Merged Draft threads - Part 2

I apologise for being grouchy, just annoys me, people saying player X is no good cause they had one bad game, yes nearly the whole football faternity was watching (thank you fox 8:thumbsu:) but each team played, 3-4 games in the champs, so they are allowed to have 1 bad game. look at Rich, he had a ripper last game, and saved himself, and duly got named in the AA side, if they only saw that game, they would assume he has done that all champs, that was almost his best game, but you can only judge what you see. on face value I spose.

But i apologise for being grouchy Merv,

Cant be annoyed at the moderator and well respected BF legend now can I

You're right mate and tbh i didn't even pick up that you were being grouchy :D

No need to apologise and i'm only a legend in my own mind :p

John Butcher and Kane Lucas, who have both been mentioned here, are both are too young this year, watch them join Tom Scully as serious top 3 contenders next year.

Also HFF_07, Liam Shiels isn't eligible to be rookie listed. Regardless, he'd be unlucky not to be picked up in the main thing.

As for ruckmen, I think Zach Clarke's one to be looked at pretty closely for a later round pick. He's 203cm, has a nice leap and can run quite literally all day. Former basketballer I believe. Probably this year's version of Dean Putt last year, the guy with some great attributes but yet to put it all together.

James Klause's name's been thrown up a bit around this parts as well. Personally, I think his lack of foot skills will work against him as it did Dave Gourdis last year.

Interesting to see how little Nick Heyne's name has come up. That kid's really got something. He's one of my smokeys for the top 5 and if he slips out of the top 10, the side that gets him will have done very well. He's got star written in capital letters right across his chest.

gee john butcher certainly doesn't look too young - very well developed for his age. he will absolutely smash them in the u18s next year and go no.1. he looks more developed body wise than jack watts so is a shame he has to wait a year. i liked the old rule where each club could draft one younger player.

PICK 3:
3) Kane Lucas, uses the ball well, and runs all day.

Kane Lucas is under-age HFF.
Also, I think if Lucas was available this year, he'd go about early-mid second round, but next year I would expect him to go top 5 with some more improvement. Quality is written all over him.

gee john butcher certainly doesn't look too young - very well developed for his age. he will absolutely smash them in the u18s next year and go no.1. he looks more developed body wise than jack watts so is a shame he has to wait a year. i liked the old rule where each club could draft one younger player.

Yep, John Butcher is under-age as well. Looked tall and quite strong in marking contests, albeit with a small frame, so at the start I also thought he was available this year, one of them Jarred Grant (WBD) / Tony Notte (WCE) types. Should go top 10 next year, very safe hands and has a good footy brain. Needs a touch of work with his kicking, probably the main factor is nerves, as his action looks quite good.

Thanks. Kids from the Riverina play for NSW ACT Rams, not the Bushies. The Riverina is Wagga Wagga and surrounding areas (Griffith, Leeton, Temora, Narrendera, Lockhart etc). ;)

However if your stuck in the middle like Holbrook and Culcairn, I guess it's your choice who you want to play for. Travelling for training and playing games in Shep, Wangaratta and Lavington, must be more appealing then Wagga, Canberra and Sydney. Parents are the unsung
heroes. :thumbsu:

Thanks for the geography lessen but having spent a bit of my life in Albury and Echuca early on i know where the Riverina is :) I have driven through and been to most areas in and around the Riv ;)
There have been kids from the Riverina play for the Bushies in the past ;)

Thanks for the geography lessen but having spent a bit of my life in Albury and Echuca early on i know where the Riverina is :) I have driven through and been to most areas in and around the Riv ;)
There have been kids from the Riverina play for the Bushies in the past ;)

Well done.

No idea why you mentioned Echuca, let me guess it's part of the Riverina. :rolleyes:

Can't be stuffed wasting my time on someone who thinks he knows everything.

Re: hey if st.kilda lose the next 2.

You change your tune a lot dont you.
What happened to your line about if we dont get Rich we must get midfielders anyway ?

Hartlett will be gone, and I'd rather Hurley over Ziebell or Sidebottom.

This is quite interesting actually. Lacked the desire to succeed earlier (from what I've read), but has been more keen on his football this year and had a terrific start to the season. Possible PSD pick up or rookie list?
Having a fantastic year keeping AFL forwards goaless except Nathan Thompson who kicked 2 will even be better next year still maturing and full time student

Well done.

No idea why you mentioned Echuca, let me guess it's part of the Riverina. :rolleyes:

Can't be stuffed wasting my time on someone who thinks he knows everything.

WTF is your problem knob head. You wanted to know about the scholorship scheme so i told you.
Its not like i was making any real smart arse comments and i did use a smiley in my reply.

WTF is your problem knob head. You wanted to know about the scholorship scheme so i told you.

Never been called a knob head before, ouch.

I appreciated your reply about the scholarship scheme, and rightly thanked you for your contribution. I had every reason to comment on the whole Riverina thing, having lived in Albury for 25 years and knowing the area pretty well (Sport and geography wise). I thought you made a little mistake, so I thought I'd inform you... Big mistake on my behalf.

Its not like i was making any real smart arse comments and i did use a smiley in my reply.

Thanks for the geography lessen but having spent a bit of my life in Albury and Echuca early on i know where the Riverina is :) I have driven through and been to most areas in and around the Riv

^^^That is a smart arse and ignorant reply. ;) ^^^

Just out of curosity, why did you mention Echuca? Cause right now, your a knob head for even thinking that Echuca is in/part of the Riverina.

Never been called a knob head before, ouch

Your welcome:D

The Dustbin said:
I appreciated your reply about the scholarship scheme, and rightly thanked you for your contribution. I had every reason to comment on the whole Riverina thing, having lived in Albury for 25 years and knowing the area pretty well (Sport and geography wise). I thought you made a little mistake, so I thought I'd inform you... Big mistake on my behalf.

I guess that i should have been slightly tigher as far as regoin specific goes but i made a general comment becasue i presumed you knew the area pretty well. Unlike 90% of the population i am not geographicaly challeneged.Sorry to seem like a smart arse traveling to places far and wide in Australia is one of the things i like doing and have done a lot of.

The Dustbin said:
^^^That is a smart arse and ignorant reply. ;) ^^^

Well it was not supposed to be which is why i put the smiley in it. If i was trying to be a smart arse i would have put the rolly eyes in or simply ended it with the old .........

The Dustbin said:
Just out of curosity, why did you mention Echuca? Cause right now, your a knob head for even thinking that Echuca is in/part of the Riverina.

I mentioned Echuca becasue it is only 40 minutes South of Denni which is at the western end of the Riverina MIA irrigation district. While i lived there i played a bit of footy in the Picola leauge which ment i played footy against Jeriderie,Blightyand Berrigan. also played in the Murray leauge so i cam up against Finley. So the reason i mentioned Echuca was it was close to the botom end of the Riv and i traveled into the district a bit on my travels.

Re: hey if st.kilda lose the next 2.

What's there to say Hartlett will be gone?

I'd say there's quite a reasonable chance he'll be still up for grabs come our pick.

I think that Port may well be leaning towards him, which means that we'd rather Freo finish higher, forcing Port to take one of the "holy triumvirate", most likely Naitanui.

Stephen Hill with our Second pick, would be a steal, people talk about a ruckmen aswell, thoughts on Jarred Redden, a defensively minded massive beanpole of a ruck (200+, -75kg), seems like he has flown under the radar a little, thought he was really good in the champs.

Could we use lateral thinking to approach the first round of the draft.

EFC will probably end up with pick 5 or 7, but is there a way to trade up higher.

For example, if EFC decided Hurley is the premier KPB ( which is probably EFC's greatest need ), could we exchange a pick and player to go to 2 or 3 in the draft.

Therefore transfer pick 2 for pick 6 and offer a player.

Clubs generally know who the top 2 or 3 picks will be, so is there a possibility to offer a player for trade so the pic can be upgraded.

Hey Guys,
Im new here, so pardon me if I appear a little bit of an amateur ;)
Um just on the draft, from the little I have seen, and more from what I have heard and read, Hamish Hartlett appears to be a really slick, smooth moving midfielder, and one that I think would fit in nicely...Ziebell is probably another option, however we seem to have many of his in and under clearance types imo (eg Jobe, Welshy, Hocking, hislop etc) ...I would probably favour the Hartlett atm, however I was just wondering what people think is our MOST required need atm as in midfielders, forwards, backs or utilities
Cheers :thumbsu:

Hey Guys,
Um just on the draft, from the little I have seen, and more from what I have heard and read, Hamish Hartlett appears to be a really slick, smooth moving midfielder, and one that I think would fit in nicely...Ziebell is probably another option, however we seem to have many of his in and under clearance types imo (eg Jobe, Welshy, Hocking, hislop etc) ...I would probably favour the Hartlett atm, however I was just wondering what people think is our MOST required need atm as in midfielders, forwards, backs or utilities

How's it going buddy..? Welcome to the forums. :thumbsu:

Yeah, Hartlett or Ziebell would be nice, but I think our most required need is a lock down FB type, a bit like Mal Michael a couple of years ago. We've got our tall, dashing types like Ryder & Pears, but we just need that rock I spose in defence, which Merv has also stated earlier in the thread. Daniher, Gumbleton & Neagle as young forwards, just missing that extra tall in defence to go with Pears & Ryder, and then we can attack the trade period in a year or two with draft picks for a quality A grade midfielder/s, as we are okay in other parts of the field then picking up say Hurley this year. If Hurley was available at our pick, I'd grab him in a heart-beat, spine cemented for a good 10 years. ;) Just need that extra experience/class in the midfield and a quality second ruckman which Laycock could, I don't think so, but could turn out to be a half decent player, and then you'd have to think we'll have our time in the finals for a fair few years after that depending on luck/injuries.

Hey Guys,

Hey buddy, welcome to Big Footy, keep your head down, and do some research before making wild accusations ok, ;), but on the subject at hand, just go back and have a sqiz at this thred, open the title, will go to page one, just flick through the pages, will give you a little more info on some of the other players available. But for mine. We need a KB, and that is Hurley, Then Hartlett, but it looks like Port may take their local lad.

Hey Guys,
Welcome aboard mate :thumbsu:
I think we need another key backman to fill the spots of Fletcher and Michael as both will not be playing in 2010. Michael Hurley is a 192cm FB/CHB who could be exactly what we're looking for. He was one of the co-captains for Vic Metro and did superbly as a lockdown defender. He can also cover 50m easily by foot and can rebound from defence. There is question marks over his pace but he is a great reader of the play and barely lost a one on one contest.

If Hurley was taken, then my next preference would be Hartlett. He is very clean with the ball and rarely fumbles. His kicking is excellent, he can go forward and kick a goal and he can play both inside and outside.

So basically, i think we would need to take a key backman, a midfielder, a small defender and a ruckman. Our forwards are pretty much set for the moment and don't require much of attention

Thanks guys
Just quickly on Hartlett - IF we do have the oppurtunity to draft him, do you reckon he could slot into our side, development wise. Hes listed at about 74-75 kg i think, so that seems fairly light doesnt it? Not a con obviously, but just somehting to think about

Hey buddy, welcome to Big Footy, keep your head down, and do some research before making wild accusations ok, ;), but on the subject at hand, just go back and have a sqiz at this thred, open the title, will go to page one, just flick through the pages, will give you a little more info on some of the other players available. But for mine. We need a KB, and that is Hurley, Then Hartlett, but it looks like Port may take their local lad.

Lol er Fair enough, I did mention I had only seen and read a bit about the draft
Yeah, had a bit of a read through the last few pages though, people seem to have a fair bit of a concern for Hurley's pace though? Just thinking that with the game getting faster and what not, that may be something we would have to assess before thinking of getting him?

Thanks guys
Just quickly on Hartlett - IF we do have the oppurtunity to draft him, do you reckon he could slot into our side, development wise. Hes listed at about 74-75 kg i think, so that seems fairly light doesnt it? Not a con obviously, but just somehting to think about

Yeah, he's very light at the moment, but I'm sure after a few years in the gym he'll put on a bit of beef. Has an older brother (cousin? forgotten) playing for Carlton and he has put on some weight over the last few years and see Hamish doing the same. I won't give you a run down on him, probably about 50 of them spread out across the thread. ;)