Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2012 Mock Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Knightmare

isn't Brisbane Comp pick before GWS Comp pick or am i mistaken but GWS comp pick is on ladder postion which means Adelaide's finish Brisbane will finish lower then adelaide
Brisbane's comes after everyone's 1st rounder. GWS after Adelaide's.

I'd say much the same as last year.

Jack Martin will probably require pick 4 or thereabouts so maybe Melbourne look into using their second, 1st round selection to add him. Martin would be a logical fit to add some real pace to a mostly slow midfield.

Hi Knightmare, long time admirer first time questioner.

Do you think it's concievable that one day every single Melbourne player will have the first name Jack?

I think that's the aim.

Add Jack Viney, Jackson Macrae and Jack Martin (mini draft) to go with Watts, Trengove, Fitzpatrick and Grimes - not to mention the various Jordie's, Jake's, James' and Joel's already at the club.

We also have Jeremy's, Josh's, Jai's, Jared's and Jamie's.

I think that's the aim.

Add Jack Viney, Jackson Macrae and Jack Martin (mini draft) to go with Watts, Trengove, Fitzpatrick and Grimes - not to mention the various Jordie's, Jake's, James' and Joel's already at the club.

We also have Jeremy's, Josh's, Jai's, Jared's and Jamie's.
haha we seem to have the H's covered ourselves. Hurley, Hardingham, Hooker, Heppell, Hibberd, Hille, Hocking, Howlett

It would be great to see. You'd have an angry Mark Neeld running into the change rooms after training yelling JACK! and you'll have the whole team around. At least first year players won't have any difficulty learning names.

Hey Knightmare is this the "superdraft" the reporters at the HUN have been saying for the last year?

It's an above average draft but not a superdraft.

The top end is good and there is some depth through till probably 60 or so. Still plenty of missing ingredients as is the case every year.

Hi KM, Long time listener, first time stander-upper. (Yes Lance Uppercut, I did steal this from you).
What do you think of Matthew Jupp? Played U18s for WA last year and plays for East Fremantle colts as captain, definitely a standout player and one I think would be a good half-back flanker if kicking and fitness could improve.

Current Stats:
Games: 15
Ave Kicks: 13.1
Ave HB: 4.1
Ave Disp: 17.2
Ave Marks: 6.3
Total Goals: 4.1
Tackles: 15
17/7 Free Kick Count

Playing Full Back with approx. 95% game time.

Hi KM, Long time listener, first time stander-upper. (Yes Lance Uppercut, I did steal this from you).
What do you think of Matthew Jupp? Played U18s for WA last year and plays for East Fremantle colts as captain, definitely a standout player and one I think would be a good half-back flanker if kicking and fitness could improve.

Current Stats:
Games: 15
Ave Kicks: 13.1
Ave HB: 4.1
Ave Disp: 17.2
Ave Marks: 6.3
Total Goals: 4.1
Tackles: 15
17/7 Free Kick Count

Playing Full Back with approx. 95% game time.

Have always liked Jupp's marking ability. Very strong overhead and can take a contested grab. Had him in my rookie mix last year.

Have not seen him play this year though so can't really comment on any improvements he has made. I'd be curious to know what he could do as a forward.
Kicking has also been the query with Jupp. Off a back flank he could work a few more weapons into his game but the improvement in his numbers look encouraging.

Just gone back over your draft for the first time since your update and I really like it.

See you've put in some more mature agers which I really like.

Just on Ben Duscher, I would liken him to a Steele Sidebottom type player who just works hard and gets into the right spots, decision making top notch and of course the dual sided ability is first rate. Clean in traffic, and kicks goals. I do think Duscher is much better overhead, reminds me a bit of Paul Medhurst in the way he first came back to Bendigo as that goal kicking half forward high flier (which is what Medders essentially was yeah?).

Im not so sure we will go with him which is a real shame, well, not in the main draft any ways. We already have mature age guys in Bauguley and Brendan Lee on our list, so not sure we can 'carry' (per se) all three (in saying that, I actually think we may cut one, or both mature agers from our rookie list).

Would really like to see us go with a KPP (as you have mentioned), do like the Nick Rodda selection and hopefully we can add some more tall timber in the third round or potentially a developing inside midfielder (we have a plethora of outside mids developing with Bendigo - Kavanagh, Ross, Browne, Merret, even Colyer is still young at 21).

Would also like us to look at a 190cm utility type in the later rounds (or rookie draft), someone to replace Nathan Lovett-Murray down the track.

Just out of interest, did you get to see Kyle Martin on Saturday now (playing for Frankston?) impressed I see?

East freo might have a chance of getting up on claremont in the colts game this week.. as claremont just haven't been getting their act together. May be in for a good game

Absolutely love your work Knightmare, keep it up! :thumbsu:
I am predicting Carlton to finish at around 11th or 12th on the ladder, so that leaves us with maybe pick 9 or 10. As everyone has been saying for the last couple of years the 2012 draft is the best draft since the '01 super draft and it has great depth, so the prospects are pretty exciting.

I have been looking at a few mock drafts and I think the blues will probably end up with options between O'Rourke or Wines, reckon you can give us some details about both of those kids? I'd be stoked to end up with either of them, although Wines does seem like a good fit with our lack of inside quality players.

Thanks mate, also Aliir Aliir? Possibly the next Naitanui and the best name in the AFL?

Great name. Plays more like Majak Daw as that undersized athletic ruckman.

Just gone back over your draft for the first time since your update and I really like it.

See you've put in some more mature agers which I really like.

Would really like to see us go with a KPP (as you have mentioned), do like the Nick Rodda selection and hopefully we can add some more tall timber in the third round or potentially a developing inside midfielder (we have a plethora of outside mids developing with Bendigo - Kavanagh, Ross, Browne, Merret, even Colyer is still young at 21).

Would also like us to look at a 190cm utility type in the later rounds (or rookie draft), someone to replace Nathan Lovett-Murray down the track.

Just out of interest, did you get to see Kyle Martin on Saturday now (playing for Frankston?) impressed I see?

This is usually the time of year I start to integrate some mature agers.

As a utilities Jackson Thurlow and Cameron Banfield would be two worth looking at.

For KPPs I plan to significantly cut down on those in my first 3 rounds and move some back a round or into the rookie draft. The quality is in the mids and there are allot of mids and other smalls I'm keen to get in my draft next update.

As a KPP maybe Alex Howson as a duel end type might be worth a look in the 2nd round.

Btw. What did you think of the Tom Lee tape?

Did not get to see the Frankston game. Just going off previous viewing. I'm guessing Martin stood out?

Absolutely love your work Knightmare, keep it up! :thumbsu:
I am predicting Carlton to finish at around 11th or 12th on the ladder, so that leaves us with maybe pick 9 or 10. As everyone has been saying for the last couple of years the 2012 draft is the best draft since the '01 super draft and it has great depth, so the prospects are pretty exciting.

I have been looking at a few mock drafts and I think the blues will probably end up with options between O'Rourke or Wines, reckon you can give us some details about both of those kids? I'd be stoked to end up with either of them, although Wines does seem like a good fit with our lack of inside quality players.

Thanks for the kind words.

It's probably the better draft since 2008 due to the Gold Coast and GWS drafts but this in reality is only an above average draft.

I'm expecting both of Wines and O'Rouke go top 4-8 so even with a lower than expected finish no guarantee you snag either. If Carlton manage to get one of these it will be a very good draft day. But who knows. Things change. Plenty of footy to be played.

Wines is a hard inside ball winner but also an excellent ball user and decision maker.

O'Rouke is the more athletic and like Wines also a very good ball user. Not the same level hard ball winner but a guy who can play inside/outside and do it well.

If Carlton's key players come back healthy I wouldn't completely count out a top 8 finish. We'll just have to see what happens.

This is usually the time of year I start to integrate some mature agers.

As a utilities Jackson Thurlow and Cameron Banfield would be two worth looking at.

For KPPs I plan to significantly cut down on those in my first 3 rounds and move some back a round or into the rookie draft. The quality is in the mids and there are allot of mids and other smalls I'm keen to get in my draft next update.

As a KPP maybe Alex Howson as a duel end type might be worth a look in the 2nd round.

Btw. What did you think of the Tom Lee tape?

Did not get to see the Frankston game. Just going off previous viewing. I'm guessing Martin stood out?

I think we will see more mature agers than ever before mate, just my gut feeling, even if they aren't quite 'mature' but those 18.5 - 21 year olds out there in the state leagues.

Ben Saunders, Tom Lee, Hayden Busher, Shane Nelson, Max Duffy, Warick mcGinty, Adam Marcon, Willie Wheeler, Kyle Martin all fit this bill, on top of that, stand out guys like Duscher, Valenti etc. and you can make a competitive team from them alone.

Tom Lee's tape? WOW. Certainly boosting his stocks each game he plays, and genuinely think he could bolt as high as the top 30 come draft day. After all, Harry Taylor was drafted as a 21 year old from the WAFL at what, 17? So similar stories there. A team like the Bulldogs could use him, a player that can come straight in and pay but have enough scope to develop and be a force for 5+ years.

Just checked (as I didnt see the game) Kyle Martin has missed the last two which is very disappointing, hoping he can come back this week and I get my dirty little mittens on a copy of this weeks game of the week (Casey versus Frankston).

I do agree that the KPP's that were so frevelant in the three early mock drafts will dwindle away very quickly as we get more information on these potential league players. Lots of stoppers it seems and a lot of undersized KPF seems what is on offer in terms of KPP's, correct?