Blessed

49ers
James Sutherland should be sacked on the spot for crimes against Australian cricket.

James Sutherland and Cricket Australia are a joke!

Every review they've done has basically labelled Cricket Australia a mess in almost every area - yet the w***er who has been in charge for that entire time, is somehow skating through unscathed?!

Batting terrible.

Pat Cummins injected before his first test.

Selection terrible.

We have 10 tests against England this year; we will be lucky not to go 0-10.

Without a doubt CA is now no better than a second string district club in personnel management if some of the accusations coming out are true.

The Australian Test side is now picked by who is mates with the captain, and who is does what the amateurish admin and fitness guys tell the players how to play.

We have gone from the most professional and envied admins and management to a senior selector who is too busy to watch games and a captain who picks his mates before those on merit.

James Sutherland and Cricket Australia are a joke!

Sutherland was a poor cricketer.

He worked in administration for two years at the Carlton football Club, then he is straight in as CEO of Cricket Australia.

He is like Nero.

While Cricket in Australia burns; he keeps fiddling.

The Australian Test side is now picked by who is mates with the captain.

There is a hint of that. There needs to be mate ship and all that. A lot of players like Langer were quick to use that to stay in favour. Constantly getting behind embattled mates. The selectors are just more concerned with general back lash if they sack a star. As has been proven over time none of them take it well either and go along quietly.

The other factor that Sutherland is a key part of is picking players for things other then talent. For marketing and to get bums on seats. The "poster boy" of cricket. Come and see David Warner smash the Indians at the SCG sells better then come and see Cowan play sensibly.

Some of your post is too extreme, but yes, Sutherland needs to be gone. The **** was the point of the Argus review if they aren't going to follow the reccomendations (less of a focus on T20 etc.)? Injury management is absolutely abysmal. So is player management. When Hughes and (possibly) Warner are dropped this summer, how are they going to work on their games whilst this 2 month T20 circus is going on?

The other factor that Sutherland is a key part of is picking players for things other then talent. For marketing and to get bums on seats. The "poster boy" of cricket. Come and see David Warner smash the Indians at the SCG sells better then come and see Cowan play sensibly.

Do you honestly think John Inverarity, Rod Marsh, Andy Bichel and Mickey Arthur give a toss about how a player "looks" when he is playing?

When Hughes and (possibly) Warner are dropped this summer, how are they going to work on their games whilst this 2 month T20 circus is going on?

That's the biggest gripe I have with the current admin. They schedule a heap of meaningless T20s (that in itself is bad enough) but then decide to time it concurrent to our tests against India. Bad luck to any of our current or prospective cricketers that need Shield practice over Dec/Jan.

The Argus review was meaningless, T20 is still considered the most important form of the game.

Over my dead body it is. I used to enjoy T20 when it first came out and we played 1 match a summer between 05-07. I enjoyed the first IPL as well. Now it's meaningless and I find myself not even worrying about them. Test cricket is still the best form of the game and always will be :thumbsu:

Do you honestly think John Inverarity, Rod Marsh, Andy Bichel and Mickey Arthur give a toss about how a player "looks" when he is playing?

That's not what I mean by poster boy. It's not how he looks. I think the selectors are influenced from many corners. The public, the captain and Sutherland. The decisions made are not clearly about the best for the team but also what's best for cricket in Australia. I'm talking commercial decisions.

Over my dead body it is. I used to enjoy T20 when it first came out and we played 1 match a summer between 05-07. I enjoyed the first IPL as well. Now it's meaningless and I find myself not even worrying about them. Test cricket is still the best form of the game and always will be :thumbsu:

I meant by the administrators (and unfortunately, probably a large percentage of the cricket watching public who don't have the attention span for test cricket), but yes, the quality of test cricket in the last few months has been fantastic. It always should be considered the premier form of the game.

Do you think they dont know who is signing their paycheck?

T20 cricket is killing our cricketers.

None of them know how to bat a day out any more.

None of them know how to play test cricket any more.

It is too late, the cancer that is T20 cricket has already killed the game (test cricket) in this country.

And James Sutherland let it in the front door.

Do you think they dont know who is signing their paycheck?

John Inverarity is 67 years old and has had an extremely successful career as both a cricket coach and teacher. He's not doing this for money.

Rod Marsh has been successful as a coach for 20 years, and would have got nowhere by compromising his principles for the sake of pleasing cricket administrators. Actually, there is nothing in his past that suggests he would have any respect at all for cricket administrators.

Andy Bichel is just starting out in hs post-playing career and will have the best chance of being successful by being a selector of a successful side.

And Mickey Arthur and Michael Clarke won't have paycheques if the side doesn't win matches.

That's my opinion - you tell me which of those men would take direction from head office on selections.

That's not what I mean by poster boy. It's not how he looks. I think the selectors are influenced from many corners. The public, the captain and Sutherland. The decisions made are not clearly about the best for the team but also what's best for cricket in Australia. I'm talking commercial decisions.

I put "looks" in quotation marks because I meant whether or not they play attractive cricket, not whether they attract the girls.

And to answer your point about what is driving the selections, see above.

The team is picked based on commercial decisions though.

But.....

The problem is not team selection.

It is scheduling.

The lack of emphasis on what made Australian cricket great - the Sheffield Shield.

This T20 Big Bash is a debacle.

Right when we need our cricketers playing first class cricket, they are playing hit and giggle cricket.

They they get back to playing Test cricket and they are still in the mind set of hit and giggle cricket.

The whole Big Bash concept should be abandoned.

It is only a pish money making exercise.

The emphasis of CA should not be making money but making Australia No 1 in Test Cricket again.

The two are at odds.

And CA has not implemented this; which is the No 1 finding of the Argus report.

Thus Sutherland should go.

John Inverarity is 67 years old and has had an extremely successful career as both a cricket coach and teacher. He's not doing this for money.

Rod Marsh has been successful as a coach for 20 years, and would have got nowhere by compromising his principles for the sake of pleasing cricket administrators. Actually, there is nothing in his past that suggests he would have any respect at all for cricket administrators.

Andy Bichel is just starting out in hs post-playing career and will have the best chance of being successful by being a selector of a successful side.

And Mickey Arthur and Michael Clarke won't have paycheques if the side doesn't win matches.

That's my opinion - you tell me which of those men would take direction from head office on selections.

I put "looks" in quotation marks because I meant whether or not they play attractive cricket, not whether they attract the girls.

And to answer your point about what is driving the selections, see above.

All valid points but money makes the world go round. There is some other things happening with selection that I pointed out. That's my opinion anyway.

When Hughes and (possibly) Warner are dropped this summer, how are they going to work on their games whilst this 2 month T20 circus is going on?
Exactly. They'll have to go back to piling on runs at grade level.

It'll also be difficult to drop players for the 3rd/4th test for that reason.

These are the blokes responsible for Sutherland remaining as the CEO and for the changes that have happened being given approval; http://cricket.com.au/board-directors.

This change here; http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia/content/story/544153.html

Should bring about a more accountable board and CEO.

The CEO carries out the Board of Directors recommendations. Jame Sutherland is only doing what he is told and while I agree it is time for him to move on, you can't blame him for something that the States themselves pushed.

Cowan only selected for one Tour match because they were told he had to be available for they Sydney big bash team.

What the godamned balls?!

Is there any link to an article that says this? It was my cynical reaction after seeing the squads as well but haven't heard any proof anywhere. If it's true then Australian Cricket has well and truly gone to the dogs (not that we really need the confirmation), Cowan couldn't get a T20 game for Tassie last summer. Reckon that he would be really pissed if that is what happened.

Was discussed at length on Grandstand Radio; one of their guys interviewed Inverarity for the Chairman's lunch and that's what he was told - he was very clear on it.

Too right Gov. I see free speech may or may not be good here. A bit like Simon Katich.

Sutherland bungled that one too.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/cricket...rdinary-outburst/story-e6frf3g3-1226073119626

He seems unable to make a decision and as you say only cares about flogging commercialism of the big bash to the determent of test cricket.

And as you say, wait till the Indians come.

last time the way Sutherland treated Andrew Symonds post the racism remarks was diabolical.

Australian cricket has never recovered.

Unfortunately under the new system James Sutherland is actually going to be elected to the CA Board.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/cricket-australia-to-overhaul-board-20111208-1okqy.html

CA chief executive James Sutherland will also become an executive director, effectively becoming the 10th member of the board.

The new structure may be a catalyst for the first woman to sit on CA's board.

Dark times for Australian cricket indeed.

I fear for the next two Ashes series.

Was discussed at length on Grandstand Radio; one of their guys interviewed Inverarity for the Chairman's lunch and that's what he was told - he was very clear on it.

Ok so it seems my worst fears are confirmed.