Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2011 Mock Draft

Butcher started the season very well, but a couple of weeks back did his knee (I think) and is out for the year? Do you think clubs will take a gamble on a guy playing at state level who has missed the previous year with a serious injury?

Another WAFL player who probably should get another go is Hutchings from West Perth. Like Butcher was captain of WA two years back and got drafted to the Saints in the rookie draft but as they were so strong last year and the Saints tend not to throw their youngsters in the deep end never got a game and was delisted. Hard at it midfielder type player.

Less likely is Luke Blackwell. Gun at WAFL level and dominated the last two state games (should have had two Simpson medals), hard runner who racks up disposals and rarely makes mistakes. Age may be considered to be an issue (around 25 I think). Likewise Josh Smith may be considered for another shot in the big league. Big key forward who showed he's easily good enough for the state leagues, but never really had much impact for North. Would be worth another shot I think.

Looks like a decent enough prospect.

Agree with someone who said some of these guys who have been overlooked/delisted in recent years being given another crack.

Tobias Thoolen Knightmare, another shot you would think?

I was more meaning the other end of the scale (small forwards - under 182cm).

I'm not sure what we will do (RE Daniher). It all really depends on what happens with the development of Carlisle, and the (ongoing) recovery of Gumbleton.

Also, I think Essendon will be looking at 4 National Draft picks (make it 3 with Crameri upgraded), whilst we will probably be looking at 3 rookie picks (with Tweedale looking likely being placed on the Rookie List, whilst David Meli is another option), think young Tom Fields may be over looked as a F/S option, despite being a decent enough player, we already have enough third tall defender types.

How would you rank the top dozen midfielders for this draft bud?

1. Coniglio (Inside/Outside)
2. Wingard (Inside/Outside)
3. Benbow (Outside)
4. ...
5. ...
6. ...

Thanks mate, and great effort again

Daniher is too good to pass up next year.

Mids: (Top group - based on quality now)
1. Coniglio
2. Wingard
3. S.Nelson
4. Grigg
5. Hoskin-Elliot
6. Buntine
7. Crozier

Of those more realistic:
McKenzie, Sumner, T.Adams, Waldhunter, C.Smith.

Benbow is impressive, but a bit shorter. Not so sure I'd have him so high due to size. But certainly quality and deserves being chosen at some point.

Butcher started the season very well, but a couple of weeks back did his knee (I think) and is out for the year? Do you think clubs will take a gamble on a guy playing at state level who has missed the previous year with a serious injury?

Another WAFL player who probably should get another go is Hutchings from West Perth. Like Butcher was captain of WA two years back and got drafted to the Saints in the rookie draft but as they were so strong last year and the Saints tend not to throw their youngsters in the deep end never got a game and was delisted. Hard at it midfielder type player.

Less likely is Luke Blackwell. Gun at WAFL level and dominated the last two state games (should have had two Simpson medals), hard runner who racks up disposals and rarely makes mistakes. Age may be considered to be an issue (around 25 I think). Likewise Josh Smith may be considered for another shot in the big league. Big key forward who showed he's easily good enough for the state leagues, but never really had much impact for North. Would be worth another shot I think.

Don't have details on any injury for Butcher. Only know of his start to the season.

Was very surprised to see the Saints delist Hutchins within that year. Felt at the time that he might have been one of the kids who might have worked out through the rookie draft that year. Like Butcher solid kid who again isn't high upside, but can play.

Blackwell is one who should come into the mix with the weaker draft. Really hope he gets the opportunity because he is good enough to get games for more than a couple of AFL sides. Has been for some time.

Haven't watched Josh Smith for some time and would be interested in his progress. Was always a very good VFL player, but it never seems to convert at AFL level. If dominates and shows he is a top 1/2 KPF at state level he deserves a look as a rookie possible.

Where is Yarran or is he a bottom ager?

Likely 1st rounder next year. Fantastic talent.

Tobias Thoolen Knightmare, another shot you would think?

Have heard good things about him this year. Has developed surprisingly well after his "long term prospect" status when he was on the Collingwood list. I'd be interested to hear what others think also because I haven't tracked him closely. Wouldn't go early, but could be a possible rookie for a team short of a tall. Would like to see some recent vision to see just how much he has developed. Interesting because such a late bloomer. If overlooked this year I expect he might even in 2012 push for a rookie position.

Daniher is too good to pass up next year.

Mids: (Top group - based on quality now)
1. Coniglio
2. Wingard
3. S.Nelson
4. Grigg
5. Hoskin-Elliot
6. Buntine
7. Crozier

Of those more realistic:
McKenzie, Sumner, T.Adams, Waldhunter, C.Smith.

Of the guys I really like (although, going off reports, and limited footage, I am no expert on the 18's, so wont pretend to be).

Benbow is impressive, but a bit shorter. Not so sure I'd have him so high due to size. But certainly quality and deserves being chosen at some point.

Buntine, Hoskin - Elliot, Waldhunter and Grigg are the ones I really like.

I really like Buntine, led the way in the early games when some of the AIS guys were out and did a superb job.

Buntine, Hoskin - Elliot, Waldhunter and Grigg are the ones I really like.

I really like Buntine, led the way in the early games when some of the AIS guys were out and did a superb job.

Buntine has had a poor champs which might see him slide slightly. Have heard injury rumours and likely right.

Clear top 10 pick and quality, could easily go top 5. Just hope to see one game before the end of the year where he plays his best in a big game against quality opposition.

With Heppell already probably not a practical choice even if you got a super low pick.

Grigg/ Hoskin-Elliot would be the choices if you somehow find yourselves inside the top 10.

With Heppell already probably not a practical choice even if you got a super low pick.

Grigg/ Hoskin-Elliot would be the choices if you somehow find yourselves inside the top 10.

Why would you say this? Are they similar players? I thought Buntine was more of a wingmen/onballer type?

How would you rate Waldhunter, Grigg and Hoskin - Elliot (in that order?)?

Why would you say this? Are they similar players? I thought Buntine was more of a wingmen/onballer type?

How would you rate Waldhunter, Grigg and Hoskin - Elliot (in that order?)?

I'd say more of a back flanker who can play midfield well. Would describe Heppell the same. Has those good footskills, ball winning ability, good size, ball reading ability. Heppell is probably a good player comparison for him really. But could also prove solid value for the team who gives him a chance.

1. Grigg
2. Hoskin-Elliot
3. Waldhunter

Don't think Waldhunter will go as early. Doesn't win enough ball to really command such a high draft position. Completely different players and more inside, not the ball user Grigg + Hoskin-Elliot are.

Ah k

Off topic from your draft, have you seen much TAC footy this year?

What were the knocks on Adam Kennedy (Western Jets Captain) being overlooked last year? Think he could be a potential draftee? Do you see many guys being picked up from the TAC Cup who missed out on Championships selection?

Ah k

Off topic from your draft, have you seen much TAC footy this year?

What were the knocks on Adam Kennedy (Western Jets Captain) being overlooked last year? Think he could be a potential draftee? Do you see many guys being picked up from the TAC Cup who missed out on Championships selection?

Usually like to check out the sides with more of those likely draftees.
So Oakley Chargers, Calder Cannons are always of interest, this year Eastern Ranges are also interesting with Crozier, Patton and Bussey who could all go first round.
Also APS School footy is of interest. With the likes of Gaff, Liber, Wallis and others running around there last year. Every year heaps of quality running around.
Check out VFL when I can, but have a lesser knowledge. Outside of Collingwood VFL haven't put much time in.

Kennedy at his height probably needed a little more to stand out. Solid midfielder but doesn't have a great weapon. Usually mids 185+ are favoured. If you are low 180s recruiters usually look for something that makes you stand out.

So you don't think the Pies would Father and Son Startevitch?

When I expand to 4 round, will put Starcevich in as Pies F/S for time being.

To get drafted would want to close the season strongly. No certainty but still in there with a chance.

Butcher and Hutchins are weird ones. You could argue that they haven't been given the chance, so should therefore be better options than ex-AFL senior listed players, but I just don't see them getting a chance ahead of a Luke Blackwell or Ryan Cook.

Continuing with the mature theme, for the third year running I'm going to be on the Haydn Busher bandwagon. I was the only person to even suggest his name on this board last year, so I'll probably be on my own again this time around. Hopefully this will be his year though.

Monaco, Kruse and Rankine will feature again in my mocks, while Batley and Armfield are better placed this time around too. O'Hara is my #1 mature pick, and I think he could continue on from Duigan and Puopolo as SANFL players making the grade. Might throw in Mitch Taylor once again, and even Nat Caruso (those two might just be wishful thinking though).

Butcher and Hutchins are weird ones. You could argue that they haven't been given the chance, so should therefore be better options than ex-AFL senior listed players, but I just don't see them getting a chance ahead of a Luke Blackwell or Ryan Cook.

Continuing with the mature theme, for the third year running I'm going to be on the Haydn Busher bandwagon. I was the only person to even suggest his name on this board last year, so I'll probably be on my own again this time around. Hopefully this will be his year though.

Monaco, Kruse and Rankine will feature again in my mocks, while Batley and Armfield are better placed this time around too. O'Hara is my #1 mature pick, and I think he could continue on from Duigan and Puopolo as SANFL players making the grade. Might throw in Mitch Taylor once again, and even Nat Caruso (those two might just be wishful thinking though).

Haven't heard much about Ryan Cook this season. Interesting name to mention. Won the Coll VFL B+F in 2009 it might have been. Solid VFL player but never looked fantastic at AFL level. Always felt he has always been stagnant and never really moved the ball on all that well.

Butcher + Hutchins I would like to see given that shot as rookies. Far worse players on AFL lists right now. Both are incredibly solid young inside mids but just don't seem to stand out enough to appeal which is a shame.

Busher isn't a bad one as a KPP. Might sneak into the rookie draft if he can close the season strongly. Probably doesn't quite stand out enough for me, but solid player.

Had Rankine, Batley and Armfield in my draft last year with Monaco and Kruse had in the mix early on also. Amongst the better players not taken last year without a doubt. 1 or 2 might get taken as rookies with a bit of luck. Rankine and Batley are the two I particularly like and hope to see on an AFL list next year.

Good work. Elton looks a solid pick for tje lions. The 2nd pick would surely be a tall back....what are the likely options for a tall back with the lions combo pick?

Combo picks I won't add in till later on.

It will be interesting to see whether Brisbane go KPP or midfield with their 1st + 2nd round selections.

Adam Tomlinson, Michael Bussey (more of a forward but can play back), Sam Gordon (more of a forward but could play back), Michael Talia - would be amongst those I'd look at if available as options in the 2nd round as KPDs. If not available then I would take a mid because there will be a few pretty reasonable midfield choices early 2nd round.

It's not just that many are undersized, but that a lot of the taller ones are rotating through the ruck too. Hard to get consistency when you can't focus on one spot, and it makes it harder for recruiters to judge them. Take Hamling for example, he pretty much plays in the ruck at Colts level but for WA he is given more time up forward. The same can be said for Levicki and Raikiwasa for SA, although Raikiwasa is probably getting more ruck time in the Championships than back home.

I think that will see a lot of teams rating players very differently, depending on where they see their position as being or how much scope for improvement they have. Guys like Gordon, Frost and Bussey probably fit in that group.

Maybe this will be the year for Hartigan and Monaco.
Hey Chris,of the KPP players that KM has us selecting,have you seen any of them play? What other clubs do you think will be selecting KPP,for their first pick?

Hey Chris,of the KPP players that KM has us selecting,have you seen any of them play?

Shane Kersten is the obvious pick for Fremantle, and it would be a very good one too. I'm hoping that we either pick him with our first, or with the compensation pick we get for Palmer.

If we were to get Kersten, then I doubt we would pick Jackson Paine with our next pick. Although Knightmare has him as a KPD, I prefer him up forward. And while he looks a nice player and he would be a good pick up at 38, going for two tall forwards might be overkill.

I wouldn't say no to Wright or Raikiwasa later on in the draft though.

I can't see Lachie Neale getting picked up that early. He will probably survive until a rookie list spot. He's a tough and smart player, but is very small. You'd want to see if he can go ok against bigger bodies before he was picked higher.
One from SA to watch come draft time is Jake Sutcliffe. He just missed the State U18 team and isn't all that great a player, but he will get to the draft camp and blow some people away. On the back of this he will rise up the rankings quickly. He shouldn't be a high pick (in terms of his actual on ground performances), but will probably end up 20-30.

A real smokey is an SA boy called Billy Laurie. Won't be spoken about much (only really plays College footy), but may sneak in later.

I can't see Lachie Neale getting picked up that early. He will probably survive until a rookie list spot. He's a tough and smart player, but is very small. You'd want to see if he can go ok against bigger bodies before he was picked higher.
One from SA to watch come draft time is Jake Sutcliffe. He just missed the State U18 team and isn't all that great a player, but he will get to the draft camp and blow some people away. On the back of this he will rise up the rankings quickly. He shouldn't be a high pick (in terms of his actual on ground performances), but will probably end up 20-30.

A real smokey is an SA boy called Billy Laurie. Won't be spoken about much (only really plays College footy), but may sneak in later.

Neale could pretty easily slide due to size.

Will continue to watch out for Sutcliffe.

Can you give me some info on Laurie? New name to me. Will look into him.

Knightmare, where to do you see Jake Reeves sitting in this draft? One of the Geelong posters was impressed by him the other day and thought his mobility and kicking skills were very good for a player of his size. Thoughts?

Jake Reeves is a good size. He is in the mix. Could feature in the draft.
Not sure he has featured yet in the u18 champs? Don't have him in my notes from the champs. Would like to see a couple more of his games, don't have a gauge on his range yet, will keep an eye out.

Everytime I see Piva Wright play (only a couple) I think Josh Gibson.

Fair assumption??

Similar height. Interesting comparison. Can play either end. Does look a bit similar. Maybe a less athletic Gibson. Bigger build and less athletic version. Not sure he will be able to play KPP at AFL level which is the knock on him, might have to shift over and take mediums. But solid body and will grow out very well.

#55 Fremantle – Marley Williams (WA)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 22/07/1993
Recruited from: Claremont Football Club

He's an interesting one. Anyone seen him play? Seems a tad overweight, one wonders whether with a good preseason, a few less kg's and a greater fitness base, whether he could become quite a good midfielder.

If Collingwood took Waldhuter before Greene or Tyson I'd spew up. And Carlton won't be getting Buckley with a second round pick.