to the ones that dropped out in high school but I edited my post because I didn't want to sound like a snob. There is nothing wrong with dropping out to work if that is what you want to do, I didn't want to give the wrong idea and so I reworded it.

Comparing Hansen to Carey is a big call, Carey is a relatively successful media representative on big money. Only thing they had in common was being a gun KPP player at the same club.

There certainly are bogan leaders, and there are many footballers who fit this category. I don't see why you are insulted at the observation (not accusation), he is like many in his field, he can be an on field leader but will never be a Joel Bowden of the society.

edit: Mathew Richardson is a class act off the field, as all Tiger supporters know. He is very polite, well mannered and will litterally hang around in the pouring rain signing autographs for 3 hours after a practice match! Richo also successfully runs a few restaurants in the city - hardly actions of a "bogan" wouldn't you say?