McLean leaves Demons

Was disappointed when i first heard, but the more i thought about it mclean for pick 11 i wasn't upset. I think that is a bit over priced and obviously both parties are happy with the result.

We have Moloney Jones, possibly valenti as deepth. Realisticly Moloney Jones and Mclean couldn't lay in the same side.

Negatives we lose an experienced player at 23 with 94 games who was earmarked as future captain, so he means more than just a player.

Positives pick 11 should allow us to take a KPF which we need, it was uncertain if the best KPF's would last to pick 18. Should allow Grimes to spend more time in the midfield.

The draft as we all know is not going to be the strongest, but the top 20 will still be quality.

I am glad to see the staff, administartion and Dean Bailey take a tough stance, make the hard decisions to move players on for the benefit of the club (johnstone and carroll) only time will tell if this benefits MFC.

Baily is k.hunt and i like it, refuses to take lack of discpline off field makes the tough decison with senior players white, yze, robertson.

Deep breath people. McLean wanted out for what ever reason and we got a good deal for him. In fact we might have screwed Carlton by giving them what for them would be a 5th Mid to them for a first round pick for us, and they have no hope of getting another key forward this year. For us, though we have Jones and Moloney that do the same job and some other classy mids either on the list or coming through (knock wood).

We just have to have faith that the FD know what they are doing and I think they do. Every man and his dog wants to parrot that it is a shallow draft but how many have seen all of the top 30 live? And if they had for how many games? Watching one game or a couple of minutes Yew-Tube does not an expert make.

What I hope is that Brock plays 200 games but only as a servicable player while #1,#2,#11 and #18 go on to do the same but with more speed, class and goals each.

We are in for a hard couple of years but we knew that already so an extra 6 months or year getting another potential great at the side is worth it for mine.

Good post. Having slept on it the initial shock has worn off.

If you remove the emotion from it and look at it rationally- its probably a fair deal. On paper.

What can't be guaged though is what ramifications it will have on the playing group in terms of team spirit. I have faith having seen and heard the likes of Grimes, Watts etc (who are the future), that they are extraordinarinaly professional group for such a young age, and they will move onwards and upwards quickly.

This just rips at the heart of Melbourne and emotionally rocks... Looking at the pics of Stynes and Mcclean together after a win they seem the heart and soul of the club.

We can try to justify and it may even work out for the best but such a shock. Still, many members have been asking for the hard trades to be made to secure our future- it better work out.

Only way I'll be happy- Scully and trengrove + best available KPF at 11, best available Ruck/KFP 18.

And Davey Captain for 2011.

I'm with you mate,

Disappointed to see Brock go but hey I'll be a lot happier when i see these 2 running around in the red and blue.

We need to trust that the football club knows what they are doing. We won't be able to judge the overall winner of this trade for a few years but what I do know is that Carlton will initially be the winners.

If Brock has decent pre-season, Carlton will be rapt with the trade, but being Melbourne supporters we need to sit back and give #11, whoever it may be time to develop before making an informed decision.

It is now in BP hands?

What can't be guaged though is what ramifications it will have on the playing group in terms of team spirit. I have faith having seen and heard the likes of Grimes, Watts etc (who are the future), that they are extraordinarinaly professional group for such a young age, and they will move onwards and upwards quickly.

I'm not sure how true it is but I have heard that he rubbed some of them up the wrong way. We have to remember that he had a habit of doing stupid things off the field. Chook and Fev might just get along fine and I for one really hope they do. I could think of nothing better than getting #11 for a fella who causes problems at that *&#% of a team.

Apparently McLean's behaivour at the auction night 2 or 3 weeks ago was innapropriate and nothing short of unfunny. The bloke thinks he's a superstar but in reallity the game's passed him. He run's 20 seconds over 3.34 secons and can't kick. nEXT

Ok - that night has gone and i'm over it.

He wants to leave, no problem - we get compensation, we move on. Realistically, we will be attacking the flag in 4-5 years - and by that time he would have lost a little bit more in the legs.

That being said, I wouldn't cry if he tore his ass webbing from a proper Judd fisting.

Was McLean's decision. Scott Thompson, Trav Johnstone, Jolly etc etc. Why do we put a few years development into these guys and then they leave?
He had 10 years at Melbourne and you got rid of him because he was no good. You & Collingwood won that trade

Dissapointed in Mcleans decision.

Just makes me think that maybe there is something wrong down at the MFC.

Quite frankly I'd be more disappointed with McLean if I was you. If he's unable to see the direction the club is going and wants to jump ship to a team who's premiership window is going to be open sooner then that's his problem; not the clubs.

He's been pretty mediocre for the last two years; no wonder Bailey and the coaching staff moved him around a bit to try and find a place for him to be effective on the field. Unfortunately for Brock his best circle work wasnt in the center circle of the 'G, but in the car park of a private school.

As for him being offered less money, surely even he can see that to be rewarded with a better contract he actually has to perform on the field; which he hasn't done. Instead of use that as motivation to put in a really good preseason and earn himself a new contract he's jumped ship straight away.

To be honest rich - I read this as the team finally getting hard nosed about the way they do business. No more easy rides, more professionalism, less old school thinking.

Good calls from both of you.

It was just very un-expected, especially when he was touted as our next captain. Harrington said on the radio this morning that "there was no stopping Mclean, we couldn't change his mind" so I don't think it can be seen as a moral decision by the MFC. It's a stupid decision by Brock.

It just surprises me that a player like Brock couldn't see what direction we are heading in, clearly we are just starting to get alot of talented youngsters.

Was it the cash? Now that Nick Stevens is gone that would free up heaps of cash for the CFC.

Either way the fact that it was Mcleans decision just like it was Chris Johnsons decision, puts these to fools in the same boat!

BROCK MCLEAN & CHRIS JOHNSON can get FKD!!!

I hope we eliminate CFC out of a final, can't wait to see there faces.

I did not see this coming at all - I thought McLean was absolutely Melbourne through-and-through, future captain, etc. This has to be seen as a betrayal by him... but one wonders too what's gone on to make him take this decision. As others have said, he tipped cash into the Debt Demolition initiative and has always (from an outsider) looked like a "heart-and-soul" guy. So... what changed?

From a trade perspective, I've got no idea how this will play out. The best of Brock McLean would be an outstanding addition for the Blues, and well worth pick 11. Obviously the Blues think a window may be opening in a year or 2, and a strong-bodied inside-midfielder will have a very positive knock-on effect for the rest of the Blues' impressive midfield fleet.

The draft pick gives Melbourne 4 picks inside top 18, I think, which is extraordinary for a re-building team. The Dees will be stock-piling young talent like nobody else. And they're doing it in the right order, with young talls already in place, now load up on the best midfielders available. Nice.

For the Blues, it comes down to McLean's fitness - which is my big concern. He hasn't been right in a year or two... hmm. Will he be right ever again? I bloody hope so.

I don't know what to think, hopefully more of the story gets out. I'm sure of nothing more about this than that there's a whole lot more to it we'll probably never know. I guess this kind of makes my name redundant now.

Anyone else notice that Wellman's review on the MFC website now skips from McDonald straight to McNamara. The original is posted on this board somewhere

McLean and Pick 34 for Carlton's Pick 11 & 27 is the correct trade value.

That sounds about right to me we need to push them for whatever we get & this sounds fair.

I don't know what to think, hopefully more of the story gets out. I'm sure of nothing more about this than that there's a whole lot more to it we'll probably never know. I guess this kind of makes my name redundant now.

Anyone else notice that Wellman's review on the MFC website now skips from McDonald straight to McNamara. The original is posted on this board somewhere

If there was ever a time for the administrators to allow a change of name, I think they must allow this on compassionate grounds.

I'm devastated as well by the news, but think the pain will diminish once I see Scully and Trengove running around in the red and blue, delivering well-weighted passes to Wattsy and Jurrah, with Wonna crumbing at their feet. We'll be alright.:thumbsu:

Quite frankly I'd be more disappointed with McLean if I was you. If he's unable to see the direction the club is going and wants to jump ship to a team who's premiership window is going to be open sooner then that's his problem; not the clubs.

He's been pretty mediocre for the last two years; no wonder Bailey and the coaching staff moved him around a bit to try and find a place for him to be effective on the field. Unfortunately for Brock his best circle work wasnt in the center circle of the 'G, but in the car park of a private school.

As for him being offered less money, surely even he can see that to be rewarded with a better contract he actually has to perform on the field; which he hasn't done. Instead of use that as motivation to put in a really good preseason and earn himself a new contract he's jumped ship straight away.
Finished second in the Best and fairest when he only played until round14.

I reckon I could have finished second in the Bluey last year. This was a year when the overwhelming consensus was that Brad Green should have romped it in and somehow Cameron Bruce who'd been pretty decent but not great managed to win it with Green a distant third.

I'm not overly distraught by his descision, tbh. Like many have said, he's been fairly unremarkable for the last couple of years.

Losing a "hard body" will hurt us for next season I think, because we will likely be playing a lot of unblooded youngsters in our midfield, but the same thing happened to Geelong when they played Brisbane a few years back. I think they turned out okay...

I know a few of you would be upset by this (and we are about the same with gibson at north) But I rekon the footy depts know the right way they want to go and if they really think that brock doesnt fit with what they are trying to do then let him go . In any revival, major decisions have to be made by clubs and players alike and change means change. Hawthorn moved on a lot of thier people like everrit because they didnt represent the new "creed " your club has alot of good people in the footy dept I'd be trusting this is a good decision wether he goes and play good footy else where or what you cant look back ..march on have faith

Good on you for that posting Shinbones... yeah, I think you're pretty right there mate :thumbsu: