Discussion Long Sleeved Jumpers ???

• Thread starter Thread starter Esky Lid

Richmond, maybe Clinton King?
Carlton: Houlihan has definitely worn one more recently than SOS. I think Henderson may have worn one this year too.
Melbourne: Jurrah's worn one.
I could be wrong but I don't think he ever has.

Almost half of all players have worn one once or twice in their career but some do wear them a bit more often.

I cant think of anyone currently at Melbourne who wears one. In the past though, Matthew Whelan wore one regularly, Adem Yze often wore one and Cameron Bruce did from time to time. Going back even further, Jeff Farmer used to wear one more than he wore short sleeves.

They're such quality pieces of fabric though. I love my long sleeve guernsey, devastated that I'm growing out of it though :(

Nah they're amazing, trust me :thumbsu: Just think about those nights at footy training where its 12 degrees, dark by 5:00, blowing a gale and spitting lightly. Everyone else is shivering and I'm nice and warm ;) If it gets too warm you just roll the sleeves up and its all gravy!! They're also brilliant when you go to the footy as you don't need to wear anything underneath or over the top :)
Haven't worn one in a match since about U/8s but there's definitely times I would if I could. Definitely the most underrated piece of clothing around and I reckon they look great too :thumbsu:

This is the 1st season ever i havnt worn my longSleeve. Been
Playin scince i was 8 (now 22) so it feels odd not playing in one but i dont get soo hot. The whole reason i wore one was because my mum made from a young age (haha) and it just stuck.

If it's worth a pinch of shit. In a parallel universe I wear a long sleeve jumper.

Jokes aside. If I played any level, I'd wear long sleeves. But roll them up.

Which I know the afl hates.

Yze and Ronnie burns a few years back were sanctioned for doing so. And Milne too I think.

But I think one of them was due to the actual cutting off of sleeves to be 3/4.
Burns comes to mind for that one.

I know Tredders has worn the long sleeves a couple of times in the early 00's, but I think the last Port player to wear the long sleeves was the legendary Nathan Lonie lol

Watching Freo & Hawthorn last week , not one player donned the long sleeves ?

Do clubs not bother with them anymore ?

Or , because they wear Home / Away / Clash .. its just too Hard ?

Can anyone display a complete snap shot of long sleeved AFL Jumpers. .. including the clash Long Sleeves ?

and Who was the last player at each club wearing a long sleeved jumper ?? I stand corrected !!

Adelaide - Andrew Jarman
Brisbane - Clark Keating
Carlton - Stephen Silvagni
Collingwood - Daisy Thomas and Chris Dawes
Essendon - James Hird
Freo - Justin Longmuir .. Antoni Grover ??
Geelong - Jimmy Bartel
Gold Coast ???
Hawthorn - Buddy ??
Melbourne ?? - Sam Newman Last night !
North - Daniel Wells
Port - ??
Richmond - ?? - Dale Weightman ??
Saints - Raph Clarke ?
Sydney - Lewis Jetta ( thanks afl .com.au )
West Coast - Brent Staker ?
Western Bulldogs - . . Brad Hardie !

Good luck !

Suspect the Dogs can cough up something a little more recent than Brad Hardie...

Hardie clone Simon Atkins would nary be sighted without them.

Big Fish Barry Standfield was a habitual donner of the long sleeves also.

Additionally Tony Campbell, Jose Romero, Mark Hunter, Keenan Reynolds and a young bloke named Chris Grant were all partial to the full kit on occasion too. If I wanted to bestow him the attention I'd include that twat Nathan Brown too.

And of course who could forget the one, the only, Simon Minton-Connell.

Why was Yze sanctioned for rolling up a long sleeve? Was J-Lo ever sanctioned for it?

And what kind of clubs are you guys all playing for? I'm concentrating on school this year, so i'm not playing. However, in colts last year, my club only had short sleeves - from 17's, to colts, to ressies, to league. I think every club down here is like that. When I played Auskick most of the teams had all long sleeve kits, but that's about it.

Speaking of which, did anyone else play for a side with a really, really cool jumper? I remember when I played U8's or U10's, I played Auskick. Our strip was black shorts and socks (as all teams were made to wear), with an all green long-sleeve cotton top.. but it had a wide-ish chevron, and it looked impeccable. I loved that team!

Why was Yze sanctioned for rolling up a long sleeve? Was J-Lo ever sanctioned for it?

And what kind of clubs are you guys all playing for? I'm concentrating on school this year, so i'm not playing. However, in colts last year, my club only had short sleeves - from 17's, to colts, to ressies, to league. I think every club down here is like that. When I played Auskick most of the teams had all long sleeve kits, but that's about it.

Speaking of which, did anyone else play for a side with a really, really cool jumper? I remember when I played U8's or U10's, I played Auskick. Our strip was black shorts and socks (as all teams were made to wear), with an all green long-sleeve cotton top.. but it had a wide-ish chevron, and it looked impeccable. I loved that team!

I think he took the scissors to his guernsey at one point.

My 1st Team wore brown
N white stripes.
2nd wore same jumper as west coast except wings were light blue and the rest navy blue.
3rd and current club early 00's magpie on a black jumper with silverbottom

Adem Yze used to roll the sleeves up on his long sleeve jumper when he wore one.
This was fine before the printed jumpers, becasue the material underneath was the same colour as the jumper.
However, once they moved to the printed jumper, when rolling the sleeves up, it reveals the White inside of the sleeve. So the AFL told him to cut the sleeves off if he was only going to roll them up; which he did.

yze_1306.jpg

From the start of the 20th century long sleeve jumpers were made in Melbourne. (Foy & Gibson in Collingwood)
foy-gibson.jpg

This was all you could get, jumpers with long sleeves.
Over time, ruckmen developed a tactic of pulling their opponent down in a ruck contest by grabbing their sleeve with their non-tapping hand.
Ruckmen soon took to cutting the sleeves off their jumpers.
200px-JackDyer.jpg

Some clubs, notably Collingwood, would soon have everyone wear jumpers without sleeves, giving the appearance that their players were taller, and possibly ruckmen. (Also the expression Collingwood 6 footer developed at this time, with the club deliberately over stating players heights and weights.)
ebaker.jpg
(Ted Baker- Collingwood Rover.)
This trend continued on into the 40s and early 50s, however during the 50s and 60s the unwritten rule was long sleeve (and long stops) for wet weather, and sleeveless for the dry weather. This varied club to club. Some teams wore long sleeves all the time, such as Melbourne, others sleeveless as often as possible.
fnwb_1954vMelbourne-3-large.jpg

(1954 Grand Final, Footscray v Melbourne)
By the 70s long sleeve jumpers were far less common, with only one or two players per team wearing them, perhaps a few more if it was wet. From the 70s to the 80s the trend was towards tighter jumpers (& shorts), with less material to grab when being tackled.
By this time wearing long sleeves was seen as weak, with the player not wanting to get cold, especially once teams joined the league that were based in warmer climates, Sydney, Perth & Brisbane.
Today, with the printed material long sleeves have no advantage, except perhaps psychological. Some players wore them to hide skinny arms (Michael Tuck), some wore them to hide tattoos from their mum (Bradley Plain), but in general, less players are wearing them than in any time in the game's history.

By this time wearing long sleeves was seen as weak, with the player not wanting to get cold.

This. I tried wearing a long sleeved jumper once, and had to take it off after a minute, I found it way too restricting. If you get cold while playing footy you aren't running hard enough IMO.

There's a guy in the U19's for my team that will start the game with a long sleeve every week, then take it off halfway through the first quarter without fail and reverts to short sleeves. WHAT'S THE POINT OF WEARING THEM IN THE FIST PLACE! :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Could be wrong but the 2 players who got fined for cutting thier sleeves in half were Matthew Whelan and Stephen Milne. Had a poster of Whelan with the cut off sleeves.

I always found wearing long sleeves too hot, and that was only at junior level. I don't know how James Hird could stand wearing them every week at AFL level.
I noticed that Leroy Jetta has worn them a couple of times only to take them off and switch them with sleeveless before half time.