Port Adelaide
Centrals
King to miss 8-10
6:09:47 PM Tue 17 February, 2004
Samantha Lane
afl.com.au

Geelong captain and chief ruckman Steven King could be unavailable until as late as round six of the premiership season after it was decided he required surgery on his Achilles tendon.

It is a bitter blow for the Cats, who appointed King, a dual club best-and-fairest winner, to the captaincy at the beginning of last year. The 25 year-old is critical to Geelong’s fortunes, and was hoping to make a comeback in round one after last playing senior footy in round 14 last season.

The club opted to rest King for the last eight weeks of the year, in the hope that an extended rehabilitation period would cure his Achilles condition. But the problem was re-aggravated a month ago and specialists have since decided that surgery to remove the scar tissue around the problematic tendon is the best option.

"Four weeks ago Steven developed pain behind his Achilles tendon due to disruption of scar tissue. This has failed to settle and now requires surgical removal. This is a complication of the initial condition,” club doctor Andrew Irwin said before King underwent surgery on Tuesday night.

"Steven's Achilles tendon is in good condition but any surgery to this area has a slow recovery and it is anticipated that it will take 8-10 weeks for him to return to play."

The club is hoping the surgery will provide the best outcome for King in the long term.

"Our goal is to get Steven at his best, and the medical opinion we have is that surgery to remove the scar tissue is the best way to achieve that," Cats football manager Garry Davidson said.

"Steven is one of the best, if not the best, ruckman in the AFL and we look forward to getting him back at his best for the majority of the season and beyond."

Originally posted by Russian
The club is hoping the surgery will provide the best outcome for King in the long term.
Well aren’t they heroes?

Pity they missed this seemingly obvious observation over the injured Achilles tendon last year.

Defeated the purpose of resting him for half of last season, seriously. Rest him and don’t opt for surgery, when he has all the time in the world to recover from the operation. Where’s the logic?

Absolutely dumbfounded.

:confused: :mad:

Re: Re: King to miss 8-10

Originally posted by catattack
Well aren’t they heroes?

Pity they missed this seemingly obvious observation over the injured Achilles tendon last year.

Defeated the purpose of resting him for half of last season, seriously. Rest him and don’t opt for surgery, when he has all the time in the world to recover from the operation. Where’s the logic?

Absolutely dumbfounded.

:confused: :mad:

What else can I add?

Its obiously our turn for a priority pick
(seems like everyone else gets one)
Bring on 2005

It's a blow, for sure, but every team gets injuries and you can't be much of a team if you bemoan the loss of just one player to such an extent that the wooden spoon is predicted. Just looking at last season, I thought Geelong finished strongly without King in the team. The challenge was thrown down to Street, and I'd say he surprised alot of people with his rise to the challenge. Now it's time for Loats and unco to rise to the challenge. Don't see why we can't start strongly this season.

Originally posted by Jim Boy
It's a blow, for sure, but every team gets injuries and you can't be much of a team if you bemoan the loss of just one player to such an extent that the wooden spoon is predicted.

It's not the injury, it's the circumstances surrounding said injury.

the only thing that surprised me about street was that we got haynes for him
street beat a kid with a crook back .......42 hitouts indeed

Hey guys and girls, dont write off your season yet, you never know the other guys could life heaps and you may not even miss kingy, keep thinking positive the season hasent even started yet.
Good luck for the season except against the doggies :D .

Originally posted by JUBJUB
He did okay in 1 game,against a team with no regular ruckman.

Never said he was a star, but the way people were going on last year you'd reckon the only reason he should be near a footy ground was to sell records. He did ok at the seasons end in a couple of matches and very well in another and if hadn't been traded would have been kept on the list, something that wasn't on the cards midway through the season.

Is it just me or do we have an excessive amount of injuries at the moment for this time of the season [?]:

• King [achilles tendon]
  • Ablett [groin]
  • S. Johnson [ankle]
  • Mackie [Knee]
  • Wojcinski [Back]
  • Slade [Osteitis Pubis]
  • Foster [Back]
  • Allen [Knee]
  • Gardiner [General Soreness]
  • Rooke [General Soreness]
  • Loats [Back Spasms]

Seems were are being hit early this year after apart from kingy a rather good year injury wise last year :(

The management is, quite simply, appalling.

The worst of the 16 clubs running around.

It should come as no surprise that we have such an extensive injury list.

It's not just the management that is appalling. Everyone knew from about mid last year that we were screwed for this season. The whole club is a disgrace... yet we'll still turn up to the games and watch our team play like utter crap, just in hope that they may one day surprise us.

They need to change a whole lot down there.

Boy, it is going to be a long year if the anger at the club, and perceived performance of the team this year represented by the people in this thread is anything to go by.

Talk about following a mob mentality. Have you all decided that seeing as one person is upset and sunk the boots in, you all have to outdo each other?

It would be wise to remember that King was essentially playing off one leg, and well below himself from about Round 3 last year, at which time we were 0-3.

King is only 1 player in a TEAM of 22. While his loss in the early season will hurt, it should not be the difference between all out success and failure. I am sure that there has been plenty of planning, and training through the off-season of Loats and Chambers to account for a King injury recurrence.

While it is frustrating and dissapointing about the news on King, if you read the articles this week, it appears all was on track until 3 weeks ago. It seems the club took the best available medical advice, and why wouldn;t they? A few of you make it seem they went against advice and deliberately sabotaged King to be injured again.

At least let the boys have a competitive, meaningful game, and maybe get a indication of how they are looking this season before setting in with all the doon, gloom, finger pointing and name calling.

The continual bleeting about how the people percive the club to be mis-managed and abysmal is not only wrong, but become very boring as well.

You lot wonder why no other supporters on this board respect us, have a read of this thread and you may get a idea why. We make for pretty easy targets when you wrtie garabage like this.

Graham said on SEN that King wasnt injured:p , shows how much he no's;)

Originally posted by Eriiin
The whole club is a disgrace... yet we'll still turn up to the games and watch our team play like utter crap, just in hope that they may one day surprise us.

At least we DO still turn up when our team is playing like crap, unlike other teams.

I agree with X, I don't think it's time to write the season off just yet. We did finish off the yeah ok when Kingy wasn't there so there is a chance of something good happening.

DR Larkins rekons we wont c him for 4 MONTHS:rolleyes: