Universal Love Mackay to Retire

Heard DMac speak on 5AA earlier today. He was honest in his self-assessment that he “probably didn’t have the right body for an AFL footballer”, but “I worked very hard to make it (as a player)”. For all his shortcomings, DMac is a role model for those doing the hard yards to live their dream.

Also, can’t fault his attitude on-field. He often gets bumped, knocked and ragdolled, but never quits getting back up and attacks it like no tomorrow! Pound for pound, likely to be no better inspiration on a footy field in terms of courage, attitude and application to get the most out of his scrawny body!!!

Thanks for the club service DMac! :hearts:

Anyone seen the video of McKay telling the group of his retirement, I feared up..when he said something along the lines of

“when you’re doing the lap of the ‘G with the cup, no one will be more proud than me”

Got me.

That got me too, I just burst into tears

Copped the brunt of poor coaching decisions. Could never doubt his effort or off field leadership.

Congrats on the career.

Thanks DMac. A loyal servant of the club, who always gave his all.

And thank you for hanging up the boots and saving the club from itself.

(Was I the only one who had no idea he had THREE kids? I thought it was just the one)
Woohoo three future Mackays. Father Sons/daughter! [emoji41]

You're all flogs. Every club has their whipping boy and most of you chose the wrong bloke.

Best of luck mate and enjoy your new role in development next year.

you're a bit of a w***er aren't you mate?

Everyone here is saying largely nice things and you come in and act like an ass.

One of the bravest guys to pull on a Crows jumper. Chucked around every game and never gave up. Had 15 years in the gym and left the club the same size he joined it.

For an excellent kick, he struggled to hit a target and couldn't kick a set shot to save his life. Had pace, clean hands and a high work rate but couldn't accumulate. A bit of an enigma. Congratulations DMac on 248 games. I'll never forget that goal in 2009.

One of the bravest guys to pull on a Crows jumper. Chucked around every game and never gave up. Had 15 years in the gym and left the club the same size he joined it.

For an excellent kick, he struggled to hit a target and couldn't kick a set shot to save his life. Had pace, clean hands and a high work rate but couldn't accumulate. A bit of an enigma. Congratulations DMac on 248 games. I'll never forget that goal in 2009.
What a fantastic part of the club he is/was .. quality player ... 248 games and earnt everyone of them .. he epitomises what all the pre draft kids aim for .. the pile ons are very tedious and just diminish the footy club's standing .. if you can't respect your quality I have no idea what you think of our/your ?? club .. Great culture is built on people like DMac .. as you were .........

Had a discussion relating to twitter and facebook comments with a mate. He asked what the world would lose if all comments were banned from all social media platforms. Have to say I agree. The World would be a better place.
I've been off social media for about 4 months now and haven't missed it a bit. The only downside is most places post on Facebook now so you can miss out on hearing about upcoming events.

Congrats to dmac but let's be honest here. We should have traded him to Melbourne when we had a chance. He never lived up to expectations... I remember when dmac vince and vb started and people were excited with the 3 blondes.. vince was the only to reach expectations albeit only 1 season.

Next in line whipping boy ... Ned
nup… ned will be a far better player than DMAC.

next in line is murphy i’m afraid.. has his ups and downs does murph, but they are mostly downs.

has been ****n terrible since coming back from his ankle inj… pretty much provided absolutely nothing. DMAC has played better than him as a small forward.. let that sink in!..

nup… ned will be a far better player than DMAC.

next in line is murphy i’m afraid.. has his ups and downs does murph, but they are mostly downs.

has been fu**n terrible since coming back from his ankle inj… pretty much provided absolutely nothing. DMAC has played better than him as a small forward.. let that sink in!..

Kelly, Murphy then anyone who is unfortunate enough to be an outside midfielder.

I liked the bit "when the boys do get to do a lap around the G with the cup, no one will be prouder than me"

Gets the emotions going.

Our clubs owes it to its former players and dedicated supporters to win another one soon.

Time to bring "football home".

Personally, David has been the lightning rod for the lack of talent on our list. I look at him and think how the hell is he going to help us win a flag, because I want to win? So it's not personal. That's sport. Murphy will be next. A dude in a talent role (small forward) that can't kick. F**k me. Kelly is up there too. And I ask all the bog average player lovers......do you think we would be a better list with old mate Kyle still playing for us?

I noticed in his presser that they said the other players had been egging on Dmac to get on social media as he steers clear of that sort of thing (which is smart btw). I wonder if this is a reference to BigFooty. By all reports Dmac is well liked in the Crows Facebook community but he's been somewhat of a whipping boy on here the last few years.

Somewhat ?!?!

It's a tough gig really, players are all encouraged when they're drafted to hit social media to be more accessible to fans. But it does come with its issues.

The club was keen to go again DMac reveals

Mackay did have a one-year offer on the table from the Crows to go around again in 2022, but opted to call time for various reasons.

He simply says the time is right to bow out now.

“I was in talks with the club about potentially going on again next year,” he said.

“I suppose I’ve been thinking about it a fair bit towards the back end of this year. It’s really hard to explain. It’s just a gut-feel that I got that it was the right time.

The club was keen to go again DMac reveals

Mackay did have a one-year offer on the table from the Crows to go around again in 2022, but opted to call time for various reasons.

He simply says the time is right to bow out now.

“I was in talks with the club about potentially going on again next year,” he said.

“I suppose I’ve been thinking about it a fair bit towards the back end of this year. It’s really hard to explain. It’s just a gut-feel that I got that it was the right time.
If that is the case then thank you David for doing the right thing and saving the club from itself.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app