Jake King on Open Mike

Interesting. I think the first time I really took any notice of King or knew who he was, was when it was reported that he was part of the group of players (with Chris Newman and others) who met with Wallace to ask him to stand down. Garry Lyon was scathing of King's involvement, essentially suggesting that someone of his ilk should probably be more worried about getting a regular senior game. I was wondering whether they covered that in the King episode, as it's pretty clearly in the top five stories associated with his career and he apparently denies any involvement (wasn't aware of that).

Tradie rates have gone through the roof more than all other professions in the last 20 years.
I bet a plumber or sparkie would earn more than a GP

GP's earn 350-500k depending on location. My mate is a non-specialised country GP comfortably on 500k. Makes 50k in the flu-shot fortnight alone. I was boilermaker apprentice a few years back and tradies I spoke to from various disciples get anywhere between 60-120k (management level) for a city based job (+ whatever cash work they do), more around 300k for a shutdown/remote/fifo role.

Interesting. I think the first time I really took any notice of King or knew who he was, was when it was reported that he was part of the group of players (with Chris Newman and others) who met with Wallace to ask him to stand down. Garry Lyon was scathing of King's involvement, essentially suggesting that someone of his ilk should probably be more worried about getting a regular senior game. I was wondering whether they covered that in the King episode, as it's pretty clearly in the top five stories associated with his career and he apparently denies any involvement (wasn't aware of that).

Garry Lyon has got a few things wrong ... Dean Bailey, Mark Neeld, Cameron Schwab, Nicky Brownless as a start.

Most people would know by name or by sight anywhere between a few hundred to a few thousand people, no one knows the background of everyone of those people so as long as Jake isn't taking part in any criminal activity then there should not be a problem and quite frankly no one should care who Jake talks too.

So true, just like James.
Lol too funny.

What a huge disappointment hird turned out to be. Destroyed his reputation and the club which gave him so much opportunity. Singlehandedly fu**** the culture of a once strong club. Brilliant to watch whilst collecting Premierships and being a relevant contender again in 2016.

KOLOKOTRONIS

So if you have a mate who becomes an outlaw motorcycle club member, you dump him?
Um....yep.
Choosing to be/remain friends with a career criminal is stupid.
It is basically condoning their behaviour.
If they need your help to change their life then great.
Otherwise cast em aside.

Garry Lyon has got a few things wrong ... Dean Bailey, Mark Neeld, Cameron Schwab, Nicky Brownless as a start.

Not really sure of the relevance there? It would have been a commonly held view after it had been reported that the attempted coup had been led by Kane Johnson, Chris Newman and...Jake King: if that was accurate, who the hell is King and what business did he have being there with the current captain and his predecessor? That would be like Joel Selwood, Jimmy Bartel and Michael Luxford leading a push to oust Chris Scott now.

That version of events is in dispute, but it had been widely reported and Lyon was taking it as read, to give an opinion, as people in his position would have to do on a daily basis.

I like the push up King. Realised his limitations in life. Made the right connections for himself and makes sure he is honest and loyal to those who support him. Street smart bloke who is disciplined. Good for him.

KOLOKOTRONIS

What makes you say he is street smart? Because he's good mates with one of the highest profile crooks in the state? At a guess, I'd say Toby Mitchell is good mates with a lot of blokes that are as dumb as dog shit, whether we're talking about on the street or in the classroom.

Not really sure of the relevance there? It would have been a commonly held view after it had been reported that the attempted coup had been led by Kane Johnson, Chris Newman and...Jake King: if that was accurate, who the hell is King and what business did he have being there with the current captain and his predecessor? That would be like Joel Selwood, Jimmy Bartel and Michael Luxford leading a push to oust Chris Scott now.

That version of events is in dispute, but it had been widely reported and Lyon was taking it as read, to give an opinion, as people in his position would have to do on a daily basis.

If you plan to tee off on a fringe player to an audience (back then) of over 1 million then a couple of two minute phone calls would have set the record straight. That's not too much to ask from a so-called expert that was fully aware of the weight his opinion held at the time.

Even you concede that was your impression of what happened as it would be for most people I imagine.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnew...e-in-coach-saga/2009/05/23/1242498972764.html