Lukey McGuane! [2012 Thread]

Lukes well on the way to b THE GUN third tall we always needed;)

5zjntv.jpg

I think we need to to create a special BF award.

For the guy who may be a bit old, not highly rated, often bagged, but when given a chance he just gets in, does his job and surprisingly contributes a bit more than expected.

The Pia.

Obviously, Shane Tuck won it for the first 5 years of his senior career, Miller got it his first year (hence the award name), Ivan got it last year (just from Morris), and Jake King is always right in contention. But Luke McG is the early leader for 2013.

Could be a bigger award than the Brownlow.
Jackson surely gets a mention? Pretty sure I heard Frawley commentating and say Jacko is one of he fastest guys in the AFL?? Hope I heard wrong cos if not, then frawley is a ****en spazz.

Jacko was 100 metre sprinter as a teen, think he made nationals from memory. It's why I've never been able to work out why he is so slow on the field.

Played well today but still had his usual brain farts at times but a good game overall from McGoof

Next 3 weeks is what counts and we shall see if he has really developed as the foward we are all needing/wanting
7-8 goals from the next 3 games and similar marks pressure will be whats required
SO if we get the same 2 goals a game over the next 3 weeks then do we have a convert?

Loved Luke's game today - great hands on the lead and he just competes. I think we are starting to see with him, Jake and Jacko that teams make players as much as players make teams. The way we are now means that those guys can play their roles and be valuable contributors because of the talent and structure around them.

SO if we get the same 2 goals a game over the next 3 weeks then do we have a convert?
My concern with Luke McGuane is that he is currently performing well against poor teams 3rd best defenders and whilst still getting 2 goals a game will he continue to be able to perform at a similar level against say
Geelong,Collingwood,West Coast,Hawthorn,Swans - Thats what will decide if he has improved his game or is it just agains teams where we dominate and the ball is in there so often that it just a matter being there

My concern with Luke McGuane is that he is currently performing well against poor teams 3rd best defenders and whilst still getting 2 goals a game will he continue to be able to perform at a similar level against say
Geelong,Collingwood,West Coast,Hawthorn,Swans - Thats what will decide if he has improved his game or is it just agains teams where we dominate and the ball is in there so often that it just a matter being there
I get how you see it now, and we face Collingwood, Freo and Geelong (I think) in the next 3. If Luke is performing on par to his output now, will you concede that he is a valuable player?

I dont know about a Valuable player but i will concede that he would of performed at a very good standard and that he is doing what we require him to do and deserved of his position in the team.

I agree but he should've known the umps were in a trigger happy mood after the first one.

Anyway - well done again Lukey - back it up against the quality sides in the coming weeks and I might just start to come around.:thumbsu::eek::thumbsu:

No mate, wait til its blindingly obvious.

Another ripper game.

I just don't get people expecting him to perform to the same level the next 3 weeks. Do we also expect Martin to get 35 touches and kick 2 goals for the next 3 weeks? If he can do it the next 3 weeks, then it shouldn't be too hard to do it all year...

We can't expect any players to match their performance level against the Bulldogs in games against top 4 sides. If we did, we'd be winning by 15 goals every week. No one is that good. If McGuane can match his effort and provide a handy option, he is doing a role for us. Very few teams have more than 2 very good key forwards, and the McGuane role is a crucial one for us. Not many players can play 3rd tall to the level McGuane has so far this year.

I just don't get people expecting him to perform to the same level the next 3 weeks. Do we also expect Martin to get 35 touches and kick 2 goals for the next 3 weeks? If he can do it the next 3 weeks, then it shouldn't be too hard to do it all year...

We can't expect any players to match their performance level against the Bulldogs in games against top 4 sides. If we did, we'd be winning by 15 goals every week. No one is that good. If McGuane can match his effort and provide a handy option, he is doing a role for us. Very few teams have more than 2 very good key forwards, and the McGuane role is a crucial one for us. Not many players can play 3rd tall to the level McGuane has so far this year.

Great logical post.

It's almost like his own supporters are willing him to fail. He has been a breath of fresh air up forward, working his arse off (take note JR, TV) and presenting a strong marking target. We can all count up his errors...but only if we do that for everyone.
Tuck for example, rolled the clock back 3 years with his disposal and decision making. But hey, he's human too.

You don't get that we need to perform against the better sides too?

Hate to break it to you, but that's what gets you into finals and ultimately wins flags. It's called consistency and consistant players make successful teams, not flat track bullies who go missing when the real heat is on.

You don't get that we need to perform against the better sides too?

Hate to break it to you, but that's what gets you into finals and ultimately wins flags. It's called consistency and consistant players make successful teams, not flat track bullies who go missing when the real heat is on.

Read my post again. I didn't say he doesn't have to perform, I said he can't be expected to kick 3 goals every week. 3 goals a week would have won him the Coleman last year :rolleyes:

He is playing good footy. His pace is a real weapon. Some of his leads are un-defendable

I would have taken 30 goals from him this year. At the end of the year I think I would now look at taking 65 from Riewoldt, 35 from McGuane and 30 from Vickery.

Makes it a pretty dynamic forward line

I dont know about a Valuable player but i will concede that he would of performed at a very good standard and that he is doing what we require him to do and deserved of his position in the team.
Pretty if he can keep up the 2 goals a game he would be classed as a "valuable player", since that's 44 goals a year.

He is playing good footy. His pace is a real weapon. Some of his leads are un-defendable

I would have taken 30 goals from him this year. At the end of the year I think I would now look at taking 65 from Riewoldt, 35 from McGuane and 30 from Vickery.

Makes it a pretty dynamic forward line
+ 25ish for King and Edwards, and Deledio and Martin around the same

I question his ranking as the 3rd tall forward

That's the best part. Because of Vickery's size, he has to get the best or 2nd best tall defender because the 3rd tall is normally a 190cm rebounding type such as Young today. If Young lines up on Vickery, Vickery will just take him to the square and give him a bath.

That is the dynamic of a having a strong tall forward. His pressure and chasing is the cherry on top.

Exactly and well put...lets not also forget AFL is a team game...22 players out there playing/competing for the Tigers week in and week out...
One week your at the top of your game...the next a team player...swings and roundabouts gentlemen...
Currently Mc_Gun would have to be the best third tall forward in the AFL...
Those chicken legs of his...lampooned by his critics as being a physical weakness for a defender in one-on-one tussles with gorilla forwards..
Are now putting on a blazing turn of speed up forward and leaving other defenders flailing in his wake...

Its pretty clear now what Mcguane can do.
Its pretty clear now he is improving.
Its pretty clear that our forwardline is working better with him in it.
Its pretty clear that there are still some idiots who cant except that they were wrong clinging to the hope that the will be proven right and will use any future poor game as "proof" Mcguane is shit.

Can honestly see him having more impact in the next 3 weeks as the better teams pay him more attention. I don't know why I just think we haven't scratched the surface with his ability as a forward and as his confidence grows will only get more dangerous. I think if he sees a good defender go on him he will just lift his game to match their output and win the battle.

I'm hanging out to see him kick a bag of 6 or more, reckon the boys will explode.

Can honestly see him having more impact in the next 3 weeks as the better teams pay him more attention. I don't know why I just think we haven't scratched the surface with his ability as a forward and as his confidence grows will only get more dangerous. I think if he sees a good defender go on him he will just lift his game to match their output and win the battle.

I'm hanging out to see him kick a bag of 6 or more, reckon the boys will explode.

I posted some time back how much I enjoy watching him in action...because he's unco and unorthodox and I still stand by my claims..one day he'll kick six and help us to a surprise victory. He's great nuisance value in the same way that Jake King is, but using a different set of skills...and thats what makes him valuable