Matthew Lloyd on Open Mike

Statistically, his 2007 and 2008 were very similar to his 2005 (so pre-injury), in fact ever so slightly better (more possessions and 62 x 2 against 59 goals in 2005).

He lost the explosive pace post-hamstring injury. But to borrow your phrase yaco, continue to re-write history and claim he was ineffective post-injury if you wish, but you'd be wrong.

No he never regained the form of 1999-2004, but then he hadn't a season like that in 2005 either. He was playing in an inferior team by 2005 and that has every bit as much to do with his figures going down as his injury. He could have played on 2010, he was still good enough- unlike Lucas, who unfortunately hit the end very quickly.

Agree with all of this except that '05 was a bit of an anomaly because he came back way too early from a broken arm.

No hammy and he could have kicked 1100+. Sigh.

Agree with all of this except that '05 was a bit of an anomaly because he came back way too early from a broken arm.

No hammy and he could have kicked 1100+. Sigh.
This is in no way a negative response to your post but it doesn't seem like Lloyd is too dissappointed about anything much. He seems to have developed a remarkable ability to accept things (pretty much anything that happened in his career) and move on in a pragmatic way. I found the interview fascinating from that point of view.

im pretty sure John Barnes did one too but i cant find it anywhere...

i reckon he is well over due on a few people, they must be holding out. Terry Daniher, Michael long, Mark Harvey - James hird would be a big one. Derek Kickett

Anyone else?

Zantuck

This is in no way a negative response to you post but it doesn't seem like Lloyd is too dissapointed about anything much. He seems to have developed a remarkable ability to accept things (pretty much anything that happened in his career) and move on in a pragmatic way. I found the interview fascinating from that point of view.

Yeah he's really impressive. I found myself wanting him to defend himself a bit more re playing for free kicks and the way Knights treated him, but I'm glad for his sake he's not bitter (like me!).

Yep, thought mike didn't spend enough time singing his praises as an all time great. Too much time spent on media career.

Yeah it's too hard a top 10.

Roger, Foulds, Bomber, Nobby Clarke, Daisy, Vanders, GO'D...the list goes on and on.

But Timmy and Mercuri are the two that pull my heart strings the most.

Magicians.

You forget how highly rated Kevin Sheedy held Shane Heard. Kept Dipper very quiet in the 84 GF. Those two used to just punch on whenever they met. Shane might not have been tall, but damn he was a hard as a pitbulls head. So tough.

I love Lloydy...

My first introduction to him was after I had been away working and internet and mobile tec was in its infancy, so not much access to AFL at the time ... After getting back home and finally catching a game at the local, a passer by made a comment to us about Lloydy being a skinny dude that was easy to move off the ball after a contest and probably a dud to which my buddy came over the top saying he is only 19 years old mate, you wait until he bulks up, he will kick bags. The punter smiled and said he's to soft!!! LOL...

Never forgot that convo and how it dialed me into his career... :D

Still my favourite Essendon player, but I feel like Heppell may eventually overtake him once his career finishes.

My first game of football that I ever attended live was round three, 1999. Lloydy kicked thirteen that day and I was just completely amazed and enthralled that one player could be that dominant. He did everything that afternoon - Sydney triple-teamed him at times and he'd still pull down contested pack marks. Unbelievable player in his prime.

As for the interview, it was a good watch but I already bought his book a few years back and it goes over all of this stuff in a lot more depth and detail. Highly recommend it for those who are avid readers.

You forget how highly rated Kevin Sheedy held Shane Heard. Kept Dipper very quiet in the 84 GF. Those two used to just punch on whenever they met. Shane might not have been tall, but damn he was a hard as a pitbulls head. So tough.

Shane is under the banner of ' and so many more'..Heard, Duckworth, Weston, Hawker, Walshy..I love em all.

And yes, Shane Heard's epic shutdown of dipper in that gf helped us eventually get on top of them.
Dipper had to express his frustration of Heard's close checking by putting a gutless elbow into Kevin Walsh's jaw.

Which in turn only fired the boys up even more to bury them.

Love ya Shane :)

Saying Knights put him out of the game is rubbish. The era of stay at home forwards had finished and he was really struggling to get through the training load needed. I saw a lot of training at the time and he was at the end of the road. He could no longer kick as far as he could and sides where running players off him at full back. He was a super star but it was his time even though he may have had another year in him. Better to go out while you can still play some ok footy than hang around until you can not be picked.

I know this is not the Knights thread and i agree 100% he had to be sacked but he was not as bad as people say and his record at Geelong shows that, won a VFL GF and now a senior assistant there. Maybe if the club had been wise enough to put a few experienced heads around him rather than a team of rookie assistants and only GOD in senior role things may have been different. 1 very good senior assistant and an experienced head of football may have made all the difference.
Yes he unraveled in the end but i think a lot had to do with the poor support and lack of budget we gave him.

Statistically, his 2007 and 2008 were very similar to his 2005 (so pre-injury), in fact ever so slightly better (more possessions and 62 x 2 against 59 goals in 2005).

He lost the explosive pace post-hamstring injury. But to borrow your phrase yaco, continue to re-write history and claim he was ineffective post-injury if you wish, but you'd be wrong.

No he never regained the form of 1999-2004, but then he hadn't a season like that in 2005 either. He was playing in an inferior team by 2005 and that has every bit as much to do with his figures going down as his injury. He could have played on 2010, he was still good enough- unlike Lucas, who unfortunately hit the end very quickly.

'Not the same player' and 'ineffective' are two different terms - Lloyd struggled big time in 2009 and he made a wise decision to retire at the end of the 2009 season - Lloyd should be proud of the spirit he showed in the final game of 2009 - Finally, Ant's post earlier is a an excellent summary of Lloyd's last two years.

An excellent summary of his 2009. Not his 2008.

Yeah. Good interview. Mike is the best football journalist in the business.
Maybe now that he's not AFL House's designated head assassin (remember his hatchet jobs on Fitzroy for years?), he's got a better stake on the claim.

In all honestly, I can't remember the hatchet job on Fitzroy. I guess I am thinking more about the position he occupies now. He brings something unique and his thoughtful, measured approach means that his interviews are generally great viewing. His Jacko interview was compelling viewing and most of the others over the years have been quite absorbing.

Matthew Lloyd on Open Mike