2nds Lions Reserves 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

They were more opportunist-type goals this week, Irish. He was reasonably well blanketed in the air. Absolutely no doubt in my mind, though, his workrate has picked up markedly.

Haven't been to a ressies game in the last few weeks but great to read about Acorn's increased workrate.

Credit to the coaching staff for holding their nerve and to Aaron himself for acknowledging and working on his deficiencies. Keep it up Azz.

Wonder if seeing the rewards that Retzy is reaping for his hard work has provided some inspiration?

Absolutely no doubt in my mind, though, his workrate has picked up markedly.

Fantastic. :thumbsu:

Thanks Rip.

Could ye expand on 'Golby done good'? Is he primarily a shut-down defender? Does he create run? From the little I've seen of him he doesn't seem to have many stand-out attributes but is just a good solid, really composed defender who could play small and tall - a likely replacement for Patfull if need be (touch wood). Off-the-mark?

Fantastic. :thumbsu:

Thanks Rip.

Could ye expand on 'Golby done good'? Is he primarily a shut-down defender? Does he create run? From the little I've seen of him he doesn't seem to have many stand-out attributes but is just a good solid, really composed defender who could play small and tall - a likely replacement for Patfull if need be (touch wood). Off-the-mark?

Line-breaking midfielder.

From the little I have seen of him on TV I got the impression he was playing as a HBFer and I was struggling to get him into the side based on how well our backs are doing atm. If he is playing through the midfield mostly then he might have to be getting some consideration for promotion if he continues with his form.

Had plenty of the leather; wasn't fantastic with his usage. Bit tentative at times, too.

Good to hear Rip (assuming your talking about X) and thanks for the updates as always. No rush for X and I imagine they are keeping an eye on him, would be happy if he played 3 or 4 more in the Ressies and hope he improves every week.

Golby's performing more of an Adcock attacking HBF role, doing plenty of link work through the middle of the ground and often venturing into the forward line for a few pings at the sticks. Can't say I've being paying much attention to his actual defensive work, but he didn't even make the best players list so perhaps this is an area he's falling short in?

Raines had another very good game, Tom.

It will be interesting to see how the Swans Reserves stack up against the Lions Reserves after the Swans demolished the GC Reserves a few weeks ago. We will be missing most of our regular Academy boys we've been using as topups as they're on NSW/ACT U18 RAMS duty so we might be a bit weaker than usual.

How did Niall go MR? I think bob may have asked earlier and I am interested in the big Irishman as well.
Played ruck, mostly, and copped a bit of a physical battering from Knobel. Gallant as ever, but looked fairly rusty with his skills. What appeared to be a corked hip in the first term didn't help his cause.

And for Freddie. Richie Newell. Wouldn't be in seniors calculations if he was eligible, yet, I wouldn't reckon. He's finding himself getting poleaxed nearly every week. Insane Selwood-esque courage... and suffers similar consequences. I think he's bounced up again every time, however, so he's a tough so and so.

Has good skills, too, although I mozzed him a few weeks back in that department and he proceeded to make a meal of his next handful of touches. TBD can verify. :o

Had a fair game on Sundy. Getting the run-with role atm.

Cool, would love to head down and check them out this Saturday.

Browndog's telling porky pies mate. If you buy me a couple of beers though, I'll sneak you in for free ;)

Where are the Lions vs Swans reserves teams playing this weekend? On the fixture card I got from the Swans it says it is on Saturday at the Gabba with a time TBC. But I read somewhere else that it wasn't being played as a curtain raiser to the senior team.

I am heading up to Brisbane this weekend for the game and would like to watch the reserves game also.

Thanks. Do you know what time it kicks off? I haven't bought a flight yet and need to work out logistics.

And for Freddie. Richie Newell. Wouldn't be in seniors calculations if he was eligible, yet, I wouldn't reckon. He's finding himself getting poleaxed nearly every week. Insane Selwood-esque courage... and suffers similar consequences. I think he's bounced up again every time, however, so he's a tough so and so.

Has good skills, too, although I mozzed him a few weeks back in that department and he proceeded to make a meal of his next handful of touches. TBD can verify. :o

He has been selected in the Qld squad for the Champs. Hopefully he plays this week and I get to see how he goes against SA. It should be a good chance to see him match up on guys his own age.

Played ruck, mostly, and copped a bit of a physical battering from Knobel. Gallant as ever, but looked fairly rusty with his skills. What appeared to be a corked hip in the first term didn't help his cause.

Thanks MrR - I see they have listed Newell as 186cms 82kgs in the U18 champs record - good to hear he's a tuff nut, could be a fair tank in a couple more years...
Also hope to hear Niall is a little more 'oiled' in the next couple of games. :thumbsu:

I've written a preview of the game http://bit.ly/2011Rd10

I've picked up a lot of info from this board and this thread in particular. Let me know if I've made any egregious errors about your side.