Jake Lever deleting social media

Pretty disappointing to hear young Jake has had so much abuse directed his way that he has had to shut down his Twitter account. It really is a poor reflection on the bitter Crows fans and angry Melbourne fans who have attacked for nothing other than doing his job. A lot from these two supporter groups need to take a good look at their atrocious behaviour, in truth they probably shouldn't be supporting a competitive sporting team as they clearly are too immature to be involved.

There's no question Jake has had a difficult start to his year, however he isn't alone among Melbourne players and is still very young.

All the best tomorrow Jake, stick it up all those weaklings potting you from the stands
Was tex walker taking pot shots at him over twitter?

He handled himself disgracefully over the whole thing and he's supposed to be captain of the club.

I'm not a brilliant detective, but if you plug the word Lever and your username into search, this comes up from May 5 last year.

Yeah I admit he's not as good as I thought he was at the time. It's a classic case of a decent player being made to look like a star in a good team.

Wowee.

Thoughts Mr_Moogle? Sounds like hypocrisy here friend

There's nothing hypocritical about it. He was playing good footy at Adelaide. I've never said he wasn't a good player, just that he's been exposed in Melbourne's backline and is overpaid based on his current output.

Yeah I admit he's not as good as I thought he was at the time. It's a classic case of a decent player being made to look like a star in a good team.

There's nothing hypocritical about it. He was playing good footy at Adelaide. I've never said he wasn't a good player, just that he's been exposed in Melbourne's backline and is overpaid based on his current output.
That'll do, pet.

It's not the first time I've overrated a 3rd tall defender/loose man. The Lever situation reminds me of Brent Reilly circa 2012. He had an amazing season playing that role in 2012 but couldn't follow it up in 2013 because teams figured out how to isolate him 1v1 and made him look stupid in contested situations. Luckily for Melbourne Jake is only at the start of his career and still has plenty of improvement in him whereas Reilly was a failed midfielder at the end of his career when they shifted him back.

As did Lever and Dangerfield. Doesn’t stop Crows fans paying out on Dangerfield. You can’t pick and choose mate.

The vast majority of AFC supporters were disappointed that Danger left, but he was a fiercely loyal player for many years who paid back the club's investment in him many times over. His personal demeanor and conduct in his final months at the club could not be more different than Lever's, and his stated reasons for leaving were easier to swallow as well. Most Crows supporters don't resent him leaving.

Sloane? I expect a similar story. He won't owe the club anything when he chooses to go home to his extended family with a young bub.

There's mouth-breathing pond scum supporters at every club. Sad that every supporter gets tarred with the same brush but there you go.

When you look at the shit spouted here on BF as a snapshot, i reckon good on Lever for his stance. All these loser trolls out there, they’re scum.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

At the end of the day, if you go on social media, it is a runaway train that no-one can control and there will be boofheads/losers call them what you want.

If you unable to take criticism (if you going to take the $$$$ then expect to back it up) and the trolls, don't go on it in the first place.

Is he worth $850k pa? Not a snowballs chance in hell.

The internet is a dark and ****ed up place that leaves you know place to hide if you choose to be a celebrity or have controversial opinions. Either you deal with this fact or you go offline.

I don't understand how people in this day and age do not understand how internet trolling works. We've created a beast yet it's so easy to avoid it.

Article comparing live and social media abuse:

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2...site-to-footballers-hosts-in-social-media-era

Online, where truth be not so much damned as not bothered with, the player/fan dynamic is an unequal partnership between parasite and host. It is a relationship perpetually fouled by the sense that although the fans – and if we’re honest, certain elements of the football media – cannot live without the players, players such as Lever are finding themselves “a bit more refreshed” after deleting their Twitter account. “I thought that he was back to his trademark play,” Goodwin said of Lever’s first performance after exiling himself from Twitter.

Taylor Walker has got to be one of the biggest hypocrites to play the game. Openly paying out on Lever and prior to that Dangerfield, whilst openly accepting Jacobs, Gibbs and Betts.
I've never understood the people that say this about Taylor Walker.

There's a big difference in a 29 year old Gibbs, having given the best 12 years of his career to a club, requesting a trade home for less money so he can be closer to family to raise his kids. Compare that to Lever (who was a draft punt on Adelaide's behalf given that he'd come off an ACL tear as a junior) requesting to leave after 3 years for slightly more money I think it's absolutely fair that the captain of the club would criticise him. (although the club not inviting him to the B&F was a bit iffy)

Likewise Betts spent 9 years and almost 200 games at Carlton, and Jacobs was promised opportunity given that he'd only played 17 games in 4 years at Carlton and was not even their first choice ruck.

Not to mention all besides Gibbs arrived before he was captain so I really don't see the problem with his actions. Shows dedication to the club which is what you want from your leaders.

I've never understood the people that say this about Taylor Walker.

There's a big difference in a 29 year old Gibbs, having given the best 12 years of his career to a club, requesting a trade home for less money so he can be closer to family to raise his kids. Compare that to Lever (who was a draft punt on Adelaide's behalf given that he'd come off an ACL tear as a junior) requesting to leave after 3 years for slightly more money I think it's absolutely fair that the captain of the club would criticise him. (although the club not inviting him to the B&F was a bit iffy)

Likewise Betts spent 9 years and almost 200 games at Carlton, and Jacobs was promised opportunity given that he'd only played 17 games in 4 years at Carlton and was not even their first choice ruck.

Not to mention all besides Gibbs arrived before he was captain so I really don't see the problem with his actions. Shows dedication to the club which is what you want from your leaders.
What about Scotty Thompson leaving Melbourne the same age as Lever. They praised Thommo at the BnF that Lever wasn't invited to.

I’m not defending the AFC - I’m just saying the Taylor Walker criticism is really odd.
Plus that was 14 years ago. Can’t see too many crows fans being very vocal about disliking Lever in 2031

I’m not defending the AFC - I’m just saying the Taylor Walker criticism is really odd.
Plus that was 14 years ago. Can’t see too many crows fans being very vocal about disliking Lever in 2031
I'm sure though if Hogan decided to come play for Adelaide they wouldn't have an issue.

To those that say Walker is hypocritical for criticising Lever, I have to ask you, what do you think Tex's role at the club actually is? I don't think being part of Lever's PR crew is part of his job description. Also why would anybody look to Walker of all people to provide unbiased opinions about the Crows in the first place?

Honestly I think he was screwed either way. If Tex had said nothing at all about Lever, Crows supporters would call him meek and accuse him of not flying the flag for the club. On the other hand if he blasts Lever on the way out, neutral fans accuse him of being a biased and hypocritical. I think he knows where his bread is buttered and sided with the Crows supporters. How shocking!

To those that say Walker is hypocritical for criticising Lever, I have to ask you, what do you think Tex's role at the club actually is? I don't think being part of Lever's PR crew is part of his job description. Also why would anybody look to Walker of all people to provide unbiased opinions about the Crows in the first place?

Honestly I think he was screwed either way. If Tex had said nothing at all about Lever, Crows supporters would call him meek and accuse him of not flying the flag for the club. On the other hand if he blasts Lever on the way out, neutral fans accuse him of being a biased and hypocritical. I think he knows where his bread is buttered and sided with the Crows supporters. How shocking!
That says more about Adelaide supporters than anything else, I guess I feel sorry for Tex for having to endure such a flaky fan base

Jake Lever deleting social media