larrikan

University of Hawaii Rainbows
I am infuriated at the way media outlets such as the HS and SEN have been bashing Travis for two days. I was sitting 10 metres from the incident. How has journalism become so bad that they dispense of facts for a sensational story.
THE FACTS
King started the incident with unduly rough play on macaffer after the play. He continued to hold him down and Collingwood players flew the flag. Whilst Cloke was trying to drag him off, King let fly a punch and connected in full view of THE UMPIRE WHO WAS STANDING WATCHING 2 METRES AWAY.
Travis came out clutching his eye and as 9 out of 10 players would do - pointed to his face and spoke to the umpire, the umpire nodded in agreement.

RICHMOND IMMEDIATELY DRAGGED KING FROM THE GROUND as it was also in full view of both coaches boxes.

King ran off smiling and gloating to the crowd.

Clokes eye looked like he'd been in the ring.

Then behind the coaches boxes there was an incident that has been denied which is a lie.

Now, AFL rules state that the umpire is obliged to follow up after the game. Umpires have been doing this for a while instead of reporting on the field - it covers there butt too. Cloke can be cited for denying the incident AND looking at his eye it would be pretty hard for him not too.

Here is where I am so pissed off. Headlines "DOBBER - SQUEALER" etc. How can King be rubbed out on Clokes say so? SEN says. FFS, even the Richmond box saw what happened - come on, if I saw it...How did the coaches boxes not see it? How did the umpire not see it?

I am holding back on defamatory remarks about King. I was furious at his treatment of Macaffer that caused this. He is what he is. A talentless footballer who relies on other methods to get a game. It is unbelievable any supporter would applaud him off the ground. What was he smiling about? Why was he immediately dragged? Why were Collingwood supporters yelling at him?

It is my opinion based on what I have stated here that Richmond will accept the decision. But then again they are the club who has retorted one of their players was bitten. That is just gutter politics.

The media should stop bashing Travis Cloke who was clearly the victim in this incident. There is NO place in this game anymore for players like Jake King. Why didn't the back page read "Sniper King hits again" FFS report the facts.

Then behind the coaches boxes there was an incident that has been denied which is a lie.
The incident isnt denied, it has been reported as a major physical dust up. It wasnt physical just some choice words flung around, seeing as was the one that instigated it by calling king a dog i would know it.

The rest i agree with

It's pretty poor form from the papers etc., I certainly agree with you there.

I've got to admit, if I was playing AFL, I certainly wouldn't be observing a code of silence for someone who punched me during a game... a poorly-aimed but fairly-intended hip and shoulder would be a totally different thing.

It's pretty poor form from the papers etc., I certainly agree with you there.

I've got to admit, if I was playing AFL, I certainly wouldn't be observing a code of silence for someone who punched me during a game... a poorly-aimed but fairly-intended hip and shoulder would be a totally different thing.
On the code it depends TRS if its a usually fair player that has crossed the line in the heat of the moment then i might follow the code.

If its a player with prior history, that hardly has a clean record and habit of cheap shots especially against my club. No chance in hell

Richmond being so upset at Collingwood and Cloke over this is a perfect example of why they don't win too many games.

The club and their fans seem to think it would be nice if we were back in the 70's and 80's when players got to run around punching other players in the head when the umpires back was turned. They don't seem to realise that this game is not like that anymore, and anyone who conducts themselves like that will be penalised accordingly.

They need to join us in 2010, focusing less on winning fights, and more on winning football matches. The game has evolved, but they never do. Until they catch up, they will always be in the news sprouting off about rubbish like this, instead of on field victories.

The incident isnt denied, it has been reported as a major physical dust up. It wasnt physical just some choice words flung around, seeing as was the one that instigated it by calling king a dog i would know it.

The rest i agree with

Sorry Opti from the other thread i recognize your involvement. I was referring to SEN this morning strongly denying David Cloke was involved in the verbal altercation following the incident. Anyway, my main aim of this thread was to set the facts straight regarding the onfield incident. What really set me off after a day of Cloke bashing was David Swartz on SEN tonight calling Cloke a squealer and implied he instigated the investigation and there is no way King should get weeks. Lets not let a sensational headline get in the way of the facts!

If you punch a bloke in the face, you shouldn't expect any "code" to be upheld. When i play footy, i expect to be bumped, pushed, thrown to the ground, and if things get a bit heated, wrestled and perhaps jumper punched. And the at the end of the day you walk off and shake hands because it's all part of footy. What i don't expect is to be punched in the face so i have to leave the ground with a black eye. If anything, that sort of stuff breaks a code- the code of fair play.

If it were a regular game, we'd all be discussing what a low act it was, yet because it wasn't televised, suddenly Cloke is the bad guy? You'd think after the constant coverage of street violence in those same papers, they'd want to tow the line of "consequences for actions". Nah, let's pump up the antiquated macho rubbish of the "code" over honesty and actually being accountable for what you do.

On the code it depends TRS if its a usually fair player that has crossed the line in the heat of the moment then i might follow the code.

If its a player with prior history, that hardly has a clean record and habit of cheap shots especially against my club. No chance in hell

From my theory Opti, you are the the main instigator of this issue:thumbsu:

IMO, David Cloke would have been so incensed from the altercation he would've recommended Trav follow the issue up. THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH THIS. The off-field dust up wouldve played a major part in Trav's decision to take it further.

And as I was there, your comments kinda started the dust-up hahaha. All I can say is congrats :) Justice has been served and King is out! Good to know a member of BigFooty has helped the cause! (Or at least we can think so...)

Sorry Opti from the other thread i recognize your involvement. I was referring to SEN this morning strongly denying David Cloke was involved in the verbal altercation following the incident. Anyway, my main aim of this thread was to set the facts straight regarding the onfield incident. What really set me off after a day of Cloke bashing was David Swartz on SEN tonight calling Cloke a squealer and implied he instigated the investigation and there is no way King should get weeks. Lets not let a sensational headline get in the way of the facts!
No worries mate as I said i agree with all you say.

I just dont want OMG CLOKE KING FAMILY FIGHTS!!111 from numnuts who were not actually there. Especially considering it was myself and that caught the Kings attention and the Kings that escalated it

You simply have to learn to ignore a lot of what is written and spoken about our great club.

If anything, and I mean anything, happens at Collingwood, the media by habit are going to blow it completely out of proportion, and in most cases they will be critical of the Collingwood player/coach/staff involved.

I've simply given up whinging about how we are perceived and treated in the media, I instead prefer to control my opinions based on what I see and hear myself, and what the club wants to tell the public.

This is just another huge beat up, mainly because there are two largely unsupported teams in the NAB Cup GF and the media have nothing else to talk about, so they will ride this pony till it basically is sucked dry.

Hopefully Fev stuffs up again, then this Cloke crap will be pushed back to where it belongs, as idol chat amongst fans.

I think what the main issue is and not that I agree or know for sure is the MaGuane apparent biting incident. From what is reported he made referance to Cloke having bitten him in last years game but chose not to persue it. Thats what I see as Richmonds reason to gripe rightly or wrongly I dont care.

Excellent post larrikan, I was sickened also by the incident and the media's pathetic anti-Cloke ( probably more precisely anti-Collingwood) stance they took.

Opti, love your posts, however I find myself worrying about ur safety..you please be careful, we'd all miss you terribly you know!

At least it will make Pies v Richmond interesting when we 'clash', 'cause I don't have a high expectation that the scoreline will make it a very thrilling game.

From my theory Opti, you are the the main instigator of this issue:thumbsu:

IMO, David Cloke would have been so incensed from the altercation he would've recommended Trav follow the issue up. THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH THIS. The off-field dust up wouldve played a major part in Trav's decision to take it further.

And as I was there, your comments kinda started the dust-up hahaha. All I can say is congrats :) Justice has been served and King is out! Good to know a member of BigFooty has helped the cause! (Or at least we can think so...)
Very much so

I called king a dog mostly because the richmond supporters applauding him made me sick and i wanted him to know what an opposition supporter thinks of him. His brothers then promised to belt me and any other collingwood supporter in sight, i laughed and told them to settle its a practice match. They continued their we'll get ya i continued watching the game.

David Cloke walked up up behind him said something like "dont worry ill handle this" then told the king family to STFu which caused King's dad to say something about Travis. Which made David fume, at which stage the siren went i stood, Cloke let a few choice words fly and we all walked off.

I have no doubt what the King family said about travis (i wont repeat it ao please dont ask) meant there was no chance he would back King up, what i would give credit to jake for, he did tell his brothers not to be stupid when they stood up yelling at all and sundry

Opti, love your posts, however I find myself worrying about ur safety..you please be careful, we'd all miss you terribly you know!

At least it will make Pies v Richmond interesting when we 'clash', 'cause I don't have a high exImpectation that the scoreline will make it a very thrilling game.
Dont stress mate I can handle myself, and i generally dont bag oppo players (except for milne, fev, aker and king).

I usually keep all my praise and scorn on colingwood players and scorn on umpires

Dont stress mate I can handle myself, and i generally dont bag oppo players (except for milne, fev, aker and king).

I usually keep all my praise and scorn on colingwood players and scorn on umpires

Opti, I'm not even a fighting kind of guy but after this incident I'd happily stand shoulder-to-shoulder with you to see off the f**kwits that crawl out of the woodwork and behave like that.

Side-by-side, eh? :thumbsu:

Basically there's no footy at the moment, we the fans are hungry for footy, and the media are searching for stuff to fill up their time and space to feed us. If this were the regular season it'd be a half page story run on the tuesday and by wednesday something else would be in the papers like Sheedy's supercoach scores or some crap

richmond say hellowe
Just for you from your CEO
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...llective-failure/story-e6frf9io-1225839122540
RICHMOND CEO Brendon Gale today said the club had been a "collective failure" for the past 30 years.

The Tigers have made the finals just twice since their last Grand Final appearance in 1982, and have endured nine years of pain since tasting September action most recently in 2001.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...llective-failure/story-e6frf9io-1225839122540

There you are matey even you CEO, club legend, saviour yadda yadda bullshit thinks your club is a complete and utter failure.

When you give up trying to defend talentless midget hacks like King, remove the clubs phscye from the 80s the you might become somewhat relevant. Until then enjoy being a mediocre shit stain in the grand scheme of the national league

If you punch a bloke in the face, you shouldn't expect any "code" to be upheld. When i play footy, i expect to be bumped, pushed, thrown to the ground, and if things get a bit heated, wrestled and perhaps jumper punched. And the at the end of the day you walk off and shake hands because it's all part of footy. What i don't expect is to be punched in the face so i have to leave the ground with a black eye. If anything, that sort of stuff breaks a code- the code of fair play.
Word. :thumbsu:

How do you feel about Dawes' actions?
You mean when he was trying to handpass the ball while being tackled and collected the young fellas face?

Sounds like a footy instance, im not sure a thug hit to the face for the sake of a thug hit to the face fits in here.

If it were a regular game, we'd all be discussing what a low act it was, yet because it wasn't televised, suddenly Cloke is the bad guy? You'd think after the constant coverage of street violence in those same papers, they'd want to tow the line of "consequences for actions". Nah, let's pump up the antiquated macho rubbish of the "code" over honesty and actually being accountable for what you do.

Agree with TRS, this is a perfectly said and sums up the situation to a tee.

Very disappointing the media chose not to report it in this much more intelligent and civilised light.

King - lowest life form on earth. Last year we will ever see of him and his dog tactics.

Trav can hold his head high and know the fans are backing him.

There is a good article in The Age today which is bucking the trend;

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/footballing-brotherhood-dead-again-20100310-pzcp.html

Footballing brotherhood dead again
ROHAN CONNOLLY
March 11, 2010

AND in breaking news, AFL football's code of silence is dead, killed apparently by Collingwood's Travis Cloke, who had the gall to actually tell an umpire he'd been struck by an opponent.

Wow. Stand by for more revelations, like there's no longer a final four, no six games on a Saturday, and football still played at Arden Street, the Lake Oval and Windy Hill.

Seriously. Code of silence? That went out sometime around the early '80s, along with the keg after Sunday morning training, and the 100 hundreds as a standard form of pre-season training.

Sure enough, though, as soon as Richmond's Jake King this week was handed a two-game suspension based on the evidence of Cloke, the oldest of football chestnuts emerged again.

You know the thinking. Cloke's a big girl's blouse for telling the umpire in charge of the match that he'd been hit by King, then daring to stick by his story once it was followed up by the AFL investigator the next day. Man's game. Etc., etc. Well it is a man's game.

Tougher and harder-hitting than ever. But free, mercifully, from snide behind-the-play cheap shots which used to be somehow confused with courage. And, just as mercifully, from the view that a player had to remain tight-lipped no matter what had happened to him.

I applaud the guy for writing that. The one thing in the article that i love most is when he says that it used to be courageous to belt someone in the face. Courage is when Reiewoldt flies backwards into a pack and marks a ball. Courage is when young Moore from sydney gets his lung punctured trying to spoil a ball. Courage is not punching someone in the face.

Grow up. It's 2010, not 1970.