Toast Levi Casboult

• Thread starter Thread starter blueroy

Levi to kick 99 goals in a season, steal suit jackets from the dry cleaners, go to Ireland and get a bartender in a headlock, take nudie snaps of lara bingle in the shower, stay positively drunk for most of the off season.

Jokes!

He'll kick 99 goals though.
Funny you should post that because with all the concerns about his ball drop etc. I started watching him closer and on at least one occasion I noticed he had the same grip on the footy as Fev

The big fella was brilliant today, crashing packs, surprising pace to chase down Dempsey (twice), and he kicked well. How much better do we look with him and Waite up forward as targets?

Infinitely better. Unfortunately we cannot rely on Waite as a regular player. If he plays 20 games in 2013 we are guaranteed top 4.

If Levi could sort out his kicking he could be a 70 goal a season player. His marking and contested ball is awesome for such a young inexperienced player. I just hope that his kicking issues are nerves rather than technique - which I unfortunately doubt...

Funny you should post that because with all the concerns about his ball drop etc. I started watching him closer and on at least one occasion I noticed he had the same grip on the footy as Fev
He does indeed.

I have no idea how...unless it's just some habit he somehow got into naturally as a junior and no one corrected him on it or....eh...maybe he idolizes Fev :o

But I also agree with the posts above about his games just coming off injury. Every game so far I keep reminding myself about and it just blows me away. Far more senior players can do a lot worse than Levi after coming off such a situation and it's a real credit to his hard work and mental application.

He does indeed.

I have no idea how...unless it's just some habit he somehow got into naturally as a junior and no one corrected him on it or....eh...maybe he idolizes Fev :eek:

But I also agree with the posts above about his games just coming off injury. Every game so far I keep reminding myself about and it just blows me away. Far more senior players can do a lot worse than Levi after coming off such a situation and it's a real credit to his hard work and mental application.
He has done better off such a rushed prep than any senior player I can think of - I think the reason could be that a senior player is looking to regain confidence while Levi had no confidence to start with (zip experience and 1st gamer nerves) and his confidence is growing at an astronomical rate each week :thumbsu:

Gives 110% a good strong contested mark, but by gosh we need to assign him to a kicking coach ... If he can improve his kicking, stuff T.Cloke give me Casboult every day of the week.
still a better kick than Cloke with more upside..then you take player payments into account and what you would lose to accomidate Cloke..the answer lies within.

Infinitely better. Unfortunately we cannot rely on Waite as a regular player. If he plays 20 games in 2013 we are guaranteed top 4.

How you could say that after what we've seen this season is beyond me. So many things can happen, so many variables in play which can dictate the fortunes, or mis-fortunes as we've experienced this season, of any side in the league.

Whilst in no way saying he is as good - yet - I reckon Levi plays a lot like Hurley. Good strong body and really attacks the ball. Probably a better set of hands than Hurley but not the agility.

Clearly his kicking needs work. One thing in his favour is that, like Fevola, he has a good strong leg on him. He might not be accurate but he seems to be able to roost the ball 45-50 metres with little effort.

Something to work with !!

Whilst in no way saying he is as good - yet - I reckon Levi plays a lot like Hurley. Good strong body and really attacks the ball. Probably a better set of hands than Hurley but not the agility.

Clearly his kicking needs work. One thing in his favour is that, like Fevola, he has a good strong leg on him. He might not be accurate but he seems to be able to roost the ball 45-50 metres with little effort.

Something to work with !!

He's quicker than Hurley...accuracy similar, better mark

Levi Revolution

Could he be our tom a hawk?

:p

Very impressed with Levi today. First time seeing him live. He's a great mark. Kept mistaking him for Waitey, though. As others have said if he can work on his kicking he will be an absolute star. Could be the KPF we've been looking for and we didnt have to trade for him!!

He was good today but please don't turn this into a circle jerk. He didn't take 12 marks like a Cloke or Brown. He didn't kick 5 plus goals. He was good, but would need to produce at least that level 10 plus times per year to be considered a very good KPF. Let's just be happy with his development and not pump up unreal expectations.

In saying that he reminds me a lot of Jacobs progression - took 3 seasons to find his feet, then solid for a few and then exploded.

If Levi could sort out his kicking he could be a 70 goal a season player. His marking and contested ball is awesome for such a young inexperienced player. I just hope that his kicking issues are nerves rather than technique - which I unfortunately doubt...

would prefer it to be technique and not nerves. you can coach technique. cant teach confidence and ability/potential.

i am so happy with him right now.

god i love ess chokers

His kicking will be fine, Walker changed his whole set shot routine in 1 preseason last year.

I'm sure now the MC know what they have with him they will do the same and sort him out.

Between Levi and the squid we will be fine for big men :)

He's come much further than I thought possible.

Has a place carved out on the list already as Kreuzer's understudy. Maybe, just maybe, he'll come on as a permanent forward, although he'll need to kick a consistent 30+ goals a year to justify his place in a side containing Warnock/ Hampson + Kreuzer. I'm hoping like buggery that he'll be able to. Plus there's the issue of wat do with Mitchell when Levi's in the side, but I think by the time Mitchell is a force, he'll be rotating games with Waite, so this won't be so much of a problem.

Anyway, enough of my devilish advocating, the kid played a blinder today and deserves the praise heaped on him.

Pick 44 Rookie Draft in 2009, currently 22yrs old.

7 goals 7 behinds in 5 games.

26 marks in 5 games at an average of 5.2 per game.

Cool name factor: immeasurable.

Lots to work with here folks :thumbsu: