Matt White

Been very very impressive in the last 2 weeks in that backline. Next year I say leave Whitey in the backline replacing Raines, and put Raines in the middle. If playing in the middle means Raines can notch up the most possessions and kick big goals from outside 50 every week, it can't hurt moving him out of the backline :D

I like whitey playin out of the backline. Has lots of pace and backs himself to run and carry the ball up the field. Plays on the oppositions small crumbers and has done well. Agree that raines should definately be played in the midfield next year, but he is fantastic down back!
Keep it up! :thumbsu:

Nah I really like the Hartburger, will be a handy player next year. We've got the skinny guys like White, Thursfield, Newman and Kellaway. Wont hurt to have someone with a bit of weight about him.

tomthetiger said:
Nah I really like the Hartburger, will be a handy player next year. We've got the skinny guys like White, Thursfield, Newman and Kellaway. Wont hurt to have someone with a bit of weight about him.

theres only so many small backs you can playi n a team...with Howat and now White consolidating spots, Newy to return and the wraps on casserley and Jon...where the heck does Hartigan fit in...i dont mind him, but if we are to be enterprising at trade time then maybe he's the one

Bojangles17 said:
theres only so many small backs you can playi n a team...with Howat and now White consolidating spots, Newy to return and the wraps on casserley and Jon...where the heck does Hartigan fit in...i dont mind him, but if we are to be enterprising at trade time then maybe he's the one
Nah mate, Chaffey doesnt have much longer, Raines and maybe Newman will move to the midfield, and Ray Hall wont pressure for a place in the side for mcuh longer either, especially with sides only playing two tall forwards.

Theres plenty a space for Harty. The wraps on Casserly arent huge and JON is skinny so is going to take a while, although best of luck to them both, I hope they become awesome. I reckon harty is a proven performer, but injureis have held him back a bit.

tomthetiger said:
Been very very impressive in the last 2 weeks in that backline. Next year I say leave Whitey in the backline replacing Raines, and put Raines in the middle. If playing in the middle means Raines can notch up the most possessions and kick big goals from outside 50 every week, it can't hurt moving him out of the backline :D

:) GOOD post and right on the money. If there was any doubt where Rainesy should be lining-up next season, that last quarter goal put any doubts to rest. Has the capabilities to be a high-possession winning centreman, who kicks bags of four and five goals.:)

Whitey had his initial 2 year contract extended by one year today and will see him remain at Tigerland until at least the end of 2008.

Why does everyone want backmen to move into the middle???
The same thing happened to Brent Hartigan Last year and this year and he has pretty much ruined his chances of playing footy for a while at least, where did Hartigan get his rising star nomination? Playing in the backline.

Where has Rainsey played awesome this year? IN THE BACKLINE.
So leave him there dont move him in the middle thats why we drafted so many midfielders in the past few years.
So they could play there not our defenders.

I've rated this kid since I saw him @ U18 level. He had an injury prone season but when he did play he was outstanding. Then I remember the Intra-Club match @ Vic Park when he got cleaned up big time, got up and keep going - and played well for the rest of the game. Earn my respect that day.

Alot of ticker and grunt. (+ pace!)

Matt White
Details:
Club: Sunbury/Calder Cannons
DOB: 15 April 1987 Hgt: 178cm Wgt: 74kg
Position: Midfield
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
Vic Metro U16 2003
Victorian Screening 2004
Victorian Screening 2005

Articles:
Marathon man Matt fires the Cannons - Herald Sun June 11th 2005

Statistics:
2004 TAC Cup: 16 games, 5 goals, 10.8 PPG
2005 TAC Cup: 15 games, 7 goals, average 19.1 PPG, 9 times in best (:cool: )

Awards:
TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 11 votes
TAC Cup Coaches Award: 16 votes

Background:
Made his TAC Cup debut back in 2003 as a 16 year old for the Calder Cannons and also represented Vic Metro U16 in the same year. In his 17 year old season at the Cannons he played 16 matches and was looked at in Victorian State Screening but passed on in the draft. A bad run with injuries this season saw him miss vital finals matches and also miss the Under-18 championships. His explosive pace is by far his greatest attribute, and he is more than capable around stoppages.

Strengths:
- Pace – line breaker/ball carrier
- Good in close/stoppages
- Strong endurance runner
- Good 1%ers

Weaknesses:
- Missed a lot of footy with injury this year
- Can be hit and miss with his disposal by foot
- He doesn’t take many marks – average 1.7 per game in 2004 and 2.7 per game in 2005

Footydraft.com comment:
Has played some terrific footy, but the consistency has not been there this year due to injury problems. It was also a bit surprising to see him only be nominated for screening. Given those two factors, he might slip down the draft order a bit. Could go as early as mid to late second round or slip right down into the 50s but it would be a surprise to see him miss being drafted.

http://www.footydraft.com/players.php?player=matt_white

Good footballer. Good prospect - great pick up in the PSD :thumbsu:

mini_me316 said:
Why does everyone want backmen to move into the middle???
The same thing happened to Brent Hartigan Last year and this year and he has pretty much ruined his chances of playing footy for a while at least, where did Hartigan get his rising star nomination? Playing in the backline.

Where has Rainsey played awesome this year? IN THE BACKLINE.
So leave him there dont move him in the middle thats why we drafted so many midfielders in the past few years.
So they could play there not our defenders.

Fair point.

On radio this arvo they were talking about Hodge being a great player - but being more effective off a HBF in the Joel Bowden role because he can control the game more.

HBF/backline general is now the new midfeilder more or less. Its where attacks start from (lots and lots of run in the modern game) and where you set up play - the quarterback.

Remember Deledio + Pat Bowden in the 1st 1/2 vs the Lions?

Its not the worst thing for young Raines to stay on a HBF/back pocket and continue to inprove.

:)