Lukey McGuane! [2012 Thread]

Have to admit that I thought this season may be his last. I thought he would be phased out with Edwards, Astbury or even Griffiths taking his role as the third amigo up forward but he brings something these three just don't have, a presence. He not only commands respect from the opposition as he draws defenders to him (which then evens up the contests with Jack and Vicks) but he shows the rest of the team that he is having a red hot go. I don't really mind if he has little scoreboard or stat impact as long as he keeps putting himself in dangerous positions and attacks the contest as this is all you want from a TEAM player.

We are better for him playing his role and yes he will have days where his kicks miss the mark but I like his spirit and endeavour that he brings each week:thumbsu:

I just don't get people expecting him to perform to the same level the next 3 weeks. Do we also expect Martin to get 35 touches and kick 2 goals for the next 3 weeks? If he can do it the next 3 weeks, then it shouldn't be too hard to do it all year...

We can't expect any players to match their performance level against the Bulldogs in games against top 4 sides. If we did, we'd be winning by 15 goals every week. No one is that good. If McGuane can match his effort and provide a handy option, he is doing a role for us. Very few teams have more than 2 very good key forwards, and the McGuane role is a crucial one for us. Not many players can play 3rd tall to the level McGuane has so far this year.

The reason why we mention the next 3-4 weeks as a deciding factor with McGuane is because of his 2012 record of not performing against 'better' clubs but doing well against the weaker clubs - Finals are played against good clubs not bottom 4-6 clubs as thats who we have played so far this season.

Its a silly comparison that you make with martin as he has proven against all comers in his 1st year that he doesnt care who he plays and he performs at the elite level against all clubs (not every game but has done it against the best) - Hope thats helped you understand a little better
Can honestly see him having more impact in the next 3 weeks as the better teams pay him more attention. I don't know why I just think we haven't scratched the surface with his ability as a forward and as his confidence grows will only get more dangerous. I think if he sees a good defender go on him he will just lift his game to match their output and win the battle.

I'm hanging out to see him kick a bag of 6 or more, reckon the boys will explode.

Trust me , If McGuane can do things like that - I would be over the moon more than even Jaklaughing
Great logical post.

It's almost like his own supporters are willing him to fail. He has been a breath of fresh air up forward, working his arse off (take note JR, TV) and presenting a strong marking target. We can all count up his errors...but only if we do that for everyone.
Tuck for example, rolled the clock back 3 years with his disposal and decision making. But hey, he's human too.

No Chance - I was at the game today sitting behind the goals at the medallion club and everytime he hot the ball or even got near it i was willing him on just as much as any player thats pulled on the yellow & Black
why would we want our players to fail - Stupid comment

Stupid comment

Yes we want players we don't rate to fail. The favourite fallback accusation of some around here that only underlines their twisted & simplistic rationale and inabilty to accept any oppossing view.

But then we're just "idiots" because instead of declaring him a star & Coleman Medal favourite, best third fwd in the comp or even too good to be a third fwd (LMAO) after his first ever string of 3 half-decent games in a row in 9 year career against one mediocre side, one crap side full of kids and another that, although quality on paper, has yet to win a game and conceded 100 points in every game so far, we prefer to just acknowledge he's played well but provide a perfectly reasonable & logical caveat and suggest we wait and see if he peforms when the whips are really cracking and the opposition is of a higher quality, something he has NEVER done yet, before making outlandish declarations. I mean how dare we think he should prove himself in the hard slog, perhaps when we're missing a few through injury and in the middle of a tough run, when he's apparently already done enough 3 games into a 22-match season.

Yep - idiotic. :rolleyes:

Don't worry about valuable player Mcguane incredibly has become one of the most important players in the side .
I do agree that his acid test comes in the big games but in the scheme of things thus far he has changed our whole dynamic and the forward line virtually operates around him.
He's a natural forward with a sensational work ethic,great timing,good hands and a menacing presence for defenders who want to loiter in the hole.
People just need to put the old Luke Mcguane into the recess of their minds because this might aswell be a completely different player the way he plays as a forward.

Great game. Did he give away 3 fifties? I'm mean this is McGuane.. unlucky to get pinged for any but if someone is going to give one away its him.

Work on this side of things( haven't seen a head high tackle for 2 games ) so it can be done and we have a player that can do a job and won't let us down in the crunch.

At some stage I'd like to see if Edwards can do a McGuane. Apparently he's a dead eye dick but doesn't have the pace of McGuane.

Great game. Did he give away 3 fifties? I'm mean this is McGuane.. unlucky to get pinged for any but if someone is going to give one away its him.

Work on this side of things( haven't seen a head high tackle for 2 games ) so it can be done and we have a player that can do a job and won't let us down in the crunch.

At some stage I'd like to see if Edwards can do a McGuane. Apparently he's a dead eye dick but doesn't have the pace of McGuane.
Edwards is a sensational set shot and is a lead mark type but really they are polar opposites.
I don't see Edwards playing much footy for us if any at all fingers crossed we all stay fit and in form.
He is an insurance policy now basically.

Yes we want players we don't rate to fail. The favourite fallback accusation of some around here that only underlines their twisted & simplistic rationale and inabilty to accept any oppossing view.

But then we're just "idiots" because instead of declaring him a star & Coleman Medal favourite, best third fwd in the comp or even too good to be a third fwd (LMAO) after his first ever string of 3 half-decent games in a row in 9 year career against one mediocre side, one crap side full of kids and another that, although quality on paper, has yet to win a game and conceded 100 points in every game so far, we prefer to just acknowledge he's played well but provide a perfectly reasonable & logical caveat and suggest we wait and see if he peforms when the whips are really cracking and the opposition is of a higher quality, something he has NEVER done yet, before making outlandish declarations. I mean how dare we think he should prove himself in the hard slog, perhaps when we're missing a few through injury and in the middle of a tough run, when he's apparently already done enough 3 games into a 22-match season.

See you've done it again... you've have dismissed his 9 games last season and his pre-season. This is his 12th game upforward.
Now you are turing your attention to how poor the oppostition is ........ Looking forwward to "he only plays well against teams below him" ....lol. That might be his only option soon :) and he is having a huge influence in our current form and also the form of JR.

Mcguane was well on the way to becoming a decent Backman but with the poor development this club showed under Frawley and TW and Dimma's reluctance to play him before Rance, Astbury, Grimes and Post its a credit to him he was able to hang on to his spot. Those at the club now obviously knew his strengths and kept him.

The wips have been cracking every game Luke plays.... because one failure will see your camp on his back trumpting the Mchack line again.

One of the other important strengths of Luke is his durability ..... which is a strength that will is becoming more and more important.

Hey THE_GUN did you read that? LMAO

And they want him to fail because if he doesn't he'll prove them wrong :eek: which is just impossible to accept.

Hey, I too used to bag him as a defender, but he has shown in his last 12 games a capability I didn't know he had. He's played ripper footy....and against the same opposition that JR and TV played against, arguably outperforming those two over the 3 games.

So cut the hysteria boys and celebrate the wins and those who contributed to them.

See you've done it again... you've have dismissed his 9 games last season and his pre-season. This is his 12th game upforward.
Now you are turing your attention to how poor the oppostition is ........ Looking forwward to "he only plays well against teams below him" ....lol. That might be his only option soon :) and he is having a huge influence in our current form and also the form of JR.

It's's entirely relevent who plays well against & when. If you think it isn't stick to following Auskick where everyone gets an unconditional pat on the back. And I do discount his 9 games last year because they were mostly shit and he went missing when we really needed him. Don't care how many he's played forward -it was his eighth year at AFL level - he's not a kid that needs to mollycoddled.

Mcguane was well on the way to becoming a decent Backman but with the poor development this club showed under Frawley and TW and Dimma's reluctance to play him before Rance, Astbury, Grimes and Post its a credit to him he was able to hang on to his spot. Those at the club now obviously knew his strengths and kept him.

LMAO - now you're just making shit up - no he wasn't.

The wips have been cracking every game Luke plays.... because one failure will see your camp on his back trumpting the Mchack line again.

One of the other important strengths of Luke is his durability ..... which is a strength that will is becoming more and more important.

What a load of crap - all we did was acknowledge he played well but added that we should wait and see if he puts together a consistent season for the first time in 9 years before start declaring him the greatest thing since sliced bread and you and few others start squealing like offended little bitches and carry on like we came out and said he's still shit should be immediately delisted.

And they want him to fail because if he doesn't he'll prove them wrong :eek: which is just impossible to accept.

Detecting sarcasm not your strong suit eh? Despite the very next sentence making it blatantly obvious,(and which you've once again proven with your reaction) I nonetheless apologize for the lack of a helpful emoticon.:rolleyes:

Starting to become a real weapon for us. Marking going from strength to strength, working well with Jack and kicking straight.
Seems alot more at home in the forward line as time goes on, not making the same mistakes the backline forced upon him.
Still more time is needed to see him vs the better teams but Im starting to believe!

Detecting sarcasm not your strong suit eh? Despite the very next sentence making it blatantly obvious,(and which you've once again proven with your reaction) I nonetheless apologize for the lack of a helpful emoticon.:rolleyes:

Well I thought it might have been sarcastic but then the rest of your diatribe was totally negative so I assumed you weren't.
You can't have it both ways.

And cut out the straw man arguments. I'm not suggesting anything of that, I'm just saying he's playing ripper footy...and it's not just clowns like me on BF either. Ask his coach, ask Jack R, ask anyone who's been watching the game without some historical bias against the bloke.

So courageous and hard working, we've fallen in love with him this year. When he was in the 2nds last season, we were sitting a few rows from him with a few other Coburgers and their girlfriends. My youngest daughter went up and said hi and he introduced himself and the two ladies next to him. Made her day and he's her favourite Tiger now along with Dusty. We exchange high fives several times a game now at his play.

That mark he took when he got pushed into the fence was brilliant. He was thinking ball first and worry about the fence later. And I reckon he did get pushed. Had a good view it from level 3 and looked a clear shove that should have been 50. On the replay today, it didn't look as bad (the commentators attributed it to 'momentum') but my first impression stands.

Well I thought it might have been sarcastic but then the rest of your diatribe was totally negative so I assumed you weren't.
You can't have it both ways.

And cut out the straw man arguments. I'm not suggesting anything of that, I'm just saying he's playing ripper footy...and it's not just clowns like me on BF either. Ask his coach, ask Jack R, ask anyone who's been watching the game without some historical bias against the bloke.
Now i understand why you have used your own picture in your Avatar :rolleyes:

Hey, I too used to bag him as a defender, but he has shown in his last 12 games a capability I didn't know he had. He's played ripper footy....and against the same opposition that JR and TV played against, arguably outperforming those two over the 3 games.

So cut the hysteria boys and celebrate the wins and those who contributed to them.

I normally wouldnt respond to this post but seeing as you have actually directed it at me -
I really believe that you are either delusional or dont have the ability to comprehend sarcasm

But what i can suggest is copy the post, keep it in your pocket and read it 20-30 times a day then come back and explain to us what you got from that - Or just dont bother coming back

Well I could be delusional and my ability to comprehend sarcasm might be below par...could you just be straight with me then?
Cos I thought you two, THE_GUN and Harmichael, thought McGuane was a dud and should be delisted. Is that right...or not?

And is your last sentence sarcastic? Cos if I don't copy your post (or is it my post) am I not allowed back?
I sort of enjoy the banter...come on guys...

Haters can hate all they want, the facts still stand.

Much improved player is Luke and hardly surprising as he is now playing his correct position.

Positives,

Unpredictable if not a little erratic, but atleast he isnt just a meat and potatoes 3rd tall.
Has above average hands, possibly at the top end of the scale for forwards especially 3rd talls
Forward pressure for a 3rd tall is above average and in the top bracket
Set shots average to good
Hard as a cats head
Exceptional work rate for a 3rd tall
Crashes packs like a KPF
Courageous

Negatives

Above average mistakes per game
Gives away too many frees

Hmmmmmmmmm hard decision this one :confused:

Well I could be delusional and my ability to comprehend sarcasm might be below par...could you just be straight with me then?
Cos I thought you two, THE_GUN and Harmichael, thought McGuane was a dud and should be delisted. Is that right...or not?

And is your last sentence sarcastic? Cos if I don't copy your post (or is it my post) am I not allowed back?
I sort of enjoy the banter...come on guys...

What you need to understand is this - I am a mad Richmond supporter and support the mighty tigers unconditionally and only want the best for my team.

I dont hate Luke McGuane but dont believe he is the fantastic new foward that all are making him out to be as i have watched luke for most of his richmond career and just see so many things wrong with his game - BUT the last 3 weeks he has been good and playing his role well
In saying that , Its not all just luke's doing he has 2 very very good fowards that are taking the best 2 backman in the oppositions side's which to me they have been just average sides with very average 3rd backs

We/I dont want Luke to fail and hope he continue's playing against the better sides the way he has against the weaker sides but i will not give him accolades of being a GUN when all he has done so far is only whats expected against crap teams

Trust me if Luke McGuane kicks 50-60 goals this year and makes us a better team without the McFumbles that are so ingrained in his game - I would be more than happy to give him another year on his contract

But within 1-2 years we are going to have better skilled players that will take his spot that are bigger/faster/smarter than luke McGuane .... McBean , Elton , Griffiths , O'Hanlon are all upgrades on McGuane

We Dont Want Any Richmond Player To Fail

The way he's going the stats would say 50 goals at the end of the regular season.

Given he'll have his ups and downs like most players, I would say anywhere between 30 and 40 (40 being very exceptional) would be excellent on his behalf. I think he can do it. Always liked him as a human being and now that he is finding his groove as a player have even more reason to like him now.

Mc_Gun needs to kick 50-60 goals a season now to prove his value to the side...
The goal posts keep being changed for Lukey by his distractors...so much and so regularly...
Mc_Gun will be lucky to kick any score soon....:p:D...

He's there to provide pressure and another strong body to stretch the defense. Does that well and gets a few goals as well. Doesn't have to think as hard and has learnt a lot as a defender. He's mobile, hard and strong.

I reckon a good B grade player. Who gets to look better because he gets the no. 3 defender. Guys like him get premiership medals, good depth.