Melbourne: what do we make of them

Dogs fans have always had a huge chip on their shoulder, it’s their major cultural identifier as a club
This comment is the perfect sign to know someone is out of touch with the world.

The flogginess was at St Kilda levels from Dees fans last night at the game and on here. And I was defending them ffs.

Just like we haven't brushed aside 2 trash sides in St Kilda and Hawthorn like the Dees have. Keep trying.
The Saints eliminated your mob in the finals last year, so hardly a ‘trash’ side. Inconsistent yes and riddled with injuries but a clear level above the North side who currently foot the ladder.

I get the scepticism but surely now opposition supporters can conceded now that our defence is really strong now. To keep Richmond goalless for 1.5 quarters isn't easy. I've noticed a few comments saying Melbourne haven't beaten anyone or haven't played teams at their best. What makes them think Melbourne are at their best? We've haven't been, and probably should have won a few games by a lot more. Also comparing to previous teams is absolutely nonsense. Geelong in 1999 was an ageing list at the end of an era, that's why they traded out their players and begun a rebuild. North in 2016 much the same they were an ageing list end of an era completely different. It's just cherry picking.

We are far off our best IMO. Still have levels to go to which we saw in 2017 and 2018 that we haven’t reached this year. We are just more consistent now, which is far more useful obviously. But in terms of potency I still think we can be even better. Came close in the fourth quarter against Hawthorn and the second quarter yesterday.

Your defence is the best part of your team.

We are far off our best IMO. Still have levels to go to which we saw in 2017 and 2018 that we haven’t reached this year. We are just more consistent now, which is far more useful obviously. But in terms of potency I still think we can be even better. Came close in the fourth quarter against Hawthorn and the second quarter yesterday.
I reckon in 2018 we were scoring for fun but the flipside is that we were getting hurt so easily the other way against good sides. We flat-tracked our way into finals that year and carried that momentum into finals until the eventual premiers exposed our weakness. To be honest we were lucky hawthorn were inaccurate in the last quarter the week before. This year we haven’t really put teams away like 18 but our defence has really stood up and halted the opposition when they've had momentum.

Ye that's the clear and obvious improvement, aside from development across the board of young players. Having fit May and Lever is a huge plus defensively.

This comment is the perfect sign to know someone is out of touch with the world.

The flogginess was at St Kilda levels from Dees fans last night at the game and on here. And I was defending them ffs.
Oh please. Most of us were ‘wow maybe we are a good team!’ Or ‘Geez that was nice to watch’ only to have a select few Richmond flogs to call us April champs or remind us (in case we missed it) they just won 3 flags.

Is it any wonder that we got down in the mud with them?

Now to the question- I like the attitude a lot. Of course the structure and cattle are very important but hunting in packs beats star quality any day. Is it sustainable? I don’t know. I guess we will know more come spring, but right now we’ve beaten everyone we’ve played including last years grand finalists, and we are giving ourselves the best chance to be there at the pointy end

Oh, do elaborate. I'm sure you've got facts to back yourself up.

Weidemans numbers last year put him in the top bracket of key forwards. Was also being double teamed most of the time when TMac was injured/dropped and Jackson got injured.

It’s true that their starting 6 forwards aren’t as great on paper as some of the Premiers in the past, but their goal-kicking midfielders and general quality in there compensate for that more than enough in my opinion. They’ll have players like Petracca, Oliver and Neal-Bullen rotating through while players like Gawn and Jackson also have impact on the scoreboard.

I think you’re right in saying that it’s their weakest area of the ground (midfield, ruck and defence are fantastic), but we’ll have to wait and see if it is bad enough to stop them from winning the Premiership. I personally think that they are good enough but I don’t blame others for having their reservations.

What has me most excited as a Melbourne supporter is our defensive system. Haven't seen a Melbourne team play with this kind of structure my entire life, I only hope it's sustainable.

Hey Obeanie1 , are you still giggling after today?

Last year's runners-up gave the Eagles an absolute flogging
And the reigning premiers were towelled up at the MCG by the exciting Demons.

Bit of a watershed day in football

Eagles..... Gone!

Demons... Flag contenders!

Premeture adulation..............?

Maybe.

A broken clock is right twice a day.

You maybe right..............eventually! ;) :cool:

I’m a knob
Am I the only one who knows this guy joined 3 days ago as a troll account? Dogs inferiority complex is strong in him.

So many calls of early grandeur.
Dees look good. Solid as hell backline. Trac and Oliver stars. Forward line maybe a query.
But I can say the same thing for my own side. Great midfield. Liabilities down back.And a learning forming forward group with much to develp still.
Exciting for both teams.
But tiges have the runs on the board. And one bad long term injury to a pivotal player shifts the magnets around immeasureably.
We are still in the relative infancy of this season.
Im all for hope and optimism for teams who are up and about. But twists and turns in a season are like death and taxes. Nothing surer.
Resoanable discussions about prospects come much much later and deep into the season.
For those flying. Enjoy with cautious optomism. Those slowly staqrting can build a roll.
Such is the beauty of this game.

Yeah nah.... maybe watch it in the morning when your eyes are a little less puffy.

9112958bcb307f739bef4d4d44e42339.jpg

c33c616f015f4c08a51342f41f46796b.jpg

639dbc07a01ff209de947d40e2bb36da.jpg

What happened directly before and directly after that?

Do you also have screenshots of Edwards bump on Oliver? What about Dusty dropping the knees into Hibberd or Lynch belting Max around the ears, Mansell hitting Kozzie in the balls or Nank doing the same to Max? Richmond are the biggest sooks, love dishing it out but first to cry when it goes the other way - just like their coach.

Is the point you're trying to make that the Richmond player ducked down into Pickett? Because that's what you're showing.

Funniest part was Bolton hiding behind is teammate while mouthing off to Viney and Viney just laughing at him - "don't hold me back, don't hold me back" :tearsofjoy:

Tom Lynch should have got the medal for saving Boltons life by holding him back from Jack Viney

Melbourne: what do we make of them