List Mgmt. List changes

Dunno why we're persisting with Griffiths - he'll never have the mongrel in him he needs and will just be Post mk.II. This will most likely be the last year we'll get anything half-decent for him.

Reckon we should at least look at Silvagni.

Why? Tucky barely plays anyway. Adams will come in and Vlastuin will move to the midfield more permanently as well.

Tuck was at least always on the verge, Lonergan was behind him, he'll now be that first level depth player Tuck was.(unless we get Travis and even then we might still keep him - FWIW I don't think we're into Travis seeing as we probably would've heard the rumour by now & Shane would probably know and wouldn't be moving to Adelaide.) He's extracting ability is on par with Shane Tuck's - his disposal's only marginally worse and he's a ferocious tackler, defensively better and a genuine midfield enforcer. He can kick a goal too - average is slightly higher than Tuck's. Only area where Tucky is comfortably superior is in marking ability.

Dunno why we're persisting with Griffiths - he'll never have the mongrel in him he needs and will just be Post mk.II. This will most likely be the last year we'll get anything half-decent for him.

Reckon we should at least look at Silvagni.

Tuck was at least always on the verge, Lonergan was behind him, he'll now be that first level depth player Tuck was.(unless we get Travis and even then we might still keep him - FWIW I don't think we're into Travis seeing as we probably would've heard the rumour by now & Shane would probably know and wouldn't be moving to Adelaide.) He's extracting ability is on par with Shane Tuck's - his disposal's only marginally worse and he's a ferocious tackler, defensively better and a genuine midfield enforcer. He can kick a goal too - average is slightly higher than Tuck's. Only area where Tucky is comfortably superior is in marking ability.

I don't know much about Travis Harmichael. But is the comparison between them based on their performance at the next level down ? Or Tucky's AFL vs Travis's VFL ? For me the game is getting tighter and tighter and opposition can hurt you badly on turnovers. Would Travis's pluses outweigh his marginally worse disposal and his inferior marking ability ? Those 2 for me mean giving it away more and getting it less possibly. Also would he really be one of the better propositions available out there for us ? Just asking cheers

PS I know your name isn't Travis Harmichael :D

This is all down to atrocious KPF development IMO. We've had the opportunity since the start of Hardwicks coaching tenure to test out KPF's yet we would have been lucky to have put 20 games up forward into Post, Astbury, Griffiths, Elton and McBean.

Even though they were higher picks do you know what Hawthorn did with Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead? They stuck them in the team from almost day 1.

If Franklin was playing for us we would have either dropped him after his first game or after his 7th. As for Roughead we would have dropped him after almost every second game he played.

So Griffiths had some injury concerns... maybe we should have given him time to develop physically and then done this process. Astbury kicked 3 on debut but by round 22 was a KPD. Post played alright in the games he played in his first season, only to be overlooked in his second and then moved down back.
Elton got 1 game in his first season and now is already being used as a defender. God help McBean because he'll probably be playing defence after round 1 next year.

They may think they are developing defensive qualities in the players but seriously it is not working just stick the god damn KPF in the forward line and give them a ****ing chance to develop. I reckon any forward with a chance of making it would start showing signs after half a dozen games playing next to Vickery and Riewoldt with our gun midfield. BUT No we've blown our games on Azza and McGun neither of whom offer real potential and skill. This is probably the one place on the field that is holding us back and we could have fixed it already!!!

Delisted/ moved on/ retired
mainlist: McG, A.Edwards, Tuck, Nahas, griff, batchelor, Derickx. Also possibly Helbig, but I doubt it.

rookie: everyone but darrou (promote), petts (promote), cadeyn

griff and batchelor still have some currency. teams like gws, suns, saints, dogs and melbourne would all be keen.

darrou is a direct replacement for batchelor.

Delisted/ moved on/ retired
mainlist: McG, A.Edwards, Tuck, Nahas, griff, batchelor, Derickx. Also possibly Helbig, but I doubt it.

rookie: everyone but darrou (promote), petts (promote), cadeyn

griff and batchelor still have some currency. teams like gws, suns, saints, dogs and melbourne would all be keen.

darrou is a direct replacement for batchelor.

Wow, I love all the info coming out from the club re Darrou and the number of times he features in the VFL bests.But even for me that's a big call tunksy. It's a big step up, but you think Ben D can make the grade ? I still think Batch has a lot of upside....still 21 I think ? Darrou though may be younger but I'm not 100% sure.

Batchelor still has alot of improvement left. He has had a poor year but will bounce back next year. Dea goes before him.

This is all down to atrocious KPF development IMO. We've had the opportunity since the start of Hardwicks coaching tenure to test out KPF's yet we would have been lucky to have put 20 games up forward into Post, Astbury, Griffiths, Elton and McBean.

Even though they were higher picks do you know what Hawthorn did with Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead? They stuck them in the team from almost day 1.

If Franklin was playing for us we would have either dropped him after his first game or after his 7th. As for Roughead we would have dropped him after almost every second game he played.

So Griffiths had some injury concerns... maybe we should have given him time to develop physically and then done this process. Astbury kicked 3 on debut but by round 22 was a KPD. Post played alright in the games he played in his first season, only to be overlooked in his second and then moved down back.
Elton got 1 game in his first season and now is already being used as a defender. God help McBean because he'll probably be playing defence after round 1 next year.

They may think they are developing defensive qualities in the players but seriously it is not working just stick the god damn KPF in the forward line and give them a ******* chance to develop. I reckon any forward with a chance of making it would start showing signs after half a dozen games playing next to Vickery and Riewoldt with our gun midfield. BUT No we've blown our games on Azza and McGun neither of whom offer real potential and skill. This is probably the one place on the field that is holding us back and we could have fixed it already!!!
I bet Roughy and Buddy could get a kick at training. Other than McBean most of these guys are showing nothing in the contested work or match simulations or in actual Gametime at Coburg to suggest they would be able to play AFL. Which is why McBean starts forward for Coburg, as he is the only one who can lead, mark and goal.

If they are being "tried" down back it's fair to say they haven't shown enough as a forward. At the moment Azza and McGuanne are so far ahead of ,griff, elton and Astbury as forwards it's not funny.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I don't know much about Travis Harmichael. But is the comparison between them based on their performance at the next level down ? Or Tucky's AFL vs Travis's VFL ? For me the game is getting tighter and tighter and opposition can hurt you badly on turnovers. Would Travis's pluses outweigh his marginally worse disposal and his inferior marking ability ? Those 2 for me mean giving it away more and getting it less possibly. Also would he really be one of the better propositions available out there for us ? Just asking cheers

PS I know your name isn't Travis Harmichael :D

I was referring to Lonergan in those comparisons to Tucky. Travis is almost a carbon copy of Shane from what I've seen (SANFL replays & highlights, Foxtel Cup). It is a much lesser comp though, arguably the weakest out of the three major State Leagues, despite West Adelaide winning the Foxtel Cup.

My bad, sorry. I totally misunderstood. So do you think we'd do better from Travis than Sam ?

Toss up at this stage. Probably, but I don't think we're after him. Think there might be some relevence in Shane moving to Adelaide as well, with his brother already there.

I wondered about that. I thought maybe his wife and her side of the family may have been from there?

Wow, I love all the info coming out from the club re Darrou and the number of times he features in the VFL bests.But even for me that's a big call tunksy. It's a big step up, but you think Ben D can make the grade ? I still think Batch has a lot of upside....still 21 I think ? Darrou though may be younger but I'm not 100% sure.

dont worry, all of that was only my opinion. batchelor still has a lot of value in my eyes which is why I put him up for possible trade. we however don't have many of his type on our list. but he's been up and down since his first year. the gap between his best and worst is just too large right now, really needs to work on his consistency. I think he plays best loose.

I think with how often darrou's been in the best and his continued improvement he deserves the shot. he keeps his opponents well held, uses the ball well and rebounds well and can take larger guys for his size. in our back line he'd be playing the 3rd tall and he's more than good enough to take the 3rd best forward I feel.

I'd like to see A.Edwards delisted and McGuane traded for a pick 40-60.
Nahas delisted or traded (if possible)
Derrickx gone
Tuck retired

Rookie List
Stephenson retired
Lonergan delisted
Petterd upgraded :(
Verrier delisted

Persist with the remainder of the list for 1 more year (unless we get a good trade offer).

Last chances Griffiths, Dea, Helbig, O'Hanlon
Second last chances Batchelor, Astbury

That should leave us with 6 spots for our 40 man squad and 2 rookie list spots?

Take 4-5 in the draft, 1 pre-season or 1 free agent/trade.

I'd be drafting 2-3 midfielders, ruckman and 1 KPP. Pick up another midfielder either PSD or free agent/trade.

Rookie list a midfielder and a ruckman.

Mcguane is a free agent so can leave without a trade. Also remember we might structuring our tpp with only 38 players in mind with 6 rookies which means 4 openings for draft/trades.

at this stage, i think minimal list cutting is needed, our young core is getting better and we have put a lot into them.
my outs are -
senior list - Nahas, McGuane (if is he out of contract) Tuck (retired) Derickx,
rookies - Stephenson (retiring apparently) Lonergan,
i havent heard enough about Verrier, Simon or Williams to cast judgement

promote Petterd, Darrou

leaves 1 more to be delisted from the main group to get our min 3 picks.

that would mean 1 of Dea, Griffiths, Helbig, and O'Hanlon to go. my first would be o'hanlon, then helbig. I'd give Griff 1 more year to see if he can displace Azza and cement the third tall forward, before McBean becomes a superstar, and Vick turns into the number 1 ruck

I wondered about that. I thought maybe his wife and her side of the family may have been from there?

Tucky's wife is certainly from Adelaide. I know them both quite well due to their son, Will, being in my kids kinder and playing aus kick with my kids. They were thinking very seriously about the move last year.

at this stage, i think minimal list cutting is needed, our young core is getting better and we have put a lot into them.
my outs are -
senior list - Nahas, McGuane (if is he out of contract) Tuck (retired) Derickx,
rookies - Stephenson (retiring apparently) Lonergan,
i havent heard enough about Verrier, Simon or Williams to cast judgement

promote Petterd, Darrou

leaves 1 more to be delisted from the main group to get our min 3 picks.

that would mean 1 of Dea, Griffiths, Helbig, and O'Hanlon to go. my first would be o'hanlon, then helbig. I'd give Griff 1 more year to see if he can displace Azza and cement the third tall forward, before McBean becomes a superstar, and Vick turns into the number 1 ruck

Could you explain why it is that we need to delist 5 from the senior list. I'm not really familiar with the rules, but I'm just trying to figure out how many guys will be delisted at a minimum.

I would be very surprised to see McGoof delisted. Has played some good footy, career best season, looks very fit and pretty stiff not to be playing finals I think he still gives value to our list.

If it were up to me I think Helbig should go. Despite some decent games in the VFL his AFL games have been terrible and for a small player like him in the cut-throat world of AFL I think he just hasn't shown enough. Dea will surely be staying and I'd like to keep Griffiths.

This is kind of harsh and pointless because it won't happen but I'm not sure Newman offers much to our side anymore. He would have to have a ripper pre-season and even then I think there are some other guys that are probably moving ahead now. Perhaps his off-field value is still a factor.

Could you explain why it is that we need to delist 5 from the senior list. I'm not really familiar with the rules, but I'm just trying to figure out how many guys will be delisted at a minimum.

I would be very surprised to see McGoof delisted. Has played some good footy, career best season, looks very fit and pretty stiff not to be playing finals I think he still gives value to our list.

If it were up to me I think Helbig should go. Despite some decent games in the VFL his AFL games have been terrible and for a small player like him in the cut-throat world of AFL I think he just hasn't shown enough. Dea will surely be staying and I'd like to keep Griffiths.

This is kind of harsh and pointless because it won't happen but I'm not sure Newman offers much to our side anymore. He would have to have a ripper pre-season and even then I think there are some other guys that are probably moving ahead now. Perhaps his off-field value is still a factor.

You need to free up 3 spots for draftees/rookie upgrades at a minimum. Then a list spot for anyone we trade for or pick up as a free agent.

Trade Table: McGuane (FA) Nahas Griffiths Batchelor Helbig - dont expect too much in return just pick shuffling
Delist: Derickx Tuck (ret) Stephenson (ret) Verrier Lonergan
Ohanlon, Foley and Edwards are 50/50 for trade i think.
Trade in: Cheap mature age ruck and maybe Adams if we can
Draft: GET CHRIS CAIN! 26yo 181cm 83kg from Port Melbourne. Averages 27 disposals, 4 clearances, 5 tackles, 6 inside 50's, 1.6 goals and 1.5 score assists a game. He's a very smart player with great skills on both sides of his body, clean hands, tackling machine and runs forward and kicks goals

Would love love LOVE for Andrew to go back to Richmond :) could provide a spark at ground level around goals for the Tige's. But it won't happen and I'm only dreaming. But we all deserve to dream.

With the Pies losing tonight against Port Adelaide, and Andrew not getting back into the team and with this contract expiring at the end of the year.........it could be curtains, hopefully not though.

Would love love LOVE for Andrew to go back to Richmond :) could provide a spark at ground level around goals for the Tige's. But it won't happen and I'm only dreaming. But we all deserve to dream.

With the Pies losing tonight against Port Adelaide, and Andrew not getting back into the team and with this contract expiring at the end of the year.........it could be curtains, hopefully not though.
You're kidding aren't you? Krakouer is crap