JON might be ok ya know

Dowler aside, JON is the worst perfromed in that top 20 picks!

As I say, I wait to be proven wrong, but that selection is looking rather ordinary!!!

Priority 1 Marc Murphy Doncaster/Oakleigh Carlton
Priority 2 Dale Thomas Gippsland Power Collingwood
Priority 3 Xavier Ellis Gippsland Power Hawthorn
1 4 Josh Kennedy East Fremantle Football Club Carlton
1 5 Scott Pendlebury Gippsland Power Collingwood
1 6 Beau Dowler Oakleigh Chargers Hawthorn
1 7 Patrick Ryder East Fremantle Football Club Essendon
1 8 Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls East Perth Football Club Richmond
1 9 Mitchell Clark East Fremantle Football Club Brisbane Lions
1 10 Marcus Drum Murray Bushrangers Fremantle
1 11 Shaun Higgins Geelong Falcons Western Bulldogs
1 12 Nathan Jones Dandenong Stingrays Melbourne
1 13 Shannon Hurn Central Districts West Coast
1 14 Grant Birchall Tassie Mariners Hawthorn
1 15 Travis Varcoe Central Districts Geelong
1 16 Richard Douglas Calder Cannons Adelaide
1 17 Darren Pfeiffer Norwood Football Club Adelaide
1 18 Max Bailey West Perth Football Club Hawthorn
1 19 Courtenay Dempsey Morningside Football Club Essendon
2 20 Paul Bower Peel Thunder Carlton

Ive just highlighted nearly half of the top 20that JON has at worst been on par with, at best at elats regularly into Ressies best, more than I can say for the lot of these bums:eek:

relax dude. So you are suggesting that if JON was at the blues, playing at Preston, the eagles would have taken him in the Judd deal? Or if you put up Travis Varcoe and JON as trade bait..that varcoe would not be taken at the drop of a hat?
How do you equate par? ;)

relax dude. So you are suggesting that if JON was at the blues, playing at Preston, the eagles would have taken him in the Judd deal? Or if you put up Travis Varcoe and JON as trade bait..that varcoe would not be taken at the drop of a hat?
How do you equate par? ;)

Interesting call Cogg, lets say if Kennedy was any good at all the Blues would not have let slip there only other decent KPP...others would have been tabled...and Varcoe is useless...rarely gets a sniff at vfl level..so am not sure what your point was:confused:

Okay sorry....the kid is going to be a champion,. Definitely turned the corner the last two weeks in the ressies. Showing great signs.
By the end of it, he'll make the likes of Pendlebury, Thomas, Jones, Murphy, Birchall etc. look like Richmond players of the late 80s-early 90s....plain poor.
Look forward to JON cementing his Brownlow win with a second and possibly third win to put him up there with the likes of Robert harvey. I know he can do it. has all the attributes - pace, skill, awareness, courage, smarts!! You go young fella...do us all proud!!!
Desperately unlucky not to have played 40 plus games already! he's won me over!:thumbsu:
Nah wouldn't dare suggest we draft better players than him...there simply aren't any!

Well done. JON is battling...well spotted. Insightful even.

SOME pretty good quality taken before Oakley Nicholls, Rayzor ol' son!

Murphy, Thomas, Pendlebury, Ellis, Ryder...and i'll nominate Kennedy at West Coast as having shown more than JON.

Granted mate, but none of those were available to us so it's irrelevant to who we chose, and doesn't change the fact it was a very weak draft.

As for players taken below him, you telling me JON has Birchall covered? Nathan Jones anyone?How about Sean Higgins? Ryan Gamble anyone? Bernie Vince? His Crows teammate Richard Douglas? Dylan Addison? Ibbotsonon? Rhan Hooper? Joel Patfull? I'll make cases for Mitchell Clark, McKinley, Hurn, Bower, Drum, Max Bailey, Clint Bartram. I'll even show you Cleve Hughes and raise you Matthew Sphanger and Trent West. each one of them has shown more.

Yep, but few of the picks after JON were player types we needed, and besides perhaps Birchall (who I rate highly and always have), it's hard to make a case for any of them being 1st round picks in other comparable recent drafts. We took a risk on a kid with freakish potential who we knew would take time, rather than just settle for what was mostly available after pick#8 in that draft - average plodders or in and out bit players.

If JON keeps working on his weaknesses the way he has been, stays injury free (what has held him back most so far) and keeps filling out, he's going to go straight past most of those from his draft like they're standing still.

Granted mate, but none of those were available to us so it's irrelevant to who we chose, and doesn't change the fact it was a very weak draft.

Yep, but few of the picks after JON were player types we needed, and besides perhaps Birchall (who I rate highly and always have), it's hard to make a case for any of them being 1st round picks in other comparable recent drafts. We took a risk on a kid with freakish potential who we knew would take time, rather than just settle for what was mostly available after pick#8 in that draft - average plodders or in and out bit players.

If JON keeps working on his weaknesses the way he has been, stays injury free (what has held him back most so far) and keeps filling out, he's going to go straight past most of those from his draft like they're standing still.

Once again you are right.
JON is just the type we need-no awareness, constantly misses targets and has no idea about what to do on the football field.

Yep, just the type we need!

Interesting call Cogg, lets say if Kennedy was any good at all the Blues would not have let slip there only other decent KPP...others would have been tabled...and Varcoe is useless...rarely gets a sniff at vfl level..so am not sure what your point was:confused:

lets say the blues sold their soul to the devil for JUdd. They had to.
As for Varcoe, dont knwo about you, but in his limited appearances in the 1s with the best team in the land, dont forget that, like he didnt get a call up because they were desperate and needed to blood players, he just got a call up because they deemed him good enough, he has shown 10 times more protential at this point in time. i.e. if he were a tiger, i would tip that alot of tigerheads would be pulling their puds over him, seeing as they are over JON.

BTW, and i am not taking a stand against JON either, i like the kid, he is brainless when it comes to awareness, but the rest is pretty good IMO. But I also dont go gaga at a skerrit of improvement at Coburg. Like i said in a previous post. I form my opinions from what i see in the games that count, the 1s, until he gets a good run in the 1s, i prefer to remain patient.
When i run out of patience, you get for e.g my total admiration of the Pettifer types...if you knwo what i mean.

You dont have to go to far to get an example of a player becoming a "player" after a year or so of being lost in the fog. A certain Mark Coughlan when he debuted, had me scratching my head and asking wtf. totally lost on the field in the big time, but then dont know wtf the ____ happened, he just grew into a machine...over probably his 3rd pre season. ;)

So who's the Pavlich we missed out on?

Any of those would look fantastic in a Richmond jumper. Not quite Pavlich ilk, but 100 times better than JON

You gotta be on ____ing crack if you think JON has shown more then Kennedy, Bower, Douglas and Drum. Get out of your Victorian bubble mate and watch some footy. 4 very very classy players ther

Any of those would look fantastic in a Richmond jumper. Not quite Pavlich ilk, but 100 times better than JON

Agree:thumbsu:!

You gotta be on ____ing crack if you think JON has shown more then Kennedy, Bower, Douglas and Drum. Get out of your Victorian bubble mate and watch some footy. 4 very very classy players ther

Agree:thumbsu:...though not on the crack at Bojangles...watches a helluva lot more football than most who post on here.....on all boards.
But Douglas especially ... the guy can play!

Any of those would look fantastic in a Richmond jumper. Nowhere near Pavlich ilk, but better than JON
So you agree with me that's not as bad as selecting Fiora over Pav.

No. Fiora actually showed a little bit so the difference between him and Pavlich wasn't as great as the difference between say JON and Birchall.

If you are finding it hard to comprehend let me put it to you this way:
Pavlich - 8/10
Fiora - 4/10
Difference of 4

Birchall - 6/10
JON - 0/10
Difference of 6

I hope that clears it up a little.

No. Fiora actually showed a little bit so the difference between him and Pavlich wasn't as great as the difference between say JON and Birchall.

If you are finding it hard to comprehend let me put it to you this way:
Pavlich - 8/10
Fiora - 4/10
Difference of 4

Birchall - 6/10
JON - 0/10
Difference of 6

I hope that clears it up a little.

Couldn't agree more.

Fiora occasionally did something nice, showed some signs (at AFL not VFL) and yes had major weaknesses but didn't look like he had no idea what to do in his third year on the list.

JON being a zero might even be a bit generous for mine.

Cut him free now as I hardly think he will come back to haunt us!

Couldn't agree more.

Fiora occasionally did something nice, showed some signs (at AFL not VFL) and yes had major weaknesses but didn't look like he had no idea what to do in his third year on the list.

JON being a zero might even be a bit generous for mine.

Cut him free now as I hardly think he will come back to haunt us!

you cant be serious? He was the provider of some of the best slapstick comedy ever seen on a footy field...FFS. All it needed was the benny hill music.
His best sketch was and he was real good at it too, was when he would baulk one player, mainly because he himself didnt know what he was doing, so the player had to take a chance and opt for it, but when he got through the first baulk, then he would try the second, and you can see that he was "unconcious" and sure enough, he would run straight into a brick wall....has us lying in the aisles pissing ourselves, week in week out......The most useless number 4 pick to ever play the game...Why do you think Grant Thomas got the tap on the shoulder? FFs, he deemed fiora as a required player in his quest for glory? I would have sacked thomas on the spot on trade day...;)

cant convince me mate, they're crap and you know it
BJ, you're wrong at least on Kennedy. Thought he played very well against his old mob last round. Certainly a much better game than anything JON's done on the AFL stage yet. And Douglas is a good player fitting into a good Adelaide side, so he's shown more than JON too.

I saw a bit of that game Kennedy played , was ok...if thats the benchmark , I most certainly havent written JON off...have never heard of richard douglas, could look like sammy davis for all i know:o and thats after watching 8 games a weekend and trawling thru all national newspapers on the web