Merged DTM Mock Drafts

Re: 1st 8 Picks Set in Stone - Top 8 Pick Mock

Ziebell - He may be end up being the best player in the draft. He could be a special player with his ability to win the ball in the air and on the ground. May lack speed.
Didn't see any of our guys getting near Hawthorn's speedster Luke Hodge on Saturday night and running him down. ;) :(

With Michael gone and Fletcher likely to retire at the end of 2009, I'd be very surprised if Essendon went for anyone other than Hurley at pick 5. Essendon already have enough forward KPP talent (Gumbleton and Neagle), but they will need somebody to compliment Ryder at the other end and I think he will be our man. He can hopefully serve his apprenticeship under Fletcher next year.

A lot of water to go under the bridge first obviously.

1. Melbourne - Jack Watts
2. West Coast - Daniel Rich
3. Fremantle - Nick Naitanui
4. Port Adelaide - Tyrone Vickery
5. Essendon - Michael Hurley
6. Carlton - Jack Ziebell
7. Brisbane - Hamish Hartlett
8. Richmond - Jackson Trengove

If Sidebottom manages to fall to the cats I would be very very pleased he looks like a gun.
Anyone expecting a mature age in the first round?

If Sidebottom manages to fall to the cats I would be very very pleased he looks like a gun.
Anyone expecting a mature age in the first round?

Mitch Robinson will go first round i feel, he's 19 and been playing for the Tasmanian VFL team all year. He's was best a field for Tassie this week and 2nd best the week before.

Late first/ early second is where he'll go I reckon.

Depending on how many mids are taken early.

Late first/ early second is where he'll go I reckon.

Depending on how many mids are taken early.

That's about right, don't see him going lower than Melbourne's second round pick though. Somewhere between North's first pick and Melbourne's second pick would be my bet. Might surprise and go as high as Brisbane's pick, unlikely though as Hurley, Hartlett and Ziebell would all have to be gone.

ch 10 perth reckon rich may be firming for pick 1 and jack watts could slide

Melb: Rich
WCE: Naitanui
Freo:Hartlett
Port: Watts

what chance of that happening? personally, i think melbourne are playing ducks and drakes

That's about right, don't see him going lower than Melbourne's second round pick though. Somewhere between North's first pick and Melbourne's second pick would be my bet. Might surprise and go as high as Brisbane's pick, unlikely though as Hurley, Hartlett and Ziebell would all have to be gone.
Will be interesting because I'm not sure if some of these top teams will go for KPP or mids. I'm not sure if even their supporters know.

Would love to grab him with our 2nd rounder, or PP from Melbourne if we get it.

But then you have Walters/ Hill/ Jetta/ Yarran/ Pearce/ DeClanger/ Blease/ Swift/ Zahawhatever who are also looking likely to go in that region, and not all will, which will be tempting to some teams. Which is the area in the order that will make or break the draft for some teams IMO.

But you're right. I think Melbourne would favour him if they went with Watts first up - especially as they need as many ready to go players as possible.

Watts and Naitanui are the two standouts. If the Eagles don't take one of those players I will be pissed. PLEASE DON'T REACH FOR A MIDFIELDER. I know they are tall players and we need smalls but the solution to that is to trade out surplus talls like Seaby or Staker for midround picks where good midfielders can still be found.

there has been a bit of a shift recently in the media about who you guys are taking. about a month a go it was all rich but now it seems that naitanui is emerging as the favourite. i heard barich on radio tonight saying you guys are certain to take naitanui

By certain to take Naitanui you mean that's what it came across as? He didn't openly come out and say "he's our first preference" did he?

Personally i think it's all mind game at this stage.

By certain to take Naitanui you mean that's what it came across as? He didn't openly come out and say "he's our first preference" did he?

Personally i think it's all mind game at this stage.
someone e-mailed the program saying that freo should trade warnock because they will get naitanui with pick 3 anyway. barich replied by saying naitanui won't be there. he was pretty definitive

p.s barich is close mates with colin young who is warncok's manager, according to him, robbie will be at either carlton or freo next year

1. Melbourne - Watts
2. West Coast - Rich
3. Fremantle - Naitanui
4. Port Adelaide - Hurley
5. Essendon - Hartlett
6. Carlton - Ziebell
7. Brisbane - Trengrove
8. Richmond - Vickery

It appears as though the consensus is that their is a group of 7 top kids in the draft:

Watts, Rich, NickNat, Hurley, Ziebell, Hartlett & Vickery.

Are Trengove, Robinson, Johnstone, Lisle, McKernan far off the mark of these guys? Who would be most likely to knock one of those guys out of the top 7?

1. Melbourne - Watts
2. West Coast - Rich
3. Fremantle - Naitanui
4. Port Adelaide - Vickery
5. Essendon - Trengove
6. Carlton - Hurley
7. Brisbane - Hartlett
8. Richmond - Ziebell

someone e-mailed the program saying that freo should trade warnock because they will get naitanui with pick 3 anyway. barich replied by saying naitanui won't be there. he was pretty definitive

p.s barich is close mates with colin young who is warncok's manager, according to him, robbie will be at either carlton or freo next year
Jesus my head is spinning, i just want to fast forward to the draft and sees whar happens:D

1: Melbourne- Naitanui
2: West Coast- Rich
3: Fremantle- Hartlett
4: Port Adelaide- Watts
5: Essendon- Ziebell
6: Carlton- Hurley
7: Brisbane Lions- Vickery
8: Richmond- Johnstone

This could mean two things, the Eagles/Demons rate Naitanui as their number one or Melbourne will pick up Rich with their first pick and Naitanui is the Eagles second option. The more the days pass, the more I think Rich will go to the Demons even though I believe Watts is potentially the best player in the draft.

Warnock to Carlton you say (or stay at Freo)? Personally I don't want Warnock if it meant giving up what the Dockers are asking for.

This could mean two things, the Eagles/Demons rate Naitanui as their number one or Melbourne will pick up Rich with their first pick and Naitanui is the Eagles second option. The more the days pass, the more I think Rich will go to the Demons even though I believe Watts is potentially the best player in the draft.

Warnock to Carlton you say (or stay at Freo)? Personally I don't want Warnock if it meant giving up what the Dockers are asking for.
You would then have the best 2 out of the 3 top developing ruckmen in the league from next year on.

And both probably have the best skills out of the bunch too.

Tapping it down to arguably the best developing midfield in the game. Why wouldn't you consider it? Warnock is an exquisite tap ruckman, who is fantastic at ground level and with freakish skills for a big man.

You would then have the best 2 out of the 3 top developing ruckmen in the league from next year on.

And both probably have the best skills out of the bunch too.

Tapping it down to arguably the best developing midfield in the game. Why wouldn't you consider it? Warnock is an exquisite tap ruckman, who is fantastic at ground level and with freakish skills for a big man.

We'd definitely consider it but I don't think we need another developing ruckman who is freakishly skinny for someone been in the system for 3-4 years now. He's a promising player but with our needs I wouldn't give up our 2nd rounder for him.

Hampson needs a few more years or so (considering he took up footy at 16) and he will be a quality tap ruckman and is already a freak athlete for his height. Kruezer is quality already and big Sammy Jacobs is coming along very nicely in the Ants. I don't doubt he's worth our second rounder, it's just not worth it in our position IMO.

Could also mean Watts may not be nominating, so Melbourne will pick up one of Rich/Naitanui and look at drafting Watts next year (providing they win the wooden spoon, which they'd be odds on to do so, and/or still rate Watts highly enough).

Wouldn't be surprised if we pick him up depending on which other midfielders have been drafted before our pick. We tend to have a bit of love for Tasmanians over the years.

1. Melbourne - Watts
2. West Coast - Rich
3. Fremantle - Naitanui
4. Port Adelaide - Vickery
5. Essendon - Trengove
6. Carlton - Hurley
7. Brisbane - Hartlett
8. Richmond - Ziebell

Why do you think why would pick trengrvoe and not Hurley Merv?

We'd definitely consider it but I don't think we need another developing ruckman who is freakishly skinny for someone been in the system for 3-4 years now. He's a promising player but with our needs I wouldn't give up our 2nd rounder for him.

Hampson needs a few more years or so (considering he took up footy at 16) and he will be a quality tap ruckman and is already a freak athlete for his height. Kruezer is quality already and big Sammy Jacobs is coming along very nicely in the Ants. I don't doubt he's worth our second rounder, it's just not worth it in our position IMO.
He's only had 2 pre-seasons. Rucked on his own in the second half of last year for us.

I think he would be likely to take over our number 1 role given another 12-24 months, which gives you some idea of how he has progressed. Would be career ending at a club like Melbourne, but could be a real steal at another club I'd say.

Would much prefer to keep him though.