Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2012 Mock Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Knightmare

Our contested ball is fine, it's our outside run and skill which is lacking.

Jones, Moloney, Trengove and Sylvia all win their share of the hard ball.
i noticed that last week which is why you guys would be insane to pass on dayle garlett even if he does have problems or whatever im sure melbourne would be able to get the best out of him

I would shit in an envelop and mail it to the club if we drafted him in the top 4.

13 sure, but 3?? No way.

Our contested ball is fine, it's our outside run and skill which is lacking.

Jones, Moloney, Trengove and Sylvia all win their share of the hard ball.

There's winning footy in tight and then there's quality disposal once you've won it. Right now ours don't dispose of it creatively, or effectively.

Also, I disagree on Sylvia. He isn't an inside mid, but more a powerful finisher.

People will be asking why not Lachie Whitfield? I'm expecting the guy to be a career 30+ disposal guy once he has had a few years in the system and the most consistent across his career. Despite being more of an outside player he does have ball winning and inside ability but he won't in the same way as some of the others turn games. He is more of an extreme high level accumulator who you won't be able to tag (bc running ability is so elite) and will use it well with medium to high hurt factor. Additionally with Whitfield I don't expect him to have the down games you will see from an O'Meara for example have which is the real attraction - and I'm sure early on O'Meara will have plenty of down games whereas Whitfield will produce every week and have the greatest consistency over his career.

You seem to be describing Brett Deledio. Is there a playing style resemblance.

Heavens forbid we pick up the next Brock McLean at P3.

I too don't want to have to use pick 3 on him, but these sorts of comments annoy me. Viney has good speed and McLean doesn't. Viney is also a better inside mid with better in tight disposal. Viney is a far better leader.

There's no resemblance between the two.

You seem to be describing Brett Deledio. Is there a playing style resemblance.

Not as power running like Deledio but instead more of an endurance beast. Plays a more similar style to a Steele Sidebottom or Andrew Gaff as a hard running, classy outside player.

If GWS or GC don't rate Viney as pick 1 or 2 they won't take the risk of bidding. What for? They don't actually gain anything by bidding - they just stuff it up for Melbourne and we're hardly a threat worth the risk.

And allowing Melbourne to take a strong player early and another later with the F/S pick means there is less talent for the other teams to pick up. Teams that already have more talent than the Dees and are considered a threat.

Knightmare, is there any chance of this NZ kid getting picked up? A tall if I remember rightly, but the name escapes me.

We are so bad atm we will only take the best players available, especially the way that the top mids are shaping imo whitfield and Toumpas would be immense for us, Viney is in the next group back.

Shit would wit the fan if MFC screw this draft up with the 2 top 4 picks and 2 more inside the top 25 odd, could ruin us permanently.

I would think the heat may be on GC if the dont win games, people will be criticizing their recruiting if they go winless and they will not be able to afford using a pick 1 on screwing MFC over, it could mean that Clayton officially screws it up, heads would role if we called GC's bluff on this.

Similar applies for GWS they have so much riding on these drafts, you can only apply so much attention to screwing your future potential Premiership threats ect both teams are atleast 4 years away and alot will happen between now and then.

Viney isn't in the top 5 class wise, but is, as far as tough inside players go. Viney, Wines, Vlastuin, maybe Toumpas as well.
Hard inside players are what the Suns seem to be lacking. I think the Suns & Giants need these more than outside types. I can Imagine Whitfield not going No 1, & Grundy sliding.

Joe Daniher would have more hurt factor then most of these you just mentioned I would have thought.

After his game v WA he would have to go straight to no.1 and I have to agree. Played a freak game - marking ability was incredible for a 2m guy marking at the highest point every time doing so both on the lead and in contested situations. Additionally at ground level did some incredible things and is just so clean below the knees for a guy of his height. Incredible talent and would be the no.1 selection if not for F/S on the back of that one game. Essendon have a ripper. It's a pleasure to watch him play. Hope he continues on as a key forward and isn't developed into a ruckman. Would be a waste of his talents.

Knightmare, is there any chance of this NZ kid getting picked up? A tall if I remember rightly, but the name escapes me.

I can only think of: Kurt Heatherley (eligable next year), Rhys Panui-Leth and Shem Tatupu. All are Hawthorn NZ rookies.

Heatherly is the one- thanks. He's the first and only NZ player I've thought could make it. Do the Hawks get exclusive access to NZ?

Heatherley comes from a b-ball + rugby background. Plays for Caufield Grammar. Eligable next year but will need another year of development before we really know what we've got.

Hawthorn as I understand it do get exclusive access and can just rookie him assuming he agrees - which is the most likely outcome. I'd expect the NZ program to work similar to the NSW/ACT program but can't say I have all the information. There is always the chance that Kurt decides (I want to be on a senior list) and just enters the national draft for any club to select him (Trent Stubbs who was a Hawthorn NSW/ACT rookie did this then Collingwood just drafted him in the national draft - so it can happen) and there is also the chance Hawthorn overlook him completely allowing other AFL clubs the chance to draft him so he is worth looking out for anyway. But more likely than not Hawthorn add him as a rookie in 2013 for the 2014 season.

I assume the Saints will get some access to NZ players if they indeed start playing games there. There's a lot of slimmer athletes not suited to rugby, so it's a great untapped resource.

As for Daniher, he's the best forward prospect since Hawkins IMO. He may take a similar time to develop, but he's comfortably a better prospect than Day, Patton etc.

If GWS or GC don't rate Viney as pick 1 or 2 they won't take the risk of bidding. What for? They don't actually gain anything by bidding - they just stuff it up for Melbourne and we're hardly a threat worth the risk.

And allowing Melbourne to take a strong player early and another later with the F/S pick means there is less talent for the other teams to pick up. Teams that already have more talent than the Dees and are considered a threat.

I reckon they'll force your guys to pick him. If I was GC, I would actually really want him. They need an elite inside mid desperately to compliment the likes of Swallow, Bennell and Matera.

Also GWS and GC know if they pass that Melbourne are getting 3 top 5 picks and also a top 15 pick (which would be considered a real threat to them). It would be a real shame if you guys had to pick him at 3 though (although its better for the dogs), potentially a glitch in the new FS rule.

I assume the Saints will get some access to NZ players if they indeed start playing games there. There's a lot of slimmer athletes not suited to rugby, so it's a great untapped resource.

As for Daniher, he's the best forward prospect since Hawkins IMO. He may take a similar time to develop, but he's comfortably a better prospect than Day, Patton etc.

Internationals can be signed up at any time to the International Scholarship List (excluding Irish guys who cannot be part of this list due to some sort of deal with GAA as far as I know). There is no real exclusivity for any clubs - although supposedly Carlton, Collingwood, Freo and WC have some sort of first dibs on kids from particular South African regions that they have put some funds into. Also it has been reported in the past that kids in PNG at the AFL academy there have been taken in a kind of minidraft with the clubs providing funds there and wanting a kid taking part in that (Richmond, Brisbane, Essendon I think).

Once the kids are on this list their club can then upgrade them to rookie list if they are up to it. It hasn't happened yet. But as previously described it is similar to the NSW list. Clubs can list up to 8 players a year and theoretically have 24 on their list at any time. So the Saints won't have any exclusivity, but being in NZ will give them a foot in the door to be on hand and spot some local talent to sign up.

Gideon Simon at Richmond may be another one along with Heatherley at Hawthorn who might be a candidate to make it.

Internationals can be signed up at any time to the International Scholarship List (excluding Irish guys who cannot be part of this list due to some sort of deal with GAA as far as I know). There is no real exclusivity for any clubs - although supposedly Carlton, Collingwood, Freo and WC have some sort of first dibs on kids from particular South African regions that they have put some funds into. Also it has been reported in the past that kids in PNG at the AFL academy there have been taken in a kind of minidraft with the clubs providing funds there and wanting a kid taking part in that (Richmond, Brisbane, Essendon I think).

Once the kids are on this list their club can then upgrade them to rookie list if they are up to it. It hasn't happened yet. But as previously described it is similar to the NSW list. Clubs can list up to 8 players a year and theoretically have 24 on their list at any time. So the Saints won't have any exclusivity, but being in NZ will give them a foot in the door to be on hand and spot some local talent to sign up.

Gideon Simon at Richmond may be another one along with Heatherley at Hawthorn who might be a candidate to make it.

Kids a freak just shame he's so small. He looks like a really miniature nic nat with his dreads. Dimma wanted him to play NAB Cup when we signed him up as a 15 year old because he was already good enough but AFL didn't allow it. :(

Thanks for that Crash. South African and PNG kids will get picked up eventually, but NZ will supply players first IMO. In 20 years they'll have their own team IMO and that will really open the doors to Kiwi kids whose bodies aren't suited to rugby.

What's your opinion on Tom Hargreave? Sam Martyn?

Sam Martyn was really consistent for Country throughout the champs. Eligable next year but has some talent.

Hargreave I think only played the first two rounds. Got allot of it down back but my feeling is that was more a result of the stronger Div 1 midfields getting on top - which meant allot of the play was in his half.

good read knight.

port should have a pick from 5-9 and 25-30 at a guess.

we desperately need midfielders, particularly elite footskills and some pace required in our team ( although i wouldnt rule out a contested ball winner if it is an upgrade on some spots on our team a good mid is a good mid).

i think whitfield and toumpas will be gone at our pick.

what will port be looking at do you think? how big is the gap between some of the next group of mids??

mayes, gartlett, wines, o'rourke, vlastuin.

would that be a fair assumption at the next group of mids?

i definitely like the sound of wines. i dont think he fills our need of pace and footskills though ( but of course if he is just that much better than another mid who may be faster/better kick than ild think wines is the option to go for). i dont see us going for vlastuin either really.

to me it seems like port would most likely be looking at mayes/ gartlett/ o'rourke. gartlett has a minor history, and orourke had injury concerns not long ago didnt he? is orourke not up there near gartlett and toumpas in midfield type quality?

do you think gartlett will be the type to get tagged out of games easily in the afl?

all in all i seem to think port will go for mayes with gartlett/ wines being a strong consideration.