cs61

Jordan Lewis looked great on saturday night against the saints. He didn't seemed to get that much press before the draft because no one really said much about him and thought that we made a mistake picking him so early. I reckon we did well with pick 7.I must admit on draft day I was annoyed but looking at it now we've got Lewis who is ready to play midfield round 1 along with the excitement of Franklin and Roughead coming up through the ranks. Everyone bagged Hawthorn for their decisions on draft day but it has turned out pretty well.

cschreuder61 said:
Everyone bagged Hawthorn for their decisions on draft day but it has turned out pretty well.
Yes, cschreuder61, history reveals that many a player chosen at lower order at drafts over the years have made it through the ranks at senior level to become valuable assets to their respective teams. Can anyone recall one who has turned out to be top class or even a champion?

Looking at last night in spite of JB's good form it remains to be seen how his body will hold up over a full season,however he was our only tall avenue to goal and looking at the quick movement of the ball into the forward line i'd say our lack of key forwards was at times glaring,i think Dutchy may be gone. I'd say AC has approached the draft with this in mind and having seen a snippet of his game plan i'd say it's geared to a tall spine,vindicating our draft strategy. Didn't think Jordan Lewis had alot of the footy,8 times i think,but did look very composed and classy when he did,very smooth mover,excellent skills.

Forward line is definitely still a big worry as is Jon Hay's injuries ,it was only a few weeks ago there was an article saying what a great pre-season he has had & how fit he is hopefully it's not a chronic thing.I have a feeling we will see Franklin in the side sooner rather than later.

Gary Shadforth said:
Yes, cschreuder61, history reveals that many a player chosen at lower order at drafts over the years have made it through the ranks at senior level to become valuable assets to their respective teams. Can anyone recall one who has turned out to be top class or even a champion?
Hird was picked up at 79.

cschreuder61 said:
Jordan Lewis looked great on saturday night against the saints. He didn't seemed to get that much press before the draft because no one really said much about him and thought that we made a mistake picking him so early. I reckon we did well with pick 7.I must admit on draft day I was annoyed but looking at it now we've got Lewis who is ready to play midfield round 1 along with the excitement of Franklin and Roughead coming up through the ranks. Everyone bagged Hawthorn for their decisions on draft day but it has turned out pretty well.

Richard Tambling would have been the best performing draft pick of the round.
Quote on AFL.com said Richmond appear to have unearthed a star in Tambling.

You won't hear another 'what if?' from me but..........

One swallow does not make a Summer
When it comes to grand Finals you need big bodies willing to put them on the line.The little bodies can be easily crushed and thats the end off your chances.I would rather build the big body team of the future than a mosquito fleet that can get crushed when it matters most.
I am not saying Tamblings not going to be a great player because he might,but what happens if he runs into Lewis in the first few minutes on the big day

col44 said:
Richard Tambling would have been the best performing draft pick of the round.
Quote on AFL.com said Richmond appear to have unearthed a star in Tambling.

You won't hear another 'what if?' from me but..........
I didn't think he was that good on the weekend. Had only 4 effective possessions out of a total 7 possessions. Did look exciting when he got it but i thought harry's debut was every bit as good on Saturday. I wouldn't swap Roughy or Buddy for Tambling for all the money in the world. I'm sure Tambling will be great but we needed talls and we got the best 2. Buddy will be the best player from this years draft anyway, mark my words...

dipper86 said:
this was all a long time ago, things have changed since those days, recruiters wont let players like those sneak through anymore

Kemp and McIntosh both in the 100+ group to IIRC.

But you're right D86, that was the exception rather than the rule and with the increased viewing, reviews that go on nowdays that exception will probably only increase. Though there will always be a gem picked up somewhere it'll probably be more through good luck than good management.

Grendel said:
But you're right D86, that was the exception rather than the rule and with the increased viewing, reviews that go on nowdays that exception will probably only increase. Though there will always be a gem picked up somewhere it'll probably be more through good luck than good management.

Daniel Jackson 50 odd
Brent Hartigan 70 odd

:)

Hawk Dork said:
One swallow does not make a Summer
When it comes to grand Finals you need big bodies willing to put them on the line.The little bodies can be easily crushed and thats the end off your chances.I would rather build the big body team of the future than a mosquito fleet that can get crushed when it matters most.
I am not saying Tamblings not going to be a great player because he might,but what happens if he runs into Lewis in the first few minutes on the big day

Would you have Wells, Tambling, McLeod,in your 22 in in the last weekend in September?
Andrew McLeod at 75/80kg seems to go alright in H&A, Finals and espcially Grand Finals...

Wells is currently 82kg and you'd expect him to reach at least 86kg. Tambling has a very similar body and will bulk up in a similar fashion over the next few years.

Peter Burgoyne @ 84kg got 25 touchs in last years GF. Kane Cornes @ 82kg 19 with James , well under 90kg got similar numbers.

The Lions which have had a bit of success in recent times have had Luke Power at 75kgs, along with Lappin picking up the most ball in the last grannie.

Becker said:
What's this, an ancient history lesson? That was last century.

Dont worry, Bentleigh just wishes he was a Hawks supporter. I think if you look up every post from Bentleighs 22 per day, youll find majority are associated with hawthorn. Its an Obsession...

Becker said:
What's this, an ancient history lesson? That was last century.

Peter Burgoyne & Kane Cornes were best 2 or 3 on the ground at the same weight as Wells in the 2004 Grand Final...

Luke Power is far from huge.

You honestly reckon 'small/mid' size players are not in dominate sides :rolleyes:

Choota said:
Yes, yes, every club has picked up duds with late picks.

You're not on your own, don't worry about that.

Honestly reckon they are duds?

Nightwolf_69 said:
Dont worry, Bentleigh just wishes he was a Hawks supporter. I think if you look up every post from Bentleighs 22 per day, youll find majority are associated with hawthorn. Its an Obsession...

I work champ (when not at school). Got internet access @ work.

If i wished I was a Hawks supporter would I just start going for them? :confused:

superstar said:
Get a life, Bentleigh. :rolleyes:

Remeber this champ?

superstar said:
Don't want Franklin at all.

superstar said:
Tambling to go number 2 if available. Best player in the draft IMO.

superstar said:
Assuming Deledio goes number 1, RIchard Tambling will play for Hawthorn next year.

superstar said:
More like an Andrew McLeod type. Superb footballer.

Bentleigh said:
Remeber this champ?

Its time to let go of the past mate.....

Uve been goin on about this ancient thread for days now as if youve struck gold, mate im seriously telling you this now, you need a life...

Nightwolf_69 said:
Its time to let go of the past mate.....

Uve been goin on about this ancient thread for days now as if youve struck gold, mate im seriously telling you this now, you need a life...
Not so sure whether we should be encouraging him to get a life. If he were to get a life, other people would have to endure his presence in every day life.

At least this way he just sits around masturbating in front of his computer, obsessing over Hawthorn and being a nuisance on the internet. Imagine meeting this drop kick in real life. My message to Bentleigh is simple: don't get a life.

Choota said:
Not so sure whether we should be encouraging him to get a life. If he were to get a life, other people would have to endure his presence in every day life.

At least this way he just sits around masturbating in front of his computer, obsessing over Hawthorn and being a nuisance on the internet. Imagine meeting this drop kick in real life. My message to Bentleigh is simple: don't get a life.

Choota, just another pure quality post. :D Keep it up...

Bentleigh said:
Would you have Wells, Tambling, McLeod,in your 22 in in the last weekend in September?
Andrew McLeod at 75/80kg seems to go alright in H&A, Finals and espcially Grand Finals...

Wells is currently 82kg and you'd expect him to reach at least 86kg. Tambling has a very similar body and will bulk up in a similar fashion over the next few years.

Peter Burgoyne @ 84kg got 25 touchs in last years GF. Kane Cornes @ 82kg 19 with James , well under 90kg got similar numbers.

The Lions which have had a bit of success in recent times have had Luke Power at 75kgs, along with Lappin picking up the most ball in the last grannie.
Would have Wells and McLeod for sure. Tambling..who the hell knows? Hasn't even debuted yet you moron.
Bumleigh's obsession with the mighty Hawks continues... :rolleyes:

I like the look of Lewis he's a big bodied kid already so should be able to provide some grunt in the middle once he finds his feet in the league.

As for Tambling i can't believe the people who are suggesting he had the best debut of the rookies,

Deledio was far more impressive with his 13 posessions and 5 tackles.

I don't blame the hawks for not picking up Tambling, good big men are harder to find than quick onballers. They just might take a little longer to hit their straps.