Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

I'd be really annoyed if Geelong passes on Wright if still available.

The punt on trading for McIntosh meant we passed on Grundy when he slid to our pick in 2012 and and now the stupid panic of drafting Stanley may cost Wright. Surely if nothing else our successful period taught us to grow our own then prey for ordinary players to turn the corner.

Even if Weller's on the table?
If the rumours are to be believed. Apparently we are resigned to the fact Pickett will go top 8, so have been talking to de goey & a "Northern Territory player" as a contingency plan.
De goey is how considered a chance to go as high as 5, so that just leaves cockatoo. A reach maybe, but an indication that we realise our mids are very one paced, and we lack genuine X factor outside of NN, who is just starting to regain his consistency again after 2 years of niggling injuries.

WCE have a tendency in recent past to be secretive as to our pick so we are in the dark as much as anyone. It's still a long way til draft day, long enough for another bolter to rise up the boards.

We haven't been linked to weller , so he realistically could get to Richmond.

Also, knightmare- love your work as always. You have outdone yourself yet again, which considering your work last year is no mean feat!

Geelong 7th/8th for me. With with Christensen and Varcoe gone I see the midfield taking a step back and the team looking a little slower. Geelong while there is a good young core I evaluate as being too reliant on the performance of the veterans and those veterans at 30+ now (Enright/Bartel/Johnson/Kelly/Lonergan) they'll surely experience deadline to at least some extent.

Sydney, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Fremantle and Gold Coast as that 6th team all look better to me.

KM , cant find it but didn't you have us finishing 12th or something this year? Considering how little Christensen played , our only real loss atm is Varcoe. If we have a better un with injuries one could make the case us being better in 2015.The truth is I could see a real benifit to us having an odd down year , love to get Parish , but with the guys they have brought in , I doubt they will be planning for a below par finish.

Its been a fluid trade season and until I see the full range of changes and what our side ends up like hard to really judge .... I mean Clark and Stanley and Blease... I doubt they have brought them in to play VFL.

One thing for sure GC are coming and someone has to make room , and with the way finished I can't fault anyone saying it will be us.

On the draft , do you see Wright as being a player that will take time? We have just brought in Stanley and Clark , yet teh chance to get a 203 guy like Wright is rare for us. It still burns a few that we went past Grundy. So would he be ready to play in 2015 or is he more of a long term deal. I can see us losing 1 or more talls in 12 months time , the question I suppose is do we go "Over" tall then redress it to take advantage if he is there?

With Mackie (30), Taylor (28) & Lonergan (30) Geelong would be making a major mistake drafting Wright.

If the rumours are to be believed. Apparently we are resigned to the fact Pickett will go top 8, so have been talking to de goey & a "Northern Territory player" as a contingency plan.
De goey is how considered a chance to go as high as 5, so that just leaves cockatoo. A reach maybe, but an indication that we realise our mids are very one paced, and we lack genuine X factor outside of NN, who is just starting to regain his consistency again after 2 years of niggling injuries.

WCE have a tendency in recent past to be secretive as to our pick so we are in the dark as much as anyone. It's still a long way til draft day, long enough for another bolter to rise up the boards.

We haven't been linked to weller , so he realistically could get to Richmond.

Also, knightmare- love your work as always. You have outdone yourself yet again, which considering your work last year is no mean feat!

If it's pace you are after would DeGoey really be a better option than Garlett?

I'm not sure that it's just pace that they're after. I think they need someone who can win the ball in congestion and then accelerate out of it, similar to what Kerr used to do. They've really missed him over the last couple of years I reckon. I also remember Simpson saying in a presser that they need some bigger bodies to help win the footy aswell so Cockatoo would fill a need perfectly I reckon. The only question is.. Is it too far of a reach?

Basically this- a bigger body with capability to break away from stoppages is something that we are in desperate need of. From exposed form, cockatoo is a reach at 11, but not as far as Garlett would be. If he is still there at our 2nd pick, we would be happy to take both. :)

Pickett is a very strong chance to go to GWS.

No doubt Christensen and Varcoe leaving hurts. I'm hoping that Caddy, Horlin-Smith and Guthrie can take the next step in the midfield along with Lang to help cover our losses (and hopefully Weller :D). I think we'll finish between 3rd to 6th but I can see where you're coming from.

If Clark can stay fit our forward line looks so much better than it did this year but it is a big if.

Also, look for Thurlow to take the next step.

I'm not as keen on North as some others are. They we're very inconsistent this year and will face a tougher draw next year so it will be interesting to see if they can live up to their expectations.

North Melbourne are a curious team. Beating the good teams last year and losing to the bad teams. Who knows who they will be next season. The additions of Higgins and Waite if they can stay healthy should help. Losing Greenwood who had a really out of the box season in more a ball winning role will be interesting. Otherwise from an age demographic perspective North Melbourne are entering the sweet spot. As long as Brent Harvey goes and has another productive season and doesn't drop away too much they should be able to achieve a similarly strong outcome for me.

Knightmare what do you think about Tim Jones from Tassie? A bit small but looks the goods in his contested ability and numbers

Productive but ball use not great. Just needs a few more strings to his bow.

There seem to be lots of Tasmanian football fans on here but if anyone from Tassie should be drafted I'd go with Josh McGuinness and as a rookie while he also has similar ball use issues, Matt Hanson I would also could have a rookie case as someone who has played some strong footy this season and been a real improver.

Hislop and Jones on most draft boards from Tasmania are probably as 3 and 4 I imagine of those plausible draftees.

knightmare, it sounds like lately pies could take, laverde, Langford or de goey at 5. Would you be disappointed with this? Which one would you take of the 3? From what I have seen it looks like Langford would become a midfielder more than Laverde. Although De Goeys kicking looks exceptional and would really complement broomhead on a forward flank. But I also like that Langford has a late birthday and has shown improvement all year.

They're not the guys I'd take personally, and if Collingwood don't go for a big I'd rather have Pickett or Blakely for pace or more quality through the midfield respectively but those guys I could live with as our final selections.

With the three Victorian's it's a lot of wishing and hoping they develop relevant games. De Goey isn't enough of a midfielder at this stage and can struggle to get the uncontested ball. Laverde I'm not yet convinced is a midfielder and if he makes that transition whether he would be better than some of the other mids in this range. Then Langford is very much an uncontested guy who hardly wins any of his own ball. So while they're all for me intriguing I don't look at any of them and think they'll be the next Pendlebury as upside selections who are good but probably not stars at the next level - though I'd say the same about most anyone in this draft with such an even top end and no obvious franchise players.

KM , cant find it but didn't you have us finishing 12th or something this year? Considering how little Christensen played , our only real loss atm is Varcoe. If we have a better un with injuries one could make the case us being better in 2015.The truth is I could see a real benifit to us having an odd down year , love to get Parish , but with the guys they have brought in , I doubt they will be planning for a below par finish.

Its been a fluid trade season and until I see the full range of changes and what our side ends up like hard to really judge .... I mean Clark and Stanley and Blease... I doubt they have brought them in to play VFL.

One thing for sure GC are coming and someone has to make room , and with the way finished I can't fault anyone saying it will be us.

On the draft , do you see Wright as being a player that will take time? We have just brought in Stanley and Clark , yet teh chance to get a 203 guy like Wright is rare for us. It still burns a few that we went past Grundy. So would he be ready to play in 2015 or is he more of a long term deal. I can see us losing 1 or more talls in 12 months time , the question I suppose is do we go "Over" tall then redress it to take advantage if he is there?

I think you are right, I expected a definite decline last season from Geelong with the quantity of quality veterans getting moved on in favour of the youth. It's just not a winning way and sets clubs back more often than not, particularly with the quality of veterans who were leaving Geelong. Credit to the remaining veterans they held Geelong together beautifully again this season, just continuing to do what they do.

It's hard to see Geelong completely falling apart. A mid table and 12th type finish is possible for Geelong if injuries happen to key players and the veterans start to decline but I respect Geelong too much to see any massive fall happen with the young core group while there are not many star level players among that group still very good and very capable already of keeping the team at least in the mid table range.

Gold Coast will be good. Just Ablett missing time hurt, they'll have a full preseason into Jack Martin and hopefully have him for the season, Nick Malceski if he has another productive season will help elevate that team, then the young core group is a further year older. They should be a top 6 team would be my expectation. It's a hard build from the bottom without the veteran core group and that's why the expansion teams have had so much trouble building a strong product quickly, but last year they for me were already a top 8 performing team and should take that next step finally into that range this coming season.

If Wright is there at 12 surely ther Tigers take him.
Quality mids can still be found at our other picks.
We just need to take the best player at 12, not the best midfielder

If Wright is there at 12 surely ther Tigers take him.
Quality mids can still be found at our other picks.
We just need to take the best player at 12, not the best midfielder

Richmond like their extreme tall key forwards so I imagine if there Richmond take Wright.

Knightmare if Laverde is gone at pick 4 who will the pies pick at 5

Laverde may not even be Collingwood's highest rated talent if there at 5 for all we know.

Laverde, De Goey, Langford and Ahern are all in the discussion based off what the media are suggesting.

Hey km, do you see Francis Watson getting picked up or is he more likely to go into the rookie draft? Love to see him in the brown and gold. Be a good replacement for Gibbo when he hangs the boots up.

With Watson be aware he is not playing the same role as Gibson. He isn't tall enough to play bigger and be that same style of player.

As more a smaller rebounding defender or small forward Watson could be a late/rookie choice.

Knightmare

Do you think Caleb Daniel's will go... any word on if the Saints are interested in him with the early 40s pick?

Hey KM, could you release a sneak peek (first round order, no bios) of your phantom draft? Thanks

#1 St Kilda – Christian Petracca (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 92kg, DOB: 04/01/1996
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Range: 1-2
Profile: Powerful midfielder/forward.

#2 Melbourne – Angus Brayshaw (VIC – Mid/Def)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 87kg, DOB: 09/01/1996
Recruited from: Sandringham Dragons
Range: 1-3
Profile: Dominant midfielder.

#3 Melbourne (via free agent compensation) - Patrick McCartin (VIC - KPF)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 19/04/1996
Recruited from: Geelong Falcons
Range: 1-8
Profile: Dominant key forward.

#4 GWS – Jayden Laverde (VIC – Util)
Height: 189cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 12/04/1996
Recruited from: Western Jets
Range: 4-15
Profile: Damaging utility.

#5 Collingwood (via Brisbane) – Kyle Langford (VIC – Util)
Height: 190, Weight: 73kg, DOB: 01/12/1996
Recruited from: Northern Knights
Range: 5-20
Profile: Versatile tall.

#6 GWS (via Western Bulldogs) – Jake Lever (VIC –KPD)
Height: 192cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 05/03/1996
Recruited from: Calder Cannons
Range: 3-15
Profile: Key defender who will go early despite missing 2014 through injury.

#7 GWS (via Carlton) – Jarrod Pickett (WA – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 179cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 18/08/1996
Recruited from: South Fremantle
Range: 5-15
Profile: Electric outside linebreaker.

#8 Gold Coast – Jordan De Goey (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 15/03/1996
Recruited from: Oakleigh Chargers
Profile: Strong marking midfielder/forward.

#9 Collingwood – Darcy Moore (Collingwood - F/S – VIC – KPF/KPD)
Height: 199cm, Weight: 93kg, DOB: 25/01/1996
Range: 1st round.
Profile: Promising key position player.

#10 Geelong (via Adelaide) – Paul Ahern (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 77kg, DOB: 01/08/1996
Profile: Damaging forward/midfielder.

#11 West Coast – Lachlan Weller (QLD – Util)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 71kg, DOB: 23/02/1996
Recruited from: Broadbeach
Profile: Skilled outside type, brother of Maverick.

#12 Richmond – Peter Wright (VIC - KPF/Ruck)
Height: 203cm, Weight: 102kg, DOB: 08/09/1996
Profile: Dominant key forward/ruckman.

#13 Fremantle - Sam Durdin (SA – KPD/KPF)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 89kg, DOB: 06/06/1996
Recruited from: West Adelaide
Range: 6-15

#14 Adelaide (via Geelong) – Caleb Marchbank (VIC – KPD)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 12/07/1996
Recruited from: Murray Bushrangers
Range: 6-25
Profile: Promising key defender.

#15 Gold Coast (Via compensation pick from Geelong) – Corey Ellis (VIC – Util)
Height: 185cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 09/10/1996
Range: 8-25
Profile: Skillful type.

#16 North Melbourne – Jarrod Garlett (WA –Mid)
Height: 177cm, Weight: 72kg, DOB: 18/08/1996
Profile: Outside linebreaker.

#17 Essendon (via Port Adelaide) – Liam Duggan (VIC – Util)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 11/12/1996
Profile: Classy versatile type.

#18 Sydney – Isaac Heeney (Sydney academy- NSW/ACT - Mid/Def)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 05/05/1996
Recruited from: Cardiff
Range: 1st round
Profile: Complete midfielder.

#19 Carlton (via GWS and Hawthorn) – Tom Lamb (VIC - Util)
Height: 192cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 19/10/1996
Recruited from: Dandenong Stingrays
Profile: Versatile, athletic tall.

#20 Essendon (to be taken at end of first round) – Hugh Goddard (VIC – KPD/KPF)
Height: 196cm, Weight: 93kg, DOB: 24/08/1996
Range: 6-20

#21 St Kilda (via Brisbane from Brisbane from GWS) (end of first round compensation) - Connor Blakely (WA – Mid)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 81kg, DOB: 03/02/1996
Recruited from: Swan Districts
Range: 10-30
Profile: Well-rounded midfielder.

Knightmare

Do you think Caleb Daniel's will go... any word on if the Saints are interested in him with the early 40s pick?

Caleb Daniel if picked is more likely a rookie selection. No word as to who takes him or if he is selected. I like his game though and for a team who can accommodate a small, I'd be looking closely at him in the rookie draft.

Knights any word on if Brisbane are interested in Harry Dare or Matthew Hammelmann all Brisbane needs now is to draft a key Forward and they have had a great off season.

Given the lateness in the draft it will be unlikely that a key forward will be deemed worthwhile that late in the draft with the good key forwards typically going first round.

Brisbane I imagine for talls will look now and into the future purely through the academy to build those stocks up unless someone attractive comes up via trade.

I see Brisbane going best available or for outside speed if anything. As much as I agree the hole is long term key position players.

With Watson be aware he is not playing the same role as Gibson. He isn't tall enough to play bigger and be that same style of player.

As more a smaller rebounding defender or small forward Watson could be a late/rookie choice.
Agree that he couldn't play on the bigger boys but reads the play really well, has fantastic closing speed, a really nice leap(third in spoil) and can accumulate a fair bit of the footy, as well as use it efficiently.
Maybe you could put him on Byron picketts diet and get him to 90/100kgs!
Do you see any good defenders making it through to the rookie draft?... Someone who could fill a "Gibbo" type roll?
Thanks KM, love your work!

Agree that he couldn't play on the bigger boys but reads the play really well, has fantastic closing speed, a really nice leap(third in spoil) and can accumulate a fair bit of the footy, as well as use it efficiently.
Maybe you could put him on Byron picketts diet and get him to 90/100kgs!
Do you see any good defenders making it through to the rookie draft?... Someone who could fill a "Gibbo" type roll?
Thanks KM, love your work!

Hugh Beasley is probably the closest thing to Gibson as an undersized but incredible key defender who is an excellent stopper (probably the best stopper in the TAC Cup) and improving rebounding. Probably not the 3rd man in type at this point.

Otherwise Josh McGuinness could play a similar third tall role down back and be a capable rebounder and 3rd man in but wouldn't be taking any key forwards as Gibson often does.

They're the two late/rookie draft who could play a variation of that role.

#21 St Kilda (via Brisbane from Brisbane from GWS) (end of first round compensation) - Connor Blakely (WA – Mid)

Caleb Daniel if picked is more likely a rookie selection. No word as to who takes him or if he is selected. I like his game though and for a team who can accommodate a small, I'd be looking closely at him in the rookie draft.
Please make this happen!

It only takes one, maybe two clubs picking some unexpected guys, maybe someone taking a Cockatoo or Garlett. Ellis likely goes first round, Lamb may do also, so Essendon are in the very spot in the draft I'd love to have some picks.

I can only speak as a Collingwood fan but I'd love to move pick 5 for 17 and 20. I'm just not seeing such a great difference between those early picks and those top 20 or so picks.

If it was me I'd be taking Reece McKenzie and Connor Blakely who other than Petracca, Brayshaw, McCartin and Wright are those two in my mind next best of those who are available for picking on draft day, with both having the scope to be the best key forward and midfielder in the draft respectively. But that's more an insight into my psyche than the psyche of clubs with clubs no doubt having a completely different evaluation of the talent given neither Blakely or R.McKenzie as being touted even as top 10 selections, as guys more likely to go around pick 20 and pick 30 respectively.

Loving Blakely to the saints. If this was to all go to plan do you think the saints have to pick up McKenzie at 22 or go for a cockatoo or another slider?