cameroon

Rookie
Feb 28, 2006
MVFC, Cameroon, Socceroos
So who else is going to head to watch the other Melbourne, The Victory, on friday night. They are flying so i think i might jump on the bandwagon. Anyone else going to Telstra Dome this friday?

Yeh let's go to the soccer, then if we lose we can fight, burn stuff and get arrested - on the other hand if we win, we can fight, burn stuff, cruise down Lygon St. and then get arrested.

Culture. Makes Collingwood look like a convent.

Can't think of anything more boring than a game you can watch for 90 minutes and still not see a goal. It's like "jack in the pack" without any good marks...

buddy23 said:
edited....
Can't think of anything more boring than a game you can watch for 90 minutes and still not see a goal. It's like "jack in the pack" without any good marks...
Jack in the pack? Is that like "kick to kick"?
Never ever heard it called Jack in the pack before:eek:

Should be a great game. I always thought that the Telstra Dome provided a poor atmosphere for sport after attending many AFL games since it opened but the Victory atmosphere has proved me wrong.

If you don't like football, there's a simple solution: don't come.

For the rest of us, we enjoy different sports as well. There are other sports besides footy you know.

BTW soccer was around before footy, fishmonger.

Richo83 said:

For the rest of us, we enjoy different sports as well. There are other sports besides footy you know.

Regardless, this board is for football. Not pr0n, cars, media, motorbikes or soccer

Richo83 said:

Not as a codified entity it wasnt!!! Check your history.

Richo83 said:

Fraid not mate. Better do your homework.

Aussie Rules was first played in 1858.

The Football Association (ie. soccer) began in 1863.

Unless you're living in some wierd kind of reality where 1863 was before 1858, then you'd be dead wrong.

Oh and if you're talking about the Cambridge Rules of 1848 or Sheffield Rules of 1857, well they allowed you to use your hands to pick up and catch the ball and even had physical contact, so probably more akin to Aussie Rules than the "world game". They are as much soccer as Aussie Rules is rugby.

I am so sick of the colonial mentality that assumes that because England is older than Australia therefore Soccer must be older than Aussie Rules. :rolleyes:

Hawkers said:
Regardless, this board is for football. Not pr0n, cars, media, motorbikes or soccer

Technically, soccer = football, we are one of a handful of nations which call it otherwise. Also, I didn't start the thread, I only responded to it.

And fishmonger, that game in 1858 had very different rules to our game as well. wiki says:

"However, the rules used by the two teams in 1858 could not have had much in common with the eventual form of Australian football since Wills had not yet begun to write them." That match wasn't played under the rules of true football."

And also, even though there wasn't a national league established yet, soccer was being played by colleges before 1858, before the birth of aussie rules football. Much like how aussie rules was played before it was codified and placed into leagues, soccer was played many years before it was codified and placed into leagues as the rules we know soccer to be.

Richo83 said:
Technically, soccer = football, we are one of a handful of nations which call it otherwise. Also, I didn't start the thread, I only responded to it.

Technically, please tell me which country we live in?
And you're right; we do 'call it otherwise' so 'technically' you're wrong

Richo83 said:

and the "handful of nations" happen to represent 80% of the developed world. the rest are just too poor to know any better. :rolleyes:

Richo83 said:
And fishmonger, that game in 1858 had very different rules to our game as well. wiki says:

"However, the rules used by the two teams in 1858 could not have had much in common with the eventual form of Australian football since Wills had not yet begun to write them." That match wasn't played under the rules of true football."

1859 then.

Gee 6 months makes a really big difference ... :rolleyes:

Anyway Wills umpired the first match between Scotch and Melbourne Grammar, I'm sure he at least had some rules in his head otherwise he wouldn't have wasted his time running round with a whistle.

Still 4 years before soccer was invented, so your argument is ?

Richo83 said:
And also, even though there wasn't a national league established yet, soccer was being played by colleges before 1858, before the birth of aussie rules football. Much like how aussie rules was played before it was codified and placed into leagues, soccer was played many years before it was codified and placed into leagues as the rules we know soccer to be.

I just told you. If using your hands to catch and pick up the ball and tackling is soccer then I'm a monkey's uncle. That's exactly what those "school" versions of soccer was. If there is a relationship there, then we might as well call Aussie Rules rugby, which was also played before 1858. :rolleyes:

face it, you are brainwashed by a bunch of melon kicking hoons.

fishmonger said:
and the "handful of nations" happen to represent 80% of the developed world. the rest are just too poor to know any better. :rolleyes:

Not 80%, Britain, France, Germany, Japan, Italy, SK, Iceland, Japan and Scandanavia don't call it soccer, so it isn't 80%, and too poor to know any better, are Germans poor? Are Britons poor?

fishmonger said:
1859 then.

Gee 6 months makes a really big difference ... :rolleyes:

Anyway Wills umpired the first match between Scotch and Melbourne Grammar, I'm sure he at least had some rules in his head otherwise he wouldn't have wasted his time running round with a whistle.

Probably right.

fishmonger said:
Still 4 years before soccer was invented, so your argument is ?

No, as soccer we know it was being played before footy, its just that the rules weren't officiated by some body yet, doesn't mean that people in colleges weren't playing what we know as soccer.

fishmonger said:
I just told you. If using your hands to catch and pick up the ball and tackling is soccer then I'm a monkey's uncle. That's exactly what those "school" versions of soccer was. If there is a relationship there, then we might as well call Aussie Rules rugby, which was also played before 1858. :rolleyes:

face it, you are brainwashed by a bunch of melon kicking hoons.

Eton college played with rules that no hands were allowed except for the goal keeper. And that was before 1858. Clearly you have no respect for soccer, which is why you call it melon kicking or something, but the fact stands that soccer was already being played by people before football was. You think that for a sport to exist, it has to be officiated? What if i'm playing a sport that hasn't been officiated, am I not playing a sport?

Richo83 said:
No, as soccer we know it was being played before footy, its just that the rules weren't officiated by some body yet, doesn't mean that people in colleges weren't playing what we know as soccer.
it doesn't mean that they were either. They could have been playing a version of badminton for all we know.

Richo83 said:
Eton college played with rules that no hands were allowed except for the goal keeper. And that was before 1858. Clearly you have no respect for soccer, which is why you call it melon kicking or something, but the fact stands that soccer was already being played by people before football was. You think that for a sport to exist, it has to be officiated? What if i'm playing a sport that hasn't been officiated, am I not playing a sport?

The point is that no one is still playing Eton Rules. If they were so good, people would be. And why is noone still playing Cambridge Rules, or Sheffield Rules or Rafferty's Rules. All of these games are to soccer what a zygote is to a person. It is no more a continuous game that Aussie Rules is to rugby. And at least Aussie Rules is virtually the same game as what was played back in 1859 with an extra couple of posts and some lines on the ground.

Anyhow, Eton's rules:

Rule twenty-two: Hands may only be used to stop the ball, or touch it when behind. The ball must not be carried, thrown or struck by the hand’

says nothing about a goalkeeper. goalkeepers didn't exist until the 1880s.

‘the Eton men howled at the Rugby men for handling the ball’
sound like a bunch of fairies

I don't disrespect soccer, I just think that many of its fundamentalist fans clutch as straws to try to find ways to shut out almost every other kind of "football" because they think it is the oldest and purest form in the universe, and the rest of us are brainwashed with their propaganda.