16. North Melbourne
17. Collingwood
18. Gold Coast
Updated after King injury.

Came in here to change my ladder because Gold Coast's King's is a confirmed ACL

Whoops

.....don't have to bother with GC:shrug:

View attachment 1325710

However, considering West Coast's issues.... kulak, what are the rules re adjusting my ladder? I'd hate to tarnish my utterly fabulous performance in this comp.
Edit at any time until the opening siren of the first round of the season proper.

1 GWS
2 Brisbane
3 Melbourne
4 Carlton
5 Essendon
6 Fremantle
7 Gold Coast
8 St Kilda

9 Port
10 Bulldogs
11 Adelaide
12 Richmond
13 Geelong
14 Collingwood
15 Sydney
16 North Melbourne
17 West Coast
18 Hawthorn
Wow - brave predictions.

Have half of the previous year's finalists ever missed the finals in the AFL era? Port, Cats, Bulldogs & Swans. Can only see 2 of these sides missing max.

Wow - brave predictions.

Have half of the previous year's finalists ever missed the finals in the AFL era? Port, Cats, Bulldogs & Swans. Can only see 2 of these sides missing max.
Yeah, that's probably fair enough. I was trying to shake it up a bit.

Four is very unlikely, but two would probably happen.

Wow - brave predictions.

Not that brave. In recent times an average of 3 teams are replaced in the 8 each year, so 4 aint too far fetched.

It happened between 2020/2021. In 2020 Richmond, West Coast, Saints and Collingwood all made the 8 and then missed in 2021.

Between 2016 - 2017 - there were 3
Between 2017-2018 - there were 3
Between 2018 - 2019 - there were 3
Between 2019 - 2020 - there were 2
Between 2020 - 2021 - there were 4

Time for me to redeem myself after a last place finish a few years ago.

Bulldogs
Brisbane
St. Kilda
Port Adelaide

Giants
Gold Coast

3 teams into the 8 Saints, Freo, Collingwood. 3 out - Sydney, Giants, Geelong.

Bulldogs
Brisbane
Port
Esssendon
Freo

StKilda
Gws
Gold Coast

Bulldogs
Brisbane
St. Kilda
Port Adelaide

Giants
Gold Coast

I don't think Cats lose enough games against the bottom 8 to miss finals altogether. Nor that large a Pies bounce back. Eagles not that bad either but otherwise pretty fair I reckon.

Bulldogs
Brisbane
St. Kilda
Port Adelaide

Giants
Gold Coast

Where do you expect Collingwood's improvement to come from?

They lost 6 games by 12 points or less and they had an extremely tumultuous season with regards to all the off-field stuff. So I think with a little luck and a better off field environment that will give them a few extra wins right off the bat.

Their best 10ish players are still all still really good - Pendles, Sidebottom, DeGoey, Adams, Grundy, Moore, Elliot, Crisp, Maynard.

If Daicos can come in and play to his talent plus improvement from Quaynor, Daicos and Ruscoe they could surprise.

There is always a bolter.

They lost 6 games by 12 points or less and they had an extremely tumultuous season with regards to all the off-field stuff. So I think with a little luck and a better off field environment that will give them a few extra wins right off the bat.

Their best 10ish players are still all still really good - Pendles, Sidebottom, DeGoey, Adams, Grundy, Moore, Elliot, Crisp, Maynard.

If Daicos can come in and play to his talent plus improvement from Quaynor, Daicos and Ruscoe they could surprise.

There is always a bolter.
Fair points, but they're still too raw IMO. Their defence is solid but their forward line is impotent and their midfield doesn't deliver much promise this year. Sidebottom is cooked (he was awful last year( and Pendles is coming off a broken leg at 34. Fair play to them if they make the finals, but I have them firmly entrenched in the bottom 4 again.

Brisbane Lions
GWS Giants
Port Adelaide

Gold Coast

1. Brisbane Lions :chartingup:

Pretty good last year despite some injury struggles. Neale will be better, Daniher will be better. If they can match Melbourne in the midfield they could beat them with their key position marking power.

2. Melbourne

Dominated the finals series. Key players are in the 24-26 zone. Should be set for a good run in the top 4 unless something goes wrong. Could be vulnerable to a strong contested marking team.

3. Richmond :chartingup:

I like how they add youth around their senior players. We made our team worse in 2018 by adding an aging Gibbs to an already aging squad. They made their team better by adding kids whose pace and enthusiasm will complement the senior players. Smart list management, smart coaching, key players still around the 29-30 mark. I think they still have a couple more years in the window, injury permitting.

4. GWS Giants :chartingup:

Worst percentage of finals teams at 99%. Deserved to lose comfortably to the Swans in their first final, deservedly eliminated in their second.

Loaded with talent who have all had clear pre-seasons. Josh Kelly is a superstar and seems to be fully fit. Tom Green is sensational, it's not just his contest winning, he uses the ball beautifully. Tim Taranto going for 20 uncontested possessions is a sign of bad coaching, you don't want players who can't kick racking up uncontested possessions.

If they can't compete for a flag this year, they will have no choice but to extend Leon Cameron for another two years of mediocrity.

5. Sydney :chartingup:

Played quality footy last year. Smashed the Giants in the 2nd half of the elimination final but kept missing at goal. Lots of kids who will improve. Well coached. But lost Dawson and Hewitt and quite a few quality kids still in their first few seasons.

6. Western Bulldogs :chartdown:

Minor round 5th, could easily have lost to Brisbane in the semi final. Smashed by Melbourne in the GF. Naughton, Bontempelli and Dunkley supposedly all with clear pre-seasons. JUH and Darcy too young to consistently influence key games. Could go either way. Not sure why but I feel like they are going to get a few unfortunate injuries and underperform expectations.

7. Port Adelaide :chartdown:

Lucky to be embarrassed in the prelim, to avoid a much greater embarrassment in the grand final. Coaches look better when the ball is in the hands of their skillful players, if Butters and Rozee have huge years I can see them top 4 again. But not if they get injured / have poor years. Hedging.

8. Carlton :chartingup:

They have put together a very well balanced group with the quality of Saad Williams Martin Cerra added to the grunt of Cripps, but no star Petracca / Martin midfielder to haul them to big finals wins with the failed Dow / SPS picks. McKay is an excellent forward and Weitering is an excellent defender. I like them for the next few finals series.

9. Essendon :chartdown:

Merett is great but Parish and Shiel gives them 2 robust midfielders whose ball winning is better than their ball use. Caldwell will be quality if he can get and stay healthy. Not keen on their forward line or defence. Last year they didn't have room to play Parish as an inside midfielder until injury struck, but now they drafted another inside midfielder with their first pick (Hobbs), not sure I understand the grand strategy.

10. West Coast :chartdown:

Forward line has Kennedy 34, Allen injured and Darling gone. Midfield has Shuey injured but NicNat (32) Gaff (30) Yeo (27) Kelly (27) still strong but lack polish without Shuey. Defence will stay robust with McGovern and Barass. I think without their power marking forwards and most skillful midfielder they won't be able to consistently beat good teams the kick-mark game anymore, and not sure how else they can make it work. I think they will struggle to score as they used to.

11. Geelong :chartdown:

Selwood and Hawkins 33. Dangerfield 32 interrupted pre season. Duncan 31. Stewart has done a lisfranc so he'll probably never be the same again. Chris Scott talking about ditching the slow kicking game plan when their list is older and slower than ever.

12. Gold Coast :chartingup:

This should be a defining season for Rowell and Anderson. Both entering season 3. If they are going to carry them to finals in future years, they should carry them to wins this year. Rowell Anderson Miller should be a strong midfield. A winning midfield will make their outside players like Powell and Lukosius look much better. I don't think they have enough quality players or coaching to make finals.

13. St Kilda

Jack Steele is quality, but Hunter Clark is injured and Max King still young. Full years from Ryder and Marshall and they compete for finals, otherwise I think they struggle.

14. Fremantle :chartdown:

Fyfe is 30 and physically starting to break down, Mundy is 36. Cerra gone. Brayshaw is a 30 percent contested ball magnet who isn't especially damaging with the ball and those players do not matter as much as their DreamTeam scores might imply they do. Serong is great, in his 2nd year and already winning more contests than Brayshaw, and I suspect he uses it better too, with hindsight clearly we should have drafted him instead of McAsey.

15. Adelaide

Workmanlike mifield. Keays and Laird can't kick and Laird has a broken hand. Schoenberg is in his 3rd season. Sloane is 32. Seedsman injured. Dawson is a 30 percent contested outside receiver who will find the going much tougher with us, and apparently in doubt for the start of the year with calf problems. Young forward line apart from Tex. Very young defence. Strong injury free years from Sloane, Crouch, O'Brien and Walker could carry us to close to finals. More likely we struggle again.

16. North Melbourne :chartingup:

In last two drafts they have used 3 * top 10 picks on the best midfielders available, that's how you build a premiership team. Thomas and Simpkin are already quality. Their good games last year were very good. Probably one more draft then they start flipping picks for missing pieces and push for finals in 2-3 years time.

17. Collingwood

Their midfield is Grundy and not much else. Adams is always injured, Pendlebury has been carrying injuries for years and is 34, Sidebottom 31. No forward line. Grundy, Moore, Maynard and Crisp should rack up some good numbers in losing teams.

18. Hawthorn :chartdown:

Their best player, Tom Mitchell is exhibit A for low impact ball magnets. Mainly uncontested player, 34 percent contested, and low hurt factor. Not much else on their list. Alastair Clarkson's excellent **** you to Sam Mitchell was going on a winning spree late in the year to make it look like the list might be okay, and sabotage his draft pick.

Edited several teams due to injuries and change of mind. I have the lowest confidence in this ladder prediction of any in recent years.

You are probably right on Geelong. But they are surely heading quickly towards a pretty steep cliff.
How many times over the last few years have we all said that with a pleading note to our voices ???

I personally hope that stay in the top 8 and keep losing finals so PD continues his long and fruitless career for as long as possible. As soon as they drop hard, PD will retire (he doesn't play for fun) and we will have him in our ears and on our screens more than bloody ever!

How many times over the last few years have we all said that with a pleading note to our voices ???

I personally hope that stay in the top 8 and keep losing finals so PD continues his long and fruitless career for as long as possible. As soon as they drop hard, PD will retire (he doesn't play for fun) and we will have him in our ears and on our screens more than bloody ever!

Ha ha ha.

I must admit - part of my prediction is the inevitability of Geelong's eventual demise. Its not a matter of if, its a matter of when.

Just wondering if someone can explain all this love for North and their expected rise up the ladder? In a 22 game season they won 3 games...over Hawthorn in Tassie, a disinterested Eagles and Carlton. They lost to us, twice. Sure JHF is coming in, but he is a kid...he is hardly going to win a Brownlow Year 1 in the comp...god, the kid has never even had a heavy tag! To my mind, either they or the Hawks finish bottom surely, with us following in 16th (we are going to have a nightmare start I think to the year...hope I am wrong though....)

13 from 22 games with margins under 30 points (includes 2 wins and draw)

Players look to have bought into Nobles plan

Addition of JFH can only improve North with Phillips , Powell, Anderson, Cunnington , LDU etc etc

Will they make the 8? Nope but they wont finish bottom 3

Prediction Ladder Prediction 2022