Merged draft threads

Re: What players do you think we have to build our next generation of baby bombers around?

Yep, it was bad and it's a weakness.
But Stanton gets bagged for that piece of play and we let the other three players involved off the hook.

Stanton has improved his defensive efforts this year, and his in close work. But he still has a way to go.

Not every midfielder is a gun at 19-20 like Chris Judd. A lot take until 24-25 to hit their straps.

So would you say age counts for more then match experience? Stants is 22 now and has played over 80 games.

Your right though, Judd was a rare one.

Re: What players do you think we have to build our next generation of baby bombers around?

No, you're right.
Experience is a lot more important than age.

But Stants in 2008 is having experiences he hasn't had before.
He's taking opposition players into their own forward line and playing behind the ball, he'd only done that a couple of times under Sheedy.

He's getting the first tag instead of the second tag, post Hird.

He hasn't played a complete game yet, but I can see improvement in his weaknesses. I think that's a positive.

Nathan Buckley also left Brisbane to go to Collingwood, right before they became the ultimate power in the universe. Great foresight!

We're not talking about Buckley's foresight though are we? He wasn't talking about the future, he was talking about now so that little comment is hardly relevant. Name the person who had the foresight to confidently predict Brisbane's rise in 1993 anyway?

Imho Stanton's disposal is good when he kicks longer, it's the shorter stuff and handballs that can get him into trouble.

Difference is Stanton and Davey consistently get the footy.
Game in, game out they are getting disposal counts in and around their averages.

The Burgoyne's, early years had a lot of games where they weren't sighted.

He's not desperately out of form. Goals are up, tackles are up, clearances are up, disposals marginally down. But he's adjusting to another role, he's playing a lot more behind the footy at half back this season.

If your form warrants it, you stay in. The Burgoynes didn't, Stanton has.

In Peter's early years, at Stants age, Port had blokes like Bode, Lockwood, Lyle running around. Nick Stevens was the same age.

Prismall.

Is less preferred than Tenace and Byrnes.

Next...

He's not desperately out of form. Goals are up, tackles are up, clearances are up, disposals marginally down. But he's adjusting to another role, he's playing a lot more behind the footy at half back this season.

Tackles may be up but he still needs to do a huge amount of work on his tackling. I can recall atleast 2 occasions just from last weekend alone where guys broke his lame attempt of tackles as if he was a 12 year old. I also think his disposal has let him down a lot more this year and he seems to have gobe backwards in this area. It seems to me like he is lacking confidence and maybe this has come with the added pressure from getting the number one tag each week.

I do agree that his intensity and work rate has improved and he seems to be getting more of the hard ball as a result of this. I don't want it to seem like i don't rate Stanton or don't see him as part of our future midfield but i also don't think we should make him out to be something he is not. His form is nothing special at the moment and has certainly not stepped up this season they was most people expected him to. Personally, i didn't expect him to become an A grader like many people did but i did think he would show the same sort of steady improvement that he has shown from other seasons. So far he has failed to do so and has gone backwards in my opinion. I hope he can start to string some really good games together and step up to be our number one midfielder.

Callan is a solid AFL level player.

Just feel that people think Prismall would walk into our side and be the next Kerr or something. He would be a handy third string midfielder behind the likes of Watson, Stanton, Lovett.

May be a good replacement for JJ/Pev as a depth player but thats about it IMO.

u are so clueless daytripper. u need to learn a thing or 2 about footy

Neagle, Gumby, Stanton, Jetta, Lovett, Dempsey, Pears, Myers, Davey, Ryder, Hislop, Lovett-Murray, Houli are the one's I think will make it

I have seen a few posts floating Hansen as a potential pick-up. there is no way in hell the kangas will get rid of him. He is a top 5 pick in a superdraft and it would be negligent of them if they did. He is not the player we need at present anyway.

With the likes of Drew Petrie and Shannon Watt their and also the likes of Josh Gibson and Michael Firrito coming along will he get a regular game in the next year or two, could be a good chance to chase a good young player before he becomes something,

Blue chips: Stanton, Ryder
The good: Houli, Jetta, Watson, Davey
The rest: Neagle, Dempsey, Monfries, Winderlich, Pears, Slattery, Reimers

Some of those guys are 22 or 23, but they will be our nucleus for the next good side we put out, so I think I have to include them.

(Haven't seen enough of Gumby yet, nor Myers. Made a pretty early call on Reimers and he's come through, making another early call on Pears that he will be good - wherever he ends up)
Still a few questions on tall stocks, unlike most I think we have a really good chance to have an awesome midfield in a year or two, when Davey, Jetta & Houli step up to join Watson,McVeigh and Stanton.

u are so clueless daytripper. u need to learn a thing or 2 about footy

i've agreed with a fair few things he's had to say. not all, but considering i think most posts on bigfooty are rubbish, that's a pretty good record.

i understand you're a newbie, but i'd offer up some more insight of your own before trying to insult others.

With the likes of Drew Petrie and Shannon Watt their and also the likes of Josh Gibson and Michael Firrito coming along will he get a regular game in the next year or two, could be a good chance to chase a good young player before he becomes something,
N
O
T

H
A
P
P
E
N
I
N
G
!

Someone mentioned Joel Corey.... hmmm, lets see.

He is averaging disposal efficiency of 69% this year. Stanton 70%.

It took Corey 6 years to average more that 20 possies per season. Stanton did it in his third year.

Lucky Donners wasn't managing the Geelong list a few years ago as he would have got rid of Corey, Bartel and a few others. ;)

the thing about disposal efficiency is that,

cheap sideway possi always gets the efficiency up

hardball feeds, delivering inside50 on a foward lead may lower the efficiency

we know which is deemed more valuable even though it may have a lower efficiency.

No worries.

How did Corey and Kerr get a game with the All Stars if their efficiency rating is less than 70%.
Incredible really. :rolleyes:

you cant be serious

when stanton gets a AA and has the elite status to his name for a couple of years then you may have something to bring up

efficiency doesnt mean sh!t

I would take 16 posessions from him over 25 from Stanton any day of the week.

It is a little bit like the people who argue that Alwyn Davey is average because he only touches the ball around 10-15 times a game.

One thing i have to agree with Donners on is that sometimes stats can be misleading.

Stanton is a good young player who is deperately out of form. He has improved his contested posession rate this season but everything else has gone backwards. Having said this he has been very good and improved with each season and it is not too late for him to improve even further this season

Hopefully it is just a little hump in the road and he ends up having a great second half to the season.

theres always a few that arnt one-eyed supporters

im not trolling here, just bored got caught up with all the trade rumours ie adcock - stanton thus lead me to this topic

btw i like stantons build :p

Defence - Pears, his body is going to fill out and once he fully develops is going to make a ideal KP backman. Is a smart player who makes good decisions when he has the ball. Quick and strong who reads the play well. :thumbsu:

Midfield - (Ruckman) With Laycock's poor form, I can see Ryder becoming one of the most dominent ruckman in years to come. Mobile, got a massive leap, probably on potential is our best palm ruckman. Has the skills as well. :thumbsu:

(Midfielder) Myers, I know he was drafted as a running hb flanker and he may still may play that role, but I would like to see on the ball delivering that last pass inside 50. Superb kick, awareness and an awesome sidestep, he demands the footy. Myers to Gumby could prove to be a lethel combination in years to come. :)

Forward - Gumby, apparently he is still growing. :eek: Mobile with terrific hands. Showed enough last year to suggest that we have a ready made replacement for Lucas. :thumbsu:

he was drafted as a midfielder mate, no club would use pick 6 on a half back flanker.

You obviously didn't know what Knights # 1 priority was in last years national draft. Did he not say on numerous occasions that he was looking to draft a running HBF............ ;)

Essendon's first pick at No.6 was always going to be intriguing – was it going to be Myers or midfielder Rhys Palmer? In the end, it was Myers, a tall running defender.

Just out of curiosity where did Myers play against Port? :rolleyes:

FWIW I hope Myers develops into a A grade midfielder.

You obviously didn't know what Knights # 1 priority was in last years national draft. Did he not say on numerous occasions that he was looking to draft a running HBF............ ;)

Just out of curiosity where did Myers play against Port? :rolleyes:

FWIW I hope Myers develops into a A grade midfielder.

We all hope he becomes a quality midfielder and to add to that we hope all our players become quality players in their own right! :)

He was drafted as a defender who can play midfield.

^ Does it really matter what you get drafted as these days?

Ryder played a lot of junior footy as a forward/ruck and then was used as a defender.

There are heaps of other examples.

the thing about disposal efficiency is that,

cheap sideway possi always gets the efficiency up

hardball feeds, delivering inside50 on a foward lead may lower the efficiency

we know which is deemed more valuable even though it may have a lower efficiency.

Joel Corey is the king of sideway kicks.

He plays in a team that is very good at running for each other, finding and creating space. Corey is one of these.

He generally kicks the ball short and either inside to the corridor or wide.

Delivering inside 50 to a leading forward doesn't lower efficiency unless you kick to a player outnumbered or turn it over.

Gumbleton, Ryder, Neagle, Houli, Pears

The team will revolve around the spine.

These sorts of statements make me laugh.

Don't you think every club is looking for a star midfielder or do you we actiively enter each draft and go "Hmm, that kid looks like he's going to be the next Judd however that other kid over there looks like he'll be just average. Lets draft the average kid."...........

Thanks for your imput clown.

When clubs go into drafts they either look for:

A key position player
A ruckman
A midfielder / utility
Or the best player out of the lot.

As per our '05 and '06 drafts, we clearly decided that we needed to stock up on KPP's. Was just stating that this year we should probably look to snag the best available midfielder as this is where our list lacks depth.

2008 Bombers List

Going though the list , this is how i see it

on the P/ship list
David Myers -
Bachar Houli
Jay Nash
Patrick Ryder
Jobe Watson
David Hille
Brent Stanton
Mark McVeigh
Jay Neagle
Darcy Daniher
Andrew Lovett
Leroy Jetta
Tom Hislop
Jarrod Atkinson
Kyle Reimers
Courtenay Dempsey
Heath Hocking
Sam Lonergan
Alwyn Davey
Tayte Pears
Scott Gumbleton
Tom Bellchambers
Courtenay Dempsey
Heath Hocking
Sam Lonergan
Alwyn Davey
Tom Bellchambers

Yet to Play a AFL game

Rhys Magin - dont look much at VFL
Danny Chartres - not to bad at FB to much like K.Bradley
Dean Dick - the new Lovett-murruy no skills just gives away free kicks
John Williams- havent seen much of him
Cale Hooker - havent seen much of him as well

will be gone time next p/ship comes
Andrew Welsh - To slow
Ricky Dyson - No one likes him and Hocking is better then him
Angus Monfries - to small and not fast enough
Henry Slattery - bombers re-signed him for 2 more years
Courtney Johns - think fans will drive him out of the club
Adam McPhee - very good Trade bait
Jason Winderlich - overrated
Jason Laycock - couldn't win a hitout vs me
Nathan Lovett-Murray - does nothing but get reported
Andrew Lee - does not have the skills to play AFL

Gone
(all fair to say they will be to old to play)
Dustin Fletcher
Mal Michael
Matthew Lloyd
Adam Ramanauskas
Jason Johnson
Damien Peverill
Scott Lucas

Starting team
Jay Nash...................Patrick Ryder....................Tom Hislop
Kyle Reimers..............Tayte Pears.............Courtenay Dempsey
Bachar Houli..............Jobe Watson...................... David Myers
David Hille.................Brent Stanton....................Mark McVeigh
Darcy Daniher.........Scott Gumbleton............... Sam Lonergan.
Andrew Lovett..............Jay Neagle.................... Alwyn Davey

Bench
Leroy Jetta
Tom Bellchambers
Heath Hocking
Jarrod Atkinson

not a bad team if its up and running few more draft picks and wouldnt be to bad , Thoughts ?