Maxwell faces 3 weeks

• Thread starter Thread starter donnie5

The AFL are a joke. Should have got off.
Setantrum in the meantime gets 4 for his king hits and kick. Go figure. Still, he won't have the onfield blues at Carlton again. Contract will be torn up.

Tough, but he would know that high contact carries a higher penalty

Doesnt matter if it was an accident or not he still did it. You cant get off anything by saying "you didnt mean it" otherwise half of our criminals would be laughing

He screwed up the way he didnt it and he will be penalised

I think something that is being left out in these arguements is McGinity's duty of care. He handballed the ball in front of himself to run onto it and had little or no awareness. I understand protecting a players head but a player should still be expected to show awareness and not just put his head into danger. It's not like he was camped over it picking it up in space and Maxwell came on a tear. It was fair and in play with accidental contact to the head.

Absolute ****ing crap, especially the high-impact part of it.

Does high-impact only come into play because Maxwell hit his jaw? Or, if Maxwell's bump was fair would he still cop a week for a high-impact hit? Are shepherd's supposed to be layed softly nowadays? If a player is reported for negligent high contact only then they're ****ing soft.

YOU'RE SUPPOSED TO HIT THE OTHER PLAYER HARD AA/DIMI YOU DUMB PIECES OF Sh!t.

I hope we challenge it. Apparently only the tip of Maxwell's shoulder hit McGinnity's chin. Corrie clearly applied a force to McGinnity mere split-seconds prior to the bump. If you're a troll and don't believe me, watch the McGinnity's speed change as he makes contact with Corrie. The question is, did Corrie apply enough force to move McGinnity's head into the line of Maxwell? Maybe, (probably not) but McGinnity and Corrie definentely made contact and caused a change in dynamics within the contest that there is no way in which Maxwell couldn't account for.

Also, Maxwell didn't follow through with major force in his action. This is shown by the extension of his arm throughout the bump coupled with the action of Maxwell's body after the interaction (Maxwell dropped down) and through McGinnity's head flying back. If McGinnity was hit with the full force of Maxwell's body he would have dropped straight down like a sack of shit a la Brett Kirk (look down)

[YOUTUBE]TzvW5J_1pCM&feature=related[/YOUTUBE]

I am dumbfounded by this. The only people that wanted a suspension on this website were trolls. It was almost unanimously accepted as a fair bump.

How disgraceful though was Mark Robinson. He suggested Maxy should have gotten 4-6. What a fat pig. When are you going to write your article about Lovett Robbo? The question will always linger over any semblence of credibility he has.

I am dumbfounded by this. The only people that wanted a suspension on this website were trolls. It was almost unanimously accepted as a fair bump.

How disgraceful though was Mark Robinson. He suggested Maxy should have gotten 4-6. What a fat pig. When are you going to write your article about Lovett Robbo? The question will always linger over any semblence of credibility he has.

Robbo lost all credibility to non essendon supporters a few years ago when after an anzac day match he said Bucks didnt hurt Essendon despite having 33 possessions.

I ignore everything he says, unless I want to read something for a laugh at how bias he is against Collingwood, Carlton and Richmond.

Let you feelings be known at the Club.

info@collingwoodfc.com.au

Anyone have any handy email addresses for the MRP and AFL?

I'd love to email the MRP and AFL.

What would it take to bring down Demetriou and Anderson? These punks are ruining our game.

Has there ever been a more unpopular AFL administration?

If only the AFL were a democracy!

Bollocks! I'd prefer him to be rubbed out for 8 weeks than to bend over and take this cr@p!! You won't see a fairer bump anywhere

I beg to differ. I want Maxi back as soon as possible. When was the last time a Collingwood player got off on appeal or even a downgraded sentence?

His feet didn't even leave the ground. I'm guessing that's the only angle of the hit they'd have access to, which makes it even more frustating.

I hope they challenge the decision not only for the team and Maxwell's sake but in the hope that it can encourage other players/coaches/media personalities to come out and defend Maxwell. If not, then this is a pretty big precedent to set.

Seems they haven't watched any contact sports in a while. If it wasn't a young kid that got injured it'd be okay as everyone said. I think some people in the AFL administation need to be sacked, this is rediculous.

Yes he didn't really need to do it a normal shephard may have sufficed but wouldn't you rather make sure your teammate has the ball with no pressure rather then possibility of losing the ball and being under pressure.

He acted within the rules of the game and may have contacted a bit high although they are roughly the same height and the bump was good.

Accidents really shouldn't go punished as they don't make anyone learn.

More players should be like maxwell, really.

:mad:
Here is the footage if you didn't see it or wanna a closer look
[youtube]hsf-qADsO3E[/youtube]
Sorry but it clearly shows it was an unnecessary and dirty act, especially since he hit him from behind another woods player giving him little chance to defend against the hit.
Deserves probably about 6 weeks or more and I hope he learns something from this.

maxwellhighbump2ay7.jpg

At the start of this thread I thought he was stiff for 3, but I think after watching the video a few more times and seeing some of the stills that he deserves minimum 3.

Nick Maxwell's effort in this contest was soft, took his eyes off the footy to clean up a bloke who had is eyes fixed on the footy. As a footballer that is weak, and deserves to bear the brunt of the MRP. He is not a great loss to your side...

put your head over the pill when it counts maxwell!

So Setanta knocks out his own team mate, and kicks him while he is down.. in a intra club game and gets 4 weeks.. and maxwell does a fairly legal bump, but resulting in a broken jaw, and receives 3... joke.

The only thing that would've stuffed maxwell up would've been he didn't really have eyes for the ball.

Setanta's penalty was lenient because he hit a bloke that 99.9% of the footballing world would love to hit.

It's a frickin joke.

These numbnuts who say that the ball was never his intention really don't have much of an idea about body positioning and blocking. Yes, he took out McGinty with a hip and shoulder but then immediately (as was his intention) goes straight at the spilled ball which is now free. I can't recall if he got it but he was certainly at the next contest for it.

It seems to me that any contact to the head was unintentional as he didn't jump in the air or raise his arms etc. It was at worst a slight miscalculation that can occur in a split second. It certainly wasn't thuggery.

It is clear to me that the only reason he has been wiped out is the injury. I'm a 100% sure that nothing would have come of this otherwise.

Collingwood should appeal this decision. Was a great hip and shoulder and showed the presence of the Collingwood skipper

The ball went out of bounds after the bump and I was watching thinking a little spot fire could start for getting a younger player, but not one West Coast player went up to him after, making me believe they all thought it was a good bump

3 weeks for a shirtfront in play, 4 weeks for two connecting punches to the head and a kick to the scrout of a prone man, all off the ball (except for the kick) - ridiculous.

Maxwell should have been cleared, O'hAilpen given 8.

Hope you make the NAB Grand Final, because Maxwell shouldn't miss a home and away game for this.

For that hip & shoulder to be even looked at is an absolute joke

Maxwell did nothing wrong, the hit was a beauty

I hope you guys challenge the ruling and win the case

Good luck blokes

heya guys... i reckon you guys were absolutely robbed... 3 weeks for the best, cleanly timed hip and shoulder i have seen in a while... the ball was within 5 meters, his elbow was tucked in... to think that this incident was even sighted is a joke... it just goes to show what vlad and his gimp (anderson) think about any physical contact in our game.... i feel for mcginnity, he is a good kid who i hope recovers quickly, but he would know the risks when playing AFL footy...... there are a few incidents i can remember that really piss me off... when fraser gherig gave a love tap to jason cloke's stomach and copped a week, that annoyed me, when michael johnson copped four weeks for lachlan hansen being tackled into his hip, that really annoyed me, and now this incident which has pushed me over the edge.... i just reckon that with all these rule changes and knee jerk reactions, vlad and the gimp are ruining the game..... i dont watch soccer for a reason, and im hating the fact that they are turning the greatest game in the world into a soft as butter sport like soccer.... collingwood HAVE to appeal this decision (if they havent already accepted it) otherwise we are going to see more and more of our players rubbed out for incidents of such a trivial nature.

im going to look at getting a petition going to send to the afl in opposition to the constant unnecessary rule changes and the demise of the fair hip and shoulder. because i have a feeling that there are more people out there who agree with me, than disagree....