Luke Hodge, Clarkson and Kennett

• Thread starter Thread starter frankc

kolchak said:
Its not rubbish, this is my opinion. I said he has clean displosal!!! He moves fluently and does everything in almost one motion. I said all other parts of his game are good, not the best ever or the best in the competition, read my post properly please!!!! before u start saying its rubbish!!!! UR response is rubbish!!!

You said...

a) "he has great clean disposal by hand or foot"... a simple viewing of Eagles games shows that this is not the case; and

b) "he is good in all other parts of his game"... how many other parts are there? as I explained he has little defensive capability, is poor with contested marking and cannot play well in positions outside of the centre.

I'm sorry if you're aggrieved at my "rubbish" comment, I just have zero tolerance these days for people making uncritical and untrue assertions about Judd's game predicated primarily on media hype, rather than actually watching his games.

The reality with Judd is that he gets a lot of the ball for little impact, because his disposal skills are very average.

CyberKev said:
You said...

a) "he has great clean disposal by hand or foot"... a simple viewing of Eagles games shows that this is not the case; and

Yes, I know I said clean, thats what I mean clean, as in, does not thumble, you saying he is not clean ????

b) "he is good in all other parts of his game"... how many other parts are there? as I explained he has little defensive capability, is poor with contested marking and cannot play well in positions outside of the centre.

Well, goal kicking, marks, delivery, leadership, there are lots of parts, I think Judd is good in these parts, there are a lot better than him, there a lot worse...

I'm sorry if you're aggrieved at my "rubbish" comment, I just have zero tolerance these days for people making uncritical and untrue assertions about Judd's game predicated primarily on media hype, rather than actually watching his games.

I have watch games with Judd playing, and the way he picks the ball up in traffic is amazing, these are his contested possesions...

The reality with Judd is that he gets a lot of the ball for little impact, because his disposal skills are very average.

His disposal is just as good as a lot of other midfielders going round....

Just look at twhat a fit hodgey can do like last year. He was rooted this year coz of injurys and he still foght out the year. When hodges fully fit he can do all tha judd can ecept run as fast. And hes a better kick way better handballer and tougher to.
Shove hodge inta the coasters midfeld the suport of cuz kerr and the rest and see how hed smash th e game open like judd does. shove judd into our side since 2001 and hed be good for sure bt hed be geting all the attntion of the ohther clubs coz hed be the only have half the help in crawf and mictch that he get s from the wweagles.

Love ya hodgey ya tough lil basterd. judd yea gotta say id love him to if he was a hawk but aint complianing with the bloke we got insted.

I think Hawthorn made the right call. Hodge has been fantastic and is getting better every game and every year. Is a star, but will be even better. :D

Hawthorn overlooked Judd when we had Holland with two bung shoulders. Heard that Judd is seeing a specialist regarding his shoulder after a dislocation in the GF. I bet that if we picked Judd, those shoulders would have come apart in the first season...

All said, Judd is the best player in the AFL.

Judd is so much better than Hodge it is scary. You guys are all crackpots. Whos the guy who's trying to say that Judd has played two ordinary GF's???? Most possessions this time. Norm Smith the one before. Yeah he's had two shockers.
Will go down as one of the absolute greats. In the company of Matthews, Carey and Williams.
Hodge is good, but will be remebered alongside names like Luke Ball, Shane Woewodin and Brent Harvey.
If Hawks had picked up Judd, you would be a 15% better team. He is a freak. Hodgy is a hard working mid who will have a good career.
Judd is someone songs will be written about.
But keep telling yourselves that they are close in output, form and future.
Funny people!
God bless you all!

Monkeyboy said:
Judd is so much better than Hodge it is scary. You guys are all crackpots. Whos the guy who's trying to say that Judd has played two ordinary GF's???? Most possessions this time. Norm Smith the one before. Yeah he's had two shockers.
Will go down as one of the absolute greats. In the company of Matthews, Carey and Williams.
Hodge is good, but will be remebered alongside names like Luke Ball, Shane Woewodin and Brent Harvey.
If Hawks had picked up Judd, you would be a 15% better team. He is a freak. Hodgy is a hard working mid who will have a good career.
Funny people!
God bless you all!

Judd certainly wasn't best on ground in the 2005 GF - I for one do not think that he deserved the Norm Smith that day. Pull up some of the threads on the main board from this time last year, and I'm sure you'll see quite a few others with the same opinion.

Yes, Judd is a freak. Yes, he is a great player. However, I am sick to death of idiots in the media having screaming orgasms every time he goes anywhere near the ball.

You also forget - Hodge was hampered by injury in his first couple of years, whereas Judd has had a relatively injury free time of it over the same period. Time will tell - I think they'll both be as good as each other. Hodge may not win a Brownlow, but IMHO will win a considerable number of games off his own boot in the future.

LOL at this thread

"Hodge will have an equal, if not better career than Judd" ????

Some of the quotes in this thread are unbelievable. Yeh, I know you guys are just being loyal, but please.

Chris Judd will end up being one of if not the best midfielder the modern game has ever seen. Hodge will be a good player, but won't be a star that will be remembered for years like Buckley, Hird, Voss.

Although their possession counts are very similar, Hodge gets alot of his from Half Back, as when he goes into the guts he gets tagged out of it.

Judd is a freak, and I know that all who watch him cannot believe some of the things he does, no-one in the game can do what he does.

Sorry boys, but I think you've got your eye patches on.

Chris Judd

2004, 2006 All-Australian
2004 Brownlow Medallist
2004 WCE Best and Fairest
2005 Norm Smith Medallist
2006 Premiership Captain

Luke Hodge

Nil.

All Australian is more than nil.

Happy to say Judd is a champ, and has it way above Hodge, but you can't completely write off the credentials of Hodge at this early age.

Skooks said:
LOL at this thread

Some of the quotes in this thread are unbelievable. Yeh, I know you guys are just being loyal, but please.

Chris Judd will end up being one of if not the best midfielder the modern game has ever seen. Hodge will be a good player, but won't be a star that will be remembered for years like Buckley, Hird, Voss.

Although their possession counts are very similar, Hodge gets alot of his from Half Back, as when he goes into the guts he gets tagged out of it.

Judd is a freak, and I know that all who watch him cannot believe some of the things he does, no-one in the game can do what he does.

Chris Judd

2004 Brownlow Medallist
2006 Premiership Captain

Luke Hodge

Nil.

Troll. Who invited you over here?

Never said that Judd wasn't any good - read my previous post. Think the media tend to grossly overrate him though. No need to have screaming orgasms every time he goes near the ball.

Hodge - 2005 AA.
- 2005 Hawthorn B&F.

Shows what you know.

Now, please go back to your premiership cup or whatever it was that you won on the weekend and leave us to wallow in our own mediocrity.

Monkeyboy said:
Funny people!
God bless you all!

Matthews, jarman mcleod brereton dipper etc all backed up with gerat grand final performances. There are many more.

Just look beyond the hype at Judds actual output in th GFs - about a sam mitchell level but not great grand final yet

kimbopen said:
Troll. Who invited you over here?

Never said that Judd wasn't any good - read my previous post. Think the media tend to grossly overrate him though. No need to have screaming orgasms every time he goes near the ball.

Hodge - 2005 AA.
- 2005 Hawthorn B&F.

Shows what you know.

Now, please go back to your premiership cup or whatever it was that you won on the weekend and leave us to wallow in our own mediocrity.

Ok, so he won the B&F of the last (or was it 2nd last)?:D placed team. Good on him.

BTW, i'm not taking anything away from Hodge, as I said above, I think he is a great player and is probably in the top 15 in the competition, but to compare him to Judd. Well :rolleyes: ....

Monkeyboy said:
Funny people!
God bless you all!

an appropriate name monkey boy................:rolleyes:

Skooks said:
Ok, so he won the B&F of the last (or was it 2nd last)?:D placed team. Good on him.

BTW, i'm not taking anything away from Hodge, as I said above, I think he is a great player and is probably in the top 15 in the competition, but to compare him to Judd. Well :rolleyes: ....

Everyone else is ... since they were both taken in the same draft! :rolleyes: :eek:

Skooks said:
LOL at this thread

Chris Judd

2004 Brownlow Medallist
2006 Premiership Captain

Luke Hodge

Nil.

reminds me of the 91 grand final....

honestly, if u replace hodge with judd in west coasts midfield, they would've had last years flag aswell.

nah i love judd though mate, absolute gun player, im not taking anything away from him, because he is an absolute star, imagine if u had him and hodge in your midfield? the only person i rate on top of him is brown, because brown is just a one man team, if he was fit this year, brisbane may still have played finals.

i just think people shouldn't write off hodge though. He is a gun and going to be even better in years to come. he will captain our 2009, 10, 11, 12 and 13 premierships (haha i have a bet with a mate on this im screwed). judd has pace, which will go someday, but hodge has probably got better skill, which will never go away, and he will but please, do not think at all i am bagging judd, noone has any right to bag a class act like him.

but for hodge lovers check out in the 2nd or 3rd qtr against west coast this year at about the 10:40 minute mark or something and just watch hodge burn judd, that was one of the happiest moments in my life.

how good will it be when they bring state of origin back and maybe they could play in the same team? along with jonothan brown at chf, just makes me drool.

hodge-910111213 said:
reminds me of the 91 grand final....

honestly, if u replace hodge with judd in west coasts midfield, they would've had last years flag aswell.

nah i love judd though mate, absolute gun player, im not taking anything away from him, because he is an absolute star, imagine if u had him and hodge in your midfield? the only person i rate on top of him is brown, because brown is just a one man team, if he was fit this year, brisbane may still have played finals.

i just think people shouldn't write off hodge though. He is a gun and going to be even better in years to come. he will captain our 2009, 10, 11, 12 and 13 premierships (haha i have a bet with a mate on this im screwed). judd has pace, which will go someday, but hodge has probably got better skill, which will never go away, and he will but please, do not think at all i am bagging judd, noone has any right to bag a class act like him.

but for hodge lovers check out in the 2nd or 3rd qtr against west coast this year at about the 10:40 minute mark or something and just watch hodge burn judd, that was one of the happiest moments in my life.

how good will it be when they bring state of origin back and maybe they could play in the same team? along with jonothan brown at chf, just makes me drool.

I would love to have Hodge in our midfield, owuld make us an even greater team for sure... However all you guys saying Judd isn't as good as Hodge, or is sosft, you are wrong... He had the most contested possessions last year and I believe he came 2nd this year. Doesn't mean he's soft, just means he's willing to run into traffic to get the ball, as every player should...

Geez, I didn't realise that my post about how Hodge compares to Judd would cause such a lively debate - anyway that's what a forum is for.

At the end of the day, we got Hodge and I wouldn't want it any other way. I would like to see him captain soon - I think it would make him an even better player. Be great to see Judd and Hodge sqaure off in a grand final as opposing captains.

Too all Hawk supporters let's get behind our team and hopefully we'll see the beginning of a lengthy period of success soon.

Skooks said:
You're kidding youself, if you say in hindsight you would have taken Hodge at number 1 again. :rolleyes:

Nope - remember, Judd had recently had shoulder surgery. We had recently been burned with Nick Holland having shoulder surgery. Why would we have taken the risk? As an earlier poster said, it would have been just our luck if we had taken Judd that his shoulder went in his first season.

Let them have Hodge over Judd.

My bet is history will show the players as poles apart. Judd will go down with Carey and Lethal as a top 3 ever. Multiple flags and brownlows.

Hodge will be seen as a terrific Hawker. With a couple of bits and pieces to show the kids. But no flags or Brownlows.

Any Hawk who would prefer Hodge over Judd, is happy to not be or have the best. Simple as that.

Interesting to see in the gf that judd injured his shoulder for the first time in his afl career. Is this a start of things to come?

Judd has remained amazingly injury free so far but with hammy troubles for a few weeks this season and now hurting his shoulder (doesnt seem that badly but you'd think any shoulder injury to a player with a history of bad shoulders would be a cause for concern) will injuries start to hold him back like hodge has experienced so far?
We are all rating judd on his amazing injury free run so far, while other guns such as brown, tredrea hodge etc have suffered injury interrupted seasons making judd stand out in peoples minds.

Judd has been a gun player at afl level at a relatively very young age. Has his relatively immature body (in afl preseasons) copped a early pounding that's going to slow him down in the long run? I think that left shoulder that he hurt in the gf is going to get a hell of a work out during next season as players start to probe for weakness in what so far has been a player that has remained amazingly injury free.

This is not saying hodge will be better than judd, but moreso that judd body has copped a pounding from a relatively early stage in his career. He has remained amazingly injury free so far in his career which people seem to forget in rating him. I think we're starting to see that his body is starting to take some wear and tear and as this happens I reckon the gap between judd and hodge will start to disappear.
If hodge had remained injury free for his career so far I doubt this hodge vs judd crap would happen at all. They;d both be rated as superstars. (for those who doubt it watch hodges 2005 season again - if he had remained injury free this season and repeated the dose then this wouldnt be as much debate)