Malthouse Megathread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lockyer24

I hate knowing Carlton has improved immensely. While I wonder what direction collingwood will be going....

Ah **** it, I suppose I should be used to Carlton ****ing us over by now

The funniest thing in all of this is that mm is being played. He might end up with the job but the primary target has always been Paul Roos. I know that for 100% fact. Wish I could say how I know but mathieson and Pratt want Roos. They are still trying but his kids hsc is the issue.
I bet you Scott wasn't Geelongs number 1 option at the time either

Pretty much automatic Round 1 opening match I'd say.

I've kinda grown accustomed to our round one beatings of Richmond. Not sure I want to give that up tbh :D

How good would the scene be though - round 3, both teams unbeaten (reasonably easily manufactured with the AFL fixture), appetites have been whet, Eddie mouthing off as he does, Sticks biting back telling him to pull his head in, both club's ferals frothing at the mouth, huge crowd. Seriously, it's been a while and footy just doesn't get any better than that for me (provided the Blues would win of course)

Mick you are a scumbag now and we all know what your driving force is - to hurt the club which gave you unlimited resources, the best facilities, the best assistants, the best support, the best everything! You gave us just one premiership and few gf loses ...

Fair suck of the sav. It just happened to be only your second flag in half a century mate. You act like you'd been having them every 5 years up to that point. Hate the guy now he's at Carlton, hate the guy for how he left Collingwood, whatever; but give him his credit. He got you a prize that only one other bloke in the last 50 years has given your club, and that bloke will go down as one of the greatest coaches of the modern era.

I've kinda grown accustomed to our round one beatings of Richmond. Not sure I want to give that up. LOL

How good would the scene be though - round 3, both teams unbeaten (reasonably easily manufactured with the AFL fixture), appetites have been whet, Eddie mouthing off as he does, Sticks biting back telling him to pull his head in, both club's ferals frothing at the mouth, huge crowd. Seriously, it's been a while and footy just doesn't get any better than that for me (provided the Blues would win of course :D)

I still think it would be the best way to open the season.

Couldn't get a bigger opening if you tried. AFL will always look to the opportunity for bigger dollars, and bigger promotion.

The Carlton/Richmond thing is played out now. Had the Tiges got up this year, it may have been different. But the same way the Sydney Collingwood Bye game disappeared due to us beating Sydney every time, I reckon the Carlton/Richmond one will go too for the same reason.

I still think it would be the best way to open the season.

Couldn't get a bigger opening if you tried. AFL will always look to the opportunity for bigger dollars, and bigger promotion.

Yeah. You could be right. I just kinda like the idea of a bit of AFL manufactured drama over the first few rounds to build it up. Can't really argue with what you're saying though. Either way, chances are it's gonna be huge!

Make sure when we're on the Bay though, that we hate each other's guts though right?

Need to keep up appearances.

being paid out by the pratts.

The Carlton way needing handouts to get this once proud club back on top when will this once powerful club actually support themselves

I am so glad Collingwood have done it all without the help of rich supporters to bail them out

Love how Ratts now stating Bluebirds shouldn't change their expectation of reaching top 4. Correct, even moreso now that they have landed the Messiah. Fait accompli now, surely.

Carlton's offseason plans 2012

1. Mick
2. Judd
3. ?
4. PROFIT

Eddie will come to regret handing over the reigns of a premiership winning, peaking team to a first year coach. No matter how good of a coach Bucks will become, his inexperience has really showed this season. The succession plan will cost your club a flag.

I think carltoon will regret mick coming. The guy is a very good coach. But don't be fooled. It took him 12 years, the best of everything Eddie could get for him, and a far superior list to yours to get us that elusive flag... While he will make ur mob competitive he ain't no jock mchale. By the way, mick cost us a flag last year already.

It already won us a flag.

Mick then cost us a flag the year after. He also cost us at least 2 before 2010. Either through dumb recruiting or mistakes made at the selection table.

I can equally claim that we won in 2010 despite Malthouse and that he actually cost us a flag last year.
Truth is, neither of us, or anyone else, will ever know.

I dont claim to be a spelling or grammar king, but that was borderline illiterate. I will, thanks. Enjoy going out in straight sets. :)

Enjoy watching Carlton against...... Well, enjoy watching the mick press conference over and over.

I dont claim to be a spelling or grammar king, but that was borderline illiterate. I will, thanks. Enjoy going out in straight sets. :)

Please help me understand. You post in the Collingwood forums teasing us for:

1. Making the finals
2. Going out in straight sets

I'm trying to work out how your club has made the finals, and won a game, without me noticing. If that hasn't happened I'm not sure you have much of leg to stand on.

Malthouse is the right man for your club, he helped us when we were at your level i.e. rock bottom.

Enjoy watching Carlton against...... Well, enjoy watching the mick press conference over and over.
I'm just pumped to see him serve it up to the major media muppets again. Mark Robinson, Damian Barrett and Tony Jones have all felt his wrath, apparently. Keen. :thumbsu:

How awkward for you to lose to a team at 'rock bottom'... twice... in one season.

Yep it's a properly s**t year if we lose to your rabble.

Somehow we still ended up in the top four which goes on record as us finishing above your lot. Which is kind of normal these days huh?

EDIT: Peace! :)