Richmond Tigers - 2013 Player Sponsor Minecraft
Dallas Desire
Who's the best - Jack or Nick Riewoldt?

Interesting article from the Herald-Sun for a few reasons. David king admits to being a dud for starters, not rating Jack at all when he arrived at the club. Now saying he'd pick Jack over Nick any day to play in a Grand Final.

I just loved the last little story from Francis Jackson...

"He had a pretty good (under-18) carnival and showed an ability to win the ball in flight, then we followed him playing VFL footy (for Tassie Mariners), and he had a couple of fantastic games," Jackson said.

In the TFL grand final he was matched up against a bald-headed bruiser from Glenorchy.

"Every time he went near Jack, he tried to belt him. Jack treated him with contempt and they won the flag," Jackson said.

"We were always keen on him because of his football smarts, which are becoming much rarer."

Gold :thumbsu: :)

I hate these kinds of stories as they are clearly two different styles of players. Nick will be a hall of famer, Jack is yet to prove anything beyond one season. Jack may be fit to tie one bootlace of Nicks, but that's about it at the mo. This is the question/article that needs to be visited in 6 years time, then we will have some meaningful stats.
But then again, could you compare a Brereton v Dunstall scenario? That's whats being asked here i reckon.

The only way for such questions to be fairly addressed is for supporters of other clubs to consider who they would rather have on their list today.
(We would always pick Jack & St Kilda followers would go for their boy)

The other factor is who else they have on their list.

Fremantle for example, with Pav at CHF would probably prefer Jack in the goal square rather than Nick
Bulldogs have Hall so would go for Nick at CHF

Saints would dearly love both as would we.

For The Tigers now considering where we are at, very young team looking to build results and support over the next 4 - 6 years a 22 year old Jack is of far more value than a 28 year old Nick.

I hate these kinds of stories as they are clearly two different styles of players. Nick will be a hall of famer, Jack is yet to prove anything beyond one season. Jack may be fit to tie one bootlace of Nicks, but that's about it at the mo. This is the question/article that needs to be visited in 6 years time, then we will have some meaningful stats.
But then again, could you compare a Brereton v Dunstall scenario? That's whats being asked here i reckon.

I see where you are coming from, but this article in isolation doesn’t give the full picture.

The actual copy in the HUN has a great two page spread and goes into better detail with differing views from - Comparing their kicking from Ben Graham, Versatility from Presti, who has played on both, and Track Record from David King.

It also included this article on how Jacks Dad signed with the Saints and couldn’t get Uni transferred so he didnt play with them, so we were lucky because Jack may have ended up as Farther Son for the Saints.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...urned-the-saints/story-e6frf9jf-1226031686705

Edit- Just noticed that article has the Graham, Presti and King comparisons.

Stupid comparison atm. JR has a loooooooooooong way to go to catch up to his cuz. I mean how stupid can you get, comparing a dude who has a coleman and 6 goals in R1 in another losing side against a player who has consistently ranked in the top 5 players in the league if not the top 2, for the best part of his entire career. FFS, some people need a little perspective on reality. ;)

Does a coleman medal prove anything? does kicking 6 goals in round 1 prove anything? does being the leading goalscorer in round 1 prove anything?

When's Nick's contract up - free agency target!!!! :D

:o unlikely but would be greatly appreciated and pretty expensive.

yeah different players, Part of Nick's game is Running all around the ground. Jack is barely seen out of the 50. Jack will probably kick more goals, but he has less of an impact than Nick.

We dont need him to be any better than what he is now, We need the other 21 players to be as good as him.

yeah different players, Part of Nick's game is Running all around the ground. Jack is barely seen out of the 50. Jack will probably kick more goals, but he has less of an impact than Nick.

We dont need him to be any better than what he is now, We need the other 21 players to be as good as him.
He kicked 32% of our goals last year and 6 of 13 last week, that's a pretty big impact i would've thought.

Nick by a fair way atm... He has to start performing in grand finals though because I reckon Jack is the sort of player who might perform on the big stage, he has that feel of a player with nothing to prove, in the Thomas/Sidebottom mould...