Michael Johnston Out and About

NO ONE is sober and polite in a nightclub at 5 in the morning, unless you count being off your chops as sober.

Yea, it's not a common correlation, especially if you're a proven user. I mean I've been sober (reasonably) and polite (I think) at 5am at a nightclub, but I've never done hard drugs either and not a big drinker.

Well I just wan't to vent really - MJ is a fool. I don't care if he was working for the Salvo's helping the deadbeats at 5am (well maybe if he was doing that), but if in the same week you've gone through all that hoopla and essentially come out with the club and the vast majority of fans on your side, then you just go home and think about life a bit and how easily your cosy, extremely privileged etc. position is. Just stay away from the scene entirely, at least for a while. Buy yourself and new XBox game or two and just lay low.

BTW, though it might be unfair, it doesn't matter that there are loads of players out there doing the same sort of thing and not getting caught. MJ got caught and if he half a brain (which it's become clearer all the time he may not), especially if he is closer to being an 'addict' than a 'casual user', he would realise it may be a blessing in disguise and a chance to sort himself out a bit and get himself to an altogether new level.

Anyway, I know it's all easier said than done from the sidelines, but I'm still very disappointed.

One more thing, not that I need to know, but how is the family coping with all this? I've got two young kids and I can tell you my wife would tear me a new one if I was out 'til 4-5am on a Saturday night with any regularity - drugs or no.

NO ONE is sober and polite in a nightclub at 5 in the morning, unless you count being off your chops as sober.

Yes you can,when you get a call at 3 in the morning to go and get your mates because they have no money and are stuck only to find the b***** are drinking the last of it when you get there and have to wait for them.
I must admit they looked after me for doing it,I just wish it was only once.

Yes you can,when you get a call at 3 in the morning to go and get your mates because they have no money and are stuck only to find the b***** are drinking the last of it when you get there and have to wait for them.
I must admit they looked after me for doing it,I just wish it was only once.

At the end of the day, anything is possible, but really, what is more likely: He went out two nights on the trot, or he got a call from a mate who couldn't get a lift home, who then decided to stay and drink for a few hours, and make you stand there and watch him, for two nights on the trot?

I do understand what you are saying, and part of the old innocent until proven guilty still applies, but at the same time, you surely have to think what the probable scenario is.

As a:
  • local govt ratepayer in your area;
  • state and territory taxpayer in both your current territory residence and long term state;
  • shareholder in 2 of the companies that indirectly employ you;
  • alumni in the uni that (supposedly) trained you; and
  • taxpayer in the nation that you are a citizen of;
I claim the right to tell you to:
1) stop your long term attacks on MJ; and
2) stop being a hypocrite, Chumpsie.
Dude, when you are entirely drug free for a year and a half, then you can preach to MJ and the rest of us. Otherwise, try to be balanced.:D:D

You're not even close. :D

And in all honesty, I haven't done anything since I moved. And I've only been on the piss once or twice since I started my post-grad. So who is being professional, taking their role seriously, and who isn't? ;)

I don't see any difference in taxpayers having a say in welfare quarantining (as they pay for it) and members having an opinion in the way players treat their job.

Certainly the majority of members wouldn't have been happy with the attitude of cheque cashing that has been prevalent at Freo for the majority of the time the club has been operating.

You're not even close. :D

And in all honesty, I haven't done anything since I moved.

Typical bloody uni grad bludger. Tropical life and siesta time probably suits you well...:D

And I've only been on the piss once or twice since I started my post-grad. So who is being professional, taking their role seriously, and who isn't? ;)

Clearly, I'm just not taking my role as the local social party animal seriously enough :eek::eek: - I promise to try harder from now on, to ensure ratepayers get value for money. Anyone have any street trees around the place that need someone to occupy them for a few weeks?? Preferably with a view of Subi home games?? And within winching distance of the local bottlo??:D:D

I don't see any difference in taxpayers having a say in welfare quarantining (as they pay for it) and members having an opinion in the way players treat their job.

Interesting idea Chopsamundo - I'd not thought of things quite that way before. Leaving aside welfare quarantining (which is a whole can o' worms on both sides of the debate that I don't want to go near on a footy forum), the idea that members could play a role in deciding whether a player gets a portion of their pay packet is actually quite intriguing. Most of the discussion around fan participation in player pay has assumed that fans will be happy to "sponsor" players to increase or supplement their income.

An altogether more interesting approach would involve a portion of player pay being "at risk" (performance pay), with member feedback somehow determining if a player got some, none or all of this part of their pay. This could be a component of a veteran player or "top 22" player pay deal, or it could be a bonus payment for rookies or fringe players that unexpectedly break into the first 22.

While some might suggest that this would lead to a popularity contest (anyone think McFree would get his full fan assessed performance pay as at round 10 of 2010??), it does have some merit as a way of extending the full impact of member disapproval to misbehaving or disloyal players. Indeed, if the same approach was extended to executives and board member pay, we might actually see more focus on members wishes. And then fans of failing clubs would really, truly actually have no-one to blame but themselves???

Certainly the majority of members wouldn't have been happy with the attitude of cheque cashing that has been prevalent at Freo for the majority of the time the club has been operating.

Maybe, if we can't have member assessed performance pay, we could at least have a fan veto on how the club allocates sponsorship "top-ups" and third party commercial opportunities to players? Not sure how the general anger that was so prevalent during the last half of the Schwabbonnolly years would have played out under such a system, but at least the "member venting" would actually have an impact on someone's pay packet.

Michael Johnston Out and About